MISTERRRRR LIGHTHAMMERRR AND THE DIESEL BOYZ

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: MISTERRRRR LIGHTHAMMERRR AND THE DIESEL BOYZ

Postby lighthammer » August 26th, 2011, 10:05 pm

sablo77 wrote:ok guys i got my van like last week tuesday and i have been to unipet like 3 times already also noice when i came out the firm i pulled up by my friends house chilled a few and while reversing i saw lke black smoke and im like alreadyyyyyy

Dude, chill out, a little black smoke puff every now and then from the tailpipe is nothing to worry about. It's a diesel engine after all - all diesel engines will make a lil puff every now and then.
Here's the most common scenario's where you'll see your van make a lil' fart:
- cold starting in the morning
- pulling off immediately after a cold start
- using a gear that's too high for your speed
- suddenly accelerating and/or shifting gear (eg. when overtaking a slowpoke on the highway)
- driving under heavy load (eg. plenty stuff in the tray, the van full of fat people, towing a car or other truck, etc. etc.)
- driving up a hill
- hard acceleration (eg. trying to beat that jack@ss in the drop-low civic from the lights)
- air filter dirty

It's only if the black smoke is a constant stream of smoke no matter how or where you drive is when you'll have to worry.
Other than that, don't stress - watch other brand new (TCR/TCS/TCT) pickups and see how their tailpipes fart every now and then, but otherwise under normal driving there's hardly if any smoke at all.

**remember, our diesel is low-grade diesel, not like the good, clean stuff that they have in the UK and Europe. Hence it's expected that our trucks will smoke a bit whenever we fill-up.

also plse explain the metre reading cause one minute it saying 900 and counting then all of a sudden i seeing nothing i seeing like 150 plse explain

Uhh... huh??? What meter you talking about pardna?

and can i use kerosene in my engine ive been reading some say yes some say no

Well, the dealership and most mechanics will say no, don't use it, it'll void your warranty and cause the earth to stop spinning and earthquakes to happen and the zombie apocalypse to come...... but actually yes you can use Kerosene in your engine (since it's a WLT direct-injection engine).

Adding kerosene to your tank serves the purpose of cleaning out the sludge and sediments within the fuel system, from the fuel tank leading up to and including the fuel pump and injectors in the combustion chamber. It's been used before and actually proven effective, once used in a safe ratio (usually 3:1 - diesel : kerosene ratio, or something close to it).
Direct-injection turbo diesel engines are usually less complicated than the newer, common-rail turbo diesel engines with Electronic Control Units (ECU) to control the fuel-regulation, timing, etc. etc. There's usually a LOT more sensors and whatnot involved in a Common Rail engine.
But by adding Kerosene into the mix, which is a lighter fraction of petroleum than diesel, what you're actually doing is unpredictably altering the Cetane Rating (similar to octane in gasoline) of the diesel and thus this can adversely affect the sensors in a computer-controlled system.This will lead to miscalibration of the fuel:air mixture by the ECU, leading to misfiring, pinging/knocking, more smoking in the exhaust and possible engine damage. In a mechanically controlled system, the margin of error is potentially a bit less than with an electronic sensor, since it's simpler, set to operate within a specific paramater and has less sources of error.

At this point in your engine's life, I wouldn't recommend you use kerosene yet, your fuel lines are probably too clean to worry about sludge buildup. Even so, I would recommend you use a fuel treatment like Redline every now and then, or perhaps use Amsoil Diesel Concentrate to keep the deposits in the diesel to a minimum. If you want a little bit more power, you can use Amsoil Cetane boost to increase the cetane rating by up to 7 points and thus help the diesel burn more smoothly and with more power. (kerosene has unpredicatable effects on cetane rating even if you carefully measure how much you put in, but Amsoil cetane boost has a well-calculated amount, plus a graduated bottle so you know exactly how much you're putting in every time).

The fact that you only fill up at Unipet is a great plus, since their double filtration will definitely help keep the diesel in your truck's tank clean, and prolong the life of your fuel-system. You should still change your fuel filter every 20,000km though, and try not to run the van to "E" and let the light come on (don't wanna suck up the dregs in the tank now).....

So relax, chill, it's a diesel you're driving, get used to a lil smoke now and then (i actually prefer the smell of diesel smoke now to that from a gas car).... take care where you fill up, and use the GOOD diesel treatments (Redline, Amsoil, etc). and change your oil & filter RELIGIOUSLY....

