The Diesel Boyz Maintenance Thread V2.0

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: The Diesel Boyz Maintenance Thread V2.0

Postby 3stagevtec » December 9th, 2010, 8:06 am

civic minded wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:
civic minded wrote:Ok I got one , I have a Kia k2700- it doing 4000 km- still brand new , problem it have, while driving , just before a gear change- the truck lose power and alot of white smoke eminate. As soon as I change the gear, it stop. It does this for every gear change

So the problem only exists at higher rpms?? At what rpm do you normally shift at / does the problem occur?

Team Loco wrote:yeah, i have a problem, my truck ent wash in 5 weeks...........

park truck out in the rain.. wipe down after rain = clean truck.. :wink:

just before a gear change it happens, no matter what gear i am in, on 5th - i cant make it over 80kmph, smoke and loss of power occurs. Now i am seeing some blue smoke coming out - it went to southern sales today

I'm curious to know what was causing that.. could possible fuel starvation (from a clogged filter / injector / bad pump) cause it? but blue smoke means you are burning oil, so the problem could be bigger..

civic minded

Postby civic minded » December 9th, 2010, 7:29 pm

yeah for real - from the time i see the blue smoke i know something is defiantly wrong mechanically - the damn thing is only 3 months old!

venum

Postby venum » December 9th, 2010, 8:47 pm

what did the dealership say :?:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 10th, 2010, 12:08 pm

venum wrote:what did the dealership say :?:

"We've got ur money and we don't give a s*it"

civic minded

Postby civic minded » December 10th, 2010, 7:06 pm

they still have it - no updates yet - waiting till monday to call

rottedv

Postby rottedv » December 10th, 2010, 8:09 pm

Well seeing that no one answered my question bout the treatment I felt that I had to today as my usual gas station, Unipet La Romain had no diesel....Made it all the way to Harmony Hall Unipet staion before my fuel light came on....they had diesel but the pump was not working...Low voltage they said.....I had to settle for the station at point-a-pierre round-a-bout while looking for the unipet in marabella but did not find it. I was thinking that the prestone diesel treatment they gave me would help with the poor diesel that I was getting. That was the first time I filled up at an NP station since getting the van. I think that I would put 2 more treatments the next few times I fill up at unipet stations to get rid of this NP experience. Is that adviseable? It seems to me that the van has started to idle a little rougher since putting that diesel and treatment.....To me anyway....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 10th, 2010, 9:49 pm

Rotted V, sorry to leave out your question...
You had asked:
But more questions now....What are the best diesel treatments to use and how often should they be used? I'm thinking that it may be good to start early to control build up in the lines and the pump but not quite sure about whats on the market or how often to put or even if it is necessary since I only full up at a Unipet station....literally..I'm at 6k now and I have never used any...

Most of the guys here swear by the Amsoil Cetane Boost oil treatment. It comes in a 65oz bottle (i think) and it's a concentrated solution so only 2-3oz are necessary per fillup. Most of the guys who used it reported smoother running engine and slightly improved mileage.

Prestone and redline are also tried-and-true Diesel Boyz approved brands, gives better performance.

Since you fill up at Unipet, you're less likely to get buildup of sludge in the tank, but it's still possible. Remember that the diesel we have in Trinidad is a lower cetane rating and is lower quality than diesel in say, the UK and Australia. Our diesel is more suitable to heavy industry, large trucks and marine engines - not so much for high-performance turbo diesels like in our beloved machines.
So yes, using a diesel treatment ever so often would def. help keep your fuel system clean and happy, and add performance.

However, IMO - adding diesel treatment to each and every fillup is a bit of overkill, and is a waste of money. Using the treatment every other fillup or maybe once a month to keep the lines clean is probably good practice, esp. if you fillup at Unipet exclusively.

