mazda converted to super

MAZDA People United - it continues here

techspeak

Postby techspeak » October 7th, 2008, 6:08 pm

lol, well I dunno about here, but all 3 (or 4) grades of gas back home comes from one pipe. They add stuff to the Premium to make it so. So cleanliness of the fuel is the same, there. There are only two tanks in the station, one with Regular and one with Premium 91 or Ultra 94. Any button in between them does mix it right inside the pump to obtain the selected octane. Our gas in a clear bottle looks yellow like apple juice, trinidad gas is quite colourless, still... i think you guys have better gas than we! In support of your decision though, I find any car runs much smoother on high octane, regardless :wink:

villain

Postby villain » October 7th, 2008, 6:30 pm

aye let me tell you something...i working petrotrin...i does help blend the gas and its components and let me tell you this...is sheit we does be getting here...all the good stuff does ship out to the foriegners....that is why i "aquire" the 100 lightly leaded av gas and throw some in every now and then....octane boost straight from the source....and no i not getting for anybody outside of the mazda club....the last time we full up and had fun... :mrgreen:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 7th, 2008, 7:55 pm

villain wrote:your girlfriend has a mazda speed protege? :?:

yep... its the normal zm 1.6 but with the flair kit, I drove it to work today, popped the bonnet, engine sounding normal, so I guess it ok for the while.

and about that av fuel, what the going rate and when to check you?

villain

Postby villain » October 7th, 2008, 8:23 pm

no sale when i occasionally aquire ,mazda members free...
and then we run to see how well it wukking

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » October 7th, 2008, 8:52 pm

^ so if u beat me, now I know why.. :lol:

oh, I puttin in meh order for a chubby bottle full eh.. :mrgreen:

techspeak

Postby techspeak » October 7th, 2008, 9:10 pm

villain wrote:aye let me tell you something...i working petrotrin...i does help blend the gas and its components and let me tell you this...is sheit we does be getting here...all the good stuff does ship out to the foriegners....that is why i "aquire" the 100 lightly leaded av gas and throw some in every now and then....octane boost straight from the source....and no i not getting for anybody outside of the mazda club....the last time we full up and had fun... :mrgreen:

thats outrageous man. a country who's only real business is oil is selling their own people shimrocks gas?! daamn

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » October 8th, 2008, 9:46 pm

*Inhales deeply* Can you smell the corruption in here ? I love it !!!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 9th, 2008, 9:09 am

yeah fellas, i sticking to premium for now, seeing as the car recommend 95 ron, if was a toyota i'd have switched to super, but i aint chancing it with the mazda, the mazdas real specific, remember the conundrum the intake was, it seems obvious to me that mazda know what they do with these cars, since mazdas are generally marketed to people with a lil more experience and know how, i expect the fault tolerance of these vehicles would be lower as it would be expected that a certain level of maintenance would be assured by the owner...lol, yeah, allyuh get the point right, ?

villain

Postby villain » October 10th, 2008, 12:50 am

and i read in the papers where they were complaining that people stop buying the premium and buying some cleaner mechanism to put it in their car to convert to super....you hear what they say...CLEANER....so which would imply that there is some side effect to the super...something would get fouled....or deposited... :!: :!: :?:

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » October 10th, 2008, 1:22 am

What cleaner mechanism they talkin bout? Ah fuel filter? :lol:

villain

Postby villain » October 12th, 2008, 10:12 am

boy i ent know.... but we were discussing it in work...one of the older heads was saying is that the super and premiun is the same base gas but is just the additives used to boost the octane rating of one as opposed to the other...and what could be clogging injectors, etc could be the dye that they using....

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » October 13th, 2008, 1:48 am

So is it a fact that super clogs the injectors?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » October 13th, 2008, 6:34 am

mabe jus maybe buh firetruck dat i does do to much drivin dese days to spend all da money on premium super an redline in dey pweffin
:evil: :evil: :evil:

villain

Postby villain » October 13th, 2008, 10:43 am

maybe or maybe not..need to investigate more...on the brighter note i trying to organize a couple bottles of joy juice...need to wait when it get dark.... :evilbat:

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » October 13th, 2008, 11:53 pm

red bwoy wrote:mabe jus maybe buh firetruck dat i does do to much drivin dese days to spend all da money on premium super an redline in dey pweffin
:evil: :evil: :evil:

Well we on the same page. Is that self I doing.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » October 14th, 2008, 7:11 am

and mind you gettin to 180k just as wid premium eh an no knock jus find de car does idle lil lower could be de diffrent fuel map

Postby Greypatch » October 22nd, 2008, 2:06 pm

who runing super on dem mazda 6 ? any problems ?

is the car local or roro ?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 22nd, 2008, 3:49 pm

Just thought I'd update my last post on page 2. I've switched to super about 3 weeks now on my ZM-DE 1.6 BJ and been through about 4 or 5 straight tank fulls, using the recommended dose of Redline inj cleaner whenever I fill up.

