Official marijuana/marijuana legalization in TNT thread

Re: Official marijuana/marijuana legalization in TNT thread

Postby Rovin » November 22nd, 2019, 6:08 pm

pandora's box has been opened :agrue:

i really tort poo nm wuda drop this trump card for GE but look like they want d momentum support for their party to build from now , well played poo nm well played ......... :roll:

Postby pugboy » November 22nd, 2019, 6:13 pm

Kamala and dem must be huddled right now tryin to see how to respond.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 22nd, 2019, 7:00 pm

pugboy wrote:Kamala and dem must be huddled right now tryin to see how to respond.

Nothing much they can respond with, except "WE go fully legalise it" and then the PNM will just use that same thing right before the GE, and Camla can't say No, because she would have already technically said Yes.

Lol @ from this:

to this

Postby Rovin » November 22nd, 2019, 7:14 pm

^^mazma woman on tv6 now saying total legalization or nothing else ...... gee dem a finger in d door now they want their whole body thru d door way

Postby 88sins » November 22nd, 2019, 7:40 pm

Rovin wrote:^^mazma woman on tv6 now saying total legalization or nothing else ...... gee dem a finger in d door now they want their whole body thru d door way

What is the purpose of putting a finger in the doorway if you have no intention of walking through it ever? Know anyone that enjoys crushed fingers?

After reading thru the proposed document I really can't say she wrong. It is so badly flawed it's a joke. Seems like the primary focus of whoever drafted that at the point in time is how the state could make money off decriminalization. In its current form, it opens the door for a certain section of ppl to make a lot of money and monopolize the import sale and distribution.
I saw nothing in it catering to possession or growing for recreational usage, which is actually a very significant aspect of the entire argument for decriminalization. It mentioned religious and medicinal usage, but by and large 99.99'% of the ppl using it and being arrested for it are recreational users.

I eh got no horse in this race, cuz I doh smoke weed, but the ideal way to go would be to grant licenses to anyone that wants to grow, from the person growing for personal use to those growing for processing into goods for to the exporters. Staged licenses would work well for this, so you pay $500 for a 3 year license to grow 5 plants, and the license would say how many plants a grower can have on the premises at any given time. If found with more than you're licensed for then your license gets revoked and grower charged and fined accordingly.
I all for penalizing those that want to drive or perform other tasks while under the influence, as well as the implementation and enforcement of fair and proper regulatory standards. But as is now? All that document good for is using as tp in a pit latrine.

Postby rspann » November 22nd, 2019, 8:32 pm

We going to have real potheads in the country now. Imagine drivers on pot. Workers on pot. The Govt on pot. We in a mess already, it's going to be worse now.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » November 22nd, 2019, 8:48 pm

rspann wrote:We going to have real potheads in the country now. Imagine drivers on pot. Workers on pot. The Govt on pot. We in a mess already, it's going to be worse now.

And to top it off Kams and the Bandit UNC still here. Trinidad doomed

Postby sMASH » November 22nd, 2019, 8:50 pm

Rovin wrote:^^mazma woman on tv6 now saying total legalization or nothing else ...... gee dem a finger in d door now they want their whole body thru d door way

full hunjed!!!!

Postby rspann » November 22nd, 2019, 9:24 pm

Try to imagine Fairys and BeHinds on weed.

Postby sMASH » November 22nd, 2019, 9:40 pm

i never understood how hinds was NEVER on weed.

Postby Rovin » November 22nd, 2019, 10:08 pm

take win ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 23rd, 2019, 3:52 am

i hope when dey cud grw if in dey house it wud stop the local man selling the sheit hideway hideway. i hope it put d weed sellers on the ground out of a job it lower the crime in the cuntry cause drugs =guns.

Postby hydroep » November 23rd, 2019, 6:14 am

Yes, yuh could get not three but FOUR plants. Forget about the increased cost of living, the country's dilapidated infrastructure and and spiraling crime rate. If this thing pass ah voting for the Balizay!...:D

FREE TO SMOKE
Ganja legislation tabled by AG
Ria Taitt

YOU are now allowed to grow up to four male marijuana plants and to have up to 30 grammes of ganja in your possession.

You won’t be arrested.

But you can’t smoke it in a ­public place.

If you do you will be liable to a $250,000 fine and five years in jail.

And if you have the substance on your person while on a school bus, school ­premises or any premises where there are children present for the purposes of education or attending and participating in a sporting or cultural event, you will also be liable to a $250,000 fine and the five years’ imprisonment penalty.

