Re: RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby Rooki3 » December 29th, 2012, 12:25 am

screen muncher watermark spoils the image imho, should check out screen grabber

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 29th, 2012, 2:03 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Hi guys,
I put my BB 9900 down to charge after using it all morning, the screen timed out as usual and when I picked it up 15 minutes later, the screen wouldn't come alive, and there was absolutely no activity on the phone. I've had it a little less than a year now, and I've never had any real issues with it until recently when I tried to upgrade to bundle 2108 of version 7.1

My 9900 shows no sign of life, no red led light, no keypad lighting, no screen coming on, nothing. I have tried batteries from 2 other BB 9900 and that did not help. I have had the phone wall charging for two days and still nothing. I have tried plugging it up to my pc without the battery in and the PC does not even recognise a phone is there. DM or BBSAK doesn't recognise any phone there.

I called one repair guy who says it sounds like the circuit board has gone through.
REALLYY!!??!?!?!

Can anyone suggest something for me to try?! Or a sound repair guy, who you trust to open a 9900??

Thanks much,
Sanch.

ABA Trading LTD wrote:have a read.

http://mobilesyrup.com/2011/11/19/rim-c ... customers/

A limited number of customers have reported an issue where their device does not power on”, and they are “actively working on a software update to resolve this issue”. There’s no word on how many users are included in the “limited number of customers”, nor how or when a fix can be expected.

http://forums.crackberry.com/blackberry ... -a-714269/

http://www.theverge.com/2011/11/18/2572 ... fix-coming

I feel very hard to believe software can fix the phone, bcuz if you cant connect to the computer with the phone, then how does one put on this so called soon to come software update? I am having the same issue, phone just does not come alive anymore. ONCE i put it away for 2 days, put a next 9900 battery on it and i saw a piece of the keypad light quick and went off after holding power for like 10 seconds.

From what i read, its the power ic gone bad. Its a fault in some of the "limited problematic 9900s".

Postby Chimera » December 29th, 2012, 3:59 pm

those are old links i posted tho 747

i don't know if there was ever a fix for the problem

i ended up parting out my personal 9900

Postby Stephon. » December 29th, 2012, 4:15 pm

It's coming ladies!

BlackBerry Z10 once again caught in some high-res images for your viewing pleasure

I don't think they would knock Google/Apple out of the game in 2013 but I really got high hopes for RIM next year, but I also feel that next year would decide whether they stick around in the near future or not.

StruggleBerry better come good!

Postby tr1ad » December 29th, 2012, 4:19 pm

the dev alpha device i toyed with today seems stable enough

seems many devs are pushing towards apps that android and apple have, could even have a netflix app

i think it will keep them afloat

Postby Stephon. » December 29th, 2012, 4:23 pm

tr1ad wrote:the dev alpha device i toyed with today seems stable enough

seems many devs are pushing towards apps that android and apple have, could even have a netflix app

You got to play with one? wdmc!

I reading lower down on the page and these are the rumored specs.

Processor: Dual Core 1.5GHz TI OMAP 4470・ Qualcomm Snapdragon MSM8960 (US and Canada)
Radio: Quad Band HSPA+ / UMTS (850/900/1700/1900/2100MHz) ・Quad Band GSM / GPRS (850/900/1800MHz) ・Quad Band LTE: Bands 2,4,5,13,17 (700, 850,1700, 1900MHz)
Display: 4.2"・1280x768・356PPI ・24 Bit Color ・15:9
Camera: 8MP Auto Focus ・2MP Front Facing ・Flash ・1080p Video Recording
Memory: 2GB RAM ・16GB Internal Storage ・Hot Swappable microSD Slot
WiFi: 802.11 a/b/g/n ・2.4/5GHz
GPS: Autonomous ・A-GPS
Battery: 1800mAh Removable
Sensors: Ambient Light Detector ・Accelerometer ・Magnetometer ・Gyroscope ・Face Detect for phone calls
Connectivity: NFC ・microUSB ・microHDMI-Out ・Bluetooth 4.0 LE

Postby tr1ad » December 29th, 2012, 4:32 pm

rumours seem to be true so far, there are 2 dev alpha devices in trinidad currently

jan 30 will def tell the tale of this phone company

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » December 29th, 2012, 9:03 pm

tr1ad wrote:the dev alpha device i toyed with today seems stable enough

Where'd you get a BB10 device in trinidad? :shock:

Can I borrow it so I can toy with it too? :P

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 29th, 2012, 10:31 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:those are old links i posted tho 747

never heard of a fix....im gonna open up the phone and see what needs repairing, have board diagrams already and steves electronics might have the parts.

I think its an issue with software and circuitry in the board, similar to the iphone and some baseband update on some, where it can damage the chip and u have to replace it. Software is possible to damage hard parts due to incorrect driving. Might look for the least problematic software version for the 9900 and leave it there.

biggz1985

Postby biggz1985 » December 30th, 2012, 11:40 am

Got a Blackberry 9930 for sale (NON CAMERA VERSION) excellent condition 4 gig memory card included, $1500...PM me for info...NEED THIS GONE TODAY

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » December 30th, 2012, 10:46 pm

Hey guys, someone just brought to my attention that they were unable to install foursquare on their 9320 (Not sure if it's branded). I currently have a 9360 (Unlocked but AT&T branded at the bottom) and tried it there as well but it says "Unavailable for this device" in the app world.

