Another amp preview.. HELP ME!!

Ree

Postby Ree » July 5th, 2008, 12:22 am

check the ground connection.......try disconnecting it completly and then reconnecting it sometime it can be a slack connection........try a switched direct power source for the remote turn on.....(could be a week signal from the deck)

markzz

Postby markzz » July 5th, 2008, 7:20 am

hmm... dude check d grounds power and remote wire on all your amps.. one of my amps had a bad ground and because they all linked on the same remote wire everything was goin crazy amps comin on wit d car off all kinda ting simply bcuz of the ground from the rca.. so do a quick check on all dem wires could save you alotta time.

NEXT TING!.. anybody realise dat amp resemble atomic amps rel bad?
:?
yuh kno dat feelin i used to get before i found out power acoustic and Soundstream was d same company.

maybe its just me but take a look.. same exact connectors.. same exact design.. same clickin noise wen turnin on.. same controls same look even same printing and fonts on the amp itself.. somebody help me figure this 1 out.. :?

markzz

Postby markzz » July 5th, 2008, 7:30 am

ok.. went up on sundown website these amps have the same boards and what seems to be the same internals as wel wen compared to the atomic amps.. hmmm.. :?

markzz

Postby markzz » July 5th, 2008, 7:36 am

get this one.. jus pulled up my atomic amp manual.. and was reviewing the specs of the atomic amp vs the saz.. they are the exact same.. execpt for output power. same wording same specs everything.. :shock:

boom

Postby boom » July 5th, 2008, 7:52 am

omg.....You totally lie? Seriously?

markzz

Postby markzz » July 5th, 2008, 8:08 am

:? :lol: :lol: :lol:
oh gosh i missed that post doh kill ah man na jeez :D

i kno waz d same boards an ting but not abt it bein the same company...

markzz

Postby markzz » July 5th, 2008, 8:15 am

ok cool! i learn something.
Isnt that what the forum is for last time i check..
gone bashing my head in jus cuz u know sum i dont :lol:

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 5th, 2008, 12:30 pm

I linked my repair tech to your thread on SSA to see if he has any input on it. We'll get it figured out :)

casper

Postby casper » July 5th, 2008, 1:45 pm

crossfire is a next company taht answers ure concerns with no automated reply

i feel ure pain 3stage :(

markzz

Postby markzz » July 5th, 2008, 1:56 pm

i can say the same for Digital Designs! :mrgreen:

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 5th, 2008, 2:07 pm

So far nothing... Chris @ db-r Electronics, my repair tech, has examined every damaged warranty amp to date and has never seen an amp do what you are describing - and neither have I, and I've tested every new 3000D shipped from Sundown Audio to date myself.

All the Class-D amps have the same turn-on / turn-off circuit as well, and no other model has displayed this behavior either. I'll experiment a bit @ my shop on Monday to see if I can cause an amp to do this.

If that shows nothing I will get you to ship the amp back to me collect (my cost). If the amp IS broken then I will replace it with no charges at all to you -- if there is nothing wrong with it I would have to charge for shipping. So, before we start shipping amps from country to country I do want to make sure something is wrong with it so you don't waste money shipping it around.

markzz

Postby markzz » July 5th, 2008, 2:15 pm

yea actually! DD has forums as wel as personal email replies and tech support

markzz

Postby markzz » July 5th, 2008, 2:18 pm

3 stage i tell u check dem wires boy! i jus have a strong feeling its one of them
take the amp out and test is out your system

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 5th, 2008, 3:03 pm

One more idea... see if the relay in your system has some leakage. Measure the remote voltage on the amp when it SHOULD be off.

