Re: Manning holds official conference WRT Spy Issue *VIDEO*

Postby Bezman » November 15th, 2010, 6:10 pm

typical childish answer :lol:

carry on..

Postby RASC » November 15th, 2010, 6:17 pm

:lol: Well you self so chupid to put that personal info out there...Wha yuh tink was goin an happen?

Anyway, I hope they don't dismantle it. And I really not buying Kamala rant bout "I didn't know ____"<---insert sad face.

Postby AllTrac » November 15th, 2010, 6:48 pm

RASC wrote:
teems1 wrote:
pioneer wrote:right so...all the CIA deniable ops that take place daily, worldwide...are all legal? :roll:

dude, if GWB used the CIA to spy on Gore or Kerry, there would have been hell to pay.

this is a matter of using state resources for personal vendettas

HAHAHAHA

Jed you so dunno what does go on out here.
Aight hoss, go back to your cnn and bbc, they tell you the be all and end all of all the world's secrets.

why he doesnt know what going on there?? cause he not living there he does jsut see what going on on the tele?? orrr rite rite it have ah fella with de same predicament :lol:

Postby RASC » November 15th, 2010, 6:51 pm

AllTrac wrote:
RASC wrote:
teems1 wrote:
pioneer wrote:right so...all the CIA deniable ops that take place daily, worldwide...are all legal? :roll:

dude, if GWB used the CIA to spy on Gore or Kerry, there would have been hell to pay.

this is a matter of using state resources for personal vendettas

HAHAHAHA

Jed you so dunno what does go on out here.
Aight hoss, go back to your cnn and bbc, they tell you the be all and end all of all the world's secrets.

why he doesnt know what going on there?? cause he not living there he does jsut see what going on on the tele?? orrr rite rite it have ah fella with de same predicament :lol:

Eh Last I check I pay Trini taxes, so I could say WDMC I want. :drinking:

You pay taxes? Or yuh putting it under the guise of "religious donation"?
We have tap on you too yuh kno, doh feel yuh geh way :lol:

fullthrotle

Postby fullthrotle » November 15th, 2010, 10:53 pm

all this wiretapping and how is it that the murder rate went up five fold under the pnm?

more than the legality of this matter,
the people in this department should be dismissed for being incompetent.

what a lazy ineffective bunch of "police, special branch"

what the cia "involvement" in venezuela have to do with SIA?
how is the cia related in anyway to the SIA? other than the IA :)

do you know the grade to get into trinidad's police force?
3 olevels and you on the inside. and then after 20 years of being a louse in t he police service then you enter the SIA to really create havoc and mayhem .

SIA and CIA, chalk and cheese.

this is trinidad, land of the pnm.
the SIA officers should be asked to return t he money given to their gul and man, and man cousin.
and then be dismissed for being incompetent.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 16th, 2010, 12:38 am

fullthrotle wrote:all this wiretapping and how is it that the murder rate went up five fold under the pnm?

3 olevels and you on the inside. and then after 20 years of being a louse in t he police service then you enter the SIA to really create havoc and mayhem .

the SIA officers should be asked to return t he money given to their gul and man, and man cousin.

Ding ding ding... someone is thinking. No problem with having a CIA type agency in Trinidad, but could someone tell me what significant benefit has it given the citizens of the country? Has any kidnap victim been rescued because of intelligence gathered by said secret agency? How about major drug bust or other major crimes? Allyuh talking about the CIA. When the CIA is involved, it's usually to benefit the country or the people that run it.
With that said, in what way has this agency benefited the people of Trinidad & Tobago? Because I'm sure a few top government officials where able to full their pockets with the info received - Come on meng, it's Trinidad we dealing with here so doh bawl how I know dem fellas full dey pockets :lol:

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » November 16th, 2010, 8:30 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
fullthrotle wrote:all this wiretapping and how is it that the murder rate went up five fold under the pnm?

Ding ding ding... someone is thinking. No problem with having a CIA type agency in Trinidad, but could someone tell me what significant benefit has it given the citizens of the country? Has any kidnap victim been rescued because of intelligence gathered by said secret agency? How about major drug bust or other major crimes? Allyuh talking about the CIA. When the CIA is involved, it's usually to benefit the country or the people that run it.
With that said, in what way has this agency benefited the people of Trinidad & Tobago? Because I'm sure a few top government officials where able to full their pockets with the info received - Come on meng, it's Trinidad we dealing with here so doh bawl how I know dem fellas full dey pockets :lol:

use common sense.......have u ever seen or heard of any CIA type operations being divulged in public? or their success\failure rate?

so how the rasclat u expect the SIA to state which kidnappings\murders\crimes they solve or not?

the modus operande of these covert institutions is to remain unseen and deny any involvement or existence.

so let me ask all u PP sychophants a simple question?

