i'm turboing my AD

JWT

Postby JWT » December 22nd, 2006, 11:22 pm

^^i feel you living in a hole to make that statement SR's were nissans sport engine platform
so i guessin JUN,HKS,Signal and CP is all arse if the sr's were not made for sports

neways Knight1 you know best rite sorry

i will seek ur infinate knowledge of wisdom since you wiser than HKS

QG

Postby QG » December 23rd, 2006, 1:35 am

Knight1 wrote:
Sr's were designed for sport or racing

Really? Since when? Certainly not. They can be modded...yes...but that's a different story.

partner, you here before me and this is what u have to say...well it seem to me that someone is not doing their homework. Sr18 was made more for economy and the Sr20 for racing, my little 12year old cousin knows this. Sad knight...sad! :roll:

QG

Postby QG » December 23rd, 2006, 1:52 am

JWT wrote:unfortunately i do not think there are any forged ods for the QG series or pistons not to sure.
advice if you are serious about spending that amount of money on your engine do a sr20det swap and i will assist you where i can

I might take you up on the offer but still haven't made up my mind as yet. The Sr20 are very good engine cause look for instance the blue sunny with a Ga15det running about 12-15psi if i'm not mistaken, and he is no match for a Sr20 stock running with extractors and a lsd gearbox. But how much hp allyuh feel i running now? I have the racing intake kit, extractors with a 2" exhaust, platinum plugs heat 6...but changing to iridium soon; and i does use a bit of octane boosters. And i also have 15" tyres 195/65, also with castrol full syntec oil 5W-50. Allyuh feel ah pass 120hp?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 23rd, 2006, 1:14 pm

Nissan QG15DE Jed save your self buy a SR20DET and chill out jeez... and the SR20DE's that we acting like is a race car engine really ain't as Knight said.. What we are doing is taking a 2.0 L Sedan engine and trying a thing. The real SR20 racing engine eh look nothing like what we using....

JWT

Postby JWT » December 23rd, 2006, 1:23 pm

and make sure and do the proper work on the sr20det
do not buy one and drop it in because it will give trouble so advice buy the said sr20det and change parts some parts.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 23rd, 2006, 2:37 pm

^^i feel you living in a hole to make that statement SR's were nissans sport engine platform
so i guessin JUN,HKS,Signal and CP is all arse if the sr's were not made for sports

neways Knight1 you know best rite sorry

i will seek ur infinate knowledge of wisdom since you wiser than HKS

Wait nah Jwt...is so u duz move with ur EJ20T brethren?

and the SR20DE's that we acting like is a race car engine really ain't as Knight said..

Picasso...ah gotta hand it to u....I didn't expect you to make that statement...but thanks! That is what I was trying to say. The SR20DE is by NO MEANS a performance engine ...stock anyway. However, some folks have delusions that they are. Now of course they can be modified...and then you can really make it shine!

The SR20VET (XTRAIL GT)...same thing. It wasn't built with all out performance in mind. More for torque and economy.

Nw the SR20DET /VTC was made with performance in mind...no question there.

QG

Postby QG » December 23rd, 2006, 7:47 pm

Wait nah, i just did some thinking, ent when turboing an engine u suppose to use low compression pistons? Is it possible for a stock engine to handle 5psi of safe boosts without doing internal mods in the block?

JWT

Postby JWT » December 23rd, 2006, 11:02 pm

Wait nah Jwt...is so u duz move with ur EJ20T brethren?

nah pallie is just that i help out people with builds
sorry if i offeneded you :mrgreen:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 23rd, 2006, 11:04 pm

nah pallie is just that i help out people with builds
sorry if i offeneded you

Um no offence taken man...actually I jus on kixx :lol:

But....I still maintain that the SR20DE is NOT a performance engine. No where close to it. The QG18DD engine has far more "race-tech" (if you wanna call it that) than the SR20DE. The QG18DD (Neo Di) has drive by wire, individual throttles per cylinder, direct injection...and makes almost the same power as the SR20DE (if not exactly the same).

