Core i7 VS Phenom II for Professional Work? Wat u guys think

RadeonHD

Re: Phenom II X6 on a AM2+ Mainboard? what you guys think?

Postby RadeonHD » June 3rd, 2010, 9:43 pm

Anyways so I guess this settles it?

Only benefit of AM3 CPU will be for DDR3 like xaira said, which is limited to certain applications which do not fall in my category.

SO I guess its safe to say I can wait for the 95 watt revision of the Phenom II X6 and use it on my AM2+ main board. Its a good board and RAM is quite expensive now so I see no need in buying a whole new PC anytime soon.

I guess its settled I will go for the phenom II X6 and keep my AM2+

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 4th, 2010, 12:48 am

hmm like i reach late here yes.

As a computer supplier i take great pride in doing my home work to advice all my customers with the best choice.

the AMD X 6 chip are great i am getting them starting at 1800-2400, but why use a AM2 board with crappy DDR2 memory?

///////i have done that already but the customer always come ack for me to upgrade to DDR3 system runs like 2 times better.

Also

I have use the AMD 965.1090 and the intel i7 940,975 and 980X but not onces have the AMD beat anyone of thos intel chips, my last build was with . 5970 in quadfire with the 980X i run a 3dmark vantage and i hit 34k performace point on stock speed then i overclock everything and i got like over 45 k, with the AMD CPU i got like half of what i get with the intel on cpu score, but right now intel got some cheap i7 chips that can blow away any AMD chip it had a time when i was AMD but when you gone intel there is no turning back.

anyone wants to see video please check my you tube channel its my name firstchoicett.

thanks

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » June 4th, 2010, 10:21 pm

being an intel fan boy....i didnt want to get involved....but thank you firstchoicett...for schooling these guys....AMD is great...aka the bang for the buck....but it never better than a identical intel chip in performance....but it often comes close....at the end of the day most ppl jus buy intel to brag, but a few seconds iz nottin to spend a ton of money for...but knowing you have the best iz priceless!!!

the x6 iz good choice for your rendering...according to your benchmarks, but as you can see intel wins in gaming...its all about what you want to do!!.....what he said iz true when you go intel there is no turning back....its like the dark side of the force!!!

closing: leave the fighting for the companys (Intel vs AMD).....we should all reap the benifits...eg...price cuts!!!!

$$$-dc audio-$$$

Postby $$$-dc audio-$$$ » June 4th, 2010, 11:04 pm

what i notice in my experience is amd slows down after a while, but intel keeps running fast, but like marlo5 said, amd is the bang for the buck, when intel is the real deal (very more expensive though)

Lich King

Postby Lich King » June 4th, 2010, 11:49 pm

$$$-dc audio-$$$ wrote:what i notice in my experience is amd slows down after a while, but intel keeps running fast, but like marlo5 said, amd is the bang for the buck, when intel is the real deal (very more expensive though)
What exactly do you mean by slows down after a while? I would think that has to do more with the OS and software being used than the hardware. My core 2 duo notebook went from 30 sec boot to 5 mins boot times when I had vista on it, once I upgraded to Win7 I never had that issue again.

xaira

Postby xaira » June 5th, 2010, 12:05 am

is that a hexacore at 45nm consuming less power than a hexa at 32nm?

wait is that a hexa at 3.2ghz consuming 30 watts less than a quad at 2.8?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 5th, 2010, 1:05 am

^^ Well spotted Xaira

This here proves superiority in AMD over Intel again.

I taught intel was the great centrino branded king of power efficiency. How manage the Phenom II X6 pulling way less watts than the core i7 and gives superior performance in Professional Applications?

I always taught fan boys were correct when they said intel uses less current.

Seems I was wrong as its proven here AMD is the one using less current.

Shame on Intel that their 32nm must use more watts than a 45nm chip.
What a shame!!!

Shame on people spreading lies and not providing proper citation on their Claims of intel superiority. Clearly Xaira is providing real links and references to his claims.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 5th, 2010, 1:41 am

I knew a guy who bought a Geforce 9600 card over a Radeon HD 4850 OC

He said he paid the same money for it because he was a Nvidia and Intel fan boy.

You know whats really funny about all of this?

its a fact that ATI cards actually run better on intel system. lol
Infact Intel and Nvidia is anything but friends, recently Nvidia CEO insulted Intel and called their products garbage compared to AMD's neo platform and that the Atom by itself is such crap it will cripple the software industry. He further explained that VIA's nano chip was superior to the intel atom. Have a nice read.

http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/news/1050680/nvidia-ceo-disses-intel-chipsets

Now even worst is the case of deception and fraud etc. Intel has been fined a number of times a few billion US dollars by now for fraud. They deliberately paid vendors like DELL not to use AMD chips in their PC

You could not even get a AMD system in Germany even the AMD scientists could not find a AMD pc in germany at the time.

http://www.engadget.com/2009/05/13/intel-fined-1-45-billion-dollars/

Have a nice read intel was forced to pay AMD over a Billion US for their dirty tactics and harming European Customers. Intel realized many years ago the Athlon was crushing their Pentium processors. So they resulted in bribery and other illegal acts to try and defeat AMD and reduce their profits so intel would get the upper hand. They Intel has even resulted in rigged benchmarks to fool people. Their will be much more fines coming their way very soon this is just the start.

