Chiney's Build Thread ( gathering equipment )+ iPAD

silent_riot

Re: Chiney's Build Thread ( gathering equipment )

Postby silent_riot » November 11th, 2010, 3:14 pm

What's your budget for front stage tho?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 11th, 2010, 5:02 pm

Well to b honest Im still on the look out cuz the gti looks great but I don't wanna close the door yet.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » November 11th, 2010, 9:10 pm

am i the only one with the suspicion that this system wasnt fully planned out or thought through properly?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 11th, 2010, 11:07 pm

^^ no u are not..
and it isnt..

i`m building it as i go along really

the 4000rms isnt for this build though.. i didnt say that either
hence i only showed 1 in the build pics

its the saz 2000d and 2 sa12s for bass
comps up front on the sax 100.4 along with comps again on the rear doors....

a single amp for 1 8" under the dash..

new plans...

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » November 12th, 2010, 5:30 am

and what is the purpose of a 8" under the dash and 2 subs in the rear?

what processing do you plan to use? do u realise you are going to need some very flexible processing to make that work? and why use 2 pairs of comps why not 1 paiir of comps and 1 pair of coaxial?

and what are you trying to get out of this system like what are your goals?

Sully

Postby Sully » November 12th, 2010, 7:14 am

Sounds like a pseudo gallery system.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 12th, 2010, 10:52 am

pimptacular wrote:and what is the purpose of a 8" under the dash and 2 subs in the rear?

what processing do you plan to use? do u realise you are going to need some very flexible processing to make that work? and why use 2 pairs of comps why not 1 paiir of comps and 1 pair of coaxial?

and what are you trying to get out of this system like what are your goals?

sully prob hit the nail on the head with wat he said lol, except my windows are hardly ever down and i dont blast rap/hiphop ..might quicker find a madonna CD in there that anything we :lol:

but the system isnt going for any MAIN goal..and to behonest
most of the times during the week i tend to end up using my car for work ( I.T stuff ) and subs in the back there hinders that

the 8" sub up front is going to takecare of that for the time the 12s arent in. so thats that.

reason i am not using coax in the back is because i hate coax and dont plan to use them, the system isnt going to be in a show/competition. so i dont need to worry about that or anything of the fashion.

however, my front is very important to me, and i cant seem to decide on wat 6.5s i wanna buy..

casper

Postby casper » November 12th, 2010, 11:41 am

reason i am not using coax in the back is because i hate coax and dont plan to use them, the system isnt going to be in a show/competition. so i dont need to worry about that or anything of the fashion.

yea but Chiney...u nuh gonna be able to tell the difference when hearing comps or coax in the back when u sittin in d front u know...i suggest u really go with the coax in the back...much more feasible and practical...comps in the back makes 0 sense for ur application uless u plan on parkin up and lissening to ur music from d back seat or somn... :?

Postby X_Factor » November 12th, 2010, 12:12 pm

get a pair of 7" or 8" comps for the front, i heard videsh's focal's and WOW those things slam!!...
the cheapest set is the DLS UR or UP 8" components

that sub in dash build is really alot of stress as when u crank it up a bit everything rackles like mad!

instead, get a pair or 1 sub that uses a really small enclosure and and swap them out when u need the space

Postby nervewrecker » November 12th, 2010, 12:24 pm

pair of flat subs in the rear or in the floor ftw.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 12th, 2010, 12:48 pm

ok taking in casper's advice it makes sense..
i just never really liked how co-ax sound or i prob never heard a proper set.
what do u guys make of the kicker coax or polk audio?

Sully

Postby Sully » November 12th, 2010, 1:16 pm

You can get a good pair of coaxes and you won't know the difference between that and a comp set.
If you're going to tune for SQ then I wouldn't even bother with the rear speakers. Go large with what you can fit in the front, and that should make up for the loudness you required from the rear speakers.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 12th, 2010, 1:57 pm

ok with wat u said there
how about this:

8s for midbass and the diamonds for the vocals and highs
used the sundown like so:

2 channels to the comps ( 1 each ) then the other 2 for the 8s..
wud have enough power going to the respectable speakers mentioned..

and for the 8. i wud think under the dash again on either side, seeing i have the space there, using sealed enclosures.

casper

Postby casper » November 12th, 2010, 2:16 pm

chiney if its for the WR then take sully's advice and get a strong pair of 8 or 9" or somn and forget bout the rearfill as u will have to cut ur doors and all kinda drama...WR dont have speaker placing in the back doors ent???...

save tha money u was thinkin bout spendin on the rearfill and put it towards getting better frontstage for the money...