I do the same and I plan to keep my Navara till it reach 300,000km+, just like mih daddy ol' L200 K34 turbo (my truck was bought middle of November 2010, and I'm now on 29,885km on the odometer).
Last edited by lighthammer on August 26th, 2011, 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 26th, 2011, 10:10 pm

... and if you still feelin a lil' iffy about the lil fart of smoke every now and then, consider this: then 6.0L v8 ford powerstroke in them F250 in the US... they making like 450HP and 800lb/ft torque... and when they compete in "tractor pull" and "sled pull" events, look at how their trucks perform:

Postby 3stagevtec » August 27th, 2011, 2:20 am

sablo77 wrote:ok guys i got my van like last week tuesday and i have been to unipet like 3 times already also noice when i came out the firm i pulled up by my friends house chilled a few and while reversing i saw lke black smoke and im like alreadyyyyyy also plse explain the metre reading cause one minute it saying 900 and counting then all of a sudden i seeing nothing i seeing like 150 plse explain and can i use kerosene in my engine ive been reading some say yes some say no LT where u at homie oh my run is like marabella to point lisas and like 3 to 4 times i go chag to pick up wifey this cant be

the Trip Meter? :shock:

It measures distance traveled. Press and hold the control knob to reset to zero. Reset each time you fill up, so you can keep track of how many kilometers you get per tank of fuel..

As Lighthammer said, a lil puff of smoke is ok.. that's just the nature of diesels.

sablo77

Postby sablo77 » August 27th, 2011, 7:02 am

so lt and 3stage do you guys full up like every three four days lol

Postby 3stagevtec » August 27th, 2011, 9:14 am

sablo77 wrote:so lt and 3stage do you guys full up like every three four days lol

our Mazda B2500, same vehicle, usually gets around 450km to a tank of diesel..

don't ask how much mileage I personally get :evil: would be lucky to do 400km.. and that's on gas eh..

Havoc

Postby Havoc » August 27th, 2011, 9:53 am

3stage does.....caus gasoline burns faster!! lolz but i knw LH gets excellent mileage out of a tank of diesel, somting like 300km+/half tank, and he does a lot of driving

so here's wat u can do- fill ur tank and set ur trip meter to 0.0, run ur truck to a substantially low yet safe level(just above E) and make a note of hw many kms u got
on ur next fill up, use a diesel treatment, reset ur trip meter and run ur tank to about the same level as before
so u can nw compare hw a treatment affects ur truck an can nw giv us the data to say if ur truck is burning mad diesel or if u jus driving it too damn much!! lol

but wat u shud knw is that evry truck is different and factors such as age,mileage, conditions under which it's used, previous maintenance, size of engine, common rail vs fuel injected, turbovsNA, make of vehicle, weight/type of engine oil used, drive-train issues, sizes/types of tyres, psi to which tyres are inflated, driving style, using AC, highway vs city driving and even climate all affect the way ur truck utilizes its fuel reserves

nw this is jus an average comparision and is subject to changes due to the above factors outlined

No treatment(diesel alone)- 500kms
Redline- 450kms
Amsoil Diesel Conc.+Amsoil Cetane Boost- 547kms

i wudn't recommend Redline.....not that its a bad treatmentor anyting, it's jus my truck burns off the diesel wayyy faster wit Redline in there
the Amsoil combo really packs a punch but as i said before, varying factors cud hv given me mor or less kms per tank
taking all factors into consideration, this is as accurate as i cud hv gotten it

as well, the easiest way to burn mor diesel is by using ur AC system, so to get a bit mor outta a tank of fuel try rolling down ur windows when the weather permits an take een som nice fresh air instead

sablo77

Postby sablo77 » August 28th, 2011, 11:33 am

hmmmmmmm interesting thanks havoc will do

sablo77

Postby sablo77 » September 22nd, 2011, 9:00 am

fellas i gettting rel talk that my mazda bt50 is an imitation ford gimme a lil info ...what does the mazda have ford doesnt ....

roti102

Postby roti102 » September 22nd, 2011, 1:02 pm

A little black smoke on startup is okay and what you have to look for is a lot of black smoke on heavy acceleration. If you see this, your mixture is too rich or another problem. I got my BT-50 six months ago and love it. Southern sales down south installs a good turbo timer that is designed for the console and works great, but dont go with their reverse sensor option, as it sucks. Also, run from Southern Sales after you make your buy because their service is terrible and you pay through your nose.

roti102

Postby roti102 » September 22nd, 2011, 1:09 pm

Bought my BT-50 six months ago and love it but run from Southern Sales after you make your purchase. They are a nightmare and you pay through your nose and Ive even heard of them taking your good parts to use on some other vehicle and giving you old defective parts. They do sell a turbo timer down south that is make for the console and works great but their reverse sensor option sucks

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 22nd, 2011, 1:34 pm

getting a new ford ranger later this afternoon...2.5 4x4

Shortie

Postby Shortie » September 22nd, 2011, 8:51 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:getting a new ford ranger later this afternoon...2.5 4x4

me too.........4x4 manual ........tom to be exact..........TCT 4561

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 23rd, 2011, 4:42 am

ok....ride is nice....doesnt have as much power as a navara lol....but its a pretty decent truck

droppa

Postby droppa » September 23rd, 2011, 9:49 am

like ranger on sale orr wat...

congrats on the buy....