The same penalties will be imposed on anyone found driving a motor vehicle, piloting an aircraft or ship while under the influence of the substance.

These are among the main features of long-awaited decriminalisation of marijuana legislation which was tabled by Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi in the House of ­Representatives yesterday.

The legislation changes the status quo where the possession of marijuana of any amount is an automatic arrestable offence.

The amendments came in the form of two bills—the Dangerous Drugs Amendment bill and the Cannabis Control bill.

No smoking in public

Fellas liming on the block, people holding private parties, or attending Carnival fetes, be warned.

The smoking of marijuana is strictly prohibited in a public place which, under the legislation, is defined as “an indoor or outdoor area, whether privately or publicly owned, to which the public has access by right or by invitation, expressed or implied, whether by payment of money or not”.

A person found in possession of over 30 grammes but under 60 grammes will receive a fixed ­penalty—a fine.

Under the fixed penalty ticket system, the brunt of the law will be applied only where the person ­refuses to pay the fixed penalty, and only after the possibility of community service as an alternative remedy is explored, the attorney general said.

Al-Rawi said all parents and guardians or caregivers of children who suffer from a medical problem for which medicinal cannabis may be helpful must get a certificate from the child’s medical practitioner, certifying the child requires medicinal cannabis to remedy his/her ailment.

“You may be criminally liable if you fail to obtain a written certificate from the child’s medical ­practitioner,” he said.

The attorney general stressed that people who accompany children to places of worship or ­similar environments may face the court if they cause or permit the child to use cannabis at a place of worship, a sacramental dispensary or at an exempt event.

The penalty is a $250,000 fine and five years’ imprisonment.

The attorney general said people with charges before the court with the new upper limit may apply to be discharged, and the criminal records of people with convictions for possession of the substance would be expunged.

“They would be able to apply for pardon under Section 87 of the Constitution,” he said.

The attorney general said the bill also established specific penalties for the possession and trafficking of dangerous drugs such as amphetamines, ketamine and lysergic acid diethylamides (LSDs) only recently introduced in the Dangerous Drugs Act by this ­Government.

The attorney general said under the Cannabis Control bill, a State entity—the ­Trinidad and Tobago Cannabis Authority—will be established to administer a licensing and registration regime to legitimise, establish accountability and transparency for the use of cannabis by people and bodies ­engaged in religious, sacramental, medicinal and commercial activities.

With respect to religious organisations, those applying to the authority for a licence must be registered under the Non Profit ­Organisation Act.

Similarly, only people licensed as medical practitioners may lawfully dispense and ­administer ­medicinal cannabis.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/free-to-smoke/article_371a1292-0d93-11ea-b272-4f2336775e61.html

Postby hydroep » November 23rd, 2019, 6:21 am

Nazma seeing through the BS though...:|

Nazma outraged at clauses in ‘weed bill’
PE­TER CHRISTO­PHER

Op­ti­mistic af­ter Thurs­day’s an­nounce­ment by At­tor­ney Gen­er­al Faris Al Rawi, cannabis ac­tivist Naz­ma Muller sat in the Par­lia­ment gallery as the AG laid two pieces of leg­is­la­tion in Par­lia­ment, the Dan­ger­ous Drugs (Amend­ment) Bill and the Cannabis Con­trol Bill, which will pave the way for the de­crim­i­nal­i­sa­tion of mar­i­jua­na.

The op­ti­mism with which Muller en­tered the cham­ber turned to out­rage as she left.

“I am try­ing to con­trol my anger and out­rage about what is be­ing done around Cannabis, one of the most amaz­ing and ben­e­fi­cial plants on the plan­et.

“I was ab­solute­ly dis­gust­ed by the de­liv­ery of the first read­ing of this bill,” she said af­ter leav­ing the Par­lia­men­tary cham­ber yes­ter­day.

Muller said: “Peo­ple will, of course be very glad, be­cause we’ve been re­pressed so long. The regime has been so puni­tive, so pro­hi­bi­tion­ist, that just this lit­tle glim­mer of no ar­rest, it seems to be some­thing to cel­e­brate,” but she was far from con­vinced that the bills were pro­gres­sive enough to fos­ter the de­vel­op­ment of a cannabis in­dus­try in this coun­try.”

“What the At­tor­ney Gen­er­al has in fact done is shack­led us. He is say­ing, on one hand, he is free­ing up the jails, he is free­ing up the po­lice ser­vice but at the same time with these claus­es, he is putting re­straints still on pro­duc­tion,” the ac­tivist said.