X-factor...SS626 not usin focals...its morels he using...i usin d focals...but i dont think u hear my set up yet :oops:

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » November 12th, 2010, 2:50 pm

Is level doctoring to fit a 8/9 inch midbass in a wingroad door without being too obtrusive eh.
This is mine

as for the coax in the rear i believe a coax can work well but i think the coaxes should be filtered properly, so if u see something like this offering from jbl eg

notice the low pass filter. Alpine coaxes have this as well and the DLS also. I believe all are available locally so is not like you dont have options.

HOWEVER if it were me, id go with a pair of these in my doors ( minimal adjustment to fit em) and a pair of moderately low Fs tweets. ( PS watch both videos )

12.5mm one way linear excursion mmmmmmmm yess

http://www.diycable.com/main/product_in ... 711ec563b1

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » November 12th, 2010, 4:53 pm

Chiney wrote:ok with wat u said there
how about this:

8s for midbass and the diamonds for the vocals and highs
used the sundown like so:

2 channels to the comps ( 1 each ) then the other 2 for the 8s..
wud have enough power going to the respectable speakers mentioned..

and for the 8. i wud think under the dash again on either side, seeing i have the space there, using sealed enclosures.

again what processing are you going to use?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 12th, 2010, 7:47 pm

^^^x2

pimptacular wrote:am i the only one with the suspicion that this system wasnt fully planned out or thought through properly?

where in d back d coax\comp going ? - i know wingroad dont have rear speakers & i dont consider those quite in d back by d tail gate to be effective but more for rear passengers

i went thru that with 1 of my 1st sets with 2 pairs of 6.5" infinity comps off a alpine 4chan amp , 2 in d front & i neatly cut holes in d back passenger doors so it look like it came that way from d factory , i did it in spite of receiving good advice from d owner himself of this site

: http://www.glasswolf.net/papers/rearfill.html

u know from small & (when ur a newb) u always seeing rear speakers & thinking "hey that sounds great" so i did it & learn d hard way , imaging & midbass suffered due to d rear speakers in layman terms "competing with d front speakers" so with all 4 receiving d same power it sounded really hollow like a radio so i ended up fading out d back to a point that u know they there both not interrupting d front then my mids\highs sounded MUCH better

its hard to explain unless u do it urself & learn d hard way so if u want to go right ahead , i will never put in rear speakers for my daily SQ set again , if others like it well im glad for them but thats just MY TASTE

for 2000wrms on bass i suspect its going to be quite hard for any pair of 6.5" comps to keep up so like others already said i agree with a pair of 8" comps suggestion

imho why wud any1 "need" 2000wrms for a daily system - might be nice to show off to ur friends but personally i think 1000wrms in d proper box is sufficient for daily use & can fatigue ur ears , d acoustics of a wingroad easily enhances any wattage of bass u put in d trunk too

this is just IMHO ... :| :| :|

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » November 12th, 2010, 10:37 pm

Hmm not because you have a 2k rms amp in the car means you have to use it to max potential, A little headroom is always a good thing. Another thing is that we all have different limits on how much we wanna modify ( cut up etc ) our cars to accommodate the audio system.
Not because hes not going the typical pair of comps with a single sealed sub, sq install means he cant have a good sounding car.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 12th, 2010, 11:29 pm

wait wait

men like rovin and pimptcular really getting confused about the type of system i doing

i didnt say it waz SQ nor did i say it waz a gallery .. wtf :?

i am building to MY want and needs here... i jus thought sharing it with u guys would of been a cool ting..

the rear speakers waz gonna be done on the doors without butchering anything...

processing havent been decided as yet... heck im still tryin to source an alpine HU

and we all know pioneer jus arsing around..he doing like i eh tell him wat goin dong alrdy.

and then theres the fact that i am selling the wingroad early next yr so i eh butchering up it AT ALL ....

when the xtrail reaches, then i will have it done real nice...

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » November 13th, 2010, 12:51 am

well from the sounds of it not bashing but there seems to be no sort of balance..a daily driver the bass is overkill.. a street beater you dont have the midrange to support it.. for sq yeah ok that would be understandable as i have 2500rms total available for a daily sq driver but u said your not going for that.. and sourcing an alpine hu is far from hard unless your looking for old school but based on what you mentioned u need some very flexible processing..

