d spike wrote:buzz wrote:Aristocracy based on what?
education of course
your qulifications should dictate how much your vote counts
as i said
no education no vote
Dat is ah meritocracy, sah.
Ah aristocracy is based on who yuh fadda be (an' how he was related to yuh mudda)![]()
buzz wrote:An aristocratic type polling system would aid in the racial lines shite
no education? no vote
buzz wrote:Aristocracy based on what?
education of course
as i said
no education no vote
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:IMPREZZING wrote:"All societies we know of are governed by the selfish interests of the ruling class or classes."
Plato
who is the ruling class in T&T?
IMPREZZING wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:IMPREZZING wrote:"All societies we know of are governed by the selfish interests of the ruling class or classes."
Plato
who is the ruling class in T&T?
i suspect you know already![]()
but to directly ans. your question IMHO the ruling class are the ones who can contribute to the political parties .
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ DP regulations needs to be made into better test of literacy.buzz wrote:Aristocracy based on what?
education of course
as i said
no education no vote
even meritocracy
what about all the successful businessmen and women, some of whom are multi-millionaires but who don't even have any tertiary education? They get no vote or a low vote? - to me THEY are the smartest ones in the country, not the ones who spend 30+ years of their life being a student.
buzz wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ DP regulations needs to be made into better test of literacy.buzz wrote:Aristocracy based on what?
education of course
as i said
no education no vote
even meritocracy
what about all the successful businessmen and women, some of whom are multi-millionaires but who don't even have any tertiary education? They get no vote or a low vote? - to me THEY are the smartest ones in the country, not the ones who spend 30+ years of their life being a student.
true but it doesn't mean that they would know what's best for the country, while i agree they would have had to make some very smart decisions to reach at that level
i believe for them to become that sucessful they must possess some form of sound educational foundation but it doesn't have to be formal (eg. a child can be home schooled and be just as educated as those that attended a formal educational institution)
but what qualifies or validates his level of education? we simply can't take his word for it
so if you reached so far w/o certificates etc... would it be so hard to attain some so it gives your knowledge some credibility?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:buzz wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ DP regulations needs to be made into better test of literacy.buzz wrote:Aristocracy based on what?
education of course
as i said
no education no vote
even meritocracy
true but it doesn't mean that they would know what's best for the country, while i agree they would have had to make some very smart decisions to reach at that level
i believe for them to become that sucessful they must possess some form of sound educational foundation but it doesn't have to be formal (eg. a child can be home schooled and be just as educated as those that attended a formal educational institution)
but what qualifies or validates his level of education? we simply can't take his word for it
so if you reached so far w/o certificates etc... would it be so hard to attain some so it gives your knowledge some credibility?
you want a self made millionaire who has plenty businesses to run to go and get a degree so YOU will feel comfortable that he is bright?
buzz wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:buzz wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ DP regulations needs to be made into better test of literacy.buzz wrote:Aristocracy based on what?
education of course
as i said
no education no vote
even meritocracy
you want a self made millionaire who has plenty businesses to run to go and get a degree so YOU will feel comfortable that he is bright?
self made millionaires know how to manage a country ?
come better than that duane
W2J wrote:^ eh???????????? Harvard cannot not teach you what the school of hard knocks can.
W8 wrote:buzz wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:buzz wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ DP regulations needs to be made into better test of literacy.buzz wrote:Aristocracy based on what?
education of course
as i said
no education no vote
even meritocracy
self made millionaires know how to manage a country ?
come better than that duane
You hearing yourself?? No you come better than that!
On your basis we could discriminate past that.
Like WHERE did you get all your degrees??
Don't tell me someone with a 'COSTATT' degree could manage a country?
And what was the class you graduated with?
LOL you funny buzz you very funny buzz.
d spike wrote:W2J wrote:^ eh???????????? Harvard cannot not teach you what the school of hard knocks can.
An old man used to say... people who boast about having graduated from the "school of hard knocks" probably required a few hard knocks to learn...![]()
But seriously...
from the time you start drawing lines between groups in today's society (such as being educated/wise enough to vote), you will alienate quite a few people. Society today is no longer made up of clearly distinct groups - there exists a lot of overlapping and conjoining between groups, roles and structures. The true "classed" society doesn't exist anymore (but we still haven't attained the "60s-hoped-for" classless society).
So there will be those who are left out in the cold when you lay down the boundary of "educated enough". The problem you must face is if the boundary of this set will always contain the vast majority of the type of people who you wish to vote. If it does, then so be it - and the wealthy unschooled (who, I suspect, are a minority) will just have to ensure that they can sway the ignorant (but schooled) ones. (Grandpa aways said that if you educate a jackass, you'll end up with an educated jackass.)
Remember that a democracy is run by the majority - not by getting everybody to agree (nice utopian ideal, but quite impractical). There will always be an opposing minority. The question is how to minimise the minority...
Cheers
buzz wrote:while i know intelligence does not necessarily come with education, i support this system because ppl with education tend to make educated decisions. so its not a matter of who has a BSc from UWI or Roytec.. you have a BSc and therefore ascertained a certain level of education..
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:buzz wrote:while i know intelligence does not necessarily come with education, i support this system because ppl with education tend to make educated decisions. so its not a matter of who has a BSc from UWI or Roytec.. you have a BSc and therefore ascertained a certain level of education..
no - I know people with their Masters degree and they are some of the most dotish people I know. They lack the basic abilities of adaptation and improvisation. They couldnt make a real world decision on their own if their life depended on it. They also often lack people skills.