Before people assume Intel is better it would be in their best interest to actually read instead of spreading these lies and propaganda.

I will give intel win in marketing. They have a distinctive logo and marketing just like Nike and Honda etc.
They have countless different processors to choose from, their ads are nicer. Their name is nicer. Their slogan is nicer. So I know very well benefits of intel is also psychological. It raises your ego makes you feel better. If you want to increase your ego then you definitely should buy a intel system.

But its clear their processor is not better when it comes to price and thats all that counts to 90% of the PC market. The fact they pull more watts and give poorer results in professional applications and not to mention they charge a lot more for their CPU is more than enough to see whats really going on. All that is required is proper research.

FYI: I do use Intel SSD drives so obviously I am not anti intel. My brother does have a core i7 Processor in his PC which I had recommended to him so we could have an idea of performance between both intel and AMD.

PS: I do acknowledge that the core i7 Extreme is a little faster than the best AMD chip. But I don't compare a $1000 USD CPU to a $200 AMD 6 core. And just so you know AMD holds the highest overclock record with highest performance in the world using liquid nitrogen.

http://blogs.amd.com/patmoorhead/2009/01/15/breaking-records-with-dragons-and-helium-in-the-las-vegas-desert/

Nothing wrong with liking something, I have a Intel Laptop and a AMD desktop, I consider the Intel laptop to be very much superior to the AMD for what I want which is business I am in it for battery life and AMD provides performance with their Radeon Notebooks which does not fit my need if you like integrated gaming notebooks its obvious AMD will destroy the intel

If however you want battery life its obvious intel will destroy AMD. I always believe to each his own. But don't let your Ego get to big about it.

xaira

Postby xaira » June 5th, 2010, 7:27 am

actually i wouldnt take words out of the mouth of nvidia against intel, Intel and Nvidia have been at war because intel revoked nvidias license to produce chipsets(NB+SB) for any cpu after intel 775, so now intel has a complete legal monopoly over chipset production for all present and future intel sockets...

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » June 5th, 2010, 9:44 am

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 5th, 2010, 2:06 pm

marlo5 wrote:the x6 iz good choice for your rendering...according to your benchmarks, but as you can see intel wins in gaming...

what? which benchmark did you see that?

Alpine, check your mb site they should say if it is compatible or you may have to download a bios update.

There is also a 960T at ~3Ghz (Zosma) that is supposed to come out which is a 95W quad core (a 6-core with 2 cores disabled) but with turbo, and the chance of unlocking the other 2 cores.
Also these new cpus (10xxT,9xxT) have improved thermals and a better memory controller than the previous phenom IIs

Fanboys should be beaten with a bullpistle. I agree that it is a cycle but when you are buying a platform for a specific purpose, the logical thing to do is first compare the actual benchmarks eg. FPS or Time or whatever unit you measuring, and then watch price.

I know is not gaming you talking about but just an example: if for brand-1 you paying $50 and getting 50FPS and for $100 you getting 90FPS, is the extra $ worth the performance increase? Similarly if you paying $100 for brand-2 and getting 90 FPS and for $500 you getting 100 FPS, is the extra $ worth it?

Now if your work requires a certain level of performance (eg. the 100FPS ^^) and that level performance can only be obtained by paying the extra $ then you wouldnt have a choice.

Of course you can start the whole 4core vs 6core or dual-channel vs triple-channel or 1066 vs 1333 etc arguments but like i said it is more logical to view the benchmarks 1st and price 2nd.

And btw although the MSRP for the 1055T is ~$199US, it can be found cheaper in some places if you look around but they disappear very fast. I payed $145USD for a brand new/sealed/unopened 1055T with free shipping to anywhere in the U.S. and i had it sent to my pardner in miami to test it to make sure it is working and now he does not want to send it to me :|

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 5th, 2010, 2:42 pm

^^ Wtf lol $145 USD is a boss price man. Holy cray just a few years ago this kinda technology would cost a drastic amount.

From the looks of it you know the i7 even IF it manages to beat AMD in gaming its by 1FPS LOL

something that is not even considered an increase in real world performance. In most cases when you reach a certain level of gaming like from the minute you enable 1920x1200 and 4X AA and ultra graphics.

