so after all that money spent on the Performing Arts..(NAPA)

Postby equipped2ripp » March 14th, 2010, 9:32 pm

hope they would not have these such problems with the one in San Fernando!

slow323

Postby slow323 » March 14th, 2010, 9:33 pm

taxpayers always pay for governments stupidity

hell they in power for so long and we still doh have basic amenities

doh matter yes, everyone just want government contract

netsket

Postby netsket » March 14th, 2010, 9:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:seriously they come AFTER everything done to state these defects?

how are they to discuss it before if they were not discussed?

TriniVdub wrote:^^^maybe they weren't allowed access at the time of construction?

no where was that said; you are supposing.

and even if your supposition is correct, then what is the use of such an ARTS coalition if they have no say in such a distinct national ARTS center while it is being built

then the coalition is the tragedy - I doubt that was the case
Terran wrote:Yeah, but you know it doesn't work like that in Trinidad. The Ministry of Works will fix roads for a summit, and then along comes WASA to dig it up once more and replace pipes. No co-ordination, you might say, but the contractor to repair the roads ends up getting paid TWICE for the same job.

breds if the govt decides to build a race track there will be people with real interests lending their ideas to the project.

If you have been following the back and forth in motorsport between the ministry and see the amount of inclusion, dialog and meetings with those involved about just the motorsport NSO then I cannot possibly imagine that the ACTT was turned away for the entire development process of NAPA. If this is true then you might as well believe that they will not even be able to use the facility either!

Either which way this is a moot point.

the same cud be said of you :wink:

and about inclusion...this was the PMs idea ..the PM deals and his budget and his kickback and under his control

he does wat he wants and did

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 14th, 2010, 10:02 pm

I stand corrected :oops:

netsket wrote:

care to explain?

netsket

Postby netsket » March 14th, 2010, 10:03 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I stand corrected :oops:

netsket wrote:

care to explain?

u cud assume that they were asked for their advice or was part of the process

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 14th, 2010, 10:08 pm

true we can assume many things - however it is amazing that these things happen with little more than a newspaper article and some comments as fallout.

again I stand corrected.

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2010, 10:10 pm

only 1500 person capacity for that big structure ?

Postby equipped2ripp » March 14th, 2010, 10:24 pm

same way the BL Stadium is..... how much persons again that could hold? like 15,000? :roll:

when the QPO had the cycle track, there used to be around 28,000 persons there for an ODI!

look T20 World Championship next month, and the stadium not even ready... (not like we get a game anyway :| )

Postby Cjruckus » March 14th, 2010, 10:24 pm

Does it really matter?

NAPA just got the press to bite on their complaints to make front page news... as its the in thing to bash UDeCOTT and Hart right now.

Maybe given its small seating capacity the designers didn't plan for big productions to be held in the center? It is part of the UTT campus after all so most of the things you should see it in would be from the University.

If you want the step up in terms of production you have Queens hall.

I thought this is how most University Performing Arts Centers worked? At my Alma Mater, the Newman Center for Performing Arts was a school that happened to have a nice auditorium for student productions and smaller shows that toured the US. You would not see a traveling production of Hair or Rent visit the center at all. Neither would you have seen the Colorado Symphony use the venue. For their bigger productions the would always choose the Denver Auditorium in the Arts District down town. You got a larger venue from roughly 1700 patrons in the center to 5000 to 8000 depending on how the stage is laid out.

That's just how it goes.

netsket

Postby netsket » March 14th, 2010, 10:42 pm

so u build something without thinking about the future or using it to get maximum benefit of the nation?

how typical :roll:

build a house for a couple and when u have ur children u have dem like sardine in ah pan

they dont see the bigger picture in any aspect of their governance and personal lives...how do they say it....hand tuh mouth?

