Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Rovin » October 8th, 2022, 11:50 am

like we hadda do like d amish ppl & churn we own real butter ...

Postby maj. tom » October 8th, 2022, 11:58 am

Nestle probably already cornered the majority of the local dairy farmers market good for their fresh milk. Don't know if local milk production is high enough to use the excess to make butter and cheese.

Usually it's the excess milk that can't be stored that goes into that side of production. And milk production is a calculated thing because cows need a LOT of pasture and grain to produce on scale. We do have the land though, it's not like Barbados or one of the smaller islands. We should be be making cheese, butter and ghee locally.

Again, this is the agriculture that the government never investing in to reduce our import bill and generate export dollars but always fast to talk about ketchup.

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2022, 12:10 pm

venes make their white cheese with local milk, they buying direct from the farmers

Postby bluefete » October 8th, 2022, 12:31 pm

LOL. I don't shop at Tru Valu at all. Too expensive. Now I will have to pass through every now and then.

pugboy wrote:yuh miss out the other day in trinicty truvalu, 2 for 1 kerrygold, had scores of it on sale

bluefete wrote:
teems1 wrote:Just buy the butter. Might as well spend on the good Kerrygold stuff.

I love meh butter (Kerrygold, Presidente, Anchor etc) but even I have cut back on buying at $60/lb.

But trust me, if I ever walk into a grocery and butter going at 2/1, I don't care when it expiring, I taking ALL.

Butter, eh, folks NOT margarine.

Postby Rovin » October 8th, 2022, 2:19 pm

like allyuh kerrygold butter men hadda make a fb\whatsapp group to inform each other when it have sale ... :lol:

Postby timelapse » October 8th, 2022, 2:28 pm

Rovin wrote:like allyuh kerrygold butter men hadda make a fb\whatsapp group to inform each other when it have sale ...
Put up money and buy wholesale

Postby adnj » October 8th, 2022, 2:29 pm

Rovin wrote:like allyuh kerrygold butter men hadda make a fb\whatsapp group to inform each other when it have sale ...
This is the official 2 for 1 butter thread.

Postby 88sins » October 8th, 2022, 5:00 pm

Replace margarine with duck fat. If you want to know why, understand this.

I swear to God and all that's holy, you should try a cheese omelet with a little chives, sweet pepper, tomatoes and pimento (ideally cheese must be grated parm, but shredded cheddar will work in a pinch) and you add a teaspoon or so of duck fat to whatever frying medium you using.

Be forewarned, you may want to eat the frying pan after. Make sure you got enough dental coverage. If making for multiple people, there may be some theft of plates and their contents, some moreish mouths, and incessant requests for seconds, thirds, fourths, and omelets for lunch. Figure that out on your own

Yeah, it more expensive. But I swear, what you pay for in price will be made up for in flavor and deliciousness

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2022, 5:56 pm

where you getting duck fat to buy ?
duck fat added to roast potatoes is great too.

I normally make my own by rendering down the skin from the foreign ducks I roast chinese style.
the skin cracklings better than cripsy pork too.

Postby timelapse » October 8th, 2022, 7:42 pm

pugboy wrote:where you getting duck fat to buy ?

I normally make my own by rendering down the skin from the foreign ducks I roast chinese style.
From duck liposuction clinics ,duhh

Postby 88sins » October 8th, 2022, 7:45 pm

pugboy wrote:where you getting duck fat to buy ?

Same way I get mines. Rendered down from skins. Saw they had in this place in maraval a long time ago. Thing was EXPENSIVE AF, iirc about $600 for a can.

And yes, it does have argument the skin too

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2022, 8:23 pm

its expensive and only used in high end restaurants
meanwhile locally the farm duck is scorned because the skin has more fat that local yard duck
too much effort to roast the skin before cutting up
but then again them only think duck is for curry

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 9th, 2022, 4:59 am

chicken fat should be a substitute. you can get that at home or special order from the pluck shop or arawak. the chinese restaurants order pork and chicken fat to cook with. i sure it will taste nice on toast.

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2022, 5:26 am

okayyy

Postby adnj » October 9th, 2022, 6:24 am

Pork fat is lard. I have never heard of anyone spreading the rich taste of lard on their toast. /s

Postby 88sins » October 9th, 2022, 6:29 am

daring dragoon wrote:chicken fat should be a substitute. you can get that at home or special order from the pluck shop or arawak. the chinese restaurants order pork and chicken fat to cook with. i sure it will taste nice on toast.

So, you sure you have the $150k you gonna need for the angioplasty, or the $400k for the coronary bypass if you taking that route right?

Chicken fat and skin is one of if not the most unhealthy things a human can eat, and will skyrocket your cholesterol faster than a formula 1 racecar.
Duck fat is added in very small amounts to enhance and add flavor to dishes, and it's flavor is very potent. Chicken fat however doesn’t have any real flavor to speak about, so it's not a replacement for duck fat.

In cooking, yes fat is flavor, but not all fats are suitable for cooking.

Postby 88sins » October 9th, 2022, 6:41 am

pugboy wrote:its expensive and only used in high end restaurants
meanwhile locally the farm duck is scorned because the skin has more fat that local yard duck
too much effort to roast the skin before cutting up
but then again them only think duck is for curry

Can't really blame them, ppl stick to what they know works, and most trinis may not have the resources or knowledge or creativity or even the willingness to try making something new and different.

Look something fun and different and delicious to try.
If ever you make your own beef burger patties, add a little cooked minced duck or lamb to the beef.
Your taste buds will thank you profusely.