Another good idea is to make sure your fuel-filter is changed regularly, every 15,000 - 20,000km. Also, it's not a good idea to run the tank all the way to empty, and as soon as the "E" light comes on, fill up as soon as you can or at least throw in a little $10 so you can reach your regular station to fill-up. This is so you won't pick up the sludge at the bottom of the fuel tank as it runs all the way down.

badart

Postby badart » December 10th, 2010, 9:54 pm

^ the van new no need to put treatment so often..i use 2oz of amsoil diesel concentrate and cetane boost probably every 1000km to 2000km

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 10th, 2010, 9:57 pm

^ oh right it's brand new, sorry i forgot :(.

venum

Postby venum » December 10th, 2010, 10:55 pm

so if it brand new it getting better quality diesel and not need treatment :?:

i filling up at NP years now, never had a problem . . . Ever

I change my filters regularly though, every oil change

(and i have a ole skool 8v SOHC bullet proof engine)

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 11th, 2010, 1:34 am

venum, I been filling my 4D56T at various NP stations all the years and never had any problems with a particularly bad batch of diesel. Add to it that it probably got some sort of additive maybe twice a year, and definitely went more like 50,000km between fuel filter changes, I think that people exaggerate the filth of NP's gas.. In the end, it is all the same and double filtering it doesnt make as much of a difference as you are led to believe..
The key will still be the condition of your own tank and fuel filter..

That said, I would be somewhat more protective if I had a common rail diesel, but still the continued good health of my engine is testament to the fact that nasty diesel from NP vs almost as nasty diesel from unipet really wont make much of a difference

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 11th, 2010, 8:47 am

nasty diesel from NP vs almost as nasty diesel from unipet

tee hee hee... :D

rottedv

Postby rottedv » December 11th, 2010, 9:10 am

where do you guys get this amsoil diesel concentrate and cetane boost ?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 11th, 2010, 9:28 am

Prolube - call tony 6336110

I think it's $65 - $95 for a 16 oz bottle.... never bought it but he had mentioned it to me...

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » December 11th, 2010, 10:13 am

btw guys petrotrin currently produces 3 grades of diesel, d 2 higher grades are exclusively for export only(a bit clearer an has less of an oily feel) d lowest grade(brownish/yellowish an very oily) is wat we get locally

i tink in d near future d new gas oil plant will be up an runnin thus entitling us to higher grades of diesel but they may howevr charge mor for "premium" diesel but it shood be available nonetheless

an i too hv been fillin up at NP stations for yrs wit little probs(only issue was water in my diesel) but imho i tink dat in d long run fillin exclusively frm Unipet will hv som sort of benefit....hey its one extra filter an its free!! so wat d hell :wink:

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 11th, 2010, 12:42 pm

i fill up at NP last night on tragerete :(
getting a lil black smoke now steups

rottedv

Postby rottedv » December 15th, 2010, 4:48 am

anyone ever thought about converting the 5 hole hub on the 4x2 hilux to the 6 hole on the 4x4?? I'm thinking that I'll get more wheel options that way....what you guys think??? ever been done? what will I need? any pros and cons?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 15th, 2010, 6:20 am

Jhonnieblue - I noticed a small puff of black smoke coming from your nav as well on the run this past sunday. Mostly whenever you accellerated hard up an incline, otherwise there was hardly any smoke.

Mine is still smoking a bit, but I was checking it yesterday and it's mostly when I rev hard or when accelerating hard. I filled up the tank last night and I put a bottle of diesel fuel injector cleaner, hopefully that'll help. I think I'm gonna invest in some Cetane boost from Amsoil, as well as a bottle of Amsoil Diesel Concentrate.

I called Tony from Prolube yesterday, they only do wholesale supply of the following:
- Amsoil 15W40 Synthetic oil for modern turbodiesels
- Amsoil Diesel Cetane Boost
- Amsoil Diesel Concentrate

ImageImage

I'm thinking I might buy a case of the Cetane Boost. You only need a 2-oz amount from the bottle when adding to the fill-up, so I worked it out as this:
- 2oz every fillup, with a 16-oz bottle = 8 treatments per bottle
- I fillup once a week (average), hence that's 8 weeks of treatments, or 2 months
- a case of the cetane boost = 12 bottles
- 12 x 8 weeks = 96 weeks or 2 years worth of Cetane Boost treatments.....

damn that's a good deal!

