A mother's pain...really sad story!!!

Re: A mother's pain...really sad story!!!

Postby cinco » September 6th, 2010, 7:25 am

this is the state of our country people blame the government for the state of the healthcare system but clearly from reading experiences it is the hospital staff to blame there is no excuse for not seein a patient within 3hrs.

Postby SR » September 6th, 2010, 8:12 am

allyuh really have no idea as to how bad things are in public healthcare

especially with most of the staff/nurses etc working in it
typical attitude no sense of urgency
funny thing is a lot of the older doctors have that same doh care attitude while a lot of the new interns do sho interest and dedication
but with lack of support from the nurses etc there isnt much they can do as if you complain the nurses then have an attitude towards you especially as you are younger than them

this is first hand experience at pos general
from staff that show up after 8 for a clinic that starts at 7am
files can never be found because sombody didnt file them back
hoggish attitude towards patients
most shouldnt even be in health care as they have the same attitude as if they working cepep

people in charge need to sit in disguise for a day in different wards/clinics and observe for themselves
as usually when people know they are around its all roses

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » September 6th, 2010, 12:02 pm

SR wrote:people in charge need to sit in disguise for a day in different wards/clinics and observe for themselves
as usually when people know they are around its all roses

great idea!

but dey might fraid dey pickup some disease in d air and then hadda go westshore to be treated :|

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 6th, 2010, 12:05 pm

if you know how dengue works, and you look at the account of the boys death, it is clear there was some procrastination involved initially.....between Tuesday you take your son to the HC for the first time, and then on Thursday his blood count is less than 100, its clear that the "nah! you eh have dengue" mentality took place and they waited until it got progressively worse to seek medical attention......that said, i see some truth to the statement below....

kal el wrote:i know this case personally also the patient involved. The parents lied when they said they were taking the guy to private doctors etc when this problem was officially starting, in fact they said just because he was big(strapped) they just figured it was a common cold etc. Then when they started to see red bumps on his hands, they decided to take action....and from there was all down hill....IMO the parents are to blame for his condition and no matter what tears they shed the guilt will remain with them. The should've reacted sooner.

it is sad that the guy died, and i'm sorry for their loss.........the health care system is in a sad state, i too was on the receiving end of it when i had dengue last year.........they tried 9 times to draw blood from both my arms, and on one occasion when blood would not fill the syringe, the guy pushed back in the little blood in the syringe back into my arm....together will the the vacuum that had formed in the syringe..........some of those ppl have no clue what they doing, none!
i sought private medical treatment, and over a period of about 10 days it costed me about $800.................

on a side note.......do public medical staff operate as do they because they aren't paid as they should, and hence discontent with their jobs?

Postby AllTrac » September 6th, 2010, 12:13 pm

always good to take out a decent medical insurance.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 6th, 2010, 12:20 pm

^^^^^agreed........

Postby UML » September 6th, 2010, 4:07 pm

they say dengue is not an emergency case.....but i wud think unconsciousness would be?!!

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 6th, 2010, 10:57 pm

St clair or Westshore FTW

Postby De Dragon » September 7th, 2010, 4:28 am

pioneer wrote:The majority of the proletariat can't afford st clair or westshore, these are the same people politicians used for votes.

But these same politicians won't dare go or send their kids to a public institution

Mt. Hope has so much potential with world class facilities yet all governments in power ignored and continue to ignore it.

Where is our Health Minister in all of this?

I think the government needs to take heed to the mandate given to them by the PEOPLE, and not study to full their pockets n continue living their lives of luxury and fame.

Fire for the government, let the Brits take us back.

Looks like somebody learnt a new word! :wink:

Postby De Dragon » September 7th, 2010, 4:34 am

Now while there are some who are total kants, nurses have to put up with real sheit. From different salaries( Ministry nurses get paid higher for some reason), to lack of drugs,equipment and doctors who really seem not to care. Also patients can be really taxing, especially when visiting hour is over and the nurses have to administer medication, bathe patients etc but relatives,visitors won't leave! This seriously interrupts the routine for the patient and the nursing staff.

Postby De Dragon » September 7th, 2010, 4:53 am

De Dragon wrote:Now while there are some who are total kants, nurses have to put up with real sheit. From different salaries( Ministry nurses get paid higher for some reason), to lack of drugs,equipment and doctors who really seem not to care. Also patients can be really taxing, especially when visiting hour is over and the nurses have to administer medication, bathe patients etc but relatives,visitors won't leave! This seriously interrupts the routine for the patient and the nursing staff.

That's where hospital/institution management kicks in and those who don't abide by the rules have to leave, that simple.

But it's not one of the root causes of the outright collapse of health care in Trinidad. Many problems have to be fixed and addressed on a central government level.

But i should stop talkin bout that before people say i "bad talkin unc" and i "jump de bandwagon".

Sorry if i have the vision to call a spade a spade and not be fooled n charmed by politicians.

Management is usually the same old bulls who passed through the system and retined the attitude. It takes weeks for simple HR requests to be processed, and only weeks because you are calling every other day and making yourself an irritant. Management is usually pushed down to some matron/head nurse who, if you are out of favour, well the proverbial crapaud smoke your pipe!
Imagine we need nurses so badly, yet after 3 years of training we want to pay them stipends instead of a proper salary even though they are fully qualified and functioning as RN's.
The Health Minister needs to ride upper management like jackarse until things change. Of course,this will involving having some kind of vision as to the change we want, and how to achieve it.