Shooting in West End police station

Postby Maserati » June 25th, 2009, 12:30 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161496407

The wife of a soldier who drove into the West End Police Station in an attempt to escape carjackers, who were holding her at gunpoint in her car, was shot dead in front of the station yesterday.

The police station, which was no doubt considered a safe haven by Camille Daniel, itself became a crime scene and was cordoned off with crime scene tape after the killing.

Police said at around 1.45 p.m., Daniel, 39, had gone to Factory Road, Diego Martin, to meet a female friend who worked in the area. As the two women sat chatting in the car, three men entered the car and settled in the back seat.

One of them, armed with a gun, ordered Daniel, of Finch Drive, River Estate, Diego Martin, to drive as they dictated directions. As she drove along the Diego Martin Main Road, Daniel decided to steer the car onto the Wendy Fitzwilliam Boulevard and into the West End station to seek help.

The brave decision proved fatal for the mother of one, as the gunman shot her once from the back as she drove through the front gate of the station. She died moments after being shot, but not before her Nissan Almera crashed into a culvert at the end of the station's front yard.

One of her attackers jumped out the car near the station's gate and ran away on foot, while the two remaining assailants got out of the car after it crashed.

The image of the man who fled first was captured on a station camera and he was caught and later brought in for questioning, officers said. The other two men left the car after it crashed, jumped the outer wall of the station and fled along the Diego Martin Main Road with officers from the station in pursuit.

Several officers from the Western Division later conducted searches in the area. A reported shootout in Richplain moments later was said to be linked to the incident. Several men were brought in following those searches, officers said.

Daniel's husband, Stanley Nottingham, a Lance Corporal in the Trinidad and Tobago Regiment, could hardly restrain his emotions after viewing his wife's body in the front seat of the car, which sat mere metres from the front steps of the station.

Officers told the Express that he was counselled by a social worker from the Victim Support Unit after viewing the body, as was the other woman who was in the car at the time of the incident.

When the Express visited the family's Finch Drive home, Nottingham's colleagues from the Defence Force stated it was not "a good time" to seek any comment from the distraught husband. One officer stated that the shooting had reflected the level of lawlessness the country had now eclipsed to.

"Is mere lawlessness that is the country today, now the people don't care about where they doing their thing," said the officer.

Up to last night, four men had been taken in for questioning in connection with the murder, and searches continuing in the Factory Road and Richplain communities ongoing.

Police also asked medical facilities to report anyone who came in seeking treatment for gunshots wounds.

Inspector Henry Dann of the Western Division is spearheading investigations into the incident.

Daniel's killing pushed the murder toll to 270 for the year.

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » June 25th, 2009, 12:51 am

Crackpot wrote:R.I.P... :cry: :cry: :cry:

She was also driving a known targeted vehicle the Almera also...

I guess police cant help you and this is the best example.

A short while ago a man on this forum say dont bash police because after god
is police, well best we just leave it to god and try to be safer when driving :!:

some of you real naive boy... wow..
no vehicle is safe now, they taking anything. didnt you get that memo? Besides, female drivers are easier targets.. less likely to resist and even if they do, what kinda fight can they give. Now, logically is one of 2 things: they not pros at car theft, or they would have taken the car while parked. Or, they had something else in mind for the lady. either way it sounds like the work of some amateurs.... and really. This is all still conjecture since there is only 'ah hear' and supposition floating around right now.......

form opinions after u get all the facts str8....

oh yes. and blame patos for everything too

** edit** was written prior to newpaper link ,,,, ( maserati u bastage ) :lol:

Postby Maserati » June 25th, 2009, 12:54 am

hard luck nati :lol: :lol:

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 25th, 2009, 7:16 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161496403

West End named 'model police station'

THE WEST End Police Station in Diego Martin, the scene of yesterday's horrific murder and also one of the five model police stations in the country, was voted by residents as making the area safer, National Security Minister Martin Joseph says.

Speaking at yesterday's Senate sitting, Joseph disclosed that a survey was conducted by consultant Roger D Parkes to examine the reaction of the people to the five model stations located in West End, Morvant, Arouca, Chaguanas and San Fernando.

Joseph said model police stations were introduced to change the way in which police do business. These stations, he noted, are more equipped with resources and also officers.

He said some 3000 persons were surveyed between January 3 and March 16 this year, and it was found that residents felt safer with the increased police presence and model stations.

"You are seeing a change ... not as rapid as we would like to see, but the seeds have been planted and you are going to be seeing an improvement in some of the areas," Joseph said.

Joseph also took the opportunity to defend the $80 million Mastrofski initiative to transform the police service. He pointed out that large sums of money are expended to run the police service and some $1.3 billion was spent last year.

"The investment in bringing someone to help identify what is necessary to transform the police service is an investment well spent," he said.

He also spoke of the Government's heavy investment in Coast Guard vessels, giving the assurance that with a full functioning naval fleet, the drugs and guns flowing into this country would be stemmed.

Joseph added that although the murder rate had surpassed the rates in 2007 and 2008, the level of detection had increased slightly. He noted that in 2008, the detection rate from January 1 to June 23 was 18.8 per cent and for this year there was a slight increase to 21.7 per cent.