Allyuh stop d OPV's
Allyuh dismantle SUATT
Allyuh goin and disband SIA....

now we cant deny that these tools are good to have for fighting crime etc etc etc.

so why not use these tools to yuh advantage and show us PNMites and the rest of the world that u can reep better greater results as oppose to the last administration????

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 16th, 2010, 8:46 am

^^ you kinda have a point there...may they have something in the works to replace the functions these agencies performed.

Bezman also has a point with the legality of the agencies themselves.

Postby RASC » November 16th, 2010, 8:58 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:^^ you kinda have a point there...may they have something in the works to replace the functions these agencies performed.

That would constitute having a PLAN. A plan which is honestly in non existance. The PP's plan is to dismantle everything PNM and then tell the people on the pulpit:

"allyuh vote for we to rescue allyuh from the wanton over spending, well? Did we not deliver? Vote for we again!"

That's all it is. The 30 Page manifesto, what has become of that? It's pie in the sky, it has no direction. Things they mentioning on there would be IMPOSSIBLE to pay for without a serious injection of money into the system-yet they announce "NO PROPERTY TAX" (like I said saving the people from the PNM) with nothing announced to replace it with, so how the money coming in? From hopes and dreams.

There is no real plan boss. The plan is, "dismantle everything PNM and that will save us money-and we'll balance the books. Oppps we forgot we also promised these people the world-Our Bad :oops: Well it have IMF, NO SCN :mrgreen: " <---That's your "plan" right there.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 17th, 2010, 1:49 am

5onDfloor wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:

use common sense.......have u ever seen or heard of any CIA type operations being divulged in public? or their success\failure rate?

so how the rasclat u expect the SIA to state which kidnappings\murders\crimes they solve or not?

the modus operande of these covert institutions is to remain unseen and deny any involvement or existence.

Allyuh stop d OPV's
Allyuh dismantle SUATT

now we cant deny that these tools are good to have for fighting crime etc etc etc.

so why not use these tools to yuh advantage and show us PNMites and the rest of the world that u can reep better greater results as oppose to the last administration????

Breds, yuh living under ah rock orh? There are about a zillion documentaries on TV, magazines & books about CIA & FBI operations around the world. I'm not saying for the SIA to come out and tell the public what methods or how they actually went about to solving a case, just a simple "with the help of the SIA, we were able to make an arrest". Show the public that you're doing something for them also instead of using it for your benefit only. Once you could show the people that yuh looking out for them & yuh make them happy, dey eh care how much money yuh teef..

fullthrotle

Postby fullthrotle » November 17th, 2010, 2:31 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
5onDfloor wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:

Allyuh stop d OPV's
Allyuh dismantle SUATT

Breds, yuh living under ah rock orh? There are about a zillion documentaries on TV, magazines & books about CIA & FBI operations around the world. I'm not saying for the SIA to come out and tell the public what methods or how they actually went about to solving a case, just a simple "with the help of the SIA, we were able to make an arrest". Show the public that you're doing something for them also instead of using it for your benefit only. Once you could show the people that yuh looking out for them & yuh make them happy, dey eh care how much money yuh teef..

why are you people comparing the fbi to the sia.
what is the level of education to get into the fbi as compared to the local sia.
the sia is filled with a bunch of lazy, good for nothing 30 year veterans of the local police service.
this joke for "intelligence" happy when pnm say no accounting, because of national security. is more money for their gul and their gul man. so now the "special forces"
will want more free money for "intelligence gathering" with zero accounting.
these simpletons will feed on the treasury.

you really expect a retard who is accustomed to working for eight thousand dollars a month to effectively manage millions of dollars of unmarked cash money.

ever hear about hungry chickens guarding corn?

what is all this talk about PP crime plan?
at least with the dismantling of pnm's specail police, the country will save millions of cash money.
and since the sia was there when the murder rate quadrupled, they were basically ineffective. therefore the sia won't be missed in the least.
so the dismantling of the "failed specail forces" is a win win for the entire nation.

Postby Hook » November 17th, 2010, 2:41 am

lol...now, I don't USUALLY post in political type threads (and this may well be my first and last post in THIS thread) but lemme give some of you a little food for thought while we going on about "rights".