Postby matr1x » October 9th, 2022, 6:54 am

adnj wrote:Pork fat is lard. I have never heard of anyone spreading the rich taste of lard on their toast. /s

Because you fry with lard, not spread it on toast like a cheap vene hooker

Postby timelapse » October 9th, 2022, 7:02 am

Giant African Snail slime for sale.Great for toast!!!

Postby adnj » October 9th, 2022, 7:18 am

matr1x wrote:
adnj wrote:Pork fat is lard. I have never heard of anyone spreading the rich taste of lard on their toast. /s

Because you fry with lard, not spread it on toast like a cheap vene hooker
Any excuse to post stupidshitt about Venezuelans, one-layered black masks, Islam, etc., is sufficient for sufferers.

Postby matr1x » October 9th, 2022, 10:36 am

If you in Trinidad and not suffering, it means you definitely greasing pole for change.

Now, go sit down.

Postby 88sins » October 9th, 2022, 1:57 pm

matr1x wrote:If you in Trinidad and not suffering, it means you definitely greasing pole for change.

Now, go sit down.

nah, tings lil rough but it eh that bad, at least not yet. but it getting there, slowly but surely.

But all kix aside, is time to buckle down and cut a grocery cost any way you can. Plant a lil seasoning patch, keep a few yardie, learn to appreciate the better aspects of the cheaper things, ease up on the things you know you can do without that you won't miss.

Look at this
It have PLENTY people out here who REFUSE to eat chicken foot. They go eat every other part of the chicken, but you mention foot they ready to heave out they liver. But chicken foot actually real cheap, and does make a wicked soup, good for cutters, etc. The smart ones will overcome whatever negative perceptions they have and appreciate it for the flavor. The not-so-smart ones go cry and bawl they suffering.

Short story shorter, if a person is not willing to compromise, adapt and evolve, they hush they rassclat mouth and don't complain, cuz is them suffering themselves.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 9th, 2022, 2:03 pm

matr1x wrote:If you in Trinidad and not suffering, it means you definitely greasing pole for change.

Now, go sit down.

nah, tings lil rough but it eh that bad, at least not yet. but it getting there, slowly but surely.

But all kix aside, is time to buckle down and cut a grocery cost any way you can. Plant a lil seasoning patch, keep a few yardie, learn to appreciate the better aspects of the cheaper things, ease up on the things you know you can do without that you won't miss.

Look at this
It have PLENTY people out here who REFUSE to eat chicken foot. They go eat every other part of the chicken, but you mention foot they ready to heave out they liver. But chicken foot actually real cheap, and does make a wicked soup, good for cutters, etc. The smart ones will overcome whatever negative perceptions they have and appreciate it for the flavor. The not-so-smart ones go cry and bawl they suffering.

Short story shorter, if a person is not willing to compromise, adapt and evolve, they hush they rassclat mouth and don't complain, cuz is them suffering themselves.

I feel the same thing about Tap water vs purchased bottled water. I see sufferers in the working environment buying bottles of drinking water when there's free tap water at their disposal. The amount of $$$ that adds up by buying bottled water each day for the week and month is quite alot and again people can't complain and bawl they suffering when it have free tap water right there to drink.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 9th, 2022, 2:04 pm

chicken foot gone up. i used to pay $5 a pound for years until about 2021 it went to $7 then $10 an not at $7. back and neck is 20 pounds for $100.

Postby paid_influencer » October 9th, 2022, 2:18 pm

i don't trust tap water tho. sometimes it brown and smell funny. concerns about lead poisoning. i stop drinking tap water habitually since 2010.

5 gallon + dispenser rt

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 9th, 2022, 2:22 pm

I haven't stopped drinking tap water and absolutely had no issues. People knows why they suffering and bawling is all I'll say but they don't want to change it.

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2022, 2:23 pm

i hate the taste, we boil or filter in a brita jug

Postby redmanjp » October 9th, 2022, 2:48 pm

DMan7 wrote:

Now, go sit down.

Look at this

I feel the same thing about Tap water vs purchased bottled water. I see sufferers in the working environment buying bottles of drinking water when there's free tap water at their disposal. The amount of $$$ that adds up by buying bottled water each day for the week and month is quite alot and again people can't complain and bawl they suffering when it have free tap water right there to drink.

yes buying bottled water everyday especially from a vendor (as opposed to grocery) is quite expensive. buying by the gallon is less - but i usually boil tap water and drink that. the only expense there is LPG which is $27 or so every few weeks and that is mostly for cooking anyway.

recently we got a new fridge with a water dispenser so i can fill from there as well- it has its own filter and outside we have a filter for the whole house on the wasa line. but i still boil water as the water in the fridge too cold and my teeth seems to be sensitive since i visited the dentist so i mix the cold with the room temp boiled water.

maybe ppl doh remember years ago b4 bottled water we depended on tap water to drink - some used to boil it some didnt. but i suppose with more severe weather events and floods these days its a bigger risks but once u boil and filter it it shouldn't be a problem.

Postby S_2NR » October 9th, 2022, 2:49 pm

Bottled water tastes way better than tap. If I didn't buy bottled water, I would drink much less water so it works out for my health. But I get it by the case in psmart. Ppl who buying water everyday and not in bulk are crazy

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 9th, 2022, 3:01 pm

Why do Trini's like to double pay for things? They paying WASA bill and still buying drinking water. They paying Health Surcharge but still going to private hospitals. Makes no sense and I'll probably never understand this mentality.