The verdict?? Super (with the Redline) works, although the inside of the gas door says minimum 95 RON. No pinging yet, even with hills using a/c (been to Maracas, Ft. George, Mt. St. Benedict and lots of San F'do driving). Even seeing a slight increase in fuel economy (only like an extra 10-20km per tankful), but this is probably due to a change in my driving habits not redlining the car as often.

Anyway, I must also point out that even though the car isn't pinging, there is a pronounced drop in performance at times. Sometimes the car feels normal, then other times the car is sluggish as hell. I have to mash down much more to get the tranny to drop a gear or 2 for power, and even driving in traffic the car feels notably slower off the line. The car's definitely not as peppy as before.

No major idling issues yet, so if super clogs your injectors and causes hesitation, maybe it needs more than 4 or 5 tanks to do it.

So my conclusions: it seems you can switch if you need to do a lot of driving and the $4/litre is too much for your pocket. But be prepared for the erratic loss in performance.

As for me, I really miss the peppiness of my little BJ, but I'm continuing with the super for now because I'm doing a lot of driving these days... :oops:

Once my driving schedule is back to normal (or when I get fed up of the loss in power :twisted: ) then I'll go back to premium.

olewhip

Postby olewhip » October 26th, 2008, 5:38 am

this is the third time i filling up with super and i find little to no difference.
(but i doh drive too hard too eh)
the price of this premium go buss meh yes.
"THE GOVERNMENT RULES"...........BUNCH AH A-HOLE.
if i only get hold ah the PM credit card i go buy engines that does use super gas for allyuh.
:evil: :evil:

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » October 26th, 2008, 4:25 pm

that will be greatly appreciated....jus make sure is mazda engine....i using super, car wukkin' normal... i didnt think that i had to go there but $4 a Litre < Nah DAz Crazy Hoss....appearantly this means more frequent injector cleans for me
:( :|

olewhip

Postby olewhip » October 26th, 2008, 4:41 pm

well, i normally service the injectors twice a year so i hope i dont get any problems
Greypatch, is a roro mazda 6 i have that working good so far with the super

Postby Greypatch » November 12th, 2008, 7:49 pm

Well I have been using super in a local 6 for the past 2 weeks

1st started with $40 super added to 1/4 premium

when I got down top below 1/4 started to feel the adjustment of the car

It was not as responsive and a bit lazy.

BUT no rattle or ping.

I filled up with super $163 compared to $240+ (80 dollar saving)

Car works fine I have gotten accustomed to the adjustment and if I want a quick acceleration I drive in manual

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 12th, 2008, 8:07 pm

I am on vacation, and decide to do some investigating , I ran super and there is a pronounced difference in power as compared to the premium, engine sounds as though it straining and creeping in traffic I have to go down to 1st gear, ran super and a bottle of octane booster and the car feels much more alive than when I am using premium, that leaves me to wonder are we really getting proper premium gas (95 ron) here?

For me SUPER + Prestone octane booster FTW!!!

Postby Greypatch » November 20th, 2008, 1:44 pm

there is a loss in power but you can live with it
esp since the savings is $80+ per fill up

ryan

Re: mazda converted to super

Postby ryan » October 1st, 2012, 10:04 pm

Time to revive this thread. Anybody switching? Anybody been using super a while in local Mazda 3? Any reviews or issues?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » October 1st, 2012, 10:16 pm

Well I've been running super for the past couple years regularly only put premium occasionally and I've seen no real difference in power and my car is vvt with high compression n noticable pinging or knocking car performs great so I gueSs premium is a luxury item for me

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 2nd, 2012, 12:08 am

woi talk bout revival brings back alot of memories there boi, I running super on the zmde and zlve both manual so performance loss is a minimal. but its noticeable. With premium gas at 5.75 I doubt I going back soon. Looking to get a water meth injection kit.

Postby cinco » October 2nd, 2012, 9:36 am

i put in premium in my zlde before all it does is burn out faster...
i dont even think my knock sensor doin anything at the moment lol it all goopy

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 2nd, 2012, 12:12 pm

super in a mazda 3 is asking for problems with the 10:1 compression ratio...

Postby cinco » October 2nd, 2012, 2:01 pm

i know someone runnin super from brand new in her mazda 3 and no issues to date

Return to “MAZDA”