:roll: :lol: :lol:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 14th, 2010, 11:00 pm

How would have you guys felt if they built a Motorsports facility with the following:

1. 3/16 mile drag race strip
2. a circuit track that is 10 feet wide over the course of the entire track
3. A car park that has speedbumps, concrete dividers etc. rendering it useless for carting and Dex
4. A timing system that consisted of a guy with a stopwatch and another with a start flag
5. A dirt racing track with light poles lining the side of the track

How would you like it if Government built this for you even though you pointed out all these issues at the start of the project?

This is essentially what happened to the performing arts community here... I am sure a lot of you reading their gripes with the NAPA will say that dem thing don't sound like a "big deal"

Just as most of the performing arts community would not think its a big deal if government built a motorsports facility with the above flaws...
Last edited by ingalook on March 14th, 2010, 11:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

d spike

Postby d spike » March 14th, 2010, 11:01 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:BIG FUGLY looking ting!

besides everyonbe whos smart knows that NAPA is the biggest WHITE elephant that the pnm has ever erected!

Maybe... but it ain't de tallest! Hunt's pole by de foreshore wins hands down (or should that be 'hands up' - de way taxpayers getting rob...)

netsket

Postby netsket » March 14th, 2010, 11:02 pm

i guess building the correct thing ormaking the correct changes wud affect their profitability from the project :roll:

Postby Cjruckus » March 14th, 2010, 11:13 pm

netsket wrote:so u build something without thinking about the future or using it to get maximum benefit of the nation?

Well seeing that it was built for UTT's performing arts school i guess they were putting that first?

Postby Cjruckus » March 14th, 2010, 11:17 pm

ingalook wrote:How would have you guys felt if they built a Motorsports facility with the following:

3. A car park that has speedbumps, concrete dividers etc. rendering it useless for carting and Dex
4. A timing system that consisted of a guy with a stopwatch and another with a start flag

How would you like it if Government built this for you even though you pointed out all these issues at the start of the project?

This is essentially what happened to the performing arts community here... I am sure a lot of you reading their gripes with the NAPA will say that dem thing don't sound like a "big deal"

Just as most of the performing arts community would not think its a big deal if government built a motorsports facility with the above flaws...

So they should tear down Fatima Grounds and build a Stadium to rival Hasley Crawford for Compre and Fatima?

This performing arts center was not built for profitability, but it was an investment to further the teaching of arts through UTT.

Was I the only one who listened to the speech during the opening?

Sometimes you should leave your bias by the door and open your ears. It wouldn't hurt to see that the PNM does do some good for this country other than bus pass, free school from elementary to tertiary, water taxi, summits, that thing called independence from Britain, good elections and PNM Fete...

netsket

Postby netsket » March 14th, 2010, 11:18 pm

Cjruckus wrote:
netsket wrote:so u build something without thinking about the future or using it to get maximum benefit of the nation?

Well seeing that it was built for UTT's performing arts school i guess they were putting that first?

so why not build it close to a UTT?!!

and supposed the programme stop or expand or they start bringing down big names for seminars or theatrical performances...or anything of that sort?

and who the next one for?!!!

netsket

Postby netsket » March 14th, 2010, 11:20 pm

Cjruckus wrote:
ingalook wrote:How would have you guys felt if they built a Motorsports facility with the following:

So they should tear down Fatima Grounds and build a Stadium to rival Hasley Crawford for Compre and Fatima?

This performing arts center was not built for profitability, but it was an investment to further the teaching of arts through UTT.

Sometimes you should leave your bias by the door and open your ears. It wouldn't hurt to see that the PNM does do some good for this country other than bus pass, free school from elementary to tertiary, water taxi, summits, that thing called independence from Britain, good elections and PNM Fete...

so wah happen tuh Naparima Bowl and Queens Hall?

Postby Cjruckus » March 14th, 2010, 11:21 pm

netsket wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:

so why not build it close to a UTT?!!

and supposed the programme stop or expand or they start bringing down big names for seminars or theatrical performances...or anything of that sort?

and who the next one for?!!!

