4 age or 4 efte

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Fanerzz n/a

Postby Fanerzz n/a » April 18th, 2007, 12:16 am

hmm so little bit for d blacktop..sum 1 was tryin 2 sell me 1complete for $13,000....hmmm...iz best ah look at d blacktop instead ah d silver!!! :lol: ....wa stock hp ah black top does push???

Terran

Postby Terran » April 18th, 2007, 8:48 am

$13,000??? For what, man??

A blacktop is stock at 165 HP.

Fanerzz n/a

Postby Fanerzz n/a » April 18th, 2007, 7:07 pm

hmm..well i guess d engine had to had other mods for it to b worth 13,000!!!

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » April 18th, 2007, 9:57 pm

33 hertz wrote:so $8000 for engine, box, harness and ecu. Is this the one with vvt?

All 20V come with VVT. Black & Silvertop

If your talking about the blacktop selling on TT, I think it had a valve angle job done to it so...you be the judge.

Dat purple 111 does wok!! definately some stiff competition for any b16...
If I was u pal, I would invest in a bottle :D after dat is only red lights dey would see. Farless for a 4EFTE (there over rated in my opinion)
Im sure if you put a N/A 1.3 GTI Cultas swift, against a starley, is lix.

redo23

Postby redo23 » April 19th, 2007, 3:57 pm

yea..it does real wok!!

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » April 20th, 2007, 3:57 pm

still trying to find out where has a headgasket for the 20V
and redo or terran, Im looking for 4 intake and 4 exhaust valves, got any?>

Chaddy P

Postby Chaddy P » April 20th, 2007, 4:00 pm

Aarong420 wrote:
33 hertz wrote:so $8000 for engine, box, harness and ecu. Is this the one with vvt?

All 20V come with VVT. Black & Silvertop

If your talking about the blacktop selling on TT, I think it had a valve angle job done to it so...you be the judge.

Dat purple 111 does wok!! definately some stiff competition for any b16...
If I was u pal, I would invest in a bottle :D after dat is only red lights dey would see. Farless for a 4EFTE (there over rated in my opinion)
Im sure if you put a N/A 1.3 GTI Cultas swift, against a starley, is lix.

dont be silly

i own a turbo starlet. and used to own a gti, turbo starlet is much faster, when it was stock i used to run around them cars like it was nothing. 4efte would be a much cheaper and easier route if u looking for about 259- 270 with a stock crank. all that is needed is a td05 16g, external wastegate, management, 365 injectores, walbro pump, and a decent fmic, along with a boost controller. i ran 14.1 with 200 whp in my starlet with a td04. no mods to my engine whatsoever. right now im running td05 and trust me, u gonna have to come good to test my little 1300.
plus for more power theres always the stroker kit for the 4e...............the 5e :twisted:

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » April 20th, 2007, 6:34 pm

And i quote
"All that is needed is a td05 16g, external wastegate, management, 365 injectores, walbro pump, and a decent fmic, along with a boost controller"
Cheeper and easier he says.

Now I doe no about price in jamaica, but that seems like a good amount of cash to me. But its cool, pat yourself on the back all you want. :roll:

Chaddy P

Postby Chaddy P » April 20th, 2007, 8:34 pm

Aarong420 wrote:And i quote
"All that is needed is a td05 16g, external wastegate, management, 365 injectores, walbro pump, and a decent fmic, along with a boost controller"
Cheeper and easier he says.

Now I doe no about price in jamaica, but that seems like a good amount of cash to me. But its cool, pat yourself on the back all you want. :roll:

well i dont know how fast he wants to go but i just quoted a low 12 second formula for a 4efte. imagine what money would need to be spent on a 4age. to run 12's or faster. dont think because im a n00b (for now) that i dont know what im talking bout. 4age if u plan to boost it is obviously better than the 4efte, common sence will make u understand.

i hope ur brain didnt think that u need all those things to make ur 4efte faster than a 4age. its a faster engine right of the bat.

