So no more Right Turns on Chag/PricePlaza Flyover

nareshseep

Re: So no more Right Turns on Chag/PricePlaza Flyover

Postby nareshseep » September 20th, 2010, 6:23 pm

cinco wrote:the sign say no right turn dont need no grace period read d forkin sign and obey the law

good move, that two lanes that goes across to price plaza, at the top they should construct a concrete barrier, since there is suppose to be a merging of two lanes into one, but people does ignore that and be making two lanes there. Doing this will produce a faster stream of traffic = less waiting

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » September 20th, 2010, 9:17 pm

makes sense since it only one lane of traffic for both directions. if one want to turn to go on the hw, the will be blocking everyone behind who want to go straight....

http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&ie=UTF8&t=k&ll=10.527914,-61.409476&spn=0.0025,0.004823&z=18

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » September 20th, 2010, 9:56 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
teems1 wrote:cyar be givin tickets dry so

ppl accustomed they whole life to turn right there... hadda have a transition period.

Ignorance is no excuse. If is no right turn, is no right turn!

x2...
if u cyah read a sign, u shouldnt be driving.

If u see how much ppl does be turning right there at 6am.....ppl eh cater at all yes!

figure all u need is..

Postby tr1ad » September 20th, 2010, 10:17 pm

very good move by them

wed they put up one sign on the ramp and had police directing, thurs, they put up 3 more signs before the ramp on the highway, ticket shared like rain

because trinis have the mentality that they kno it so all the time is not an excuse at all

signs there for a reason.....

they again i always see signs saying shoulder is for emergency and no overtaking on the left but....

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2010, 10:28 pm

that junction was badly planned in the first place,
it was fast tracked for the pp development by an ex pnm health minister
who happen to own the pp

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » September 20th, 2010, 10:46 pm

Is it just me.... or is traffic worse now on a morning, around 8 a.m on the flyover since they did that??

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 20th, 2010, 10:58 pm

KURMAman wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:
teems1 wrote:cyar be givin tickets dry so

ppl accustomed they whole life to turn right there... hadda have a transition period.

Ignorance is no excuse. If is no right turn, is no right turn!

x2...
if u cyah read a sign, u shouldnt be driving.

If u see how much ppl does be turning right there at 6am.....ppl eh cater at all yes!

figure all u need is..

hahahha thaz a s14 orr?

TK!

Postby TK! » September 21st, 2010, 12:13 am

Virus wrote:Passed there this morning around 4, signs up

So to get onto the hw to POS u have to go to medford and turn right

To get the the hw to south go to Price Plaza and turn right

Where is this chaganuas? is it south of grand bazaar?

Postby Trini Hookah » September 21st, 2010, 6:14 am

TK! wrote:
Virus wrote:Where is this chaganuas?

Capital of Tobago.

Virus

Postby Virus » September 21st, 2010, 6:32 am

vrampersad14 wrote:
TK! wrote:
TK! wrote:Where is this chaganuas?

Capital of Tobago.

Postby Chimera » September 21st, 2010, 8:27 am

Postby SR » September 21st, 2010, 10:26 am

fuzz_174 wrote:Is it just me.... or is traffic worse now on a morning, around 8 a.m on the flyover since they did that??

figured it would be

traffic has just been shifted to somwhere else
so basically anyone leaving lange park/price plaza has to turn by medford gas station and then make a block to filter back onto the highway to head north
and u have to giht up with 2 lanes of traffic heading east to try and cross

Postby wagon r » September 21st, 2010, 10:27 am

...i as well am damn happy about the new arrangement. was speakin to Lic. Off. about this 3 weeks ago before the signs went up and they said they were going to make changes.

...what used to take 3 lights to cross from L.P to Med. now takes 1. the only drama is a little traffic near the Amco turn off, but a lil 5mins earlier to leave solves that.

..all they need to do now is to pave the eastern side of the bridge.

Postby cinco » September 21st, 2010, 10:52 am

wagon r wrote:...i as well am damn happy about the new arrangement. was speakin to Lic. Off. about this 3 weeks ago before the signs went up and they said they were going to make changes.

...what used to take 3 lights to cross from L.P to Med. now takes 1. the only drama is a little traffic near the Amco turn off, but a lil 5mins earlier to leave solves that.

