No
10%
Temporary Pull
33%

Total votes: 39

Postby SR » September 27th, 2006, 11:17 am

how come yuh doh get media coverage like that or an article for other motorsports events

DEVI

Postby DEVI » September 27th, 2006, 11:23 am

I would say that TTRC IS responsible for ensuring that the Newspaper editor understands the conditions under which photos are obtained with permission.

It is true that the Guardian is the one really at fault here Kevin but "Allyuh come to the rally... take allyuh photos, keep them on yuh hard drive.. and watch them in the night by yuhself" ???? Please... let's not make this personal. We are ALL working to make rally better.

I think that these things should be explained and at the end of the day Guardian looks like they took the photos. I spoke to Rezan and he told me that credits were properly done in the Newsday's coverage. So I feel better about that– thanks TTRC.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 27th, 2006, 11:37 am

SR because TTRC takes the time to market their events

Mini - what we are saying is that we took the effort to provide the pics for TTRC for free. We ask for credits - it is the TTRC PR executive's responsibility to ensure that the credits go in - they ensure they got the photos didnt they and that the article and photos made it to the paper in time to get into the Arena supplement. How come the ONE thing that seems to repeatedly get left out is our credits? Is not the first time.

turbo master

Postby turbo master » September 27th, 2006, 11:41 am

glad to see so many ppl posting in this thread..however most is cuz they're photographers themselves..

i like tkain out pix n stuff but i realise..u do all that n u get no credit..i've asked duane if he wants me to help out w d photos..

but credit is the least u could do..i mean really now..memory cards...expensive cameras..batteries..other equipment costs a lot..not to mention..lets say for those that comin from south..to wallers or maybe north to preysal n that kinda thing..that's time n gas money..all these things need to be taken into considertaion..n all we're askin for our simple efforts to help promote motorsports is a little credit..n we cant even get that..

which is why i've adopted a new approach yes

Mini

Postby Mini » September 27th, 2006, 11:52 am

DEVI wrote:I would say that TTRC IS responsible for ensuring that the Newspaper editor understands the conditions under which photos are obtained with permission.

It is true that the Guardian is the one really at fault here Kevin but "Allyuh come to the rally... take allyuh photos, keep them on yuh hard drive.. and watch them in the night by yuhself" ???? Please... let's not make this personal. We are ALL working to make rally better.

I think that these things should be explained and at the end of the day Guardian looks like they took the photos. I spoke to Rezan and he told me that credits were properly done in the Newsday's coverage. So I feel better about that– thanks TTRC.

i edited my post... this is not the first time this has come up.. and you guys know I back you all... but it's not like the TTRC isn't trying their best... and it seems you guys make us out to be taking the people that make the rally anc rally coverage possible for granted

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:SR because TTRC takes the time to market their events

Mini - what we are saying is that we took the effort to provide the pics for TTRC for free. We ask for credits - it is the TTRC PR executive's responsibility to ensure that the credits go in - they ensure they got the photos didnt they and that the article and photos made it to the paper in time to get into the Arena supplement. How come the ONE thing that seems to repeatedly get left out is our credits? Is not the first time.

Duano... we ALWAYS include the photographer's credits.... ALWAYS. How much more times I hadda say it... ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS.

The only thing more we can do more is sit with the editor when he's doing the layout and proof read the first copy of the print..

the PRO goes to the media office personally... as Devi said.. it's a problem we have with the Guardian and sometimes the Express and we're running out of options. How do you suggest we get them to put the credits in, short (no jokes eh) of not giving them any photos?

I didn't see the newsday yesterday.. but here's the link http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,44909.html

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 27th, 2006, 11:57 am

^ ah was now comin to tell you that fortunately the ppl on the forum don't have to watch it on their hard drives cause they can watch it on trinituner.com and zorce magazine! :P

if the agreement was that if there are no credits then TTRC has to pay the photographer for all the pics used then I sure you could bet yuh bottom dollar that the credits would be there. Might have bad spelling and grammar, but the credits there for sure, maybe in bold too!! AH LIE?

Mini

Postby Mini » September 27th, 2006, 12:01 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ ah was now comin to tell you that fortunately the ppl on the forum don't have to watch it on their hard drives cause they can watch it on trinituner.com and zorce magazine! :P

if the agreement was that if there are no credits then TTRC has to pay the photographer for all the pics used then I sure you could bet yuh bottom dollar that the credits would be there. Might have bad spelling and grammar, but the credits there for sure, maybe in bold too!! AH LIE?

nah yuh talk de truth dey

Postby Monk BANzai » September 27th, 2006, 12:06 pm

agreeed....$500 per photo....

