WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS ON AUDI A4 1.8T

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

plex

Postby plex » November 21st, 2006, 8:04 pm

bullet wrote:fellas thanks for the input but speed isn't a major concern

I believe the point is clear here..speed is not an issue.

The Audi A4 is a large family car produced by the German automaker Audi since 1995

Extract taken from: Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audi_A4

Also the Passat(3B) and A4(8D/8E) are the same cars up to 2005 mechanically

You are right .

but hey this is a different level of automobile and class.
If you can afford a car like this you can afford to look after it!

100% agreed..

GONEEE TRUUUU.....

Postby GONEEE TRUUUU..... » November 21st, 2006, 8:25 pm

i drove in my friends passat 1.8t...its slow off the line and at low rpms,,,but u have a tiptronic tranny use it an it makes a diff...but its only sooo much u can get out of the 1.8t .. cmon guys its nothin special...jus normal in my opinion,,the ride is smooth though....buy a tezza instead :D :twisted:

JWT

Postby JWT » November 21st, 2006, 9:28 pm

all in all it is a sweet excutive car and my choice if you are not going to race it. if you want to race take the money and buy a subaru or evolution or best of both worlds legacy turbo

audi = pimp ride
race car = speed

chalk and cheese

Postby equipped2ripp » November 21st, 2006, 11:30 pm

GONEEE TRUUUU....., using automatic mode is faster than using the tiptronic.

audi has more "bling" than the VW or the skoda... it's a more prestigious name

Postby MG Man » November 22nd, 2006, 7:39 am

Raziel wrote: my 1.6 20V Trueno (Levin) will smoke that coming and going.

apples and oranges dude
I hope u doh compare birth control methods teh same way

Raziel

Postby Raziel » November 22nd, 2006, 4:03 pm

Raziel wrote: my 1.6 20V Trueno (Levin) will smoke that coming and going.

apples and oranges dude
I hope u doh compare birth control methods teh same way

hahaha ... no i don't lol ....

Just trying to make the same point most people here have, it's more for people looking for an "executive ride"

Some people said the car was fast, and sometimes people hear 1.8T and think ... must be fast ... so was trying to provide a point of reference

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » November 23rd, 2006, 7:10 am

^exactly no one is disputing the comfort or class of the vehicle but to make rediculous statements like it so fass it does beat them sr and rb boys is kinda hard to believe..but all in all they are a bling ride and if u can afford to buy one then im sure u can mantain it cause one thing with european parts eh cheap

Grind

Postby Grind » January 13th, 2007, 8:03 pm

When concidering a vehicle, some people look at the price and or availability of aftermarket or performance parts.
Does anyone know where aftermarket parts for the Audi 1.8T can be purchased :?: ..... Interior, exterior and mechanical.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » January 14th, 2007, 12:36 am

The Audi 1.8T is what it is - A Euro luxury machine with more that enough power to hold it's own. I personally prefer the VW Passat.

But how come nobody mention the worse part about owning an Audi in T&T is you have to go to Southern Sales for Service & Support. To me that sucks the most. :lol: :lol:

Postby equipped2ripp » January 16th, 2007, 5:22 pm

Grind, you'll have to bring in the aftermarket parts yourself.

no one stocks them because they are too expensive and there isn't a great demand for it.

those who want aftermarket parts for these cars are the ones who can afford to import the parts themselves.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » January 17th, 2007, 8:09 am

whats the amintenance cost like at the firm? anyone?

allblacks

Postby allblacks » January 17th, 2007, 8:33 am

Buy a BMW 3 series....good all round performance.. :)

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » January 18th, 2007, 11:06 pm

with the 1.8T, be careful how you take advantage..

To rebuild the transmission if your planetary gears gone bad = close to $14 grand
Turbo = Close to $5 grand i believe
Comfortable Ride, Great Chassis........................................= Worth the price

Postby cinco » January 19th, 2007, 12:30 am

rebuild is 14k?
brand new tranny from firm
last i heard was 65k

gfbl

Postby gfbl » January 19th, 2007, 8:03 am

whats the maintenance cost? plugs filter brakes fluids that kinda thing, in the firm? Anybody know?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 19th, 2007, 8:11 am

fafrumlosin wrote:not to burst your bubble but are you comparing stock sr and rb turbo to a 1.8t a4?? if so i think u need to revaluate ur statements cause either of them will beat a a4....actually my little 1.6 20 valve does beat up on 1.8t passats and a4

Yea I seen this many times and I done it too, as I said before.
It's not the fastest of cars, but still a nice ride. I would not get one, unless I'm ready to settle off the speed.

