Hikers Missing?

snypaz

Postby snypaz » July 14th, 2008, 11:05 am

R.I.P to both hikers...think they found the other about a hour ago.

Postby Maserati » July 14th, 2008, 11:09 am

pioneer wrote:Hmm turns out one of the dead is my father good friend daughter :|

What a way to go, RIP

Question is, with this weather, why was the hike still on?...more so...fine they had to cross the river to come back...but why cross it in the first place? :?

The hike coordinator and guide should be held accountable and charged with neglegence and manslaughter :?

RIP to her

yup really irresponsible to still have the hike with such bad weather.
As for them crossing the river guess there was no alternative or they just didn't know better or were told to cross it by the guides.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 14th, 2008, 11:10 am

Damn it hurts when it hits home, may the families involved please accept my deepest sympathies.

snowflake

Postby snowflake » July 14th, 2008, 11:38 am

i am sorry rip but good judgement should have prevailed........the weather was horrible........why put yourself in danger?

urabus

Postby urabus » July 14th, 2008, 11:45 am

this is really sad

i'm sure they were so adamant to hike regarless of the weather conditions

i mean when u love doing something or have a passion for it, nothing seems impossible, nothing will prevent you from doing it

R.I.P

hope this story can lead to some better plans and assistance for future hikes and that hike trails be more, umm studied

kaiger

Postby kaiger » July 14th, 2008, 11:55 am

Confirmed dead my friend from school: Markus Smith and his girlfriend Aiyana, just got off the phone with his mother...
R.I.P

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » July 14th, 2008, 12:11 pm

rip
that is a dread hike even in dry season..... if u cant swim and inexperienced and with all dat rain some thing like this was bound to happen....crossed rivers before while hiking, you try to interlock ur arms up to the elbow and walk at the slowest persons pace.
but i was not dey....
i hope d family gets some kind of closure.

larafan

Postby larafan » July 14th, 2008, 12:24 pm

that is a dread hike even in dry season..... if u cant swim and inexperienced and with all dat rain some thing like this was bound to happen

dat is wuh i thinking...it is a dread hike...i went on it earlier this year....but lots of fun ...yuh hadda know yuh limits tho...

goes back to my survival of the fittest theory....

r.i.p. hiking yutes...

Postby Greypatch » July 14th, 2008, 12:26 pm

People stop jumping to conclusions and use that energy to pray for the missing and their families.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » July 14th, 2008, 2:24 pm

Damn...went to school with that guy. Sad

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 14th, 2008, 2:35 pm

didnt the hike leader if its a professional body look at a current weather satellite ?the amount of simple technology there is available.
isnt this a uwi thing?.... realy sad...i blame the hikers gruop leader....should be charged for manslaughter...

NST

Postby NST » July 14th, 2008, 2:35 pm

larafan, pioneer do you guys always have to insert some jackass smart aleck post in to everything?..here we have 2 people with bright futures ahead of them dead and all you can talk about is people being stupid for going on a hike in bad weather...is not necessarily stupidity but inexperience, don't confuse the two. Agreed the organisers and the gude should be held accountable..but the dead can't defend themselves...

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 14th, 2008, 2:42 pm

some ppl try to appear smart, better than everyone else but in reality u analyz em as jackasses ... and in many posts they sift out themselves....

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » July 14th, 2008, 2:51 pm

i went to a couple of hikes in bad weather, it was a challenge but was still fun and safe, because the hike leaders were prepared and they had the good sense to advise ppl that were unsure to go back home
it was not this group though.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » July 14th, 2008, 2:53 pm

having said that though it was quite possibly unavoidable, so if that is the case the group should take this as a lesson learned and focus on the root cause of the incident and leave the blame game out of it.

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » July 14th, 2008, 3:07 pm

Ppl should really keep negative comments to themselves. If u have nothing good to say DON'T!!!

I was listening to paul and nickie this morning and a guy called into the program who is a guide. He said that the people had reached their destination and were swimming and whatever, when the weather started to go south, but it was a big group.

When they tried to gather everyone ready to leave there were some who insisted on "staying a lil longer" and this kept them back so by the time they were ready to leave the river they had to cross had already risen because according to him the river rises fast but also recedes jus as fast.

so on the way back they experienced difficulites which resulted in the 2 ppl gettin swept away. also the others who didn't make it across had to wit 4 the river to recede which resulted in the story of them "missing"

W2J

Postby W2J » July 14th, 2008, 7:14 pm

riderz wrote:Folks the news article is incorrect.

I was there as part of the S&R. Up to 6pm some had not come out but the emerged at 8pm or sometime there after.

We took a nex hr getting the manifest corrected and accounting for everybody by name. Two were missing and searches are continuing as I am typing this now.

We are still hopeful.

As for the safety harnesses etc, both were wearing a harness, one had on a life jacket. The one with the jacket fell in and pulled the other one as they were tied together.

