meccalli wrote:I really don't care for either party, I refrain from politics in general.. I just wish for the best from any government, However I'll never forget the disgustingly hateful comments thrown at my mother in POS for being of indian descent for no reason at all when pnm last won elections as well as my father and pastor on the way back from a radio station stopped into kfc and was threatened with violence along with other members by a group of large men about their race and voting preferences. This is not reflective of the party itself, but there seems to certain groups of people who feel empowered and have rights to freely abuse when pnm gets into power. An attitude shift.
I travelled in a car from town to curepe recently being a lone individual as far as race is concerned, and some very passionate and loud individuals. What shocked me was the statement that the only good indian is a dead one. That really concerns me that people in this age in our country think like this and how safe are we really, what really shifts when one party gains power? Its something that everyone needs to be concerned about. This is just from my POV and experience, not to incite anything, others may have experienced similar on the opposite end of the spectrum. Maybe its manifested differently and collectively by other ethnicities.
UML wrote:Morpheus wrote:Goes both ways pal. Either is unfortunate.
Been through the "....yuh know how long me eh chop a ni@@a" business before.
So yes it goes both ways but somehow I doubt it has that much to do with which party is in power. It's always there regardless.
damage control much? Once upon a time....what a pack of BS!!
You pathetic
The truth offends!!!:lol::lol:
Yea ah post 3 times, eat me!!
meccalli wrote:Like morpheus said, it happens either way but I do think mention ought to be made of the ramping up of occurrences during election time and the inability of political parties to deal with these issues. Parties should acknowledge such going ons and publicly condemn it and likewise such supporters. I can say I was rather disgusted looking at the behaviour of the pp on that night they won elections. Addressing these little things can go a long way to changing the attitudes of persons by leading from the front even if it costs votes.
UML wrote:eliteauto wrote:UML wrote:But he use UNC/PP as the only example. I just showing he conveniently forgetful or a hypocrite. The pnm like a gang or them spiritual groups.
See how pnm cyah handle d truth u ready to change the topic when face with facts.
U dear sir epitomizes the pnm and their sheep
jackass, read the thread topic kthxbai
K we all know u dunce as fcuk and are an underachiever with no qualifications. So you don't have to show it. U don't even understand what u typed urself because u specifically stated under the UNC "the core act in unison"
Go read a book, even better read your dictionary:lol::lol:
UML wrote:UML wrote:eliteauto wrote:UML wrote:But he use UNC/PP as the only example. I just showing he conveniently forgetful or a hypocrite. The pnm like a gang or them spiritual groups.
See how pnm cyah handle d truth u ready to change the topic when face with facts.
K we all know u dunce as fcuk and are an underachiever with no qualifications. So you don't have to show it. U don't even understand what u typed urself because u specifically stated under the UNC "the core act in unison"
Louis Lee Sing, resigns from the PNM?![]()
look how the PNM Lodge going to rope him back in....you dont leave the PNM so easily!!!
SR wrote:With all eyes on the present government people are not seeing whats going on within the opposition for an old school stalwart to walkaway from the party there doesnt seem to be stability either which leaves to question the choices and reasons to choose a party at the next general elections.
Lee Sing leaves PNM
By Kim Boodram
Story Created: Feb 3, 2015 at 1:05 AM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 3, 2015 at 1:05 AM ECT
Former Port of Spain mayor Louis Lee Sing has resigned from the People’s National Movement (PNM).
Lee Sing was rejected by the PNM screening committee when he offered himself up last December, with sitting MP Marlene McDonald being retained to represent the party at the next general election.
A public Facebook post yesterday by Lee Sing stated he has chosen to withdraw from the party as it was being led by “gofers”.
Lee Sing, who could not be reached for comment, stated on the social media site, “There comes a time when you must shed the burden of a brand that is not working. There comes a time too when you must move out of darkness and embrace light for it is in light you can truly discern the good from bad!”
This follows a war of words via Facebook between Lee Sing and Denise Demming, of Demming Communications, after Lee Sing’s contribution on a radio show last Sunday during which he said, “the devil you know is better than the one you don’t know”.
In a Facebook post on January 31, Lee Sing stated, with regard to that comment, “Of course I was speaking to the PPG (People’s Partnership government) and I believe I upset a whole heap of people!
