Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby sharkman121 » July 4th, 2011, 11:42 am

sorry i forget d link :oops:

http://www.aquacon.com/sps.html

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 4th, 2011, 2:47 pm

Dont know if these are regular fish for the freshwater fellas but natures world in sando have whiptail catfsh, upsidedown catfish and bumblebee catfish. (cant remember d prices) also saw some nice tetras and flame guaramis

Postby sharkman121 » July 5th, 2011, 8:25 am

any of u guys feed brine shrimp and/or mysis shrimp? I wanna add some variations to my feeding.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 5th, 2011, 9:20 am

i feed my fish pellets, flakes, live brine shrimp mysis shrimp, plankton and nori.............. i add 2 or 3 the same time sometimes. i keep switching the food so the day you run out of one type of food you always have another that way too, they never get dependant on one food source

Postby sharkman121 » July 5th, 2011, 9:30 am

^nice... all i feed right now are pellets and nori. Where u get the brine and mysis shrimp from...raj?

Checked raj yesterday, goin back today to buy a pair of clowns, a foxface, flame angel, 2 feather dusters, gfo media, some sand and some reef crystal salt.

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 5th, 2011, 11:11 am

Guys, started building a pond last week it's a small irregular shape but i average about 2700gallons (360 cubic feet) of water, planning to put some kois , sharks ,catfish etc. I'm looking for some recommendations on a proper pump set up and more importantly if there is any type of sealant that can be used for coating the concrete safely.
Also anyone know where i can get other type of fishes for it? Would really like a arowana, couple clown knife and some large catfish......
Will post some pics as soon as i reach home..

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 5th, 2011, 12:15 pm

sharkman121 wrote:^nice... all i feed right now are pellets and nori. Where u get the brine and mysis shrimp from...raj?

Checked raj yesterday, goin back today to buy a pair of clowns, a foxface, flame angel, 2 feather dusters, gfo media, some sand and some reef crystal salt.

Watch d yellow tang and d foxface................. remember d tang in there a few wks now and the tank is his. he will fight because of same color. also watch it with the flame. i bought 5 bags of the reef crystal salt to fill my tank last wk.
the brine shrimp i buy by the pet store and hatch them out. also get the mysis y the petshop.

Postby sharkman121 » July 5th, 2011, 1:10 pm

yeh i was a bit concerned about the coexistance of the tang and the foxface. I was thinkin that maybe they are different species they would coexist and not necessarily go off on color. The tang in there about 6 months now.

So i can basically go in any pet/fish shop and ask for brine or mysis shrimp then?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 5th, 2011, 3:15 pm

sharkman121 wrote:yeh i was a bit concerned about the coexistance of the tang and the foxface. I was thinkin that maybe they are different species they would coexist and not necessarily go off on color. The tang in there about 6 months now.

So i can basically go in any pet/fish shop and ask for brine or mysis shrimp then?

not all pet shops have it............... but you can check!!!!

Who knows, you might be lucky with the tang and foxface.

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » July 5th, 2011, 7:29 pm

Here are some of the sps pics

Postby sharkman121 » July 5th, 2011, 7:38 pm

nice, thanks for sharing those are lovely :)

foxface, flame angel and 3 perculas acclimatizing as we speak..errr type

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 6th, 2011, 6:06 am

^^^so what fish you have in d tank now

Postby sharkman121 » July 6th, 2011, 10:41 am

2 true perculas
foxface rabbitfish
tomato clown
flame angel
niger trigger
snowflake eel
yellow tang
couple feather dusters
sandsifter goby
5 chromis

no coral as yet...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 6th, 2011, 3:34 pm

right now i contemplating what coral to put in my tank..............just have some mushrooms and some polyps in right now. migh go with a colt, a hammer and some xenias.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » July 6th, 2011, 5:31 pm