I hope we're all aware that everything that gets posted on the Internet is scanned (Homeland Security, Interpol blah blah blah) for certain key words and phrases that may indicate or even suggest a terrorist threat. From that point on, intelligence is dispached to look at your online activity/history before you are indeed deemed a threat and actual physical surveillance is required. Even frequenting some hacker sites gets you flagged. Hell I might even be flagged for the number of key words in THIS post.

So let's try to be objective here...let's put aside where we placed our X in May and take a look at this thing.
Really, not ALL phones on the island were tapped, so I don't see why the average Joe on the street, a non-entity in the grand scheme of things, is so concerned about getting THEIR phones tapped. Suddenly everybody has a "right to know"...REALLY?
Wouldn't the release of the full list encroach further on those people's "right" to privacy when they're cast into the public domain?
If it can indeed be proven by paper-trail that this was a PNM directive executed by the UNC, it doesn't bode well for the PP in the next elections...remember they won from a swing of the electorate.
What say you then? Will you vote for the other guy then?
What of all the "integrity" and "transparency" that was touted on the campaign trail?

But back to my original point, the powers that be on the internets saw it fir to monitor everybody, but nobody's bawling about "rights". Let's all hate on the interwebz for monitoring our data packets! damn you interwebz! *shakes fist at teh internets* KAMALAAAAAAA!!!!!!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 17th, 2010, 7:38 am

:P :P nex year too!
Last edited by evo-STI-k on January 31st, 2011, 12:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » November 17th, 2010, 7:40 am

Firstly, it seems like the IQ of this forum is dropping everyday.

Is it not obvious how man used and encourage crime under his watch to create a runaway and lawless spending spree from National Security.

Manning played you guys like fools back then and is still doing it now. Drugs? Mr. Big? all illusions and distractions to justify more and more money going into Nat Sec with no accountability.

Have you all ever been to SAUTT in Riverside Plaza, El Soccoro or Cumuto? You will see hundreds of men sit down doing nothing, you will see fancy ass equipment big screen LCDs etc littered every.

Yet a simple thing like GPS on police cars was never implemented.

Think people.

Also, TSTT wants to deny assisting with phone tapping? Please....ask them about their Israeli consultants and what their real job specification is.

Another thing, do you guys have any idea how illegal this wire tapping really is?

It is only in communist or socialist dictatorships like Cuba, Russia, China & Venezuela where things like this occur.

You think americans would sit back and justify something like this?
FBI can do wiretapping willy nilly, yes that's a fact.

But do you think any USA president will get away with spying on his political enemies? That is a gross misuse of state resources and the american people will never stand for anything like that.

Spying for crime, suspected terrorists etc. is fully justified, but it is extremely clear this SIA was Manning's gestapo team.

Postby buzz » November 17th, 2010, 8:04 am

ops etc no probably not legal or "ethical"

the unit IS important but the formation of such without legislation is still essentially fcukery, if your not concerned that these agencies can be formed illegally w/o accountability then you're just fine with the banana republic way of life

Hook wrote:lol...now, I don't USUALLY post in political type threads (and this may well be my first and last post in THIS thread) but lemme give some of you a little food for thought while we going on about "rights".

I hope we're all aware that everything that gets posted on the Internet is scanned (Homeland Security, Interpol blah blah blah) for certain key words and phrases that may indicate or even suggest a terrorist threat. From that point on, intelligence is dispached to look at your online activity/history before you are indeed deemed a threat and actual physical surveillance is required. Even frequenting some hacker sites gets you flagged. Hell I might even be flagged for the number of key words in THIS post.

So let's try to be objective here...let's put aside where we placed our X in May and take a look at this thing.
Really, not ALL phones on the island were tapped, so I don't see why the average Joe on the street, a non-entity in the grand scheme of things, is so concerned about getting THEIR phones tapped. Suddenly everybody has a "right to know"...REALLY?
Wouldn't the release of the full list encroach further on those people's "right" to privacy when they're cast into the public domain?
If it can indeed be proven by paper-trail that this was a PNM directive executed by the UNC, it doesn't bode well for the PP in the next elections...remember they won from a swing of the electorate.
What say you then? Will you vote for the other guy then?
What of all the "integrity" and "transparency" that was touted on the campaign trail?

But back to my original point, the powers that be on the internets saw it fir to monitor everybody, but nobody's bawling about "rights". Let's all hate on the interwebz for monitoring our data packets! damn you interwebz! *shakes fist at teh internets* KAMALAAAAAAA!!!!!!

understandable but these scans and such are in the fine print they can do these things w/o your implicit consent.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 17th, 2010, 9:27 am

Devourment wrote:Firstly, it seems like the IQ of this forum is dropping everyday.