There are only a few dealers for Amsoil products here in trinidad - most of them in south. I'm definitely gonna get a bottle or two of the Amsoil Diesel Concentrate (you use the same 2oz per fillup) to clean the fuel systems in the L200 and Frontier and to maintain the Nav's system too. Also, I'll def. get a case of the Cetane Boost and a couple cases of Amsoil 15W40. I worked it out and buying it this way will get the Amsoil 15W40 to be the same price as the Shell Rimula R6. Might as well switch to Amsoil, eh? :D
Last edited by lighthammer on December 15th, 2010, 6:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 15th, 2010, 6:24 am

And here's a study done to see how diesel fuel additives improve the vital lubricity content of Ultra Low Sulphur Diesel fuels...

http://www.dieselplace.com/forum/showthread.php?t=177728

Amsoil Diesel Concentrate did pretty well.
I'm liking Amsoil, I'm liking it a lot :)

Postby Team Loco » December 15th, 2010, 7:07 am

sweeks wrote:
venum wrote:what did the dealership say :?:

"We've got ur money and we don't give a s*it"

dealership=government

so apart from the torn drivers seat with sponge falling out and a hell of a dirty truck, i now have a broken windshield........cracked right across my view. she needs some attention

Dunman

Postby Dunman » December 15th, 2010, 11:47 am

lighthammer wrote:And here's a study done to see how diesel fuel additives improve the vital lubricity content of Ultra Low Sulphur Diesel fuels...

http://www.dieselplace.com/forum/showthread.php?t=177728

Amsoil Diesel Concentrate did pretty well.
I'm liking Amsoil, I'm liking it a lot :)

I eh know what to say nah, but Lighthammer, you is definitely the Minister of Education here. I cah begin to tell how much I've learnt from your posts.

Keep it up bro, much much appreciated.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 15th, 2010, 7:38 pm

lol - cheers dude. I only like to share what I learn myself, I only into this diesel-ting seriously for less than a year now.

Knowledge is power... diesel POWAH!!

Postby Team Loco » December 18th, 2010, 12:49 am

i've never used any diesel treatment.......never. i got up to 220,000kms without any serious issues until i had to change my injector tips and clean my tank. i always had a habit of filling up at one diesel station before unipet came about.

Postby Team Loco » December 18th, 2010, 12:51 am

btw, allyuh put together ah lil something and buy this for me please:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/TYPE-1-W ... ccessories

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » January 3rd, 2011, 5:11 pm

^^^WTF!!!
tell HONDA HOE DE 1ST to pay for it.....lol!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 3rd, 2011, 10:36 pm

^^ LMAO! gud one there david! haha! i fine soo tooo!!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » January 4th, 2011, 8:28 pm

ok guys...my 10k service has arrived and I have some questions for you all as I don't think that i'll be carrying it to the stealership. The service requirements are as follows along with the questions...

Change oil and filter - I'll go with amsoil and LH told me where to get it but what about the filter? Anyone knows where I can get the oem filter for the 2kd engine besides TTTL?

Replace propeller shaft grease and tighten bolts - Never did this before so what grease do I use? I haven't seen any grease nipple there so I gues that I have to take out the fan expel the old grease and put in the new one..

I would like to change the fuel filter....so beside tttl where do I get that? Also I would like to grease the cross so is it the same grease as the propeller?

I think I can handle the rest but may need some guidance......As always your help is much appreciated...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 4th, 2011, 8:53 pm

RottedV I have OEM oil filters for the 2kd-ftv ($80... I think it's $140 in the firm), I also have disc pads. Sorry I don't have the fuel filters

Trinirider has amsoil water proof grease, it's an excellent product. Unless you're driving through floods regularly I wouldn't stress out over the grease up just yet. She's still new and the OEM grease in there might be better than what you're about to pump in there.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 4th, 2011, 9:37 pm

rottedv - 10,000km already? You real driving boy.

I know ROC in bamboo has nissan parts, they might have the toyota fuel filters too. Or check Dollar Savers in Bamboo, they might have it as well.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » January 5th, 2011, 4:39 am

LH....highway only....I live La Romain and work Trincity....hence the mileage....its like 5k kms every month and a bit.....

Sweeks pm me your number or call meh 683-1361....I wouldn't have access to trinituner until this evening cause its blocked in work....I'll take the filter from you.....Also a number for trinirider would be great.....thanks for the help...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”