..all they need to do now is to pave the eastern side of the bridge.

endorsed i had proposed this solution a lonngggg time ago to my mom :oops:
my problem now is the traffic entering lange park where people are now forced to turn onto the highway

Postby Chimera » September 21st, 2010, 11:36 am

i now realize you can't turn onto the southbound highway from ontop the flyover either..oops lol

oh well small thing

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » September 21st, 2010, 11:52 am

Thanks for the map crazybaldhead

I use this flyover every once in a while and your map clearly shows that I can't go north unto the highway if I was heading west on the flyover from the Pricesmart area, and I cant head South unto the highway if I was travelling east on the flyover from the Medford Gas Station area.

I'm still however trying to figure out where then do I pass? I'm not from Chaguanas and those are the two routes I've used when it was legal to do so.

If I'm at Pricesmart, must I now make the drive pass Medford and take the route that would cause me to exit by Tracmac if I wanted to head north and if I'm at Medford's should I go straight into chaguanas if I wanted to head South?

Some advice would help.

Postby tr1ad » September 21st, 2010, 11:55 am

make the right by medford and follow the road

Postby wagon r » September 21st, 2010, 1:19 pm

there are also signs by Med. to direct you....they should take down the signs stating you could turn on the eastern end to the bridge to head south.....confuses people.

if you are heading south from Med. jus follow the traffic turnin right (passing PP on your left) and then take the exit before AMCO opp. where people come out from the back of PP (Endevour Road).

Postby cinco » September 21st, 2010, 1:43 pm

all they need to do is put concrete barriers on those exits

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » September 21st, 2010, 5:26 pm

THANKS to those who've helped with explaining the directions.

pioneer - I know being able to read would help and anyone driving in that area should simply read and follow the signs but I prefer to get the directions before hand so that I don't have to slow down excessively to figure my way out of Chaguanas. That might be a contributor to the relocated traffic.

Postby M_2NR » September 21st, 2010, 5:45 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Great! The wifey say they should put a concrete barrier to prevent right turns. I sure them MC's still trying it.

Well obviously...this is how the typical trini thinks...

BUH BUH BUH Y I MUSS MEK ALL DA RONGS WHEN I CUD TUN RIGHT HYARR Image

thanks for the heads up guys.

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Image

*dies*

hahahaha *right-click save*

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 21st, 2010, 6:07 pm

TriniVdub wrote:
PapaC wrote:So since I not too familiar with the area, anybody willing to make a lil map for me to understand the traffic arrangement?

I not familiar = I do not venture beyond the lighthouse..... then wtf yuh need to know for??

Easy conchita, re-read what I said and have a cookie......

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 21st, 2010, 6:29 pm

cinco wrote:all they need to do is put concrete barriers on those exits

other traffic still uses them

Postby cinco » September 21st, 2010, 7:33 pm

zcarz wrote:
cinco wrote:all they need to do is put concrete barriers on those exits

other traffic still uses them

like who?
there should be NO traffic on those ramps anymore

trinsimon

Postby trinsimon » September 21st, 2010, 10:42 pm

Mark! wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:I find they should have a concrete barrier at the top of all the flyovers for the idiots who want to make a right off of the left lane.

mite be a prob for those big ass trucks who hav to turn wide

i've personally seen on more than one occasion those said big ass trucks make those turns from the right lane..esp on the couva flyover..dey jus like to take advantage of the peewees on d road!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 21st, 2010, 11:14 pm

this causes shitty traffic by medford however......they may have to put a light there also.....

Postby Trini Hookah » September 21st, 2010, 11:19 pm

you can't be serious, that will only cause traffic to be backed up onto Caroni Savannah Road, creating even MORE of a problem.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 21st, 2010, 11:32 pm

yeah i know but i am just saying they may have to eventually do that cause to turn right there--you have to cut across two lanes of oncoming traffic

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 21st, 2010, 11:58 pm

interchange interchange interchange

Postby pete » September 22nd, 2010, 8:13 am

Saw police had pulled over about 5/6 cars on the northbound this morning.

Despite the no right turns they should have additional signage with information how to get to the highway. I know most people wouldn't read the signs but it could help out the situation.