Grind

Postby Grind » January 19th, 2007, 11:25 am

equipped2ripp wrote:Grind, you'll have to bring in the aftermarket parts yourself.

no one stocks them because they are too expensive and there isn't a great demand for it.

those who want aftermarket parts for these cars are the ones who can afford to import the parts themselves.

Okay then.
But they look really good when you dress them up though. Check out these pics. Body kit, spoiler, chrome trim.....
Other than importing for yourself I'm sure there is someone who maybe doesn't stock but can source and supply aftermarket parts for it. After all the A4 is becoming quite a common vehicle down here.

plex

Postby plex » January 19th, 2007, 8:32 pm

Grind, nice pics...The last two pics looks familar...EuroTuner magazine?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » January 20th, 2007, 12:40 am

cinco wrote:rebuild is 14k?
brand new tranny from firm
last i heard was 65k

nah man..meh good bretren had to get his tranny rebuilt.
cost him close to 14k because of the planetary gears going bad. he used to rell run the audi. he still has it though.

a kinda pearl silver audi with 20" rims from point. P** 8080. Ah rell descent ride.

Grind

Postby Grind » January 20th, 2007, 6:54 pm

plex306 wrote:Grind, nice pics...The last two pics looks familar...EuroTuner magazine?

I actually found them somewhere on the web... can't remember wehre though

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » March 15th, 2007, 3:04 am

oh yeah...i know couple of them s4 running down m3's

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » March 15th, 2007, 8:04 am

Dada wrote:oh yeah...i know couple of them s4 running down m3's

Which S4. V8 B6? On a public road? Still no chance 344bhp and all. E46 M3 is a bit mad.
New 414bhp V8 RS4 perhaps.

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » March 15th, 2007, 1:39 pm

yes its a RS4 v8.......

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 17th, 2007, 2:37 pm

i know 2 people with an Audi A4 1.8T, one is a PBB and the other is a PBM and both are dissatisfied with their car. They say the power is ok but i gave the PBM one more than 2 car lengths with an Altezza with the 2.0 beams vvt-i straight 6 engine. The reliability of the two is poor, service at automobile sales was poor, parts rare and expensive and the quality of the interior fades rapidly since the knobs changing colour and the leather cracking up and smelling stink, park and brake lights blow quickly and the engine sounds rough and heavy.

Overall, they're eye candy but i lost touch with the fella who has the PBB one but for meh pallie wit d PBM, he sold it and got a Cefiro V6 after much deliberation since its another fwd car but he says he wants more reliable transportation and would u believe he gets better mpg than the audi.

I would choose the 2.0FSI version but the Passat is a better buy and its a bigger car.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » March 17th, 2007, 3:46 pm

Why would you choose the 150bhp 2.0 FSI motor over the 170bhp and 160lbft from 1900-4000revs 1.8T?
Why do you think the Passat is a bigger car and which one?
A4 has ranges from 1.6 to 3.0 and 2.7TT RS4 for the B5 model (PBB)
And 1.8T to 344bhp V8 for S4 in the B6 model (PBM).
What range does the S/GXE10 series Altezza/IS200 have to match?
A 200BHP 3SGTE SXE10 vs what a 2.7TT 380bhp RS4?
Both A4 1.8T and IS200 are not GTis they are used as repmoblies.
Neither are the A4 3.0 vs IS300.
Then there the the brilliant diesels of which the model Toyota/Lexus in question has none.
Only in Trinidad would someone sell a prestigous A4 to step down to a QX or A32/3 Cefiro. But I can understnad why...
With Euro Cars like these you have to understand what happens beyond Trinidad or the "general export" market to make a fair comparison.
Plus dealers at home are not helpful in aftersales/service and these cars are different in procedure when it comes to tackling service and repairs adding to a certain sterotype.
Dont get me worng the A32/3 QX/Cefiro and S/GXE10 Altezza/IS200 are sturdy and ultra reliable but in the grand scheme of things they just don't add-up in terms of being a great car with pedigree (thanks to the Quattro in rallying) like the Audi A4.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 18th, 2007, 12:29 pm

Why would you choose the 150bhp 2.0 FSI motor over the 170bhp and 160lbft from 1900-4000revs 1.8T?

because fyi we got the so called 150bhp passats and a4's before the 2.0fsi was even in the drawing board and the fsi has proven itself to be a more reliable engine with much better fuel economy and it doesn't sound like a tractor. So when compared to the lastest 1.8t then i don't mind sacrificing 20hp since it doesn't make a big difference since last time i checked, we dont have a freeway nor an autobahn in trinidad.