CPU becomes almost useless. Not to mention the Phenom is a very powerful gaming CPU
It was probably designed to favor 3D work more than anything.

like fouljuice said where is the proof that Intel wins in Gaming?

Because clearly this chart here from pureoverclock says the Phenom II OC is beating the Core i7 OC

I always taught the Core i7 was this great Overclock CPU. And intel was ligh years ahead of AMD when it comes to OC
How come this picture paints a different story?

Clearly people don't know what they are saying. The core i7 and phenom II gives near identical performance with the phenom II pulling the lead when compared to a over clock i7

RadeonHD

Re: Core i7 VS Phenom II for Professional Work? Wat u guys t

Postby RadeonHD » June 5th, 2010, 3:01 pm

Even more depressing news for the Intel Fan boys

According to this bench mark the Phenom II X6 has beaten the $1000 US Intel Core i7 EXTREME

And by quite a LARGE margin we speaking 10 FPS

How does a $145 CPU beat a $1000 US intel core i7 Extreme?

Where all the people claiming intel superiority is now? :lol:

Shame on intel for the price they charge and this nonsense they give you in return.

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » June 5th, 2010, 3:16 pm

here's your proof.... http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/2009 ... ks,60.html maybe now you guys can stop arguing !!!

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 5th, 2010, 6:52 pm

waye boi marlo5 yuh nearly ketch meh dey, but watch them resolutions and settings.
1280 x 800? medium settings? HDR off? surely if a man could afford a i7 platform he could more than afford 1080p.

i can't find another cpu review with gta 4/highest settings , but in the meantime hold dis:
Farcry2 - directx10,4xAA,very high, vsync off
or
here

L4D - everything on max

crysis warhead - directx10, 2xAA, enthusiast setting
hd5870 or gtx260

I could go on but you could just check the whole review

And since the gaming part was not the main area of concern by the o.p, I will have to agree with the poster who said that you will see mixed and matched results with the other programs, BUT a cpu/platform that is so much more expensive (keep in mind the cost of the motherboards too) should be delivering consistent results i.e it should be beating the amd in ALL test, not just some. Because if the i7s not beating the x6s in everything, WHAT exactly explains the price difference? triple channel ram? --->

Imagine a $300usd 1090T beating a +$550usd i7-965 both on stock settings and with some overclocking almost meeting a $999usd i7-980X

That is just madness

How would any one of you feel if you aks ah man to build for you the fastest computer ever and he build something with ah i7-980X and then he show you the bill?.....And then how you would feel when your pardna show you the bill for his 1090T system and you see that his entire system cost the same (or less) than your cpu alone and there is not a vast difference in performance? To tell you the truth, I might really start to cry right there and then :oops:
Last edited by fouljuice on June 5th, 2010, 7:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 5th, 2010, 6:57 pm

marlo5 wrote:here's your proof.... http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/2009 ... ks,60.html maybe now you guys can stop arguing !!!

Don't count on it. :lol:

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » June 5th, 2010, 7:21 pm

aah yes well observed fouljuice

He almost caught me there to. Until you posted this link showing the intel core i7 extreme getting destroyed by the power of the deadly Phenom II X6

http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/amd_phenom2_x6_1090t/9.htm

We are in 2010 and its the age of full HD. Shame on intel and the fan boys for using such deceitful tactics that they do. Its obvious from these settings the AMD has beaten intel in high end gaming.

Now we must ask ourselves how do these people feel when they buy a core i7 extreme for $1000 US and it has been beaten by AMD's $199 phenom II X6

Surely the intel fan boys should invest in a industrial ego meter.

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » June 5th, 2010, 7:48 pm

LAWWWD!!!........u guys missing de point ...let me quote myself "AMD is great...aka the bang for the buck"......."at the end of the day most ppl jus buy intel to brag, but a few seconds iz nottin to spend a ton of money for"......check another reputable website link.... http://www.anandtech.com/bench/CPU/50 these sites that i provide are the best and most precise in benchmarking

its not arguing about price,neither the fact that's its a 6 core processor vs a 4 core processor
ITS ABOUT WHICH BRAND OF PROCESSOR MOST OFTEN COMES OUT ON TOP ALL THE TIME IN EVERYTHING AND NOT JUST IN GAMES.....if that link doesn't prove my point....then i give up on.....& FYI i own two AMD machines

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » June 5th, 2010, 7:51 pm

before u guys holla back check all benchmarks in that link^^^^

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » June 5th, 2010, 8:07 pm

^^ again you making no sense.

So you saying that how professional programs like Cinema 4D and 3ds studio max means nothing? you telling me the software used to make video games is not counted?

Or are you saying intel comes up every time in every professional application?

So let me get this straight, AMD beats intel in professional software and 3D games

And somehow those 2 things we should IGNORE?????