She felt that based on what had been de­vel­oped in for­eign ter­ri­to­ries, the ini­tial of­fer­ing from the At­tor­ney Gen­er­al seemed lack­ing.

“Look­ing at the pack­age of bills that the At­tor­ney Gen­er­al spent so long putting to­geth­er, the speed at which the Cannabis in­dus­try has been mov­ing—be­cause this plant has been used for thou­sands of years—and you know have the cut­ting edge tech­nol­o­gy be­ing used in Is­rael, the US, Cana­da, all through Eu­rope.

“We are so far be­hind in terms of re­search and de­vel­op­ment, prod­uct de­vel­op­ment,” she said.

“With these still kind of puni­tive mea­sures where a moth­er could be fined up to $250,000 for giv­ing her child cannabis. Where have we pro­gressed? In terms of the li­cens­ing? We know our pub­lic ser­vice, this is go­ing to be a whole set of red tape, how long is every­thing go­ing to take? It took Ja­maica four years to get to the point where it now has six dis­pen­saries. Are we go­ing to wait four years again? “

Her fear was al­so that the mat­ter was be­ing politi­cised.

To counter this she an­nounced that a new­ly-formed group—the Trinidad and To­ba­go Union of Gan­ja Farm­ers—will con­tin­ue protest­ing out­side Par­lia­ment every Fri­day.

“How do you tell a per­son, who has spent ten years in jail for cul­ti­vat­ing mar­i­jua­na he now has to get a li­cence, and he has to pay X amount for that li­cence? And he has to fol­low all these reg­u­la­tions and guide­lines?

“No sir, we’re not tak­ing that, we’re go­ing to fight this un­til we get to­tal le­gal­i­sa­tion. We don’t mind reg­u­la­tion and cer­ti­fi­ca­tion and test­ing if they want to com­mer­cialise, but the av­er­age man on the street must be al­lowed,” she said.

Oth­er ac­tivists, how­ev­er, have re­served com­ment on the mat­ter un­til they learn more about the le­gal­i­sa­tion.

But yes­ter­day, Pun­dit Satyanand Ma­haraj of the Aranguez Unit­ed Farm­ers As­so­ci­a­tion wel­comed the At­tor­ney Gen­er­al’s ini­tial state­ments on the bill which he said “sig­nalled not on­ly the dis­crim­i­na­tion of cannabis but al­so the fa­cil­i­ta­tion of cul­ti­va­tion and mon­etis­ing of the herb.”

Ma­haraj, how­ev­er, warned the AG against us­ing cut and paste leg­is­la­tion from for­eign coun­tries which have not led to in­dus­tries be­ing re­alised.

“For ex­am­ple, in Ja­maica where de­crim­i­nal­i­sa­tion of cannabis has re­sult­ed in a free­ing up of the courts, the con­cur­rent cul­ti­va­tion leg­is­la­tion re­quires such ex­ces­sive de­mands that not a sin­gle li­cence has been grant­ed or gan­ja farm op­er­a­tionalised.

“Ad­di­tion­al­ly, the leg­is­la­tion should not be so cum­ber­some in its re­quire­ments that on­ly the wealthy could af­ford to es­tab­lish a farm,” he said.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/nazma-outraged-at-clauses-in-weed-bill-6.2.992904.d77f48b749

Postby rspann » November 23rd, 2019, 8:02 am

If all these restrictions,then it's not something good? If you can't drive after using it ,that speaks to impaired judgement. Why legalize a drug that does that. For sure crime is going to increase as will accidents. Arrests will increase and users will face higher penalties and jail time now, so I don't understand the rejoicing over it being decriminalized. Who hiding and smoking still have to lock up inside and smoke, so nothing changed.

Postby pugboy » November 23rd, 2019, 8:07 am

So will the dui cops have another set of test equipment and protocol?

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 23rd, 2019, 8:27 am

the only thing thats going to change is the top percentile gona be able to do direct sales and provide better strains for premium price openly. The street pusher going to be put out of business soon because most people gona grow their own. How fast and how far john public is going to be allowed to enjoy any freedom of use and anything outside of the constraints will be determined by how serious the police takes enforcement. I find it hard to think of the police going house to house to check how many plants everyone has, to determine if they are male or female etc.