“Top of the list, was Denise Demming who posted on my timeline what she gleamed from my comment to be total rubbish.”
Lee Sing went on to state that in his own time as Mayor of Port Spain, evidence of perceived wrongdoing was placed on his desk and the PNM leadership chose to ignore it.
Lee Sing, who has in the past made unflattering comments about the leadership of PNM leader Dr Keith Rowley, said he hoped not to see a repeat of the current anti-PP climate if the PNM were to win at the polls in this election year.
Contacted yesterday about Lee Sing’s resignation, PNM Public Relations Officer Faris Al-Rawi said he did not share Lee Sing’s view of Rowley’s leadership and that he was “some what surprised by Mr Lee Sing’s public utterances”.
Al-Rawi said Lee Sing did not air these views when he, Lee Sing, was screened recently for the Port of Spain south constituency.
While he endorses Lee Sing’s democratic right to speak his perspective, Al-Rawi said he is himself able to speak about democracy within the PNM because of his wearing of multiple hats, including his current role as PRO, as a Senator and as Rowley’s attorney.
“I think it is fair to say, therefore, that I certainly have a wide perspective of Dr Rowley’s manner of leadership and I have never seen him, even once, demonstrate the kind of characteristics ascribed to him by Mr Lee Sing.”
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Lee ... 15001.html
UML wrote:UML wrote:UML wrote:eliteauto wrote:UML wrote:But he use UNC/PP as the only example. I just showing he conveniently forgetful or a hypocrite. The pnm like a gang or them spiritual groups.
look how the PNM Lodge going to rope him back in....you dont leave the PNM so easily!!!SR wrote:With all eyes on the present government people are not seeing whats going on within the opposition for an old school stalwart to walkaway from the party there doesnt seem to be stability either which leaves to question the choices and reasons to choose a party at the next general elections.Lee Sing leaves PNM
By Kim Boodram
Former Port of Spain mayor Louis Lee Sing has resigned from the People’s National Movement (PNM).
Lee Sing was rejected by the PNM screening committee when he offered himself up last December, with sitting MP Marlene McDonald being retained to represent the party at the next general election.
A public Facebook post yesterday by Lee Sing stated he has chosen to withdraw from the party as it was being led by “gofers”.
Lee Sing, who could not be reached for comment, stated on the social media site, “There comes a time when you must shed the burden of a brand that is not working. There comes a time too when you must move out of darkness and embrace light for it is in light you can truly discern the good from bad!”
This follows a war of words via Facebook between Lee Sing and Denise Demming, of Demming Communications, after Lee Sing’s contribution on a radio show last Sunday during which he said, “the devil you know is better than the one you don’t know”.
In a Facebook post on January 31, Lee Sing stated, with regard to that comment, “Of course I was speaking to the PPG (People’s Partnership government) and I believe I upset a whole heap of people!
“Top of the list, was Denise Demming who posted on my timeline what she gleamed from my comment to be total rubbish.”
Lee Sing went on to state that in his own time as Mayor of Port Spain, evidence of perceived wrongdoing was placed on his desk and the PNM leadership chose to ignore it.
Lee Sing, who has in the past made unflattering comments about the leadership of PNM leader Dr Keith Rowley, said he hoped not to see a repeat of the current anti-PP climate if the PNM were to win at the polls in this election year.
Contacted yesterday about Lee Sing’s resignation, PNM Public Relations Officer Faris Al-Rawi said he did not share Lee Sing’s view of Rowley’s leadership and that he was “some what surprised by Mr Lee Sing’s public utterances”.
Al-Rawi said Lee Sing did not air these views when he, Lee Sing, was screened recently for the Port of Spain south constituency.
While he endorses Lee Sing’s democratic right to speak his perspective, Al-Rawi said he is himself able to speak about democracy within the PNM because of his wearing of multiple hats, including his current role as PRO, as a Senator and as Rowley’s attorney.
“I think it is fair to say, therefore, that I certainly have a wide perspective of Dr Rowley’s manner of leadership and I have never seen him, even once, demonstrate the kind of characteristics ascribed to him by Mr Lee Sing.”
only rfair and rasc to see the light now![]()
BTW Denise Demming taught me at UWI.......she is one racist rude beetch!!! I thought that so many moons ago from how she lectured and i NOW see why!!!
