200 VIP cars for ministries

Postby equipped2ripp » October 10th, 2008, 10:04 am

watch how those PNM financiers gonna get POs from the gov't to supply the vehicles without the tendering process...

*speeds off in X5*

Postby eliteauto » October 10th, 2008, 10:06 am

equipped2ripp, why it hadda be ah X5 :x :x :lol:

Postby equipped2ripp » October 10th, 2008, 10:07 am

corollalover101, well fine...

Q7 then? :lol:

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 10th, 2008, 10:07 am

rofl..... X to the 5 dey eh driving no sunny...lol

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » October 10th, 2008, 10:08 am

corollalover101 wrote:equipped2ripp, why it hadda be ah X5 :x :x :lol:

Cause all the fortuners sold out :roll:

Postby equipped2ripp » October 10th, 2008, 10:09 am

^ yuh lost jed... very lost

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » October 10th, 2008, 10:10 am

equipped2ripp wrote:^ yuh lost jed... very lost

Actually if you only knew....

Postby equipped2ripp » October 10th, 2008, 10:15 am

haha aite...

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » October 10th, 2008, 10:19 am

DON'T BLAME "ME".....

........I VOTED C.O.P.!!!

Postby Country_Bookie » October 10th, 2008, 10:20 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:
as for CHOGM, the Queen of England, again the US president, and 51 other heads of state from all over the world, not just the Americas would be present along with staff, spouses, etc as above.

Many people have not begun to grasp the magnitude of these events, and the possible subsequent benefits thereafter.

What benefits are these?
Will seeing Barack and the Queen help me to feel better about myself and my country when I stand in the street wondering if I’ll be one of the 500+ murders for the year, while contemplating that I’m hungry and homeless becos
–inflation crossed 25% and I wasn’t able to buy food
–the corresponding increase in interest rates meant I wasn’t able to pay my mortgage
–the increase in MVT and gas meant I wasn’t able to afford a car

Postby equipped2ripp » October 10th, 2008, 10:22 am

Country_Bookie, exactly...

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » October 10th, 2008, 10:25 am

^^^^ well said..... but iz ah PNM country, and de ppl like it so....

Postby teems1 » October 10th, 2008, 10:34 am

100m is ludicrous.

This scheme is akin to the hundreds of millions which were going to be spent on the Bombardier jet.

rent the frikkin vehicles.

i'm sure there are 200+ luxury local vehicles which can be rented for the couple weeks.

Cid

Postby Cid » October 10th, 2008, 10:46 am

waaaay....., 200 vehicles..... , iz more traffic on de roads now,....get ah red band maxi to drive around de ppl nah

Postby crazybalhead » October 10th, 2008, 10:52 am

I hope it floods.

What an example, in today's age of "green" thinking, to BUY 200 cars for a one off event.

Dotish colonial muddacvnts we are.

Postby eliteauto » October 10th, 2008, 10:56 am

it would be difficult to acquire 200 luxury vehicles as rentals, the companies with that ability are already committed to contracts and would unlikely expand their fleet for one event

noobie

Postby noobie » October 10th, 2008, 10:58 am

What is the cost of maintenance for these vehicles after the summit!!??
Why put out a RFP in 2008 for delivery in February 2009?

They didn't know they needed these cars at the start of this year?
What kind of piss poor planning is that?

or do they already know who they giving the contract to? :|

And also....you all joking about this 'wall' right?

Postby equipped2ripp » October 10th, 2008, 11:00 am

noobie wrote:What is the cost of maintenance for these vehicles after the summit!!??
Why put out a RFP in 2008 for delivery in February 2009?

They didn't know they needed these cars at the start of this year?
What kind of piss poor planning is that?

or do they already know who they giving the contract to? :|

And also....you all joking about this 'wall' right?

exactly.

Postby crazybalhead » October 10th, 2008, 11:02 am

No noobie, the wall is no joke. :| :|

Postby teems1 » October 10th, 2008, 11:03 am

are you seriously informing me, that the government, with a year in advance, cannot rent 200 BMWs/Benzes/Jaguars/etc from the multitude of car rental companies in trinidad???

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » October 10th, 2008, 11:23 am

evo-STI-k wrote:the exact time whese diplomats are here would be the PERFECT time for the country to SHUT down and Cripple itself in protest :!:

Trinidad shoudl NOT spend this kind of money in the wake of wht is currently going on , there are so many more pressing needs that are NOT being addressed and this govt DOES not care.

It does not matter how many people from whereever will be here Notorious, its quite easy for the president of the US and his entire entourage to simply bring their own Security vehicles, as well as royalty from the UK.
Why must we spend over 100 million for them :?: :roll:

Once again this Event is being used by our govt to steal money and somehow try to bring justification for spending money that we should be saving.

Once again, you haven't taken the time to research what you want to comment about.
There will be no option to "shut down and cripple itself in protest".
Do some research as to how this level of summit affects the ongoings of a country, and you'll understand what I'm saying.

With a name like "Country_Bookie" I'm not surprised at the comments and thinking.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 10th, 2008, 11:25 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:Many of you are grossly under-informed.

No accomodation would be provided at the Hyatt for either event evo-STI-k.
The Hyatt houses the largest multipurpose facilities in the English-speaking Caribbean. These facilities would be used, hence accomodation would not be at the Hyatt as it would pose security risks.