4efte is a better choice if money is the issue. if he has power goals of under 300 whp then i say go 4efte, no conversion needed, easier to source parts (well i dont know how u trini's have it down there) no pistons/rods/cramk upgrade needed if u plan to run 300 whp, its much lighter than a 4age ( i picked up a 4efte and threw it in the back of a truck, try doing that with a 4age) and all the parts i just listed will give u a 12 second run or fatser, u will still need to buy those parts in and put in a 4age to make it go fast anyway :roll: so thats y i said its cheaper. i hope u can comprehend that now that i dumbed it up a little more for u :roll:

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » April 20th, 2007, 9:16 pm

RIGHTTT :!: :!: I think you gotta sit down and count to ten. You seem to be a little tence. Lets not get too frustrated here ok... relax..whooosaaa
Yes you will need those parts for running 12's....4age or 4efte..kinda obvious. but ill leave it as that, dont wanna make you blow a fuse or sumthing ok buddy...

terran / redo...what youll think....you go let a starlet pass yall ?
Last edited by Aarong420 on April 20th, 2007, 9:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Chaddy P

Postby Chaddy P » April 20th, 2007, 9:32 pm

me ......... im quite fine. all those things i mentioned are in my car. :roll:

you just proved my point that 4efte is cheaper to build than a 4age. thats all i was saying. no need to get rude :roll:

Postby eliteauto » April 21st, 2007, 8:59 am

points taken bro

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » April 21st, 2007, 11:26 am

Chaddy P, was just pointing out what he KNOWS is possible thats all...i dont he was saying no to anything...cut the man some slack...i sure he inspired those with the 4efte engine to look at it at a different light or something....

Postby eliteauto » April 21st, 2007, 1:14 pm

agreed, instead of bickering I sure we could appreciate the points being made about the Starbo engine

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » April 21st, 2007, 1:34 pm

Yea, he's got a point when he lists all the mods that can be done to the starly to make big power...i'm not saying he doesnt know his stuff.
But I still believe that the 4age will be a better engine to build, call me ignorant but thats what I believe.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » April 21st, 2007, 4:33 pm

Thats the thing i always here the 4 age guys boast about how fast they are but from the research i was doing its alot cheaper to build the 4efte as its compared to the 20v. The stock 20v may have the advantage but with little mods the 4efte should be on par. Chaddy P how much boost does the stock 4efte run and how much can it run with the stock turbo and internals?

Chaddy P

Postby Chaddy P » April 23rd, 2007, 12:22 pm

33 hertz wrote:Thats the thing i always here the 4 age guys boast about how fast they are but from the research i was doing its alot cheaper to build the 4efte as its compared to the 20v. The stock 20v may have the advantage but with little mods the 4efte should be on par. Chaddy P how much boost does the stock 4efte run and how much can it run with the stock turbo and internals?

alright this is a tricky question.

stock boost levels are 6 at low boost and 9.5 at high ( Starlet gt cmes with a boost controller)

stock turbo can reach up to 13 psi without having to change TMIC. cause after 13 it starts getting very hot.

a stock turbo however can be hybrided to run up to 17 psi or so. upgrade intercooler is needed though. stock internals are fine once u running enough fuel. in Jamaica our best gas is rated at 90 at the pump. and this is what im quoting u with.

a turbo change howver is different. i have ran 16 psi on a td04 13g and managed 203 whp and 170 ft tq on pump gas tuned with an safc 2 and an hks fuel cut defender (this is need as the TS map sensor only reads upto 13 psi) i wouldnt run more than 16 psi on a turbo starlet stock engine unless proper gas is used. for instance my mechanic is running 27 psi ouut of a td 05 20 g, but thats on c16 gas ( tuned by a little old safc 2)

if u have a standalone system, emanage and/or alcohol injection u can run up to about 18psi or so cause u can adjust timing and the alchohol coles down the engine so its harder to detonate. my mechanic runs 15psi dailey on 90 octain on his 5e and he and thats 265 whp right there. the car is unbelievably fast. when he steps up to 27 psi he gets 365 whp and i dont even know what that feel like. he doesnt have proper slicks so he cant get good times. he launches in low boost gets wheelspin straight to the end of 2nd, when traction is gained back at 3rd he hits the monster 27 psi and then its staright wheespin to the end of the track. 11.4 is his best et. traction a kill him.

