Gangs, Guns, and Governance in Trinidad and Tobago

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » July 1st, 2008, 9:16 am

cute corolla wrote:
buzz wrote:
they join these gangs becuz they have no better knowledge of what's considered right and what's not.

i strongly disagree

i think they just need the proper and correct guidance (@ school , @ home, @ religious organizations etc) that's all

correction.....

@home . there and there only.....charity begins at home.....if they can't get it right, there....from birth....gonna be hard to change much in the mind of a youth...that will pattern all that it has seen and visualized....

Narcissus

Postby Narcissus » July 1st, 2008, 9:18 am

Postby Sky » July 1st, 2008, 9:26 am

Greypatch wrote:sky you are conteadicting yourself

if it is wellt thought out and they are not stupid how can you blame the media..

but the benefits are (correct me if i am wrong)

1 Easy money (and all that comes with it)
2 Protection (by continuing the process)
3 A sense of belonging

Ever saw Taboo on NatGeo channel? People do all sorts of crazy things.

I think butchering the penis is stupid.
I think kneeling to pray is stupid.
I think fasting is stupid.
I think stomping on a glass in the wedding is stupid
I think defacing your body in an extreme way is stupid
I think eating your own kind is horrible
I think alot of things are bad/taboo.
But y'know what, tribes in au. still eat their young/old/weak to keep moving and keep the tribe strong. To us that's wrong on so many levels. But it's fine there.

Social acceptance is a hell of a thing. And the media has a big part to play in any society. Look in the usa. Black men play basketball religiously to be good at it and try to get a scholarship to have a shot at the NBA. I think that's stupid and tunnel visioned, but alot of them do it and its accepted. Their moms are glad they have ambitions atleast. And right or wrong, when something becomes more socially accepted, it's easier to do.

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » July 1st, 2008, 9:43 am

M6 routerz

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 1st, 2008, 10:27 am

patch- what dem need to do is have ah BESS concert free to community leaders and their gangs, and BLOW it up! with every single one of them inside.!

Postby Greypatch » July 1st, 2008, 10:30 am

take the easy way out

live life (large) for a bit then die

and in the process some of your family as well.

and while living large you do the same thing non gang members are afraid of

Narcissus

Postby Narcissus » July 1st, 2008, 11:06 am

evo-STI-k wrote:patch- what dem need to do is have ah BESS concert free to community leaders and their gangs, and BLOW it up! with every single one of them inside.!

mavado come yet?

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » July 1st, 2008, 12:26 pm

bishes, hoses and blingses

Postby RBphoto » July 1st, 2008, 1:50 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:bishes, hoses and blingses

Gangsta gouloum?

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » July 1st, 2008, 2:08 pm

i don't understand you.

NST

Postby NST » July 1st, 2008, 2:28 pm

Social acceptance is a hell of a thing

Ent hoss...

What about teh jackass mentality the they are "underpriviledged" and deprived by society..and its time to take what's "rightfully theirs"...I'm sure it exists

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » July 1st, 2008, 2:39 pm

My opinion of gangs and memebers is a misture of the media and hollywood.
They doa god job of putting the fear in you about the violent nature of gangs.
The one sentiment that is reiterated trhough and through by all gangs, GS13,yakuza,KKK,bloods and crips - the need for dominance over any other race nad culture. They thrive on the need for exclusiveness. Interviews with past gang leaders they clearly state that they recruit males that were ostracised by society and their families , that ahve no sense of belonging, have been abused and they manipualte this and give them somethign to believe in.
Are all gangs evil? heck I have yet to come across one that enjoys helping old ladies cross the street.
Does it all start at home , the lack of a father? Dudes I have a great relationship wiht my parents and that has been the bedrock of my sanity.
Underprivileged? heck I grew up in bpore, went to school and worked the land in the evening an weekends.Am I better than them, no. It jsut wasn't an option where I was.
Maybe they need to plant some cassava or eddoes up in Morvant.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » July 1st, 2008, 7:09 pm

benefits of joining a gang
1 you have friends
2 you have friends who like and do the same thing you do
3 money comes easy
4 always blinging the latest
5 admired/envied by community
6 feared/respected by community
7 have a posse of kfc girls you can bull then cuss treat how you want and still bull later

cons
1you make enemies
2 police marking you
3 you are a target to get robbed cuz u blinging
4 kfc girls can give you many STD's
5 community always watching you and know your business
6 your same friends could set yuh up for the kill( literally)
7 death is the only way out..forget all the booshiet about he is a good man now and turn he life around bla bla watever yuh enemeies aint forget the past

honda4life

Postby honda4life » July 1st, 2008, 11:53 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:benefits of joining a gang
1 you have friends
2 you have friends who like and do the same thing you do
3 money comes easy
4 always blinging the latest
5 admired/envied by community
6 feared/respected by community
7 have a posse of kfc girls you can bull then cuss treat how you want and still bull later

cons
1you make enemies
2 police marking you
3 you are a target to get robbed cuz u blinging
4 kfc girls can give you many STD's
5 community always watching you and know your business
6 your same friends could set yuh up for the kill( literally)
7 death is the only way out..forget all the booshiet about he is a good man now and turn he life around bla bla watever yuh enemeies aint forget the past

kfc girls??? :rofl: :rofl:

