larafan

Postby larafan » October 30th, 2008, 8:06 am

LOL...paranoid potheads....

and allyuh wondering why it illegal.... :lol:

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » November 10th, 2008, 5:40 am

Razkal wrote:^That's so wrong it's almost a circle :|

Nothing can stick to your synapses because there's nothing for thc to stick to, it refers to the junction between an axon terminal and dendrite, functioning via the transfer of charged ions across the synaptic cleft (space between the axon terminal and dendrite) under a nervous impulse.
The only way thc (tetrahydrocannabinol) can affect nervous transfer across synapses is if it is a charged/polarized molecule (and it's not, it's neutral) or if it is a protein based enzyme that can destroy the neurotransmitter, and well, it's not.

I'm not a science major/ anything science, however I try my best to not speak if I am unsure about something so please allow me to REPEAT my point. THC can mimic or block actions of neurotransmitters, which fills the synapse, and interfere with normal brain function.

Postby Razkal » November 10th, 2008, 8:41 am

I'm not a science major/ anything science

Well I am, and you're still wrong :lol:

benko

Postby benko » November 10th, 2008, 10:01 am

so I am I to understand from this that hemp is now illegal in Trinidad?

noobie

Postby noobie » November 10th, 2008, 11:06 am

The pot plant is an ALIEN plant. There is physical evidence that cannabis is not like any other plant on this planet. One could conclude that it was brought here for the benefit of humanity.

Ahahahah
hhahah
LOL LOL

All credibility. LOST. with that line hahahahah.
They must have been high when they wrote this article! ^_^

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » November 10th, 2008, 4:29 pm

Razkal wrote:

Ok nothing personal but even though like I said I know nothing about science I did a paper for this is college and I was wondering if, seeing it was so many years ago, my memory was failing me...

Luckily for me, since then the internet has blossomed :D

the good thing about being able to read...

1) Foreign chemicals, like THC, can mimic or block actions of neurotransmitters and interfere with normal functions

http://health.howstuffworks.com/marijuana3.htm (for above and below)

2) Cannabinoid receptors I believe are in the synapse.

"Cannabinoid receptors are activated by a neurotransmitter called anandamide. Anandamide belongs to a group of chemicals called cannabinoids. THC is also a cannabinoid chemical. THC mimics the actions of anandamide, meaning that THC binds with cannabinoid receptors and activates neurons, which causes adverse effects on the mind and body. "

3) http://74.125.45.104/search?q=cache:Z9H ... cd=5&gl=us

Page 10 and page 12

Anyway now that I'VE CLEARLY ESTABLISHED THAT THC BINDS to the CANNABINOIDS receptors,which are located in the synapses, in the brain inhibiting normal brain function allow me to take it a step FURTHER

The JOURNAL OF NEUROSCIENCE even states that THC can inhibit the formation of NEW SYNAPSES..

4) http://www.jneurosci.org/cgi/content/full/21/10/RC146

Here at Trinituner, just as if it were advice on your car, we strive (well at least I do) to be an accurate conduit of information for readers. Again nothing personal, I wish I could spew the stuff you said off my head as you did.you are clearly more informed about general brain function etc etc kudos to you 8-)

sensiman

Postby sensiman » November 25th, 2008, 2:05 am

Dirty Face wrote:
Razkal wrote:

Ok nothing personal but even though like I said I know nothing about science I did a paper for this is college and I was wondering if, seeing it was so many years ago, my memory was failing me...

Luckily for me, since then the internet has blossomed :D

the good thing about being able to read...

1) Foreign chemicals, like THC, can mimic or block actions of neurotransmitters and interfere with normal functions

http://health.howstuffworks.com/marijuana3.htm (for above and below)

2) Cannabinoid receptors I believe are in the synapse.

"Cannabinoid receptors are activated by a neurotransmitter called anandamide. Anandamide belongs to a group of chemicals called cannabinoids. THC is also a cannabinoid chemical. THC mimics the actions of anandamide, meaning that THC binds with cannabinoid receptors and activates neurons, which causes adverse effects on the mind and body. "

3) http://74.125.45.104/search?q=cache:Z9H ... cd=5&gl=us

Page 10 and page 12

Anyway now that I'VE CLEARLY ESTABLISHED THAT THC BINDS to the CANNABINOIDS receptors,which are located in the synapses, in the brain inhibiting normal brain function allow me to take it a step FURTHER

The JOURNAL OF NEUROSCIENCE even states that THC can inhibit the formation of NEW SYNAPSES..

4) http://www.jneurosci.org/cgi/content/full/21/10/RC146

Here at Trinituner, just as if it were advice on your car, we strive (well at least I do) to be an accurate conduit of information for readers. Again nothing personal, I wish I could spew the stuff you said off my head as you did.you are clearly more informed about general brain function etc etc kudos to you 8-)

Fairly well researched post there, however there is ongoing medical research in early stages with respect to cannabinoid receptors in the stomach that may alleviate nausea in cancer patients. But understand the point of view of the drug developer/manufacturer: continue marketing costly hence very profitable drugs (eg. granisetron) that were developed by their R&D departments, or allow a naturally occurring (cheap) alternative to replace their product.
Just as bitter melon (karailee) has antidiabetic properties that will most likely never be developed into modern medication since many companies will stand to lose sales.

Google/research 'nabilone" and "dronabinol"

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » November 25th, 2008, 2:24 am

it illegal coz it forks with your mind.

sensiman

Postby sensiman » November 25th, 2008, 2:32 am

vimal_vs wrote:it illegal coz it forks with your mind.

So does alcohol, which can be regulated and taxed, the primary reason it is legal and therefore socially acceptable. Marijuana WAS legal at one point in Trinidad, but when people began planting the seeds and growing their own plants it was made illegal.

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » November 25th, 2008, 8:26 am

^ 10$ for a 10 peice.. you really feel they make it illegal because of the large profit they losing????
ppl is mine they own chicken, grow they own vegetables.. that illegal?

legal or not.. it still easy to get so doh complain

Postby Razkal » November 25th, 2008, 9:18 am

Dirty Face, nice read man, and i understand the argument.
You also have to take into consideration though, that the reason the brain and certain synapses located there even have cannabinol receptors in the first place, is because it is prepared on certain levels to process and deal with the presence of thc and other cannabinoids.
What smoking/artificially introducing thc into your body does, is overload the capacity of the receptors to process thc, in a non-smoker that capacity may be breached with two pulls while a regular smoker will need more.
(Don't know if a soft copy exists online, but an article by Renee Wert and Michael Raoulin was published in the International Journal of the Addictions in 1986, that shows their research into this field, its a good read, not biased or skewed info at all)

Drugs affect the production, release or re-uptake (a regulating mechanism) of various neurotransmitters. They also mimic or block actions of neurotransmitters, and can interfere with or enhance the mechanisms associated with the receptor, all to "trick" the brain-reward system into releasing more of, preventing uptake or regulating production of neurotransmitters such as dopamine and amphetamines that have "pleasurable effects" on the mind and body, thc doesn't produce these reinforcing effects on the brain-reward system though...(can't find the proper citation, but it was researched in a published paper by the OTA, Office of Technological Assessment)