Acknowledging the endless calls for his resignation, Joseph said the transformation of the police service and the effect of all the initiatives of the Government would take time to reap results. Admitting that the process was taking longer than expected, he said Government will continue to build the capacity of law enforcement not just for now but for the future.

"We are going to continue to provide the resources and ensure all law enforcement agencies are provided with the resources necessary so that this war against crime can in fact be won," he said.

Postby Damien » June 25th, 2009, 7:28 am

I wonder if being ah army man wife had anything to do with it :?

Postby sMASH » June 25th, 2009, 8:00 am

i wonder if they had vehicles to go to that crime scene, and how long it take for the DMO to arrive

Postby sMASH » June 25th, 2009, 8:00 am

Emil

Postby Emil » June 25th, 2009, 8:08 am

Its time for people to take action into their own hands... whether its the soldiers or just regular "village" people. Only a racist person would support the pnm and its leader now.

vans

Postby vans » June 25th, 2009, 8:09 am

Only a racist person would support the pnm and its leader now.
:roll: :roll:

explain that statement

chris600

Postby chris600 » June 25th, 2009, 8:38 am

can we form a mob an go burn down manning house?...trash the parliment?....then they might see we really mean business :roll: ?

chris600

Postby chris600 » June 25th, 2009, 8:40 am

can we form a mob an go burn down manning house?...trash the parliment?....then they might see we really mean business :roll: ?

raswon

Postby raswon » June 25th, 2009, 8:48 am

Nigson wrote:What is it with bandits and almeras? What so special about that car that they want it so?

Is it the only car they could drive?? :? :? :?

i wonder that too. can anyone enlighten us?? :?

Postby RASC » June 25th, 2009, 8:51 am

Let me see what the response is from the Military. Let's see if they gonna be as SCARED and worthless as our protective services...and by extension our gov't :!:

Postby sMASH » June 25th, 2009, 8:55 am

^^ dat is lawlessness and then every one doing that breaking the law just like the criminals.. so u would be on the same side as the people u supposedly oppose

we have to voice our opinions, and vote, and help change people minds

defend ur self and u family, and ur community, but the physical violence should only be there

this is the beauty and head ache of livinin in a democracy, where people who dont have the best of intentions are allowed positions of power and do what they can to stay there

i say gather some evidence and sue the government for, want of a better phrase, sutpidity in office, and study bring them up on charges so people would see that they doin sheit and just because they say is ok doesnt meant it ok,,, that they need more explanation

but seriously,,,die hard party voters really stupid and selfish and foolish (PNM and UNC)

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 25th, 2009, 8:57 am

vans wrote:

explain that statement

it needs no further clarification- look at the masses who support the pnm and its quite obvious that almost ALL of them still vote by tribal instinct!

triniangie

Postby triniangie » June 25th, 2009, 10:08 am

i say ban this 'Movado' and 'vybez cartel' music and such...utter nonsense...we knw the 'criminal elements' we see wat is goin on...dis gov't needs to change asap, capital punishment back in full force...

we hav to take a stand ple...we have to :cry:

Emil

Postby Emil » June 25th, 2009, 10:49 am

evo-STI-k wrote:
vans wrote:

explain that statement

it needs no further clarification- look at the masses who support the pnm and its quite obvious that almost ALL of them still vote by tribal instinct!

^Well said.

No sane and normal person would continue to support a government with a track record of the pnm excpet if they vote in the context of the stupidity that Trinidad politics has descended into.

Maybe a list of the utter incompetence starting with wasting money, broken promises and failure to provide security to the people they spent almost $100 000 000 campaigning to represent.

You are not safe in your house, car and now not even in government bulidings and to top it off a police station. The wanton waste of our resources and the literal cries of the people...some from the very same pnm constituency strongholds are going unheeded...laventille and pt. fortin as examples.

Watching that soldier on the front page of the Express was heart-breaking. I hope the army start doing the work of securing the people now as they alone show that they mean business.

How anyone can support the current government is beyond understanding. They fail in everyhting from basic health care to basic security of the citizens of Trinidad and Tobago.

It must be race and people need to wake up and realize this and those who support the pnm must ask themselves why...what is the reason for the support of this utter useless and failed administration.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 25th, 2009, 11:08 am

raswon wrote:
Nigson wrote:What is it with bandits and almeras? What so special about that car that they want it so?

Is it the only car they could drive?? :? :? :?

i wonder that too. can anyone enlighten us?? :?

maybe, jus maybe it is bacause it it so popular that if stolen, it will be hard to find... i dunno eh i just think so..

or could be that other brand owners are likely to be carrying firearms and other weapons that could cause grevious bodily harm!!

:? :?

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » June 25th, 2009, 12:48 pm

well the last soilder related incident in diego didnt go so well...lol. we'll see...

but im glad to see it have a few other ppl here who not suprised that it was this station in particular... in that area in that situation i'll drive off the morne coco rd instead i have a better chance... :?