Postby Greypatch » July 2nd, 2008, 7:58 am

well done nismotrinidappa

ray d saint

Gangs blamed for youth crisis in T&T

Postby ray d saint » March 9th, 2009, 7:41 am

http://guardian.co.tt/news/crime/2009/0 ... -crisis-tt

Former independent senator, Rev Daniel Teelucksingh, says youths of T&T are in crisis because of the presence of more than 80 criminal gangs which are perpetuating youth delinquency and crime. Speaking during the Scouts Association Founders Day celebrations at Susamachar Presbyterian Church in San Fernando yesterday, Teelucksingh encouraged the scouts and girl guides to motivate their peers into staying away from gangs. He said while some segments of youths were becoming pro-active through the scouting movement, others were engaging in nefarious behaviour through gang membership.

“We must remember always that our youth is in crisis in T&T. I want you to understand there are gangs in certain communities. It is estimated there are more than 80 youth gangs; some of them are on drugs. They handle guns; they are guilty of murdering people in villages. They are young people who need your help.â€

Gangs, Guns, and Governance in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby wagonrunner » January 16th, 2010, 11:55 am

Got this in email.
Haven't read the full thing but some "information" noted.

https://www.files.ethz.ch/isn/117610/WP ... o-2009.pdf

Abstract
In the last decade, gun-related homicides in Trinidad and Tobago (T & T) have risen about 1,000 per cent. While higher rates of crime have permeated much of the island of Trinidad in particular, overwhelmingly violence is concentrated in relatively small, hilly, and dense urban areas on the east side of Port of Spain’s central business district. On a per capita basis, the eastern districts of Port of Spain are among the most dangerous places on the planet and, as a whole, the murder rate for Port of Spain is comparable to that of Baghdad (Kukis, 2009). One rationale for this escalation of crime and murder is that few consequences accrue to those responsible. In most years, fewer than 20 per cent of violent crimes are ever solved.1 Even when police and prosecutors mount a case, it generally takes several years before it is brought to trial. During the intervening period, ample opportunities exist to kill or intimidate witnesses.

Resource link: https://ciaotest.cc.Colombia.edu/wps/sa ... _15522.pdf

Picasso

Postby Picasso » January 16th, 2010, 12:06 pm

Good read there buddy :!:

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » January 16th, 2010, 12:18 pm

wagon runner email this to me pls.....loud4so@hotmail.com

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 16th, 2010, 12:26 pm

5onDfloor wrote:wagon runner email this to me pls.....loud4so@hotmail.com

Just click "Save" above in the Zoho viewer :idea:

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 16th, 2010, 12:46 pm

wagonrunner, thanks for sharing

Postby buzz » January 16th, 2010, 8:41 pm

wagonrunner, how dare you share informative, factual and researched information about gang warfare when the savior's position is being threated in the upcoming UNC-A election :x :x :x :x

sat it was PNM dammit, for the sake of pandy and his beloved following on this board :x :x :x

Postby gt4tified » January 16th, 2010, 9:03 pm

WTF, and the COP ent even get mentioned in the list of abbreviations.....

*braces for imminent thread failure*

Postby buzz » January 16th, 2010, 9:54 pm

pioneer wrote:Crime simply gonna get worse no matter who's the government.

But our CoP states he gonna make it harder for law-biding citizens to defend and secure themselves...

nono

the rising sun is our salvation in these dark times 8-)

zcarz

Postby zcarz » January 16th, 2010, 9:57 pm

this seems vaguely familiar, dare i say REEPOST!!!!

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » January 16th, 2010, 9:58 pm

i actually read the entire ting....we really need some 'sun' in this country

Postby buzz » January 16th, 2010, 10:38 pm

[spoiler]Image[/spoiler]

ting like dis is all i want from d rising sun :|

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 16th, 2010, 10:41 pm

zcarz wrote:this seems vaguely familiar, dare i say REEPOST!!!!

it was the newspaper article about the report, this is the report itself

beyond

Postby beyond » January 16th, 2010, 10:47 pm

this article is a total lie. and as a matter of fact, this is the work of panday and his team , trying to paint trinidad in a bad light.

blame the "narcotics"

all the drug lords decided,at a round table meeting, to influence one particular section of society and make them kill and kidnap innocent citizens.

remember , it si always someone else's fault. don't blame me , blame the other guy :) :) :)