Hey guys i need yur help, my gf black moors have developed a white fungus all over there fins, can someone tell me how to treat it? :cry:

link

Postby link » July 6th, 2011, 6:06 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:Hey guys i need yur help, my gf black moors have developed a white fungus all over there fins, can someone tell me how to treat it? :cry:

this is a sort of standard for this..(posted on pg93) :
1-hospital tank,
2-hit him salt & observe / wait for red to subside.
3-After two or three days, change water, hit salt again then m/blue & two more days
4- repeat 3 & go a week
5- now that two weeks hve passed, replace in original tank which has been sterilised , refilled , salted & reconditioned awaiting it's occupant all this time

BUT your sequence for step 2 is :

a) 2 tbl spns salt in 5 gal...plenty air...forget abt filter
after a couple of hours, you will observe the fungus spots hve 'dropped off'
b) 24hrs later...chnge water & hit 2tbl spns salt again
c) 24hrs later...chnge water, hit with 2tbl spns more PLUS metheylene blue
then step 3, etc, etc

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » July 6th, 2011, 6:19 pm

hey thanks for the help one thing tho, when u say salt do u mean normal table salt?

link

Postby link » July 6th, 2011, 6:44 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:hey thanks for the help one thing tho, when u say salt do u mean normal table salt?

no man
ROCK SALT...non-iodised
rgds

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » July 6th, 2011, 6:47 pm

ohhhhh :shock: ummmm :shock: lol....

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 6th, 2011, 11:56 pm

ey sharkman, the 4ft Truelumen LED's from current USA actually has 144 LED's.

Postby sharkman121 » July 7th, 2011, 8:06 am

Yeh it really is great, however i decided against buying it for now. i ordered a next 4 x 48 T5 bulb light fixture to go with the one i already have. So now itll be 8 x 48".

No use having all that light and no coral though, ill just be fuelling algae growth so im looking forward to getting some coral.

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 7th, 2011, 8:35 am

rx80 wrote:Guys, started building a pond last week it's a small irregular shape but i average about 2700gallons (360 cubic feet) of water, planning to put some kois , sharks ,catfish etc. I'm looking for some recommendations on a proper pump set up and more importantly if there is any type of sealant that can be used for coating the concrete safely.
Also anyone know where i can get other type of fishes for it? Would really like a arowana, couple clown knife and some large catfish......
Will post some pics as soon as i reach home..

Also looking for a couple plant to put in.
Here are the photos>>>>>

Postby sharkman121 » July 7th, 2011, 7:31 pm

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 7th, 2011, 9:10 pm

how come the class looking so frosty? u have the tank in ac? i finally putting back sum fish in meh saltwater tank...caught sum tangs, filefish, goatfish, red lip blenny and ah few others...will post ah vid or sum pics wen dey settle down...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 7th, 2011, 11:46 pm

I think the background to dark............ should of gone with the blue.............. anyhow, to each his own

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 8th, 2011, 12:40 am

still looking for a digital thermometer...............

Postby sharkman121 » July 8th, 2011, 12:59 am

glass looking frosty cuz i had jus wipe it down, it was looking normal wen i take it out but apparently it came out in the pic.

I think it looks good with the black background, trust me the pics do it no justice, it was taken with my berry. I really need to get a good camera for some detailed microshots especially for coral.

I ordered my digital thermometer online.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 8th, 2011, 1:28 am

is that diatoms all over the overflow?

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » July 8th, 2011, 8:32 am

This is my setup, nuttin too fancy thanks to the fish i got he basically picks things up from where i put them and places them where ever he likes... He's about 11-12 inches in length and about 2 1/2 - 3 inches thick, had two of them from about 1 1/2 inches in length at first but when they got to about 5 - 6 inches in length they started fighting and one jumped out when i wasn't home... I originally wanted to dig a pond for him but my yard aint fence so dat outtta d question, my next option was using a half tank but i really dont know how to setup something like this... Any suggestions???

Postby sharkman121 » July 8th, 2011, 8:49 am

HondaB20B wrote:is that diatoms all over the overflow?

yupp