RIIIIIIIIIIGHT!!!!!

SUUUUUUURE!!!!!

Lets all ignore the fact that AMD has the lead always coming out ontop in professional applications used to create movies like Avatar etc and latest games like far cry 2 and crysis etc.

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » June 5th, 2010, 8:19 pm

^^^^OMG...I give up....I goin an kill some ants or something......SAD!!

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » June 5th, 2010, 8:23 pm

resorting to murdering innocent ants now are we?

Is this the level you stoop??

Shame on the intel fan boys for killing animals which is not related to a CPU
Shame on you marlo5

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 5th, 2010, 8:53 pm

I must say there is some very good info presented in this thread.

But

1. a cpu that cost 5 times more than the competitor is better (but not by much) I will agree that the intel is the better buy if you have a money tree/ or need bragging rights.

2. Does it makes sense to spend that money when within 6-12 mths a next better cpu will come out? (why not invest in a better GPU)

3. Why that with one CPU manufacturer you need/have to change your mobo when upgrading. (additional cost to the consumer)

50 fps (x6) vs 67.73 fps(i7) Crysis 1680x1050 4AA ... hmm that is acceptable performance to me given that amd does not have the amount of R&D$$$ at its disposal

Also to the OP
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/amd ... ,2613.html
AMD’s Opteron 2400-series processors also sport six cores, and they’re significantly less expensive (as low as $455 for the 2.2 GHz 2427). The compromise, of course, is that they’re not as fast. Here, you’re paying for the ability to enable a dual-socket machine equipped with twelve total cores. As with the Intel hexa-cores, these CPUs are totally overkill on the desktop.

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » June 5th, 2010, 9:26 pm

OK!! im back....and yes i will stoop so low...cuz F#*k ants....and btw ants are not animals..jus so you know.....but finally a guy that understanding what im sayin thank you nareshseep....

Intel is the best once you got that money tree or need bragging rights.
BUT for the last time AMD iz the BANG for the BUCK!!

And FYI they don't benchmark games on high because on the high settings they depend mostly on the GPU's rather on the CPU's processing power, a pc iz not only about a CPU I'll quote myself again "its all about what you want to do"!!

Closing: I could put ah PC together with the higest gpu available,2 SSD's in raid 0, ah 64 bit operating system, bout 16gbs of 2000mhz memory....and ah EFFING ...CYRIX CHIP......and it will blow way de 980x rubbish and that 6 core trash......CYRIX 4LIFE!!!

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » June 6th, 2010, 1:19 am

marlo5 wrote:OK!! im back....and yes i will stoop so low...cuz F#*k ants....and btw ants are not animals..jus so you know.....

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA

Ok hoss after that statement I realize I cannot take anything seriously from you again lol

I suppose they are plants ent and the rest of insects are humans :lol:

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » June 6th, 2010, 1:21 am

But yeah first smart thing you say far marlo

My best upgrade I ever made was a Intel SSD

I cant ever go back to hard drives again. So I agree with you there. :D

Postby bushwakka » June 6th, 2010, 11:20 am

so.....this thread has still not changed my mind about intel vs amd
i understand what the OP is saying, and that's great that AMD has managed to supercede intel this time (so competition would drive the need for development of tech).....

i'm not a pro user myself, neither a real hardcore gamer, but i chose the E8400 over its AMD equivalent which was half the price at the time, simply cuz i wanted to have an edge.....

and yes, 2fps does make me feel better and i'm proud to admit it

badart

Postby badart » June 6th, 2010, 12:28 pm

AMD FTW!

jm3

Postby jm3 » June 7th, 2010, 10:33 am

bushwakka wrote:i'm not a pro user myself, neither a real hardcore gamer, but i chose the E8400 over its AMD equivalent which was half the price at the time, simply cuz i wanted to have an edge.....

i dont understand the logic there why pay more money for the brand when its just a mid power dual core that makes no sense to me.
why do people have loyalty to brands?
they dont have loyalty to you,
when i see a jm3 edition cpu i will stick with that brand

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » June 7th, 2010, 11:26 am

jm3 wrote:
bushwakka wrote:i'm not a pro user myself, neither a real hardcore gamer, but i chose the E8400 over its AMD equivalent which was half the price at the time, simply cuz i wanted to have an edge.....

i dont understand the logic there why pay more money for the brand when its just a mid power dual core that makes no sense to me.
why do people have loyalty to brands?
they dont have loyalty to you,
when i see a jm3 edition cpu i will stick with that brand

like i said up top...."at the end of the day most ppl jus buy intel to brag, but a few seconds iz nottin to spend a ton of money for...but knowing you have the best iz priceless!!!"........you guy jus Argue with out understanding what anyone iz sayin...u probably don't even read each post good just skim through