Wait nah, i just did some thinking, ent when turboing an engine u suppose to use low compression pistons? Is it possible for a stock engine to handle 5psi of safe boosts without doing internal mods in the block?

^^It can work. But how will the engine hold up?

You should be thinking along the lines of stronger con-rods, high-temp pistons (don't have to be forged per say), Reduce compression ratio by varying the stroke, or using a thicker gasket (ratch).

And think about this...reducing the compression of your engine will lower your low end throttle response,plus you'll be experiencing turbo lag.

Your overall gains may be only in the realm of 25 to 30 hp at 5 psi. So you're looking at around what.....115 horsepower at the wheels?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 24th, 2006, 7:29 am

115 horsepower at the wheels?

this equals ownage by any Single cam honda especially the 1.6 cvt's lmao :lol: :lol: :lol: Boy is best you buy a GA16 with VTC and mod the hell out of that engine so fellas like wagonrunner won't get kicks on you.

Yeah boi knight1 I know I have is a turbo supersaloon engine and with the right parts and enough boost with a nice tune I can suprise the pants off of people. I was searching yesturday online to get a pic of the true race inspired SR20 cause like people really not aquanted with it. I think it comes with 300 hp bone stock from the factory in N/A trim :|

JWT

Postby JWT » December 24th, 2006, 10:28 am

parts parts parts at the end of the day parts and qg18de have little parts locally i advise sr20det becaus eparts are readily avaialable

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 24th, 2006, 10:59 am

^^ ent... if you got a penny for each hp made you will be running for an SR20 motor in a hurry.... You can't beat it. Price,Power,Reliablilty... what else jed.. that QG engine laden with sensors just itching to friggin die on you to have you calling 800-4tow. Me I not playing with that engine no more. I was lucky compared to most people. nevery had radiator problems,cam sensor problems and etc.. just my MAP sensor used to play d arse sometimes. I not going to lie the QG18DE engine is nice when it comes to fuel economy and other wussy techy kinda stuff. But it is not one of those engines that is greatly know for boosting. So if your pocket deep cause you got a pops who has an Oil rig in the Middle East then I say go all the way and shock the sheit out of us.. Other than that don't even mention that the engine blow up cause we all are expecting it :lol: :lol: :lol: 15devils did the samethin to his B15 and it blew up in a couple days. ( he should post abou this ) Than GOD I didn't waste my money and boost a QG engine. All now I would have been speaking some sheit about saving 15% on car insurance buy switching to B&L :lol: :lol: :lol:

JWT

Postby JWT » December 24th, 2006, 2:21 pm

picslow you sort out ur engine yet
i want ah run :mrgreen:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 24th, 2006, 2:31 pm

picslow

come again ?

JWT

Postby JWT » December 24th, 2006, 2:38 pm

picasso
happy now
what going orn with the wingroad uh stickin

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » December 24th, 2006, 2:42 pm

i can get u qg18 forged rods and pistons...even extractor type turbo manifolds ...if u really wanna go the qg18 route pm me i'll help you out ... lets prove its the little engine that could.....

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 24th, 2006, 2:42 pm

what going orn with the wingroad uh stickin

Check meh location right now that car parked up. No it's not down I just parked it up for the while.

QG

Postby QG » December 27th, 2006, 12:08 am

sr20ve wrote:i can get u qg18 forged rods and pistons...even extractor type turbo manifolds ...if u really wanna go the qg18 route pm me i'll help you out ... lets prove its the little engine that could.....

Boss, i real confused...my partners pushing meh to turbo the 1500cc, some telling me to swap in a QG18 with tip or vtc and of course there's SR. But one engine i'm impressed with is the SR20VE, i love to hear the kick in that sheit :D . I have to sit down and really think about what to do cause when i decide, i don't want any regrets after.