Is it not obvious how man used and encourage crime under his watch to create a runaway and lawless spending spree from National Security.

Manning played you guys like fools back then and is still doing it now. Drugs? Mr. Big? all illusions and distractions to justify more and more money going into Nat Sec with no accountability.

Have you all ever been to SAUTT in Riverside Plaza, El Soccoro or Cumuto? You will see hundreds of men sit down doing nothing, you will see fancy ass equipment big screen LCDs etc littered every.

Yet a simple thing like GPS on police cars was never implemented.

Think people.

Also, TSTT wants to deny assisting with phone tapping? Please....ask them about their Israeli consultants and what their real job specification is.

Another thing, do you guys have any idea how illegal this wire tapping really is?

It is only in communist or socialist dictatorships like Cuba, Russia, China & Venezuela where things like this occur.

You think americans would sit back and justify something like this?
FBI can do wiretapping willy nilly, yes that's a fact.

But do you think any USA president will get away with spying on his political enemies? That is a gross misuse of state resources and the american people will never stand for anything like that.

Spying for crime, suspected terrorists etc. is fully justified, but it is extremely clear this SIA was Manning's gestapo team.

boy stop talking a set of sense... RASClat and pioness going to have a field day with you, quoting in red and laughing and saying the PP have no plan.. :roll:

no serious

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 29th, 2012, 7:25 am

...joins Warner in bashing the media

ATTORNEY GENERAL Anand Ramlogan yesterday called for self-analysis and self-introspection by the media, as he took issue with columnists with the Trinidad Express newspaper.
Ramlogan said the Express columns lacked positivity and he also took issue with the newspaper's public polling of national topics in the Big Question section in which persons on the street have their responses to questions about national issues published.
"In the Express there is a poll where they put passport-size pictures. They can't seem to move past Grand Bazaar (mall at Bamboo No.1). There seems to be an anchor in Port of Spain.

"This Port of Spain-centric approach to getting the views which do not reflect the pot-pourri of Trinidad and Tobago is something we must be concerned about," said Ramlogan.
"It is not a criticism of the media but an observation that I ask them to take on board.
"Not a single columnist in the Express had one positive line to write. That kind of imbalance is something that calls for self-analysis and self-introspection by the media itself," he added.
The AG said that journalist Maxie Cuffie, a former adviser of former People's National Movement (PNM) attorney general John Jeremie, is also to return to the Guardian newspaper.
"The media has a responsibility to reflect the views of society on which it thrives and seeks to represent democracy," said Ramlogan.
During a panel discussion on Wednesday night on national television, National Security Minister and United National Congress chairman Jack Warner held up a copy of the Sunday Express newspaper, named the author of its front-page article, and spoke of her.
Yesterday, the Media Association of Trinidad and Tobago (MATT) issued a statement condemning what it described as on-going smear campaigns against investigative journalists.
"These journalists, who have been conducting legitimate investigations, now find themselves the target of anonymous e-mails being circulated on the Internet by various groups, as well as public attacks on television by senior politicians," said the MATT statement.
"Personal attacks in response to news reports are not a valid or acceptable means of discrediting the information unearthed by journalists who are simply doing their job.
"There are various channels available, including legal ones, through which public figures may obtain redress if inaccurate information about them is carried in the media," the statement added.
MATT called on Members of Parliament and party officials to deter their followers, both in public and in private, from engaging in these unwarranted attacks on journalists.
"If this trend is not rapidly checked, the association fears a trend of organised personal attacks against journalists will eventually damage the ability of the media to report fearlessly, undermine the functioning of the media, which is fundamental to all democracies, and ultimately weaken the rights of all citizens," MATT stated.

• EDITOR'S NOTE: The Express Big Question is often asked outside of Port of Spain, including San Fernando, and by reporters on assignment in various parts of Trinidad and Tobago.

Postby eliteauto » September 29th, 2012, 7:41 am

strangely the UNC in opposition was very cozy with the OCM Group, now they've taken all their friends and given them cozy Gov't advisor jobs, they're bitchin

Postby shogun » September 29th, 2012, 8:05 am

'D fcuk i readin' here?? ....You willing to replace my monitor after i break it, Conrad??

Scary. Sh!t is scary. That arrogant pr!ck needs to be returned to his private practice.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 29th, 2012, 8:22 am

People quiet.