3way upfront basically 8s in the doors and then use a component for vocals and highs.... say thats 2 separate signals providing ur using passives on the comonent set.. u still need to hp and lp the 8 in the door.. and the hp the component set so you wouldnt get cancelation an phase issues..

rearfill which is a 3rd indepdent signal for full range and then a 4th for bass.. most alpine and most units available could only do up to 2 fullrange and 1 bass

and you never heard a coaxial you like are you serious? what have you heard not bashing just asking?

but let me ask you what is the difference between a component and a coaxial..
both contains a crossover network..
both contains a woofer and a tweeter
both are designed to play a full spectrum of frequencies

only difference you could possibly note is that the tweeter is mounted to the woofer and even then i could name well respected brands that have component sets designed like this which includes boston and HAT

but i have to disagree with rovin about the rearfill aspect as there is a difference between rearfill and rear speakers..

and rearfill when done right does make a difference in sound that sounds really good.. and could enhance your front stage
but its requires a lot of processing to do rather than just fading out.. that is just once aspect to it

and why are you taking offence chiney? this is a tech forum to learn and discuss and share technical information

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 13th, 2010, 1:15 am

yep
well wen u explain urself like that i understand ur stand point different...

and thanks alot for the advice thus far...

this is how i wanted to have things done

trying to source me a 9886 while i am in MA, and then i want to use the 2 pairs for the 4channel and the low pass for the saz2000d
then i will use the signal pass through to send a signal to the other amp to power the 8s..

note the freq in which i am tuning the sub enclosure too

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 13th, 2010, 5:46 am

I still say get the ID horns yo.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 13th, 2010, 11:38 am

i was never under d impression it was a "SQ" system , to me it looks like a "loud street beater system using car speakers" since d norm with alot of ppl when they have that amt of power on bass they put d usual rcf\18 sound\eminence etc

the rear speakers waz gonna be done on the doors without butchering anything

how ? - even if u do a "surface type installation" there will be at least some holes to attach a pod unto d upholstery , unless ur thinking about buying some door upholstery from d bamboo for ur temp purpose & when u ready to sell u just put back d original upholstery ...plenty wingroad parts available in d bamboo going for fairly cheap so u cud experiment with

speakers in d back is a personal choice

is not a fightdown just comments .... :|

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 13th, 2010, 2:02 pm

^^ exactly wat u said...

backup door panels...

but heck!

why not make the front stage a SQ type installation??

RCF...18sounds...eminence... waz dat yo?

and wen is 2k and 12s plenty bass??

remember.. i am..not...tuning...high.....

perfect eg to dis wud be videsh bassline....very similar....

ID horns dread..

like these right ?

http://cgi.ebay.com/CD1E-IMAGE-DYNAMICS ... 2761wt_902

real fleckin price hoss.. lol

Postby 3stagevtec » November 13th, 2010, 3:19 pm

what a fun thread.. lol

it seems you building a system similar to mines, a loudish street beater built under SQ guidelines..

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 13th, 2010, 5:47 pm

Chiney why not a 9887 and have processing glory at your fingertips?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 13th, 2010, 7:04 pm

either u deaf or u standing outside ur wagon to listen to it

come hear 1 12" ported low 30s off 1000wrms in my wagon & i bet u run out ... :mrgreen:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 13th, 2010, 10:24 pm

^^ bet i stay in....

yeh boy Rene...there u go..

Postby 3stagevtec » November 13th, 2010, 10:42 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:

either u deaf or u standing outside ur wagon to listen to it

come hear 1 12" ported low 30s off 1000wrms in my wagon & i bet u run out ... :mrgreen:

offtopic..

so much for sealed SQ eh.. :lol:

ontopic..

I currently have ~1500Wrms for my daily 12" and sometimes find it can be on the low side when the urge for big / show off bass arises.. 2000Wrms and 2 12"s will make for a really fun daily setup imo..

Postby nervewrecker » November 14th, 2010, 12:49 am

even if was Chiney still not gonna be loud:

http://www.mktrinievents.com/forum/phpB ... 8&start=50

but I like his way of thinking though.

Chiney, If im not mistaken there is a build thread from jeff in here where he modded some front doors & said that everything can go back to the stock appearance in case he needs to sell the car. I say take some pointers from it & go for something like what soundstream626 has on his doors. Those get pretty loud, shaking your clothes loud!

question: whats the recommended size enclosure for those sundown 8"? do you have that space under the dashboard? furthermore, did you factor in mounting them & the enclosure they are in?