so as u guys said the 4age is the better engine as its bigger and better designed. but when money is short the e series will take u places u never knew it could. btw he sold the starlet and bought an older starlet and is working on a 500whp 4age 20v bt. god help every one when thats done

Postby eliteauto » April 23rd, 2007, 1:31 pm

^^ oh fack :shock: :D

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » April 25th, 2007, 5:20 am

WHAT D hell i hearing bout 20valve faster dan 4efte. U fellahs ever drag race in allyuh life i have a stock 4efte in my Tercel and i dont even consider racing a 20v a challenge. i does run 14.5 sec on Wallerfield on street tyres any stock 20valve could do dat. if allyuh want 2 prove me wrong jus look 4 a Silver Tercel on d Cross or Pierre road. Bring it on :evil: PLEASE PROVE ME WRONG :evil: TRD RULES!

Postby eliteauto » April 25th, 2007, 9:24 am

^^^ ah from my school days " fight...... fight....... fight" lol

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » April 25th, 2007, 10:00 am

Aarong420 wrote:But I still believe that the 4age will be a better engine to BUILD.

read carefully...

Chaddy P

Postby Chaddy P » April 25th, 2007, 1:17 pm

shinakuma wrote:WHAT D hell i hearing bout 20valve faster dan 4efte. U fellahs ever drag race in allyuh life i have a stock 4efte in my Tercel and i dont even consider racing a 20v a challenge. i does run 14.5 sec on Wallerfield on street tyres any stock 20valve could do dat. if allyuh want 2 prove me wrong jus look 4 a Silver Tercel on d Cross or Pierre road. Bring it on :evil: PLEASE PROVE ME WRONG :evil: TRD RULES!

there' is no way that on gods green land a stock 4efte 1300 with stock ct9 and tmic can ever run 14.5 dont even argue. the only way that could have happened is if it where a muc shorter track. stock turbo starlets do 1/4 miles in high 15's. when mine was stock i couldnt say much to the bt 4age guys. change of turbo did, the trick. when i was at 200whp i did 14.1, and would have done better with a proper track. y do u think that a 100 whp tercel can do 14.5 on a 1/4 mile.

please leave the weed smoking to jamaicans. cause obviously u cant handle it :roll:

as Aarong420 said, 4age is a better platform to work with, NA or boost. its just more expensive, thats all.

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » April 25th, 2007, 3:16 pm

Shinakuma isn't being truthfull, I'm sure he has mods!! All the comparisons are stock 4age vs stock 4efte and I'm sure toyota stated hp output levels put the 4age in front. Now I know due to power to weight ratio's nearly all the starlets will beat a corolla with a 4age!! But if you put a 4age in a starlet the tables would be turned, similary I raced by my 4age(stock 16v) corolla against a 4efte(stock) corolla and I won by 1/4 a car length, not much. So the 20v would obviously get a bigger lead, worst yet the 4agze.

Chaddy P

Postby Chaddy P » April 25th, 2007, 3:28 pm

TRD_FACTORY wrote:Shinakuma isn't being truthfull, I'm sure he has mods!! All the comparisons are stock 4age vs stock 4efte and I'm sure toyota stated hp output levels put the 4age in front. Now I know due to power to weight ratio's nearly all the starlets will beat a corolla with a 4age!! But if you put a 4age in a starlet the tables would be turned, similary I raced by my 4age(stock 16v) corolla against a 4efte(stock) corolla and I won by 1/4 a car length, not much. So the 20v would obviously get a bigger lead, worst yet the 4agze.

20v is a better engine than the 4agze sir. thats y it was used to replace it. :roll: . btw u ever felt the wieght of a 4age 20v compared to a 4agze?? 4agze is twice as heavy. the supercharger alone feels lke half a ton

ribs

Postby ribs » April 25th, 2007, 3:46 pm

WHAT D hell i hearing bout 20valve faster dan 4efte. U fellahs ever drag race in allyuh life i have a stock 4efte in my Tercel and i dont even consider racing a 20v a challenge. i does run 14.5 sec on Wallerfield on street tyres any stock 20valve could do dat. if allyuh want 2 prove me wrong jus look 4 a Silver Tercel on d Cross or Pierre road. Bring it on PLEASE PROVE ME WRONG TRD RULES!

this man is a liar...i hear he tellin meh partner that he turned up he boost and some other mods..doh leh he tie up alluh head!!