Has anyone seen this issue before?
Last edited by Captainzaak on December 30th, 2012, 11:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » December 30th, 2012, 10:55 pm

I just got it on my device (9320)

But I got that same error when I tried to get the eBay app for my phone.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 30th, 2012, 10:56 pm

You try downloading from here

https://foursquare.com/download/

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » December 30th, 2012, 11:16 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:You try downloading from here

https://foursquare.com/download/

Yeah i did, it just redirects you to BB App World were you getting the error.

Postby S_2NR » December 30th, 2012, 11:17 pm

But zaak yu sellin the phone. Doh stress na man

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » December 31st, 2012, 12:09 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:

never heard of a fix....im gonna open up the phone and see what needs repairing, have board diagrams already and steves electronics might have the parts.

I think its an issue with software and circuitry in the board, similar to the iphone and some baseband update on some, where it can damage the chip and u have to replace it. Software is possible to damage hard parts due to incorrect driving. Might look for the least problematic software version for the 9900 and leave it there.

747.. you might be on to something wrt
Software is possible to damage hard parts due to incorrect driving.
Because i was having major issues with upgrading to a newer bundle of the 7.1 OS in the last couple of weeks.

Please let me know if you come up with a fix, the last thing I want to do is take the phone to a repair guy, have him open the phone not knowing what was wrong, only to hear he can't repair it.

Sanch

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 31st, 2012, 10:01 pm

biggz1985 wrote:Got a Blackberry 9930 for sale (NON CAMERA VERSION) excellent condition 4 gig memory card included, $1500...PM me for info...NEED THIS GONE TODAY

Isn't that kinda expensive?

Postby foss » January 1st, 2013, 6:19 pm

Strauss wrote:
biggz1985 wrote:Got a Blackberry 9930 for sale (NON CAMERA VERSION) excellent condition 4 gig memory card included, $1500...PM me for info...NEED THIS GONE TODAY

Isn't that kinda expensive?

it is...
if he get a 400 he get plenty

Marct

Postby Marct » January 1st, 2013, 6:31 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Because i was having major issues with upgrading to a newer bundle of the 7.1 OS in the last couple of weeks.

Please let me know if you come up with a fix, the last thing I want to do is take the phone to a repair guy, have him open the phone not knowing what was wrong, only to hear he can't repair it.

Sanch

having the same prob but with a 9860

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 1st, 2013, 6:59 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:

747.. you might be on to something wrt
Software is possible to damage hard parts due to incorrect driving.
Because i was having major issues with upgrading to a newer bundle of the 7.1 OS in the last couple of weeks.

Sanch

Im just waiting to get some time to repair, i most believe its the power IC that is damaged. Bcuz it was giving issues to start up after a while, then a quick flash of light on keyboard powering it on and then nothing.

Postby foss » January 1st, 2013, 7:06 pm

lulz@ changing or repairing phone IC.

even more lulz @ buying a 'board for a phone'

Postby Trini Hookah » January 1st, 2013, 8:06 pm

buh dyan u kno men does parts out right here on de 4rum

Postby Chimera » January 1st, 2013, 9:42 pm

foss wrote:lulz@ changing or repairing phone IC.

even more lulz @ buying a 'board for a phone'

what exactly are you loling at tho?

people regularly change ic's and sell phone boards locally.

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » January 2nd, 2013, 11:54 am

Got a white complete 9300 housing for sale if anyone's interested.

Ordered it for my 9300 by the time it reach the phone break..got Bad Robot in MT to check it, they said it is the circuit board. :cry:

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 2nd, 2013, 12:48 pm

How much did he charge you to open the phone and how long did he take to get back to you?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 2nd, 2013, 1:14 pm

Need Assistance:
Connecting Blacberry Curve 93xx through Proxied Wifi

Wifi connection example
IP: 192.168.xxx.xxx, Submask 255.xxx.xxx.xxx
Proxy 192.168.yyy.yyy port 8080

For the life of me I cannot find the settings to enter the proxy address and port. The BB reaches as far as entering the WEP password and is "connected" to the wifi. But cannot access the internet because I cannot enter the proxy address.

I feel like kicking BB folks in this area out the window.

Postby cinco » January 2nd, 2013, 1:19 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:How much did he charge you to open the phone and how long did he take to get back to you?

have you tried pressing down on the far right corner of the screen around the middle?
ive had a few BB9900s with bad ribbon cables the phone is on but you dont even know :roll: :roll:
pieceahcrap

Postby tr1ad » January 2nd, 2013, 1:21 pm

strauss is it under BES?

i can ask our BES admin if it is......

http://docs.blackberry.com/en/admin/del ... 701_11.jsp

might be of some assistance