Why the number 200?
Summit of the Americas - April 2009: 34 Heads of state + spouses + foreign ministers + aides could easily comprise a party of 8-10 (That totals 272-340 people)
This has not taken into account security details and miscellaneous support staff.
The US president's staff will number over 500.

As for CHOGM, the Queen of England, again the US president, and 51 other heads of state from all over the world, not just the Americas would be present along with staff, spouses, etc as above.

Many people have not begun to grasp the magnitude of these events, and the possible subsequent benefits thereafter.

Do some research into the events and it should help, rather than just saying what comes to mind :idea:

thats all well well\good but in spite of all that d govt priority in supplying sufficient beds is still very low ...sick ppl still lying on d ground like dogs , dengue continues untreated too, a million & 1 things to do on a list ...buy d damn cars if they want but see about what more urgent 1st nah ....

Postby Maserati » October 10th, 2008, 11:32 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:Many of you are grossly under-informed.

Do some research into the events and it should help, rather than just saying what comes to mind :idea:

educate us.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 10th, 2008, 11:34 am

Shot down the country and EMBARAS our SELFISH STEALING leaders.

talk done!

We are well on our way to a dictatorship!

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » October 10th, 2008, 11:39 am

evo-STI-k wrote:the exact time whese diplomats are here would be the PERFECT time for the country to SHUT down and Cripple itself in protest :!:

Trinidad shoudl NOT spend this kind of money in the wake of wht is currently going on , there are so many more pressing needs that are NOT being addressed and this govt DOES not care.

It does not matter how many people from whereever will be here Notorious, its quite easy for the president of the US and his entire entourage to simply bring their own Security vehicles, as well as royalty from the UK.
Why must we spend over 100 million for them :?: :roll:

Once again this Event is being used by our govt to steal money and somehow try to bring justification for spending money that we should be saving.

Once again, you haven't taken the time to research what you want to comment about.
There will be no option to "shut down and cripple itself in protest".
Do some research as to how this level of summit affects the ongoings of a country, and you'll understand what I'm saying.

With a name like "Country_Bookie" I'm not surprised at the comments and thinking.

tell that to the couple who were chopped to death in Tobago....The police force need more resources...more vehicles. Our priorities are fcked.

Yet we decide to fund this instead. I am in total support of the summits etc...but I think it is the wrong time.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 10th, 2008, 11:49 am

No Level of summit localy will help our Current suitation with regards to Road conditiions,
health care or lack thereof,
Lack of an adequate Police force,
the fact that this govt is NOT heading Economists or its people,
the lack of a Proper implemeted public transportation,
The FACT that our Electriciy supply CANNOT handle the current infrastructure,
our HUGE crime figures and Murder rates

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » October 10th, 2008, 12:03 pm

Ah yes some more nice cars for the people who REALLY need them.

sigh... :roll:

Postby buzz » October 10th, 2008, 4:03 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:
as for CHOGM, the Queen of England, again the US president, and 51 other heads of state from all over the world, not just the Americas would be present along with staff, spouses, etc as above.

What benefits are these?
Will seeing Barack and the Queen help me to feel better about myself and my country when I stand in the street wondering if I’ll be one of the 500+ murders for the year, while contemplating that I’m hungry and homeless becos
–inflation crossed 25% and I wasn’t able to buy food
–the corresponding increase in interest rates meant I wasn’t able to pay my mortgage
–the increase in MVT and gas meant I wasn’t able to afford a car

exactly !!!!

Notorious Scullman made an attempt to attack this user (and quite a feeble "attack" i must add) instead of answering his question...

sad

it is apparant that he is a die hard PNMite and is as blind as his fellow patos worshippers.... :arrow:

Postby sMASH » October 10th, 2008, 4:57 pm

scullman, go to the hospital and check out the casuality,,,find out what going on with the availability of beds, nurses and sufficient numbers of doctors.
drive around the place and check out the road ways and feel the potholes, we have the largest pitch lake in the world, why shouldn't we have the best roads,,,if not only to keep our vehicle maintenance cost high. they spending my hard hard earned tax paying dollars to build the patrick manning stadium that only a few persons my be able to benefit from at a time, when instead they should have created some sort of community activity company which would help maintain various grounds in the communities of the country and include trainers/coaches to help develop the raw talents of the nation's youth,,, how the MC 200 V I P cars goin and help the middle class people of this country,,, how the MC the emperor's mansion built with my taxes goin and help this country,,, justify that with figures, not intentions,,,

he jus want to show off,,,

let price water house coopers do an audit of this country's financial records with some input from United Nations guidelines on third world developmental strategies and see if we make sense....

so we like it, so we vote,,

Smokey

Postby Smokey » October 10th, 2008, 5:07 pm

Firstly 200 "Luxary" or VIP vehicles can be easily leased or rented using local car rental angencies. If you pool all of them together and give them advance noticed, this can easily be arranged. In addition, if a few of these car rental companies need to buy vehicles etc, it's not like they'll go to waste after as they can and will be able to rent or lease these vehicles later on after this event.

Besides, the 100m is a drop in the bucket as to what is being spent for this summit. It was claimed in the budget that 500m would be spent. There are lots of money allocated to TSTT etc that will be used to beef up the infrastructure for this event, and this sum is not falling in the 500m. Infact, i heard TSTT got almost 200m to prepare for this event.