UML wrote:UML wrote:UML wrote:eliteauto wrote:UML wrote:But he use UNC/PP as the only example. I just showing he conveniently forgetful or a hypocrite. The pnm like a gang or them spiritual groups.
look how the PNM Lodge going to rope him back in....you dont leave the PNM so easily!!!SR wrote:With all eyes on the present government people are not seeing whats going on within the opposition for an old school stalwart to walkaway from the party there doesnt seem to be stability either which leaves to question the choices and reasons to choose a party at the next general elections.Lee Sing leaves PNM
By Kim Boodram
only rfair and rasc to see the light now![]()
BTW Denise Demming taught me at UWI.......she is one racist rude beetch!!! I thought that so many moons ago from how she lectured and i NOW see why!!!
UML wrote:wow look at the difference in reporting!!...Express article so toned down!Lee Sing leaves PNM
By Kim Boodram
“I think it is fair to say, therefore, that I certainly have a wide perspective of Dr Rowley’s manner of leadership and I have never seen him, even once, demonstrate the kind of characteristics ascribed to him by Mr Lee Sing.”Lee Sing tells why he left PNM
...cites bitterness, viciousness and hypocrisy
Kalifa Clyne
Published:
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Former Port-of-Spain mayor Louis Lee Sing says he has resigned from the People’s National Movement (PNM) after 50 years due to the party’s internal bitterness and viciousness and the hypocrisy of political leader Dr Keith Rowley. Lee Sing, who made his departure from the party public on social media site Facebook on Sunday, said the departure had been coming since 2012.
He said his disenchantment with the PNM was not new but started when Rowley attempted to have him impeached in 2012, following his (Lee Sing’s) public statements against Rowley’s failed motion of no confidence against Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar. He said there were a number of other reasons for his departure but added he was not sure whether he would be joining any other political party.
“I’m at that time in my life where I want to say and do as I wish and that can’t happen in the PNM. I am also not about blind loyalty,” Lee Sing said yesterday in a telephone interview. “To be a PNM member today you must have a long brown nose, and you must position yourself below the waist of the political leader.” Lee Sing, who said he was a member of the party since he was 14 years old, said he felt there was too much bitterness and acrimony in the party.
“What I am seeing is a future I don’t want to be a part of.” Lee Sing made his final decision regarding his future with the party after he was interviewed on a radio station on Saturday. During the show he was asked which party he would be supporting for the general election. “I made a statement that the devil you know may not be as bad as the devil you dont know. It went viral.”
Lee Sing began receiving condemnation from callers as well as from members of the PNM. “The number of bitter comments that came my way told me that this was not a place I need to be in. I expect people to disagree but I don’t expect them to hate me. “I am not going to continue with a party that is so vicious. I think they are hapy to see me go,” he added. He raised questions about Rowley’s leadership, saying there was no room for debate in the PNM.
“People seem to forget that Rowley, during the election of the PNM, was perhaps the most vociferous critic of the party and the political leader. “People seem to forget he talked about court martialling the political leader; he spoke against the party and the political leader in Parliament. One would have expected a man like Dr Rowley to welcome debate and discussion.” “Dr Rowley is the party. If, God forbid, Dr Rowley was to die tomorrow, I don’t know what would happen to the party.
“I do not see Al-Rawi (PNM Senator Faris Al- Rawi), who believes he will be the next political leader or Marlene Mc Donald (Port-of-Spain South MP) taking us anywhere.” Lee Sing said he was also concerned about how the party was being managed and led.
“Why in three years the executive only had seven meetings. He said instead of the PNM making friends among themselves they were making enemies.
“They believe if you do not support Dr Rowley you are marked for death.” As for joining another political party, Lee Sing said he did not know what God had in store for him. “This is the first election I am not necessarily going to vote for the PNM. I will look at all of the candidates of all of the parties and I will vote for who I believe will give me the best representation.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-02- ... e-left-pnm
Rambharat shows lack of commitment
By Capil Bissoon
Story Created: Jan 19, 2015 at 1:19 AM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 19, 2015 at 1:19 AM ECT
Clarence Rambharat showed his true People’s National Movement (PNM) colours last week when he told the people of Mayaro he would wash his hands of Trinidad and Tobago if the country returns the People’s Partnership Government to office in the general election scheduled to take place later this year.