People stop jumping to conclusions and use that energy to pray for the missing and their families.

did any of the helicopters with the bright lights help out with the search?

the khan

Postby the khan » July 14th, 2008, 8:18 pm

this is a pic of the river in the dry season and it's nech deep and im about 5feet 9 inches. a beautiful river but it can get very dangerous wit those rocks in the rainy season. sorry to hear about that :(

W2J

Postby W2J » July 14th, 2008, 8:50 pm

the khan wrote:Image

this is a pic of the river in the dry season and it's nech deep and im about 5feet 9 inches. a beautiful river but it can get very dangerous wit those rocks in the rainy season. sorry to hear about that :(

looks like macawel territory

G-T

Postby G-T » July 14th, 2008, 8:59 pm

these Hikers did not have a guide to lead them to alternative routes?
that is so depressing ,I hope they find the few survivors.. :|

soundboy101

Postby soundboy101 » July 14th, 2008, 10:29 pm

@ pioneer and larafan, all those stupid comments you all made, just goes to show the state of our society, with little or no information all yuh saying, they deserve what they get, they stupid, man all yuh have to be the most senseless, incensitive, cold hearted people around, The couple was trying to get to higher ground, they wasnt crossing the river, and they had their safety gear on, but one slipped and fell in, up to news time the girl is still missing they only found the body of the boy, i hope and pray they find her safely, if not, i hope and pray her family makes it through this ordeal easily

soundboy101

Postby soundboy101 » July 14th, 2008, 10:33 pm

'haha that's massive damage

crossing a swollen river

how stupid can you get'

' in this case the stupid are killed'

W2J

Postby W2J » July 14th, 2008, 10:38 pm

soundboy101 wrote:@ pioneer and larafan, all those stupid comments you all made, just goes to show the state of our society, with little or no information all yuh saying, they deserve what they get, they stupid, man all yuh have to be the most senseless, incensitive, cold hearted people around, The couple was trying to get to higher ground, they wasnt crossing the river, and they had their safety gear on, but one slipped and fell in, up to news time the girl is still missing they only found the body of the boy, i hope and pray they find her safely, if not, i hope and pray her family makes it through this ordeal easily

actually the new cast that I saw said that they went for higher ground and one slipped according to eye witnesses and the other jumped in trying to help.

Postby joker » July 14th, 2008, 10:44 pm

I DOH GET LOST IN THE BUSH , i does get lost in residential areas

rolandk

Postby rolandk » July 15th, 2008, 12:49 am

NST wrote:larafan, pioneer do you guys always have to insert some jackass smart aleck post in to everything?..here we have 2 people with bright futures ahead of them dead and all you can talk about is people being stupid for going on a hike in bad weather...is not necessarily stupidity but inexperience, don't confuse the two. Agreed the organisers and the gude should be held accountable..but the dead can't defend themselves...

Hmmmm....................you sound inexperienced my friend. If the hikers are inexperienced, then they should at least know that the leaders of the hike have the experience.

If the leaders lie about their experience, or think they are more experienced than they really are, then they are stupid.

either way, stupidity prevailed in this scenario!!!

if you go play football on d highway, who will have sympathy for you when you get bounce down, will people say that you are inexperienced?

if you go take walk though d beetham at midnight, see who will have sympathy for you when you get rob.

I say - what a bunch of jackasses.

IMO all ah dem shouda ded for being so fcukin stupid.

with d kind of rain we've been seeng over the past few weeks...................!!!

and besides, who d hell does hike in d rainy season?

the organiseres of this hike should be jailed for their stupidity.

Invisible

Postby Invisible » July 15th, 2008, 12:49 am

However it happened, it happened.

May the deceased RIP. My condolences are with the respective families and I do hope they can cope with their loss.

A lesson should be learned from this experience especially for future hikers.
Last edited by Invisible on July 15th, 2008, 1:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

rolandk

Postby rolandk » July 15th, 2008, 1:04 am

pioneer wrote:Apparently most hikes are during the rainy season for some reason...i rememeber years ago we went salybia and we were up to your knees in mud along de trail :roll:

:?

what a ting.

being an experienced hunter, I can say that most trails that I know of are either close to, or are small streams and waterways and can be walked up in the dry season, when they are dry........not when it rains.

you stay away from them when it rains. You stay away from waterways when it is raining upstream. Cuz I have seen many rivers "come down" when the area is dry............up to 12 feet, with just a few seconds warning. (you actually hear it.....very frightening if you don;t know what it is)

You generally stay away from steep slopes because of a risk of falling trees in the rainy season. (trees don't just fall on the roads to maracas)

you live and learn!!...........hikers abide by a different logic I guess

honda4life

Postby honda4life » July 15th, 2008, 1:12 am

R.I.P. markus and aiyana

condolence to KiD and Kaiger...for the lossof your schoolmate
sorry to hear that men...

rolandk

Postby rolandk » July 15th, 2008, 1:14 am

pioneer wrote:yeah i heard it once...then u see logs n debris being washed away...scary as hell :|

they coulda wait and call for help...i sure dey had supplies to make it tru the nite

and not like our forests have bears and tigers that will kill u :|

ok buts snakes n spiders...aggghhh :shock:

it have more scary tings out there..............like babooman......but seriously,

d amount of trap guns and boobie traps I does see in d forest..........I surprise hikers ent et kill by dem as yet.

I bounce up at least 10 on a busy trail in d northern range a few months ago.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » July 15th, 2008, 7:35 am

BOTH WERE FIRST TIME HIKERS
NUFF SAID
that hike is by no means a lengthy one, the guide should have had them out of the bush as soon as possible, not procrastinating. You have to move to suite the weather, that talk bout ppl insisting to stay longer is rubbish, the hike leader should have done better