A past PM didn't like the direct attack he heard against him while he was getting a hair cut. Made his way from South to the radio's HQ and demanded that the announcer retract his words/pay for such an attack. The entire country jumped on the "PM1 is a communist" train.

AG & Min of Security go on national TV (btw all stations booked for the foreseeable future for a simultaneous broadcast 8-) ) and complain of the media's coverage showing too much of favour in them not being the best people to lead this country and what do you get....*crickets chirp*

Before, Ole Talk would've had 4-5 threads from the time the papers published it. Duane doesn't even have to operate a completely separate section for political/local current affairs talk any more due to overwhelming "public outcry". You couldn't take a screen capture of the Ole Talk forum at the end of 2009 without catching 2 political threads in the picture.

Postby shogun » September 29th, 2012, 8:27 am

Conrad wrote: You couldn't take a screen capture of the Ole Talk forum at the end of 2009 without catching 2 political threads in the picture.

:lol: Truth.

kevcam

Postby kevcam » September 29th, 2012, 9:02 am

Conrad wrote:People quiet.

A past PM didn't like the direct attack he heard against him while he was getting a hair cut. Made his way from South to the radio's HQ and demanded that the announcer retract his words/pay for such an attack. The entire country jumped on the "PM1 is a communist" train.

AG & Min of Security go on national TV (btw all stations booked for the foreseeable future for a simultaneous broadcast 8-) ) and complain of the media's coverage showing too much of favour in them not being the best people to lead this country and what do you get....*crickets chirp*

Before, Ole Talk would've had 4-5 threads from the time the papers published it. Duane doesn't even have to operate a completely separate section for political/local current affairs talk any more due to overwhelming "public outcry". You couldn't take a screen capture of the Ole Talk forum at the end of 2009 without catching 2 political threads in the picture.

x 1,000,000...

You can't bad talk this government at all, but here is how to make it all better.

Govt wants daily programme on its accomplishments

The Government wants one hour per day of State-produced programming on its accomplishments to be aired on local radio and TV stations.

It also wants more local content programming on TV and radio stations operating in Trinidad and Tobago.

And if it is unable to persuade media houses to increase local content on the airwaves, Government may consider, as a last resort, introducing new laws to make TV and radio stations broadcast more local programmes.

Communications Minister Jamal Mohammed made these announcements at a reception for journalists and media managers hosted by his ministry at the Kapok Hotel, Maraval on Wednesday evening.

In a follow-up telephone interview yesterday, he said the government believed there was not enough local content programmes on radio and TV.

"We have to do what we can to encourage more local content," Mohammed said.

He said one way for his ministry to encourage local content was to use "moral suasion" with media owners and operators.

Another was to remind them of the tax concessions offered by the State for locally produced material while another was to reduce the annual broadcast licence fees media houses paid if they increased local content programming.

If all these fail, then Government will consider legislation to make radio and TV stations introduce more locally produced programmes, he said.

He used Canada as an example of a country which implemented legislation to increase local content.

Mohammed said the government also wanted one hour a day of airtime on local stations to broadcast that "this is a government doing things on behalf of the people".

He said the State would depend on each station to abide by a concession granted by the Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago (TATT) to allow for Government programming.

"We don't want to use prime time. If we could get five per minutes per hour over 12 hours, we would have special government items to feature each hour," he said.

President of the Trinidad and Tobago Publishers and Broadcasters Association Kiran Maharaj suggested yesterday that Government needed to understand that local content would be better developed today if music and drama subjects had been emphasised in schools.

She also used the example of Canada but pointed out that this country's population was substantially larger than Trinidad and Tobago's and there was a sizeable market for local content there.

However, in Trinidad and Tobago, the format of local stations was dictated by what society wanted to hear and watch.

"If there was a need for local programming, we would do it," Maharaj insisted. "But the history of stations in the country shows that the market is not clamouring for it."

She said in a telephone interview yesterday that it was important to remember that media stations also operated as businesses and in a democracy, the State could not dictate what stations played.

Maharaj argued that if the quality of broadcasts media houses received from the government service was anything to go on, then stations would in trouble (because of poor quality).

While TATT provided licences for media houses to broadcast content, Maharaj said those licences were given to "fulfill the needs of the markets we serve".

"You can't put something in place that restricts that or frustrates the marketplace," she said.

She suggested that Government use its CNMG TV station to experiment with an increase in local content to see how much interest there was in more local programming.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Govt_wants_daily_programme_on_its_accomplishments-171639841.html