Stock ECU Evo record broken

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » April 5th, 2010, 9:33 pm

sparky wrote:the turbo for one do not look stock, stock fuel system cannot support that power and
i am sure their more realities.

I don't think they said any of those things were stock, just the OEM ecu that has been re-flashed. Common sense should dictate that almost everything is/should be after market

sparky

Postby sparky » April 7th, 2010, 1:33 pm

then why say stock evo doing 900hp.if the ecu is re-flashed then it is not stock.

reza

Postby reza » April 7th, 2010, 1:51 pm

the name of the thread is "Stock Evo ECU"....not stock Evo doing 900hp... :|

btw,

1. the ECU in question is OEM.
2. The OEM ECU can be reflashed.
3. Re-flashing the ECU (hardware) does not mean changing it... it is still stock...the ECU obviously is now just re-mapped...

Hope this assists...

Postby Razkal » April 8th, 2010, 10:17 am

i really find it a bit honda-ish that men find cool points in bragging about a reflashed ecu being stock on a 900hp build....fishing for accolades imo..

great power, excellent platform and unquestionable tuners.....just relax 'bout allyuh ecu...it's physically the same unit from factory, but nothing programmed into it would resemble a factory map i'm sure...not at 900hp at any rate..

W2J

Postby W2J » April 8th, 2010, 10:55 am

Razkal wrote:i really find it a bit honda-ish that men find cool points in bragging about a reflashed ecu being stock on a 900hp build....fishing for accolades imo..

great power, excellent platform and unquestionable tuners.....just relax 'bout allyuh ecu...it's physically the same unit from factory, but nothing programmed into it would resemble a factory map i'm sure...not at 900hp at any rate..

if you knew anything about tuning or working with a ems especially one that cannot do a real time map trace, I am sure you would not have made that retarded statement.

Postby Razkal » April 8th, 2010, 12:37 pm

Razkal wrote:
crispeed wrote:
Razkal wrote:seeing as "stock ecu" refers to a reflash/reprogramming of the factory control unit...and this method offers almost as much tuning flexibility as a stand alone, i don't see what all the fuss is about.....

It might offer as much tuning flexibility but not the features required to deliver the power effeciently. It takes way more than just a dyno graph to deliver consistent results at the track.

elaborate for me please....

well i asked, and no one elaborated or enlightened...so my opinion had no grounds to budge; seeing as you're adamant on homage being paid to this achievement W2J i'll have to read up myself (although i thought this thread had enough knowledgeable "tuners" to explain the title claim...hence my posted request) and hope my newfound knowledge removes some significant retardation from my side of the keyboard and some emo from yours..

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » April 8th, 2010, 12:48 pm

Razkal, well from what i can see, things like the scaling of the fuel maps...A 900hp 4-banger would need like what 1000/1600 cc injectors initially the map would be scaled to adequately control the stock 550/560 cc injectors so i would imagine getting that sheit to just idle with the stock parameters would be a pain in the ass, i maybe wrong though, i'm not sure if the scale values can be altered like that of a full ems i.e 1000,1500,2000,2500rpm etc full ems can go down to 800,825,850,875 etc

then from the vid they running mafless i not sure whats involved in terms of reflashing to do that

maybe someone else can enlighten, because i myself am curious

reza

Postby reza » April 8th, 2010, 12:52 pm

Razkal wrote:i really find it a bit honda-ish that men find cool points in bragging about a reflashed ecu being stock on a 900hp build....fishing for accolades imo..

Logically, if a car's power is increased 3 fold (x 3), then its highly improbable that the values comprising the new maps would look anything like the stock version.