Mr Rambharat is the selected PNM candidate for the Mayaro constituency, currently held by Winston “Gypsy” Peters of the United National Congress (UNC). He made the statement at the end of a walkabout with his political leader, Dr Keith Rowley.
“I left my job in Canada. I haven’t worked since. My time has been dedicated to getting the PNM back into office. I am 8,000 miles away from my wife and kids. If we lose this election, I wash my hands of this country! If we lose, I will not have a Plan B for you...,” local media quoted him as saying.
His statement amounts to bullying the people to vote for him with the threat that if they don’t, he would desert them and return to Canada.
It is significant because that one comment tells the people of Mayaro that Rambharat has no concern for them and their welfare; his mission is only to win an election and if he can’t he is not going to serve them.
Suppose the people vote for him and he wins the seat but his party remains in Opposition? What he is saying is that all his promises and all his talk about representation amount to nothing because if the PNM is not in government he would get on the next plane to Canada and leave the people without representation.
If I am a constituent in Mayaro, I would tell Clarence Rambharat that since he has no commitment to Mayaro or Trinidad and Tobago, he could get on that plane right now.
Many of us leave home for multiple reasons. I have lived in Canada for more than 25 years and remain loyal to my country of birth but at the same time I have a commitment to my adopted home. That is why I have never considered getting into electoral politics, which requires total commitment. That’s why the laws of Trinidad and Tobago forbid anyone with dual citizenship to contest an election unless the person is an involuntary citizen of the other country.
Rambharat is a political mercenary who’s here only to try to get the PNM into office. If he fails, he would leave because he has no interest in anyone in Mayaro or the country; his loyalty is to himself and the PNM. This is consistent with the PNM narrative that this is PNM country.
If I were a constituent in Mayaro I would have some serious questions for Rambharat:
• Did you take a leave of absence from your job for a fixed period?
• Depending on the outcome of the election will you go back to your job and it would be business as usual in Canada?
• If you win your seat and the PNM loses the election will you stay and serve the constituents of Mayaro or will you give up the seat?
• If you are so committed to Trinidad and Tobago why do you continue to have Canadian residency?
• Why did you leave your family behind in Vancouver pending the outcome of the election?
Rambharat’s lack of commitment is worse than that of the late Gordon Draper, who was a senator and minister of Public Administration in the PNM administration that took office in December 1991. Draper contested and won the Port of Spain North/St Ann’s West seat in the early election called by Patrick Manning on November 6, 1995, but the PNM lost the election.
Draper, like Mr Rambharat, had little interest in the people or the promises he made in the election campaign and spent most of his parliamentary life working overseas as an international consultant rather than serving his constituents. His rationale was that he could not live on the salary of an ordinary MP.
By his own admission, Mr Rambharat is having a hard time wooing the people. “I’ve walked this constituency and people cuss meh,” he told the people. If he does the analysis he would understand why.
The people of Trinidad and Tobago are no longer passive onlookers who vote purely on loyalty to a party.
They are paying close attention and Mr Rambharat’s remark about washing his hands of Trinidad and Tobago which was clear evidence that all his talk about representation amounts to nothing.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 94931.html
PNM candidate a spoilsport
Sunday, January 25 2015
THE EDITOR: I remember as a child playing in the schoolyard. There would always be the spoilt little boy who, if he didn’t get his way, would throw a tantrum, destroy the game and run off. What a spoilsport. I certainly hoped he grew up and changed his ways.
I recently had my memory jolted of this boy’s behaviour when I heard Clarence Rambharat uttering these words, “If we lose this election, I wash my hands of this country. If we lose, I will not have a Plan B for you.”
Is this the sort of unpatriotic candidate the PNM wants to foist on the people of Mayaro and TT? If you cannot accept the voice of the people, Rambharat, then politics should not be an option for you.
If when the voice of the people does not coincide with your wishes you are willing to turn and run, then you are truly a poor choice of candidate.
We need true nation builders representing us, not a candidate who believes the people owe them something.
What a spoilsport.
Francis Martin
Mayaro
http://www.newsday.co.tt/letters/0,206064.html
UML wrote:Wah dey saying?
Last time dey criticize she shoe. She wearing ah bata bullet? Or she dress too short? Or the clothes too dark?
Morpheus wrote:Why all the "beat up" over Tanty Kams outfit?