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » September 27th, 2006, 12:09 pm

Mini wrote:how exactly is is the fault of the TTRC? We cannot control the layout of the paper, nor what is printed. In one of the dailies, our article sometimes get's chopped up... without our input... and sometimes key information is left out.

DEVI wrote:Some clown in the newspaper must be laughing, because it looks like the Guardian must have taken MY photos :evil:

^^^ I don't think the blame is being placed squarely at TTRC.

A digital placard to fight bigotry in the mainstream media is what this thread really is. If people do not start requesting and explaining particulars to the editors of the newspapers then we cannot resonably expect any results. TTRC and other groups must all act to ensure the due credit is given.

If you lent someone your perfectly good boost controller or GTech Pro and they treated it badly, you would feel bad.

We can't blame Devi for being upset.

Everyone at TTRC works hard, but it is not fair to leverage that against international copyright unless your work at TTRC is patented.

That aside, it is up to everyone to lobby for what is fair, what is right etc. in order to effect change.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 27th, 2006, 12:11 pm

that was de exact figur ei tell devi and narend dis morning yes

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » September 27th, 2006, 12:12 pm

I have had this problem before where the Guardian TOOK the cover of Zorce Issue #3, scanned it, retouched out our logo etc. and used it as the cover of their auto supplement!!!!!!! How nice is that? I go to Neal & Massy, shoot my photos, thinking "Yeah man this cover go be HOT" and then THAT happens? And of course NO PERMISSION was obtained.

I was rightly pissed off... :!:

And I still didn't get credit!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Last edited by NarendZORCE on September 27th, 2006, 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » September 27th, 2006, 12:13 pm

avatar photo by Ryan "MadCrix" Ramsaran

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 27th, 2006, 12:15 pm

hahahahah KEVIN U BACKSIDE

THANKS YEO I NOW SEE DAH hhaah

lord jah i needed dat laugh

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » September 27th, 2006, 12:17 pm

I think in this case with Devi's photos (and before is was Gerard's and before that it was John's) it is a simple thing that we all have to ensure happens. It is not blood, it is not money it's just a little by-line, a photo credit.

I know that in Caribbean Beat and other publications where international photographers are used they would not be so brave (or stupid) to do what the Guardian did this time.

Mini

Postby Mini » September 27th, 2006, 12:21 pm

Yeo wrote:
avatar photo by Ryan "MadCrix" Ramsaran

LOL....

Postby wagon r » September 27th, 2006, 12:26 pm

NarendZORCE wrote:.......the Guardian did this time.

...correct that pallie,

....it's ALL the time.

Mini

Postby Mini » September 27th, 2006, 12:34 pm

just spoke to the PRO of the club. the person she usually contacts at the Guardian is on vacation

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 27th, 2006, 2:08 pm

^ guardian needs to step up

daNdAdDa

Postby daNdAdDa » September 27th, 2006, 2:44 pm

NarendZORCE wrote:I have had this problem before where the Guardian TOOK the cover of Zorce Issue #3, scanned it, retouched out our logo etc. and used it as the cover of their auto supplement!!!!!!! How nice is that? I go to Neal & Massy, shoot my photos, thinking "Yeah man this cover go be HOT" and then THAT happens? And of course NO PERMISSION was obtained.

I was rightly pissed off... :!:

And I still didn't get credit!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

So, for incidents such as this, what legal options can be pursued??

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » September 27th, 2006, 2:52 pm

A full blown copyright infringement lawsuit! I was very angry about this and I suspect that this led to their offerings of a few (small, B&W) press releases with issues 3-7. They claimed that their artist designed the cover without their knowledge of it coming from our (already printed, one month on the newsstands) magazine.

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » September 27th, 2006, 3:28 pm

NarendZORCE wrote:A full blown copyright infringement lawsuit! I was very angry about this and I suspect that this led to their offerings of a few (small, B&W) press releases with issues 3-7. They claimed that their artist designed the cover without their knowledge of it coming from our (already printed, one month on the newsstands) magazine.

now a company such as yours narend can be recognized- what about a small person such as myself?

i mean- i take photos everyday- thousands by the end of the year- how am i suppose to keep a tab on everysingle print?

i know about the poor man's copyright method but when we're talking large scale-

for example- i would like to submit pictures for zorce in a publication- i can blatant copy right the entire image- takes away from the image doesn't it?

so i submit it regardless cause i know i would get credit for it- what is to stop a person from scannin the image like u said earlier and "claiming it as their own?"

in the mean time- they're out there taking credit for soemthing not theirs

miz06

Giving credit for photos

Postby miz06 » September 27th, 2006, 3:35 pm

Devi, sorry ... it is indeed unfortunate that your handle was not appended to the pics printed today in the arena with the TTRC article re Sept 17th event .. but let me put things straight .. this was not due to the TTRC breaking its word ... that's not how I operate ... I have personally tried to get the credits in .. I even added them as part of the article and one daily told me that that part is not news worthy when I asked the reason for omission .. I can't control what is printed .. I can only sweetly request ... I can't even submit a byline .. once they change one word .. it's not the original anymore ...We have a symbiotic relationship - trinituner and TTRC - and we both benefit from free publicity .. What I will promise to do though .. is again raise the issue with the three dailies to ensure that they advertise the name of the photo-take-outer -- Newsday posted the credits in their article yesterday .. Express is yet to print and I will follow tomorrow to see what can be done ... so let's go again for the next event .. Devi, I understand your ire but I need everyone on this forum to understand our position ... WE EY HAVE CONTROL OVER WHAT IS PRINTED !!! .. many a time our in-house journalist has requested not to make any changes ..but it eh me .. so whatcha say Devi ....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 27th, 2006, 4:53 pm

^ This everyone, is Jackie - the PRO for TTRC, and she has really been doing a great job for the sport.

I too look forward to Devi's reply, however I still feel slighted by the lack of credits.
From your account though Jackie it seems that the Guardian really does intend to edit in such a away that makes it look as if the content is truly their own.

perhaps our photo-take-outers need to form or join a guild or association that prevents them from being expolited by the media houses. Either that or threaten to send the worst pics of the bunch to Guardian seeing that they want to edit out the credits and make the pics look like their own.

How can the Guardian Editor watch a credit and omit it on purpose?! Credits are for the ppl that contribute to the content that is to be edited!!! Shorten a sentence, truncate a word or even summarise a paragraph - but to omit a credit is malicious and spiteful.

turbofied

Postby turbofied » September 27th, 2006, 4:54 pm

btw is there any program that can watermark a bunch of images
instead of doing it one at a time?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 27th, 2006, 5:39 pm

^ alot - photoshop can do it too

but theve also taken pics from the site with the credit on the mimage and they edited that out

DEVI

Postby DEVI » September 27th, 2006, 6:09 pm

Jackie glad to see you on the forum. Let's say I continue to submit my pics to TTRC for press releases etc and this happens again what then do you suggest? TTRC will still benefit ........... the pics are after all still in the papers...........
What guarantee can TTRC can give me that this will not happen again. IF you can't guarantee this then compensate me!!!

Duane and Reezan of TTRC have both suggested pay the photo takeouters when this happens. What say you TTRC??????????

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » September 27th, 2006, 8:47 pm

This is all typical of the printed media houses attitude towards motorsport in this country in that they don't see it as a "sport". They can put page upon page about NBL, Horse racing in England, and even a weekly article in a sports supplement about pigeon flying of all things but try to get them to come to an event, or print an article about what's goin on is like trying to get blood from a stone. Do you think Jackie should physically have to go to these papers to get an article in?Technically she should be able to call them up prior to an event and they would be eager to send their own reporters. This also why trying to get sponsorship is so difficult, as motorsports are not being presented by the local media in the correct light. Sponsors don't see the potential of what is out there. Thank God for the few loyal sponsors who are slowly being bled dry by the die hard Exec's and committees who don't give up in their pursuit of getting motorsport out there.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » September 28th, 2006, 11:39 am

I am seeing a solution... Go up to Guardian building, ask to see the editor of the Arena and carry three things. An issue of Caribbean Beat where my photos are properly credited and Zorce Issue #3. I wish I could find the printed copy where they ripped off our cover because it would add to their embarrassment. The third of course would be the latest copy of the arena. And basically... start a calm discussion asking them to observe the credits given in Caribbean Beat, THEN EXPLODE INTO A BOMBARDMENT OF POINTS ABOUT WHY WE DESERVE CREDIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And perhaps add a few choice cusswords at top volume until security escorts me out.

OR (maybe and)

We could write alot of letters to the editor about this. In fact, write letters to other newspapers editors as well. The Subject could be Guardian steals intellectual property. We can then expound in a more civilized manner. But if anyone needs to blow off some steam– the suggestion above can help us all.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » September 28th, 2006, 11:43 am

In fact, I have a better idea... we could calmly interview the man, add it to an interview with Devi and Jackie and we've got our first investigative report! Then print OUR story in Zorce Magazine!!! Online, we publish it as well on Trinituner.com and on Zorce.com and kick back and watch everybody straightening up.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 28th, 2006, 12:02 pm

^ you have my support on that - I'd even like to get in a few expletives at Guardian office too - and after a lil pep talk from Miz06 and Yorkshirelass in realising how the media mistreats motorsport I'm ready to lynch!!!

Return to “TTRC - Rally”