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » April 25th, 2007, 3:48 pm

The 20v is probably better in terms of head design and the lighter internals it has to perform well as a N/A engine but when you need to really build on an engine you need tough and heavy internals to do the job of high boost!! The 4agze is a better platform for serious boost as those pistons alone are worth gold!! My pal broke a rod and burst his block by running 16psi on is 4age 20v black top!! The ze internals would have held till 18psi. He had engine management, 440cc injectors and a lower compression due to a thicker gasket but got carried away with power. Saying outright that one engine is better that the next could be misleading, especially if you have a target hp output. Small power (less than 240hp) go 20v but anything above go 4agze. (Well I'm assuming that we are discarding of the supercharger)

ribs

Postby ribs » April 25th, 2007, 3:58 pm

WHAT D hell i hearing bout 20valve faster dan 4efte. U fellahs ever drag race in allyuh life i have a stock 4efte in my Tercel and i dont even consider racing a 20v a challenge. i does run 14.5 sec on Wallerfield on street tyres any stock 20valve could do dat. if allyuh want 2 prove me wrong jus look 4 a Silver Tercel on d Cross or Pierre road. Bring it on PLEASE PROVE ME WRONG TRD RULES!

And by the way, stock 4efte does between 16-17 secs on a 1/4mile..and our stock 20valve had given us 15.3 n/a with sheit street tyres..so..the 4age20v is definately the faster engine!!
''if allyuh want 2 prove me wrong jus look 4 a blue corolla 111 on d Cross or Pierre road.''

Terran

Postby Terran » April 25th, 2007, 5:03 pm

I can certainly attest that no stock 4EFTE can come around a stock 4AGE 20V. To claim otherwise is pure blasphemy. 14.5s on the quarter mile is like Alice in Wonderland. Dream on!

TRD_FACTORY, x2 on all your points about the 4AGE vs the 4AGZE. It's much easier to build far more serious power with the 4AGZE.

Chaddy P, I believe Toyota dropped the ZE for the 20V because of Honda's VTEC. VTEC was introduced prior to the 20V and became popular with racing enthusiasts. In order to keep up with the competition and to maintain the interest of racers with this new technology, Toyota went the way of the screamer... because that's what people wanted. :? When I compare both the 20V and the ZE side by side, I ask myself "what the hell was Toyota thinking??"

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » April 25th, 2007, 5:07 pm

shinakuma wrote:97 Tercel wit a 4efte engine
Upgrades
Boost controller
ACT 6pad clutch & pressure plate
Front mount intercooler
Blitz (BOV & turbo timer)
Rev limit raised to 8000rpm
TRD head gasket
Stock CT-9 turbo unit
Boost,A/F ratio,Oil pressure Autometer Gauges
Best et- 14.5sec @ 14psi boost
coming soon GT28 turbocharger,2 core radiator,oil cooler
!THE CAR IN FRONT IZ A TOYOTA!
:pwned:

come nah man shinakuma i know this car from uwi. Props to you the car wokkin but we both know it no where near stock. I could never understand why men does try to pass off their car as being stock after they do one set of mods. If you a real man u admit what you have and if you not performing as good as you should then go tune and come back. dont take props for being stock when you not that just as bad as being a ricer!

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » April 25th, 2007, 5:31 pm

From version to version of the toyota "A" series engine of the 4th generation , we see that it was a progressive development of power , technology and of course tunability.
From the first gen, Second gen. ,Redtop , Blue top , 16V TVIS, 16V Non-TVIS, Big port , Small Port ,16V Superchrged, 20V Silver top VVT , Black Top VVT-I and so on we saw a progression. the 4E-FTE can be considered an improvement over the 2E-Telu and counterparts of the E generation possibly. But as for stock for stock the 20v wins over the 4E.

Return to “TOYOTA”