Shio

Postby Shio » June 25th, 2009, 2:14 pm

real lock down in diego
they searching everybody
as if this will help now :?

sensiman

Postby sensiman » June 25th, 2009, 2:25 pm

triniangie wrote:i say ban this 'Movado' and 'vybez cartel' music and such...utter nonsense...we knw the 'criminal elements' we see wat is goin on...dis gov't needs to change asap, capital punishment back in full force...

So i guess guess crime didn't exist before "Kartel" and "Movado".

I know people need to blame something but Trinis need to look in the proverbial mirror first.

weedja2

Postby weedja2 » June 25th, 2009, 2:57 pm

^^ Boi that is my favourite music, I does listen to that when I in parliament.

triniangie

Postby triniangie » June 25th, 2009, 2:59 pm

it did yes but not at this rate, but oh gorm man! these lyrics not really doin anything for youths 2day...

Talisman

Postby Talisman » June 25th, 2009, 9:07 pm

triniangie wrote:i say ban this 'Movado' and 'vybez cartel' music and such...utter nonsense...we knw the 'criminal elements' we see wat is goin on...dis gov't needs to change asap, capital punishment back in full force...

The punishment - capital or otherwise - would not make a difference if the criminally inclined have no fear of being caught.
A good start would be improving (law) enforcement, detection and legislation.

slick

Postby slick » June 26th, 2009, 12:17 am

What wrong with allyuh?

Just wear ah balisier tie and yuh go be safe :|

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 26th, 2009, 7:51 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161497245

Camille was a beautiful person

MUCH LIKE last year's "lockdown", Richplain Road, Diego Martin, was again the scene of police and military activity, following the shooting death of the wife of a soldier on the compound of the West End Police Station.

On this occasion, there was not the almost-two-week-long, "occupation" of the neighbourhood but rather a surgical strike, which led to the arrest of the second of three suspects wanted for the brazen murder of Camille Daniel.

Daniel, 39, who was the wife of Regiment Lance Corporal Stanley Nottingham, was shot dead as she drove onto the compound of the police station after being carjacked by three men.

Around 1.45 p.m. on Wednesday, Daniel was parked along Factory Road, Diego Martin, which was the scene of a triple homicide a few months ago.

She was chatting with a female friend when three young men boarded her car-a gold-coloured Nissan Almera.

One of them ordered her to drive. Daniel complied but as she was passing the West End Police Station, she decided to steer the car into the yard.

The armed bandit reacted by shooting the woman in the back, killing her on the spot. The car crashed into a culvert in the station's front yard. All three ran out the car.

Within hours, a team of officers led by Insp Henry Dann of the St James CID rumbled through the Richplain Road, Diego Martin, neighbourhood. They carried out a search and even met gunfire as they attempted to extract their suspect.

After a brief firefight, one of the suspects, age 21, was held. They also took some other men into custody on outstanding warrants.

On Wednesday night, police arrested a second suspect, age 19, before midnight.

Last June, the Richplain Road area was occupied by soldiers who went so far as to set up a base camp as they assisted the police in carrying out an extensive search for the men who killed one of their own -Cpl Ancil Wallace.

Wallace's friend, Noel Charles, was also killed in the same shooting incident while they were celebrating the christening of Wallace's son.

Meanwhile, at the Finch Drive, River Estate, Diego Martin, home of Nottingham-the mood remained sombre, with the couple's relatives trying to come to terms with what happened.

"Camille was a lovable person. A beautiful person," said one of her neighbours, Camille Comlynn.

She said that Daniel moved into the area about two years ago, and within that time, she made a connection with the people in the area.

"Everybody loved her," said Comlynn.

Daniel's cousin, Michael Lessey, also spoke to reporters.

"Its mind-boggling, upsetting and difficult to deal with," he said.

"We are asking ourselves how this heinous crime could have been committed against such a beautiful person because, in our opinion, Camille did the right thing by driving into the police station, but to see she was murdered right by the compound ...we are unable to deal with it," he said.

"How can someone drive into a station yard and be killed? Their job is to protect and serve. It's time for the people of this country to make a stance against crime," said Lessey.

Postby noshownogo » June 26th, 2009, 8:40 am

"things will get better", "i feel safe"...WTF really?! Do these fools think before they speak :?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 26th, 2009, 8:50 am

noshownogo wrote:"things will get better", "i feel safe"...WTF really?! Do these fools think before they speak :?

i take it you are referring to Mr Philberts STUPID and arrogant statement??

and can you imagien that he said that when in a suitation similar to that one you should drive to the police station???

Hello- (knocks on Philberts obviously EMPTY Head)! ANY one in there??

nes123

Postby nes123 » June 26th, 2009, 10:03 am

expect to see more tint stripping as a definite solution to solve crime (according to the educated occifers we have in our sweet T&T) :?

Emil

Postby Emil » June 26th, 2009, 10:58 am

..start to organize and take matters into your own hands with regard to your community. For those who have soldiers living in their area, you will see a lot of them are willing to help organize.

no more time for pansie ass complaining if you want your wife and kids safe from these wannabe badboys, good for nothing "yute" man and the racist type criminals on the prowl now.

Hulsie Bhaggan had a nice formula in the 90s time for a return to that.