VII

Postby VII » November 23rd, 2019, 8:52 am

rspann wrote:If all these restrictions,then it's not something good? If you can't drive after using it ,that speaks to impaired judgement. Why legalize a drug that does that. For sure crime is going to increase as will accidents. Arrests will increase and users will face higher penalties and jail time now, so I don't understand the rejoicing over it being decriminalized. Who hiding and smoking still have to lock up inside and smoke, so nothing changed.

Bro other countries that have done this have found themselves in a position with extra money and resources a portion of which they direct into programs to deal with all that you have highlighted,in other words it's the lesser of the two evils ,a lot less on enforcement and court and prison processes a lil more on rehab sensitization and control ..

People had the same inhibitions about alcohol and we survived it....do you know you can't legally drink a beer in public outside a licenced establishment ?

Postby pugboy » November 23rd, 2019, 8:59 am

So what burkie and d boys on the block gonna do?
Normally they settle block competitors with glocks

speedmelter wrote:the only thing thats going to change is the top percentile gona be able to do direct sales and provide better strains for premium price openly. The street pusher going to be put out of business soon because most people gona grow their own. How fast and how far john public is going to be allowed to enjoy any freedom of use and anything outside of the constraints will be determined by how serious the police takes enforcement. I find it hard to think of the police going house to house to check how many plants everyone has, to determine if they are male or female etc.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » November 23rd, 2019, 9:32 am

pugboy wrote:So what burkie and d boys on the block gonna do?
Normally they settle block competitors with glocks

speedmelter wrote:the only thing thats going to change is the top percentile gona be able to do direct sales and provide better strains for premium price openly. The street pusher going to be put out of business soon because most people gona grow their own. How fast and how far john public is going to be allowed to enjoy any freedom of use and anything outside of the constraints will be determined by how serious the police takes enforcement. I find it hard to think of the police going house to house to check how many plants everyone has, to determine if they are male or female etc.

Cocaine is where the money is pal, not ganja

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 23rd, 2019, 9:42 am

I guess we can expect to see more pipers next ten years

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 23rd, 2019, 10:06 am

wait wait wait wait, hold on a god damn minute here.

Allyuh telling me I could plant 4 Cannabis trees in my yard??? and I cannot be arrested? it legal now? as of right now?

Great is the PNM they have my vote, never in my life thought I would vote for PNM but a promise is a promise.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 23rd, 2019, 10:21 am

speedmelter wrote:I guess we can expect to see more pipers next ten years

You do realize that all the scientific research has shown that Alcohol and Cigarette is more dangerous for your health than Cannabis, right? proven by the American journal of public affairs.

If anything we might see less Alzhimers and glaucoma patients in the next 10 years hence less burden on our public health sector.

Postby MaxPower » November 23rd, 2019, 10:26 am

The PNM pot smokers love Keith even more.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 23rd, 2019, 10:33 am

MaxPower wrote:The PNM pot smokers love Keith even more.

Secretary-General of the Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha, Sat Maharaj was in full support of PNM Legalizing weed just a couple months ago, he called it a Hindu Herb.

So I wouldn't say just PNM pot smokers love Keith but what Rowley did here surprised me a lot, he went against the churches in this country he went against his biggest support base in favor of Science.

He has my respect and vote

Postby sMASH » November 23rd, 2019, 10:42 am

ah man say, alwaris brought clickbait bill.

Postby sMASH » November 23rd, 2019, 10:42 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:wait wait wait wait, hold on a god damn minute here.

Allyuh telling me I could plant 4 Cannabis trees in my yard??? and I cannot be arrested? it legal now? as of right now?

Great is the PNM they have my vote, never in my life thought I would vote for PNM but a promise is a promise.

readddddddd the fine print... just to make sure.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 23rd, 2019, 10:47 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
speedmelter wrote:I guess we can expect to see more pipers next ten years

You do realize that all the scientific research has shown that Alcohol and Cigarette is more dangerous for your health than Cannabis, right? proven by the American journal of public affairs.

If anything we might see less Alzhimers and glaucoma patients in the next 10 years hence less burden on our public health sector.

So you mean to say the drug pushers will go into extinction now?

And that cocaine will become so frowned upon that men who will now recreationally try weed and figure it not doing anything special won’t step up to the next rung?

Postby Chimera » November 23rd, 2019, 11:12 am

Postby zoom rader » November 23rd, 2019, 11:15 am

I all for freeing the herb.

This will clarm PNM ppl down and kill their testosterone levels. Less PNM ppl will be born and a reduction of pest to tolerate.