Postby Dave » December 27th, 2006, 3:21 pm

an SR20DE is not a performance engine, it is an econo box engine
it just responds well to modifications
but a qg15de-t, breds really, save your money
but what r u gonna make a car run fast now for, r u a street racer :?:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 27th, 2006, 6:33 pm

^^Thank you. That's what I've been trying to say. The SR20DE engine IS an econo-box engine...like it or not. But folks hear "SR" and have delusions of grandeur with their stocker engine.

Now...a modded one on the other hand....wel....that's a different story entirely.

But one engine i'm impressed with is the SR20VE, i love to hear the kick in that sheit . I have to sit down and really think about what to do cause when i decide, i don't want any regrets after.

This will be a much easier upgrade for a B15/Wingroad etc. Keep in mind that the Wingroad ZV-S came with that engine stock.....and the engine bay/parts in a Wingroad, almera, and B15 are practically identical.

Postby wagonrunner » December 27th, 2006, 9:34 pm

Knight1 wrote:This will be a much easier upgrade for a B15/Wingroad etc. Keep in mind that the Wingroad ZV-S came with that engine stock.....and the engine bay/parts in a Wingroad, almera, and B15 are practically identical.

and that the suspension, brakes, are not. please keep it safe.

JWT

Postby JWT » December 28th, 2006, 1:15 am

nah boii let them make fast cars and have no brake sand proper suspension when they crash they does look for we to attend funeral

QG

Postby QG » December 28th, 2006, 8:08 am

Dave wrote:an SR20DE is not a performance engine, it is an econo box engine
it just responds well to modifications
but a qg15de-t, breds really, save your money
but what r u gonna make a car run fast now for, r u a street racer :?:

No i'm NOT, but who doesn't like to drive a turbo car??? Do u know how hard it is to see turbo car whooshing right pass u, or even yet people papi-showing yuh on d road? I think it's time to go turbo.

Postby Dave » December 28th, 2006, 8:53 am

No i'm NOT, but who doesn't like to drive a turbo car??? Do u know how hard it is to see turbo car whooshing right pass u, or even yet people papi-showing yuh on d road? I think it's time to go turbo.

i don't. gas is a killer
most turbo cars don't whoosh past me eh, and even if they do, i let them be, cause they would be doing in excess of 80km and that would be considered speeding and an esp worse scenario if u r chasing them

tocotuner

Postby tocotuner » December 29th, 2006, 9:17 am

post some pictures, I could buy back a ad wagon yes

JWT

Postby JWT » December 29th, 2006, 10:03 am

waste of time in my honest opinion

QG

Postby QG » December 29th, 2006, 5:06 pm

I can post pictures of my AD... look out for them. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

15devils

Postby 15devils » December 31st, 2006, 10:53 pm

hey bro,to share wit picasso...i had a n16 almera with a qg16,i did a lil research online and turboed the engine,even got a friend to bring down forged pistons that would fit the qg16,eveyone told me in wouldn't last...and guess what..they were right.Engine went up in smoke 4 days after in was boosted,it really not worth the time and money.even after boosted,stock SR20's was busting my ass !!! really buya SR20 turbo,it'll cost and work out better..... :D

and about watching turbo cars pass you.....to turbo a car or to keep a turbo vehicle is what some trinis call "a rich boy hobbie"...if you have the cash,by all means...but there is more important things to spend your money and time on.......like saaaaay....57" plasma tv's... :D

JWT

Postby JWT » January 1st, 2007, 12:56 am

sorry you had to learn the hard way but people do not listen

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » January 1st, 2007, 3:28 pm

Nissan QG15DE wrote:But how much hp allyuh feel i running now? I have the racing intake kit, extractors with a 2" exhaust, platinum plugs heat 6...but changing to iridium soon; and i does use a bit of octane boosters. And i also have 15" tyres 195/65, also with castrol full syntec oil 5W-50. Allyuh feel ah pass 120hp?

u not even pass 100 yet :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: