A UWI lecturer in Geology, Paleontology, Sedimentology and Stratigraphy, Wilson can think in “deep time” and is one of the maybe 3,000 people in the world who study microscopic organisms called foraminifera. He spends his days peering through a microscope at the fossils of these tiny, pearl-like creatures. Most of us don’t know it but these little critters are invaluable to us: they date the rocks and sediment in which they’re found, which tells us if there’s oil and gas nearby. Dr Wilson lectures mainly in the Petroleum Geoscience Programme at UWI, where each year 16 of the brightest undergraduates are trained to find fossil fuels, using their knowledge of geology and paleontology. However, quite a few of them enter the programme with deeply religious views. “I face the matter of religious beliefs head-on,” Dr Wilson explained. “I tell them that when geology was first developing as a subject, it was very influenced by the Bible. And so there were stories of trying to find evidence of Noah’s Flood. And then we go through evidence for why that could not have been the case. But one or two find it a real problem, especially if they have a very strong religious background. It’s almost as if they’re going against their parents. It’s a real moral dilemma for them. I’ve had one or two who have had a real crisis of faith because of this.”
The sad fact is, with little emphasis placed on discussions about the history of the earth in our curriculum, many students arrive in UWI without an appreciation of the most basic principles of science. “Because of this lack of exposure to science and the theory of evolution in school, they have a real problem understanding where I’m coming from,” says Dr Wilson, who delivered a lecture at the Smithsonian Institution in Washington in 2008 on the ecological analysis of fossil community structures in Trinidad. “When I can think quite happily in millions of years, they can’t. They can think of their own lifespan and perhaps their parents and grandparents, but even going back to Trinidad’s early history seems like so many lifetimes ago.” He tries not to take his own beliefs too much into the classroom, but the way he explains the genesis of Genesis to his students is this:
Imagine you’re God and you’re talking to Yahwist (the man/men who wrote Genesis). God says, we can do this the easy way or the hard way, which do you want? I can tell you the truth or a parable, which would you like? And the Yawhist says, Well, tell me the truth.
And God says, Well, imagine there are six sub-atomic particles and 22 dimensions… And this guy says, Hold it, hold it. Let’s try the easy way instead. And God says, Well, let’s imagine it took a week. On the first day, I do this, on the second day I do that… that’s the closest I can get to it. And that, says Dr Wilson, is perhaps how we ended up with the story of Genesis. “The Bible is not a scientific textbook,” he says. “It’s Man trying to develop some codified system to live by so we can peacefully co-exist.” The fact is, the human species has been around for only about 400,000 years. “Geologically, that’s just the twinkling of an eye,” he pointed out.
ABA Trading LTD wrote:http://www.artonyou.com/Evil%20Jesus.jpg
megadoc1 wrote:.Jesus asked his followers to love one another, to forgive each other. Looking back at the posts of many of the "professed christians" in this thread, one can't help but realise the absence of these concepts
again
the thread is still viewable can anyone look into it and tell me where
were the incidents of fellow "Christians" not showing love for one another?
Can anyone tell me where this happened?
Are we being told the truth?
Was this conveniently taken out of context to try to include unbelievers ?
megadoc1 wrote:the thread is still viewable can anyone look into it and tell me where
were...?
QG wrote:ABA Trading LTD wrote:http://www.artonyou.com/Evil%20Jesus.jpg
Remember this pic you posted on your day of judgement with the Lord!
For you will take an account for that.
It's okay that you don't believe the Christian faith, but please refrain from such doing!
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:.Jesus asked his followers to love one another, to forgive each other. Looking back at the posts of many of the "professed christians" in this thread, one can't help but realise the absence of these concepts
again
the thread is still viewable can anyone look into it and tell me where
were the incidents of fellow "Christians" not showing love for one another?
Can anyone tell me where this happened?
Are we being told the truth?
Was this conveniently taken out of context to try to include unbelievers ?
You can really be an illiterate clot when you are ready... When will you go back to school, or get a tutor, and learn to read????
(SIGH) Let us review the simple statement:
Jesus asked his followers to love one another, to forgive each other.
"One another/each other" does not mean ONLY each other (fellow followers) but all others (all men). Are you implying that Jesus' teachings only apply to a select group? That his words were only meant for some, not all?
Looking back at the posts of many of the "professed christians" in this thread, one can't help but realise the absence of these concepts
I was referring to the intolerant attitude of the "professed christians" towards their fellow-men whose beliefs lead them along other paths. One would expect that "professed" followers of the man to at least have the common-sense, far less the decency, to attempt to understand what the man was saying!!!!
This is one reason why I will not entertain a discussion with you! You can barely read, you ignore what others say, and you castigate what you do not comprehend, before you even consider making any attempt to understand what is being said.megadoc1 wrote:the thread is still viewable can anyone look into it and tell me where
were...?
You silly piece of flotsam... you are practically admitting that you aren't even aware of what was posted in the same thread you were avidly preaching your twaddle, and singing/quoting lyrics when you couldn't respond to others... Like I said, you never read anything that was written by someone whose views differed from yours... this isn't a soccer match, you twit.
33 Dear children, how brief are these moments before I must go away and leave you! Then, though you search for me, you cannot come to me--just as I told the Jewish leaders.
34 So now I am giving you a new commandment: Love each other. Just as I have loved you, you should love each other.
35 Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples.
Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples.d spike wrote: (SIGH) Let us review the simple statement:
Jesus asked his followers to love one another, to forgive each other.
"One another/each other" does not mean ONLY each other (fellow followers) but all others (all men). Are you implying that Jesus' teachings only apply to a select group? That his words were only meant for some, not all?
d spike wrote: I was referring to the intolerant attitude of the "professed christians" towards their fellow-men whose beliefs lead them along other paths
megadoc1 wrote:jesus was really telling his followers to show love towards each other
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1 wrote:jesus was really telling his followers to show love towards each other
but not anyone else? Which is EXACTLY what d spike was talking about!
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1 wrote:jesus was really telling his followers to show love towards each other
nowagonrunner wrote:so [b]megadoc]/b] , the word of the lord to only love some?
QG wrote:ABA Trading LTD wrote:http://www.artonyou.com/Evil%20Jesus.jpg
Remember this pic you posted on your day of judgement with the Lord!
For you will take an account for that.
It's okay that you don't believe the Christian faith, but please refrain from such doing!
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I disagree
he was talking about tolerance. You said you tolerate your fellow man, but it was also tolerance of unbelievers he was talking about. It was not difficult to understand what he said.
now thats blind faithDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I disagree
he was talking about tolerance. You said you tolerate your fellow man, but it was also tolerance of unbelievers he was talking about. It was not difficult to understand what he said.
@rainman, no
same reason I sit and watch Benny Hinn on TV for hours. I'm fascinated at how ppl mentally console themselves.
I was born and raised as a Roman Catholic. I have Hindu family and carried out the funeral rites as a son for my maternal grandfather as he had no sons. My wife is Muslim and I reverted before the wedding.
Honestly, after reading some of the claims of exorcism and exegesis here of the devout Christians in this thread, I think they do more damage to Christianity than the most committed atheist. MG Man eh want nuttin.
The same can be said of any blind-faith fanatic.
d spike wrote:This image is saddening... not that there is someone who would create such a thing, but that our world could be in such a state to give a person cause to create such a thing...
...and what do you do about it? Attempt to change this perception via some right action?... Rally folks to the dangers of allowing the church to become the very thing it was formed against?Nope. You ask the person who displays this picture to refrain from doing so. Wow. Your seat in Heaven awaits. You have really outdone yourself. (SIGH)
megadoc1 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1 wrote:jesus was really telling his followers to show love towards each other
nope d spike took the words out of context to try to make a point
in a ched where there were no incident of the matter, if taken in context
neither out of context
i am just pointing out how he twisted up the word
megadoc1 wrote:now thats blind faithDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I disagree
@rainman, no
same reason I sit and watch Benny Hinn on TV for hours. I'm fascinated at how ppl mentally console themselves.
I was born and raised as a Roman Catholic. I have Hindu family and carried out the funeral rites as a son for my maternal grandfather as he had no sons. My wife is Muslim and I reverted before the wedding.
Honestly, after reading some of the claims of exorcism and exegesis here of the devout Christians in this thread, I think they do more damage to Christianity than the most committed atheist. MG Man eh want nuttin.
intolerance to believers?d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1 wrote:jesus was really telling his followers to show love towards each other
nope d spike took the words out of context to try to make a point
in a ched where there were no incident of the matter, if taken in context
neither out of context
i am just pointing out how he twisted up the word
So Megadoc can’t see any sign of intolerance in the thread I referred to... is that surprising? Of course not. This is the same creature who believed that condemning me was an act of love; that a proper response to those who didn’t accept biblical scripture as literal truth was to quote more scripture at them; and his fervent belief in a god of love was to condemn and rebuke without understanding what was being said.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1 wrote:now thats blind faithDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I disagree
@rainman, no
no that is NO faith. Don't confuse the two.
it's simple reading comprehension.
megadoc1 wrote:intolerance to believers?
or intolerance to unbelievers?
megadoc1 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I disagree
wait don't get tied up he was talking about love or the lack thereof
but being a man who claim to teach Christianity,one would know that jesus also stated that
the world will hate us as they hateth him first.
with that in mind how can he come in a ched where the world is hating on "christians"
or anyone who mentions Jesus and proclaim such crap?
come on man.
sorry i meant to ask in which direction was theDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1 wrote:intolerance to believers?
or intolerance to unbelievers?
are you SERIOUSLY asking that?
was Jesus intolerance to unbelievers?
yuh see you pretend to not know when to take scripture figurative but hey !!! i coold spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I disagree
wait don't get tied up he was talking about love or the lack thereof
but being a man who claim to teach Christianity,one would know that jesus also stated that
the world will hate us as they hateth him first.
with that in mind how can he come in a ched where the world is hating on "christians"
or anyone who mentions Jesus and proclaim such crap?
come on man.
Jesus also said that one must hate one's father... leave the dead to bury themselves...
You immature cretin. "The world" as referred to as such does not mean other men, but the attitude of materialism and its effect on the minds of men. You figure because you can read the words in the bible, you can comprehend it's meaning???? and you can't even maintain a discussion? Good grief, your self-inflated ego is so swollen with the hot gas of your incoherent babblings, it's a wonder you don't float away.
d spike wrote:You figure because you can read the words in the bible, you can comprehend it's meaning?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:and do YOU know which scripture we should take literally?