Well with Queens hall, Museum, the Carnival Center plans near by... it made more sense to keep that part of trinidad as the Arts district

And its normal thing for schools to be broken up over large areas... Like it is on TV.. (im just assuming you have never left your house and live in a bubble)

Postby Cjruckus » March 14th, 2010, 11:25 pm

netsket wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:

so wah happen tuh Naparima Bowl and Queens Hall?

So come finals time, when the school wants to show off what they have learned for the year they need to wait for a booking by queens hall?

Seeing that you can't book anything in queens hall in March every 2 years because of Music Festival. also some of these shows would be free.. so you expect queens hall to give up potential nights to other paying shows to some small UTT Project that wont even bring 800 people?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » March 14th, 2010, 11:25 pm

Cjruckus get ur head out manning's arse

netsket

Postby netsket » March 14th, 2010, 11:27 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Cjruckus » March 14th, 2010, 11:27 pm

TriniVdub wrote:Cjruckus get ur head out manning's arse

Can't I'm a UNC party card holder since 2001.. No joke.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 14th, 2010, 11:27 pm

Cjruckus wrote:

OK supposed the government built a motorsports TRAINING facility with the above problems????

Would it still seem like a good investment in the drivers of tomorrow?

And another thing...

Who de arse talking about profitability anyway?

We talking about VALUE FOR MONEY... 500 mil of our tax dollars were spent, hell, every concert there should be FREE for citizens as far as I'm concerned

My problems is the government ignored good advice from the very people they built the damn thing for and ended up building something unsuited and in some regards UNSAFE for the purpose it was supposedly built for

Perhaps it is you who should let go of your bias

Oh... and for the record my wife uses the water taxi everyday and it rocks hard :onfire:

netsket

Postby netsket » March 14th, 2010, 11:29 pm

:pwned:

and in every pointless point too :mrgreen:

Postby skylinechild » March 14th, 2010, 11:29 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:seriously they come AFTER everything done to state these defects?

boss....they must come AFTER it done build to state defects cause they cant come before and state the defects if it aint even build yet...:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

netsket

Postby netsket » March 14th, 2010, 11:32 pm

like some of my colleagues in the Government, defended the indefensible.

netsket

Postby netsket » March 14th, 2010, 11:34 pm

no they live for today...hence the hand tuh mouth point

look at loans they took

the other govts will have to pay for the rest of their existence to get outta debt

they come in when the country is rich and leave it poor :|

Postby Cjruckus » March 14th, 2010, 11:37 pm

ingalook, they built it for UTT... with a different idea in mind. The kind of shows that are intended to be played in the Center are not to rival the ones in Queens Hall. That's the fact of the matter.

How come NAPA doesn't complain about Central bank Auditorium? Or the Simon Bolivar Auditorium by breton hall? I think they are just upset because they originally thought the center was being built for them.. Fox and the grapes.

The Oval and the Stadium can Co-exist..

why cant the PA Center and Queens Hall do the same?
Napa need to rock so. :arrow:

Postby Cjruckus » March 14th, 2010, 11:42 pm

netsket wrote:no they live for today...hence the hand tuh mouth point

look at loans they took

the other govts will have to pay for the rest of their existence to get outta debt

they come in when the country is rich and leave it poor :|

What about the loans taken to build stadiums only for football to hold the U20 world cup in 2001? :| :|

PNM paying for that as we speak..

netsket

Postby netsket » March 14th, 2010, 11:48 pm

wheres the evidence?!!!!...sounds familiar?!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

how wise wud it be to take more loans if u still paying for one...especially bigger loans wud u still get loans if u owing?!!

and we have the women under 17 world cup coming up very soon and other tournament and PFL games are played their...the whole country benefits :roll:

when u fed up getting :owned: we will stop :mrgreen:

like some of my colleagues in the Government, defended the indefensible.