Minister says NO to USD 10K for hospital....

Re: Minister says NO to USD 10K for hospital....

Postby hydroep » October 18th, 2011, 11:41 am

j.o.e wrote:.....but refusing the donation offers no option for dialogue. And its hypocritical when on one hand you say u are glad for foreign investment and pretend that this is not food for your citizens to consume. The Minister should just "man up" and request responsible actions from all fast food companies in terms of marketing healthy meals for kids..or legislate it.

Good point.

Postby rollingstock » October 18th, 2011, 12:13 pm

Simple solution, take the money and then tell Mic D's to gtfo.

Postby Habit7 » October 18th, 2011, 1:23 pm

Kiddies don't eat the MSG laden fast food!

Get better, feel well, and go home... where you can enjoy: curry duck, 2lbs of roti, fry alloo, stew chicken, fry bake, sugar cake, kurma and doubles (the meal you can eat any time of the day).l

We need to set a precedent and not allow this imperial power to impose their unhealthy lifestyle on us.

In other news, the Chinese Army has expressed their willingness to send a floating hospital to T&T after....

Postby sliderz1 » October 18th, 2011, 1:33 pm

lolwut?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 18th, 2011, 4:26 pm

well govt always asking private firms to get involved....so Mc donalds did and get blank..

I think there is more to this....

foots

Postby foots » October 18th, 2011, 10:27 pm

Das an excellent move. I dunno who them fast food companies think they fooling with dey sheit. I waiting for WITCO to follow suit and donate couple thousand to the pulmonology ward.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 18th, 2011, 10:59 pm

nice nice dey Fuad!!!!

Postby BrotherHood » October 18th, 2011, 11:36 pm

but the hospitals short of beds and other medical ammenities.. why not take the money? the government buying them otherwise? if yes, then why is there a shortage of medical equipment.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 19th, 2011, 6:58 am

That money would have come with strings attached...good move imo.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 19th, 2011, 4:38 pm

i dont think the govt should reject corporate sponsorship since the hospitals are in a mess and the govt seem to not have funds to improve the conditions there...

how can they blame McDonalds for obesity in kids.....??

what about the unhealty KFC?

Mcdonalds do not force ppl to buy their product....they offer it up and ppl accept........its your choice to feed your kid burgeres or not......Blaming Mc Donald is really stupid....

Postby sMASH » October 19th, 2011, 5:31 pm

is fast food on the whole. it was just a publicity stunt on behalf of a returning competitor.
imagine, if u will:
headlines of the papers- another flippin vehicle causes traffic pile up.
side column of the front page- mc d's fast food restaurant gives generously to the hospitals to help all the little children of tnt, cause is the best fast food around.

is like when u get asked to spell milk about ten times and then asked what does a cow drink... u would see mc d's all ovah an hear dem all ovah, and so when they ask u 'wha u want to eat?'

the problem with tnt medical system is not the money. look at how much big building we build in the last ten years, and the amount of money on highway, and education grants. we also had new equipment in renal divisions (but did not train no body to use it).
we have the money, had the money, and spent some.

the problem is the system and the management of the system. nurses feel they run the place, and that is only a place to get bed rest. doctors see it as a place to recruit customers to their personal medical practice. no body is accountable for any misdiagnosis or malpractice. there are no watchdogs systems to detect or report any malpractice.

nurses need to operate as though each and every patient is either the boss-man son, daughter, mother, father. some way needs to be devised to encourage competent care in the hospitals.

from the MPATT thread, we know that doctors and nurses work hard. but as a patient, u are subject to the inadequate and some times incompetent care.

so we have doctors/nurses who work hard, and patients still not being cared for properly.
i not saying that any body lying, i saying that the system is old and needs to be overhauled to a 21st century developed nation system from this archaic inherited hand-me-down.

70k tt ent doin nutten but advertise for mac donalds.

what they can do is set up a philanthropy fund where any generous citizen who wishes to contribute can make a donation there, and then can be distributed where needs be.

* doh come smiling and happy, handin me cheque to take out pictere... u mad brah*

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » October 19th, 2011, 7:07 pm

Good move. Some comments in here are really stupid....as if 64000tt can do anything in a hospital.
Subliminal campaigning is right, these fast food companies only care about money, so fire bun dem, and all them chupid trinis that support them

*runs off to subway*

Postby BrotherHood » October 20th, 2011, 12:00 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:i dont think the govt should reject corporate sponsorship since the hospitals are in a mess and the govt seem to not have funds to improve the conditions there...

how can they blame McDonalds for obesity in kids.....??

what about the unhealty KFC?

Mcdonalds do not force ppl to buy their product....they offer it up and ppl accept........its your choice to feed your kid burgeres or not......Blaming Mc Donald is really stupid....

THIS

Postby sliderz1 » October 20th, 2011, 7:58 am

trini mk5 wrote:Good move. Some comments in here are really stupid....as if 64000tt can do anything in a hospital.

beds, mattresses, curtains cant be bought with that ?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » October 20th, 2011, 9:54 am

^^you really think a hospital as big as mt hope is going to miss 64000tt...how do you know it is actually going towards beds etc and not to air condition the lobby or pay some light bill???
You do not accept "gifts" from co-operations whose product can potentially kill. Where is the ethics in that?
Thats like the government accepting money from China to bring in their own people to.......wait wut :?

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2011, 10:44 am

^^wait, wutttt :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby sliderz1 » October 20th, 2011, 6:56 pm

trini mk5 wrote:^^you really think a hospital as big as mt hope is going to miss 64000tt...how do you know it is actually going towards beds etc and not to air condition the lobby or pay some light bill???
You do not accept "gifts" from co-operations whose product can potentially kill. Where is the ethics in that?

u sayin hospitals only cater for poor health cases and not for dentistry, broken limbs, accident victims etc..........but i do see your point!

trini mk5 wrote:Thats like the government accepting money from China to bring in their own people to.......wait wut :?

:? :?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » October 20th, 2011, 8:14 pm

^^Not really in the mood to debate a point, if u think that the minister should have taken the money, well thats your opinion, he did the right thing by not taking it and i agree with that decision, still doh change the price of crayons :|