Why do you think the Passat is a bigger car and which one?

the current passat is BIGGER than an audi a4!!!

Then there the the brilliant diesels of which the model Toyota/Lexus in question has none.

why u think this is a war between 2 cars/companies? i just made reference to an altezza and there u go running your mouth. u speak as though those cars can maximise their true potential right here in t&t! dont make me compare the new lexus is to an audi a4 please...a stock IS350 will smoke all A4's including the S4. Wanna bring the RS4 in the mix then wait for the IS-F.

moving on to diesels....those europeans going through hard times dude, they can't afford gas anymore so they have no other choice to make diesels and make good ones too...so i give u the diesel part :)

Only in Trinidad would someone sell a prestigous A4 to step down to a QX or A32/3 Cefiro. But I can understnad why...
With Euro Cars like these you have to understand what happens beyond Trinidad or the "general export" market to make a fair comparison.
Plus dealers at home are not helpful in aftersales/service and these cars are different in procedure when it comes to tackling service and repairs adding to a certain sterotype.
Dont get me worng the A32/3 QX/Cefiro and S/GXE10 Altezza/IS200 are sturdy and ultra reliable but in the grand scheme of things they just don't add-up in terms of being a great car with pedigree (thanks to the Quattro in rallying) like the Audi A4.

compare a 1996 Nissan Maxima with the 3.0 V6 engine to a 1996 Audi A4 or A6. get the history on all 3 above and you would see that the Maxima owner had less problems to deal with and better fuel economy. Check the interior parts and fittings and ask the owner how much times he change bulbs etc and then ask the audi owner the same questions......i say the audi makes u spend more money and lose more resale too! try selling a 2001 a4 for $120,000.....it'll sit there just like the 2 a4s that took months and months to sell in the auto real estate monthly book...matter of fact, it probably even sell yet.

at the end of the day, i am not bad talking audi.....if i had to choose one, it will be the 2.0FSI without the sunroof (more headache).....I would enjoy superior fuel economy and a much better built car than previous audi's....its more reliable too. The downside is, the resale is still poor, parts rare and expensive, dealer service is poor and its still a fwd car. I rather get a BMW 320i which is no better but is RWD and has a smooth straight 6.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » March 18th, 2007, 5:02 pm

x2floor wrote:because fyi we got the so called 150bhp passats and a4's before the 2.0fsi was even in the drawing board and the fsi has proven itself to be a more reliable engine with much better fuel economy and it doesn't sound like a tractor. So when compared to the lastest 1.8t then i don't mind sacrificing 20hp since it doesn't make a big difference since last time i checked, we dont have a freeway nor an autobahn in trinidad.

Thats because the 1.8T (150BHP/155lbft) came out (1994) before the 2001 2.0FSi with 150bhp@6000 150lbft@3500. Thing is in 2001 there was the 1.8T (KO3s turbo) with either 163 or 170 bhp @ 5700-5900 and 166lbft from 1900-5000r/min.
You "checked" from a 'race' in a non sport saloon 160bhp@6200 and 148lbft@4400r/min then went on to rant over to knobs, smelly leather, parts being rare and so on on 2 peoples negative experiences on an A4.
x2floor wrote:the current passat is BIGGER than an audi a4!!!

Golf/Jetta MK5 based Passat vs a B5/B6 Audi A4?
What about a 3B Passat vs an 8D/8E Audi?
Remember we talking PBB and PBM cars here according to your "review".

x2floor wrote:why u think this is a war between 2 cars/companies? i just made reference to an altezza and there u go running your mouth. u speak as though those cars can maximise their true potential right here in t&t! dont make me compare the new lexus is to an audi a4 please...a stock IS350 will smoke all A4's including the S4. Wanna bring the RS4 in the mix then wait for the IS-F.

