The Blanchisseusse-Maracas run: Initiation of the Newbies!!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: The Blanchisseusse-Maracas run: Initiation of the Newbie

Postby lighthammer » December 13th, 2010, 10:00 pm

^jeremy & jhonnie blue - allyuh generosity this christmas season knows no bounds!!!

First a cutlass then ur own shoes....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 14th, 2010, 7:02 am

3stage - sorry I didn't get much pics of the winching's of droppa and the vitara. I'm sure original bling has a few though, I wanna see again how deeply bogged the hiluxsurf got down to.

Yesterday morning I went to work normal-normal.... got a few curious stares, hehehe.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » December 14th, 2010, 7:27 am

weyyy....I want a 4x4 please....anyone want to trade a 4x2 hilux???

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » December 14th, 2010, 7:40 am

Hehehehe...... just stares eh! They fraid to ask what happened... LOL "SWEET!"

droppa

Postby droppa » December 14th, 2010, 7:48 am

i have a vid of the surf bogged down and being winched out, u guys gotta help me with posting it tho.....sheit the camera home..........

i tried the go over the ditch insted of around it and found some real soft mud that caused me to slide in the rut, and well the rest was grand vitara...........

originalbling

Postby originalbling » December 14th, 2010, 9:12 am

sorry guys, didnt get pics of the surf and vitara trying to get out. I didnt wanted to leave the other trucks that were lower down the road plus we still had RT and jeremy down by the beach.

badart

Postby badart » December 14th, 2010, 10:06 am

nice pics..where all the hilux? lol

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » December 14th, 2010, 10:27 am

^^No Hilux owners...They don't want to get any mud on there vehicles....

Postby 3stagevtec » December 14th, 2010, 11:49 am

Finally!! Got the Vitara under washed this morning.. Those guys at the wash bay always laugh every time they see me drive up..

badart

Postby badart » December 14th, 2010, 11:49 am

but no one knew there was goin to be mud ent it was a last minute thing to venture into 4x4 country lol..wish i could have made it

Postby 3stagevtec » December 14th, 2010, 11:53 am

lighthammer wrote:3stage - sorry I didn't get much pics of the winching's of droppa and the vitara. I'm sure original bling has a few though, I wanna see again how deeply bogged the hiluxsurf got down to.

Yesterday morning I went to work normal-normal.... got a few curious stares, hehehe.

Brand new Navara eh.. lol.. I am still in shock at how powerful that Warn was! makes me really happy that I spent the little extra for the better winch..

Postby 3stagevtec » December 14th, 2010, 11:56 am

droppa wrote:i have a vid of the surf bogged down and being winched out, u guys gotta help me with posting it tho.....sheit the camera home..........

i tried the go over the ditch insted of around it and found some real soft mud that caused me to slide in the rut, and well the rest was grand vitara...........

Let us know what help you need with the posting.. do you have a youtube account? youtube accepts most video formats, so uploading to them should be easy..

if you had better tyres, i'm sure you would have made it all the way through, because to be honest, you got alot further that I was expecting! so close to making it all the way through..

droppa

Postby droppa » December 14th, 2010, 1:43 pm

yup i have an account, ill have to do that tomorrow, i will be getting a propper underwash this weekend,

where do u guys underwash and @ what cost?

the one close by me said $85. for the underwash and $55. for the engine wash, $140 for under, engine and shock oil, and well yuh hadda grease the wheel a bit and yuh will get a better more detailed wash......

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 14th, 2010, 4:45 pm

^^ I was able to hose off most of the mud last night after I got home from work. Still some stuck up on the underside but I'll do an underwash later on this weekend.

No major damage to the (brand new) Nav - Phew! However there's a foot-long gash on the driver's side sidestep... I'm guessing that's frm when I was climbing the first hill and slid onto the rocks/trees cuz of the slippery wet clay. But thank goodness for those sidesteps - they really saved my bodywork. If it weren't for those things, I'd need a new paintjob by now. Same goes for originalbling's pardner van - his sidesteps on that Mazda B2500 saved him from scraping up against the rock wall.

RottedV - don't trade your 4x2 hilux man - just drop in a set of ARB air lockers to lock the front and rear wheels - and you truck will have more 4x4 capability than most of us combined! Once you could lock all 4 wheels together, and have good all-terrain tyres, your hilux will be unstoppable. Check Ironman Racing in south for the ARB air-lockers. (note - they WILL void your warranty once you install them, lol)

Badart - you gotta come to the next one!

3stage - I not gonna go on any other runs unless you come, lol... must have the S.A.R squad there man! I think I gonna look into obtaining some iron grating myself, so we can use those to make bridges across ruts and ditches.

l200

Postby l200 » December 14th, 2010, 6:46 pm

Looks like great trip,^^^ glad to see everyone made it safe,

Hoping to join in on a diesel boyz run one day, an put a old L200 4x4 to de test......lol

originalbling

Postby originalbling » December 14th, 2010, 7:44 pm

fellas, welcome the newest newbie Mr. B2500 himself.... malachi

rottedv

Postby rottedv » December 14th, 2010, 8:06 pm

LH I will definitely look into that suggestion....Warranty....pffffft...After all that fun I missing out I don't think I want to study warranty now....

originalbling

Postby originalbling » December 14th, 2010, 11:21 pm

ok boys and girls...

was finally able to convert some of the vids... hold a few dey

and finally the torture the navara was put through...

this was his very first attempt through that spot where jhonnieblue stick with he converse... LOL

so we go fast forward to the last attempt of getting the nav out

any camera shakes was due to me tryin to get out d way of the raging trucks :D

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 15th, 2010, 6:30 am

^^^ Stoopid piece of shyet highway dunlop fakking shyet tyres.... BAAAHHHH!!!!!!!

Poor truck didn't stand a chance with those lame dunlops, hehehe.
Check out how much clay got stuck to the tyres :( :( - no grip at all.
If only I had the same Toyo's as Rutless's frontier, then it'd be a different story, hehe.
It was both funny and awesome to see the big fat nav being "rocked" out of the ditch., hahahah

The hilux surf looking good though, except for that soft piece of mud at the top of the hill, it did pretty well :).

civic minded

Postby civic minded » December 15th, 2010, 6:33 am

wow - you got hardly any traction in those highway tires.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 15th, 2010, 6:44 am

Well, I did at first, on the other side of the hill by the entrance to the trail. And on gravel surfaces they do moderately well.

But once I hit that mud and the clay, they quickly filled up and there was hardly any traction at all. No wonder the Nav' slipped into those ruts, I had no chance :(.

The Frontier in the vid has almost the same pathway as me, his rear end even slid into the rut the same way mine did, but the difference was Rutless Tiida had brand new Toyo Open Country All terrains, and that made a LOT of difference.

I tell ya, I not gonna rest until my Nav looks just like my avatar :D :D :D hehehe

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 15th, 2010, 6:52 am

^^ Aye Malachi - congrats on winnin' de Parang Competition boy!
And great to meet you, allyuh seem like a great bunch of dudes to chill with man :D. Jason is real kicks, hehe.

Gotta bring that B2500 back on the next run man, we need a radio-man for communications.
So our newbie team consisted of:
- engineers
- draftsmen
- radio communications
- doctor/field surgeon....

So I'm guessing future runs would be well covered, in case any emergencies happen (once we have first aid kits and supplies).

SO... WHEN IS DE NEXT RUN??? :D :D :D

droppa

Postby droppa » December 15th, 2010, 7:42 am

^^after christmas, im sure everyone is real busy for the season......

Dunman

Postby Dunman » December 15th, 2010, 7:57 pm

lighthammer wrote:^^^ Stoopid piece of shyet highway dunlop fakking shyet tyres.... BAAAHHHH!!!!!!!

If only I had the same Toyo's as Rutless's frontier, then it'd be a different story, hehe.
It was both funny and awesome to see the big fat nav being "rocked" out of the ditch., hahahah

I don't get why Nissan is giving these tyres with a brand new 4x4. They are terrible on anything but the dry highway. Mines are two days old and I skidded on a lawn. Check out the reviews, its the same complaint from everyone...

http://www.tirerack.com/survey/SurveyComments.jsp?additionalComments=Y&commentStatus=P&tireMake=Dunlop&tireModel=Grandtrek+AT20

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 16th, 2010, 12:02 am

originalbling wrote:fellas, welcome the newest newbie Mr. B2500 himself.... malachi

WOi Malachi - congrats on winning de parang competition man. Wish I had made the drive up now to see yuh in action, hehe.

Aye we need you guys and the B2500 on future runs, would be very handy to have a radio communications expert along to make sure we stay out of trouble, hehehe.

Hope the scratch on the front of the b25 wasn't too bad though.

Till next time bro, was a great run!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 16th, 2010, 12:07 am

Dunman wrote:
lighthammer wrote:^^^ Stoopid piece of shyet highway dunlop fakking shyet tyres.... BAAAHHHH!!!!!!!

I don't get why Nissan is giving these tyres with a brand new 4x4. They are terrible on anything but the dry highway. Mines are two days old and I skidded on a lawn. Check out the reviews, its the same complaint from everyone...

http://www.tirerack.com/survey/SurveyComments.jsp?additionalComments=Y&commentStatus=P&tireMake=Dunlop&tireModel=Grandtrek+AT20

Those dunlops really suck and are only good as a dry highway tyre. Grip on a wet highway is moderate at best :(. I'm sure even the bridgestone duellers on the Fords would do better than these dunlop pieces of doo-doo.

Toyo's or Kumhos - that is the question.

All I know is:

Power

PLUS

Control

= Unstoppable.

Postby 3stagevtec » December 16th, 2010, 8:59 am

Kumho

Toyo

The Kumho has a traditional looking big lug design that kinda resembles the BFG MT KM..

The Toyo seems to have a much more advanced design that seems quite similar to the awesome performing Terra Tracs..

Judging by looks only, the Kumho might be slightly better for off roading because of the big lug design. The Toyo will be good at off roading as well, but appears to be the better on road tyre.

IMO..
Last edited by 3stagevtec on December 16th, 2010, 11:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

venum

Postby venum » December 16th, 2010, 11:21 am

you mean the terra trac looks like the Toyo's

Postby 3stagevtec » December 16th, 2010, 11:32 am

venum wrote:you mean the terra trac looks like the Toyo's

or the Bridgestone Dueler Revo?

venum