Postby 3stagevtec » July 5th, 2008, 4:03 pm

i have two grounding points, for my amps, both cleaned with a wire brush and properly secured..

electrical - zero gauge wire all round, big 3, stinger SPV70 battery, 160A alternator..

i had already bypassed the relay and hooked the remote turn on directly to the battery +ve.. same thing happened..

sundownz wrote:One more idea... see if the relay in your system has some leakage. Measure the remote voltage on the amp when it SHOULD be off.

i didn't check that.. but as i had bypassed the relay and the problem still occured, i doubt the relay at fault.. but as you said it, i'll check for leakage..

oh, i gotta say i really really appreciate the help! i never would have figured i would have gotten help from so high up... :shock: :shock:

Postby 3stagevtec » July 5th, 2008, 4:12 pm

pioneer wrote:oh and reconnect your RCA's and speaker wire...then try it directly...by pass the relay.

yuh know (i think) i didn't try that...

but if the RCAs and speaker wire was a problem, then why did the amp turn on with them disconnected?? shouldn't it have gone into protection mode immediately..

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 5th, 2008, 4:28 pm

Did Exonic examine your install and, perhaps, try a 1500D in there ?

This is the first I've heard of any such issue in hundred and hundreds of these amps shipped all over the world - so if there is a problem with the amp I'd be interested to know what it is. Especially, since you tried two amps.

Postby 3stagevtec » July 5th, 2008, 4:32 pm

sundownz wrote:Did Exonic examine your install and, perhaps, try a 1500D in there ?

This is the first I've heard of any such issue in hundred and hundreds of these amps shipped all over the world - so if there is a problem with the amp I'd be interested to know what it is. Especially, since you tried two amps.

Exonic is not in the country at the moment.. he said he will be back by end of next week.. i will wait till then, so i can deal directly with him.. and maybe try a 1500D as you said..

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 5th, 2008, 4:34 pm

Is this a new install or have you used the same wiring before for other Class-D amps with the same turn-on setup ?

Postby 3stagevtec » July 5th, 2008, 4:50 pm

had this current setup for around 2years now.. i just sold my previous classD (a Soundstream Picasso PCA2000D) on thursday..

i used back all the same wiring for the 3000D..

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 5th, 2008, 5:39 pm

so same results wen u tried it on the powersupply indoors as well??

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 5th, 2008, 5:41 pm

oh yeh..

if so..try it with everything normal...

meaning.hook up some rcas to it...give it.. hook up a sub to it..no need to play..just do that..and simulate an in car situation..

den bridge your remote and do wat u did in the car and see if u gettin probs there too

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » July 5th, 2008, 6:43 pm

man try the amp in someone elses car n see what happens

Postby 3stagevtec » July 5th, 2008, 10:48 pm

yeah, i did try in on a 13.8V regulated power supply.. it turned on like normal.. then on the restart, protection mode.. :x

(my only regret is that i didn't try it with speakers and RCAs connected as i tought that wouldn't have made a difference..)

:cry: oh, i did return the amp today.. :cry:

Postby 3stagevtec » July 5th, 2008, 11:00 pm

pioneer wrote::| :| :|

i spent over 6 grand and the amp definitely givin problems.. what was i supposed to do??

i will however wait till Exonic gets back so i can make another try at it... i really want this amp!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 5th, 2008, 11:07 pm

^^ in the mean time..see wat other brands out there u can check out..

im SURE raptor can bring in an amp for u at a REALLY REALLY good price...

just check your options in the mean time :(

Postby 3stagevtec » July 5th, 2008, 11:44 pm

^yuh know i never checked him.. :shock: thanks for that idea.. i'll give him a call..

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 6th, 2008, 12:22 am

^^ no..

u just fail at that fail attempted to make him feel like he fail...

this is how its done

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 6th, 2008, 12:24 am

:o

oh shux man - i sure u bought this in hopes of using it for tomorrow's competition .... :(

sundownz

Postby sundownz » July 6th, 2008, 12:33 am

3stagevtec wrote:yeah, i did try in on a 13.8V regulated power supply.. it turned on like normal.. then on the restart, protection mode.. :x

I am going to test with this on Monday - I am really not aware of anyone that turns on their amp and then rapidly restarts it like you are doing.

Perhaps it is an anomaly with your turn-on procedure that simply has never effected anyone else to date due to normal turn-on procedure being applied.