Postby sliderz1 » September 23rd, 2011, 2:13 pm

Havoc wrote:
No treatment(diesel alone)- 500kms
Redline- 450kms
Amsoil Diesel Conc.+Amsoil Cetane Boost- 547kms
d

daz all you get from your frontier or is just an example? :roll:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 23rd, 2011, 3:19 pm

So wait the red line did worst than nothing at all?

Postby sliderz1 » September 23rd, 2011, 5:13 pm

^ yep it reduces the fuel economy in my vehicle as well

Havoc

Postby Havoc » September 24th, 2011, 7:55 am

@CM- yup, the redline apparently made my fuel mor volatile so it burned faster, i didnt see a noticeable power difrence tho, jus plenty black smoke...

an yea bwoy slidey, those are exact figures that i've gotten

i think my injectors need servicing and fuel pump recalibrating, i need to find a reliable place to carry my truck besides Sookai's, caus they charge $2500 which is out of my budget atm

Postby sliderz1 » September 24th, 2011, 3:27 pm

^^which engine is that meng??

sablo77

Postby sablo77 » October 1st, 2011, 7:54 pm

yoooooo could somebody tell me why am i getting water in the passenger front seat and where is it coming from in a brand new vehicle

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 1st, 2011, 8:58 pm

take it back to the firm and have them check the air condition lines if there is a leak.. happened to a couple of navaras

Havoc

Postby Havoc » October 2nd, 2011, 8:51 am

sliderz1 wrote:^^which engine is that meng??

ZD30DDT

hopin to put an "i" in that engine code som time soon ;)

droppa

Postby droppa » October 2nd, 2011, 10:14 am

making a big bad frontier baishastabaidawgbai

sablo77

Postby sablo77 » October 2nd, 2011, 10:16 am

if the van under warranty ill not be charged right.....plus i bombyyy when it comes to them dred cause IT IS ALLEDGED that they will take good parts in your van also and switch it

Postby sliderz1 » October 2nd, 2011, 11:17 am

Havoc wrote:

ZD30DDT

droppa wrote:making a big bad frontier baishastabaidawgbai

wait nah............new profile orr?

Havoc

Postby Havoc » October 3rd, 2011, 7:25 pm

yea bwoyslideybwoy meh cuz using d next account since it on his email address.....so i hadda start over as a schupid "street tuner" steups!

Postby sliderz1 » October 3rd, 2011, 7:45 pm

Havoc wrote:

ZD30DDT

haha............ i thought i had heard that before. @Havoc

sablo77

Postby sablo77 » November 5th, 2011, 5:36 am

hey guys its been a while thanks again for all the info on my bt50 but i wanna know 2 things
1.my mileage crossed 5 thousand right now is at 5600 i call SS they said they will give me an appointment in two weeks is it safe to wait that long or can i changed it myself and where do u recommend im from sando so i could go from sando to chag...and whats the best oil
2.every time i mash the brakes suddenly cause of some clown on the road i hear a disturbing noise like somethings grating on the ground i can also feel it under my feet when i brake what is that

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 5th, 2011, 6:15 am

Sablo77 that could be the ABS being engaged....feels like the pedal pulsating.

Havoc

Postby Havoc » November 5th, 2011, 8:21 am

1. the best oil really is a personal preference becaus just about every oil nowadays is really gd stuff (wit the exception of a few) so take into consideration factors like engine size(amout of oil needed per change), fuel-injected vs common-rail, availability, cost, drain interval, type of filter being used, proper viscosity(15w40 is the most common) and be sure that the oil is a diesel rated oil as stated in ur owner's manual(the newest rating is API CJ-4 and this is compatible wit all previous diesel rated oils)
do som research on the particular brands ur interested in.....the amount of research went into investigating Chevron Delo before i made the switch was ridiculous, but i'm glad and confident that i made a great choice, i evn went out and bought 33gals of the stuff jus to be sure that it'll be available to me for the next few yrs ;)

when it comes to servicing ur truck, i was once like u....had to go by mechanic for everything caus i was too concerned that i wud eff up somting and not be able to repair it
to that i say BS!! u can most def do an oil change for urself.....it'll be cheaper and more rewarding to learn first hand about ur pickup, but if ur unsure about it go somwhere that u can be around the mechanic as he works, that way u'll learn hw to do it next time

2. if u mashin brakes suddenly and u mashin it hard then it's most def ur ABS activating....u get that feelin becaus the ABS is grabbing and releasing so quickly to prevent ur wheels frm lockin up that it feels like a vibration, so it basically is like "pumping" the brakes except it's wayyy faster and one less thing to think about in a sticky situation

sounds like ur ABS is workin really gd, but try not to resort to depending on ur ABS in normal everyday situations, give urself a liddle extra room btwn u and the car ahead of u and slow down a bit so that u can better react in the event of an emergency

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”