Your comparisons seem to only stretch to straight line performance.
This is surely not the the way to evaluate vehicles. Try visitng a motor show and sit in a E46 M3 or a C63AMG ,Jag X Type R, Or Alfa 159 and observe the build quality and how these comfort you and if you can live with them and compare to a "leatherised toyota". Then take the various brands a 24hr test drive allowing for mixed conditions. This is my perspective before "I jus run my mouth".
All manufacturers are trying to be profitable but give good value for money. But Lexus will always be the underdog in Europe. They are excellent cars but not great. The IS200 is a great attempt at a BMW 3series but never a beemer. I have driven the New 2007 B7 414BHP RS4 and I can say bring it on Lexus IS-F. Its got its work cut out agianst this car, the Jag X type R and the C63AMG torque monster. Meanwhile in Baraavian Motor Werks the new V8 M3...
x2floor wrote:moving on to diesels....those europeans going through hard times dude, they can't afford gas anymore so they have no other choice to make diesels and make good ones too...so i give u the diesel part :)

Really? And you live where?

x2floor wrote:compare a 1996 Nissan Maxima with the 3.0 V6 engine to a 1996 Audi A4 or A6. get the history on all 3 above and you would see that the Maxima owner had less problems to deal with and better fuel economy. Check the interior parts and fittings and ask the owner how much times he change bulbs etc and then ask the audi owner the same questions......i say the audi makes u spend more money and lose more resale too! try selling a 2001 a4 for $120,000.....it'll sit there just like the 2 a4s that took months and months to sell in the auto real estate monthly book...matter of fact, it probably even sell yet.

If I was to compare these cars I would find the Maxima in a scarp yard and the Audi on the road still going thanks in part to image, resale, parts availablity and know-how.
x2floor wrote:at the end of the day, i am not bad talking audi.....if i had to choose one, it will be the 2.0FSI without the sunroof (more headache).....I would enjoy superior fuel economy and a much better built car than previous audi's....its more reliable too. The downside is, the resale is still poor, parts rare and expensive, dealer service is poor and its still a fwd car. I rather get a BMW 320i which is no better but is RWD and has a smooth straight 6.

This is your view and fair enough I respect that.
The claimed rubbish aftersales of the dealers in Trinidad does not mean that the cars are rubbish. You would find in Europe that these cars out sell Lexus cars 3 to one easy. NB most cars sales are to fleets.
Also as an active VAG enthusiast here are some facts on the "tractor sounding" 20V motors vs the 2.0 16v FSi motor
2.0 FSI motor with the expeption of the direct injection and missing 3rd inlet valve is the same configuration as the 1.8T motor and is based on the same engine block since 1974. There was also a non FSI 2.0 20V found in the new B7 A4.

Postby Team Loco » March 19th, 2007, 2:03 pm

argh!!! Audi a4 1.8T eats your money!! but mines was bought damaged and repaired. I lost money big time on mine. One thing about these cars:

CHECK FOR SUN AND HEAT DAMAGE IN THE ENGINE AREA!!! If the hoses look soft and mushy, don't buy!!! Audis cannot take the heat here. Very expensive car to maintain. The older B5 model has an inherent transmission fault where the torque converter strips. There are many of these down for tranny repairs. Cost of a new tranny in southern sales is $125,000 without converter.

So do the math, you better off with a used 3 series.....i switched and believe me, BMW take win over audi.

If you require some more info on audis, pm me, i have a wealth of info on them, plus where you can get parts cheap for them

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » March 19th, 2007, 3:09 pm

The Passat 1N autobox suffers the same fate. I have one down right now awaiting a second hand unit. Price used (if you can find one is 400pounds w/convertor)
Price at VAG on an exchange basis £2467.82-3772.75(depends on diff ratio) convertor £406.52-623.07
There is also a 5speed automatic, 1Vcode, thats costs £1902.80 convertor £557.21.
Looks like your dealers are raping you!

There are a lot of ECT autobox cars in Trinidad that seem to suffer transmission failure maybe beacuse there needs to be an addition cooler for countries with ambient temps of over 30degC. But @125000TTD I would say you are getting screwed.

Postby Team Loco » March 19th, 2007, 4:29 pm

^^^correct, tranny needs better cooling, among other things

Return to “EURO”