bluesclues wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:All bobol aside. 35 mins from South to Town sounds amazing!
but is 35 mins from south to pos on a flowing highway driving the speed limit.
sMASH wrote:How many passengers would this thing carry at one time?
zoom rader wrote:Just think when laventille bandits stage an attack on a train. It's every man jack getting rob.
Well if your car gets you 9 litres per 100km and from Sando to POS is 50km currently, with a super gasoline vehicle you will it will cost about $30 per one way trip.Habit7 wrote:Redman wrote:If the rapid rail is up and the traffic disappears....how long does it take to drive Sando/POS with no traffic??
40 mins?
Given the alternatives ....what makes the RR THE solution...???
All the other solutions are cheaper,more flexible and can be implemented now....
we need a Transportation Policy...multi modal and flexible.
More recently, 16 years ago, in 1996, a study by international consultants, Cansult, justified the need for a rapid rail system. Specialist consultants from India came to the same conclusion some years later.
In studying traffic along our main east-west and north-south corridors, Cansult found that the number of people travelling along the East-West Corridor alone was 21,000 per hour in each direction and predicted an increase to 28,000 by 2015. However, an update by Cansult found that the traffic had increased to 30,000 people per hour by 2007. In other words, the traffic on our main roads had increased at many times the rate predicted earlier.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-09- ... way-system
You are right my calc is for round trip.pete wrote:Your maths are a bit off.
It's $30/day round trip Sando to POS in Fuel, the same price as the fast ferry which to me makes that a much better option. Less wear and tear on the car, less traffic and no looking for a park in town.
If fuel doubles in price it then becomes much cheaper to use the water taxi unless you have 2 people or more in the car so this would either drive people into carpooling or using PT. To me that's ALL they need to do to encourage people to park up their cars and use the bus. Have place to park, jack up the price of fuel and have the buses run on time. Subsidise the buses instead of fuel.
‘Water taxis leaking $$’
Published on Jun 9, 2014, 8:04 pm AST
Updated on Jun 11, 2014, 9:58 am AST
THE Water Taxi Service continues to be a financial drain for the Government despite being beneficial to passengers.
Dr Carson Charles, president of the National Infrastructure Development Co Ltd (Nidco), the State agency responsible for the water taxi, said yesterday that, every year, there were complaints about the vessels’ financial loss.
He said: “The water taxi is heavily subsidised by the Government. It is a big loss. When you pay $15 for a fare, it actually costs over $100 for a ticket. Nobody wants to increase the fare but it is a huge financial drain. Four brand new vessels, it costs a tremendous amount of money, over $400 million.”
He said: “The water taxi service tries everything they can to mitigate against this very big loss because every year when the accounts go up, people comment about the water taxi loss.”
To ease the financial burden, a parking fee of $250 a month was introduced. Charles said that amount was a small price compared to other parking areas. However, commuters have been complaining that if one wanted to park their vehicle just for the day they were not allowed. Only monthly parking packages are available.
Many have been parking their vehicles on the roadside near the terminal as a result.
At the San Fernando Terminal, King’s Wharf, there are 250 parking spaces.
An official with the water taxi service said work was being done on an electronic ticketing system. Until that system is functioning, then different types of parking passes will be issued. However, the official could not say when the system would be in place.
In 2012, then transport minister Devant Maharaj said the heavily subsidised fare was one of the reasons why the service was under review and the planned expansion service to Point Fortin shelved.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Wat ... 59171.html
Slartibartfast wrote:Yeah you try driving 80kmph during rush hour traffic and tell me how that goes.bluesclues wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:All bobol aside. 35 mins from South to Town sounds amazing!
bluesclues wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Yeah you try driving 80kmph during rush hour traffic and tell me how that goes.bluesclues wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:All bobol aside. 35 mins from South to Town sounds amazing!
well how it is now with the traffic it wont happen during rush hr. but if we could make an efficient roadway to pos from east to west, then rush hr conditions could improve. the lights is what does cause the backing up anyway. backup will start from by the light housel lights. but once u reach there u in pos anyway.. so u reach.
evening traffic will be much better. pure free flow and easy left hand turn-offs heading east. south traffic is mostly from ppl slowing down to watch accident and other non-existant reasons. ppl driving in the wrong lane and wrong speed etc. thats why i say we need to enforce lane restrictions. especially for them truck drivers who like to drive like they own the road.
bluesclues wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Yeah you try driving 80kmph during rush hour traffic and tell me how that goes.bluesclues wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:All bobol aside. 35 mins from South to Town sounds amazing!
well how it is now with the traffic it wont happen during rush hr. but if we could make an efficient roadway to pos from east to west, then rush hr conditions could improve. the lights is what does cause the backing up anyway. backup will start from by the light housel lights. but once u reach there u in pos anyway.. so u reach.
evening traffic will be much better. pure free flow and easy left hand turn-offs heading east. south traffic is mostly from ppl slowing down to watch accident and other non-existant reasons. ppl driving in the wrong lane and wrong speed etc. thats why i say we need to enforce lane restrictions. especially for them truck drivers who like to drive like they own the road.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:bluesclues wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Yeah you try driving 80kmph during rush hour traffic and tell me how that goes.bluesclues wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:All bobol aside. 35 mins from South to Town sounds amazing!
We got enough carbon monoxide pollution in this tiny country already (with some scientists saying its worse than second hand smoke). Too many people abusing this subsidy, one house having 3 and 4 cars, people going to the malls and leaving engine idle with AC on so car will be cool when they get back, others putting in a set of high cc engines and fart cannon mufflers and making a set of dotish noise whole day.
Much of that going to cut out once you remove that fuel subsidy I for one look forward to seeing less of these idiots racing all over the place with box lancer. Hopefully that rise in fuel cost will make them do that sheit less, there is a strong chance it will. Take that fuel subsidy and transfer it to something that will benefit every single person in this country, in this case a Train.
But I take water taxi and it is a hassle to find a park unless you pay the $250 monthly fee with is sold out in hours. Water taxi doesnt solve the problem, it is heavily subsidised and only serves ppl in Sando and environs. Are we going to send WT up the Caroni for ppl in the corridor?
‘Water taxis leaking $$’
Published on Jun 9, 2014, 8:04 pm AST
Updated on Jun 11, 2014, 9:58 am AST
THE Water Taxi Service continues to be a financial drain for the Government despite being beneficial to passengers.
Dr Carson Charles, president of the National Infrastructure Development Co Ltd (Nidco), the State agency responsible for the water taxi, said yesterday that, every year, there were complaints about the vessels’ financial loss.
He said: “The water taxi is heavily subsidised by the Government. It is a big loss. When you pay $15 for a fare, it actually costs over $100 for a ticket. Nobody wants to increase the fare but it is a huge financial drain. Four brand new vessels, it costs a tremendous amount of money, over $400 million.”
He said: “The water taxi service tries everything they can to mitigate against this very big loss because every year when the accounts go up, people comment about the water taxi loss.”
To ease the financial burden, a parking fee of $250 a month was introduced. Charles said that amount was a small price compared to other parking areas. However, commuters have been complaining that if one wanted to park their vehicle just for the day they were not allowed. Only monthly parking packages are available.
Many have been parking their vehicles on the roadside near the terminal as a result.
At the San Fernando Terminal, King’s Wharf, there are 250 parking spaces.
An official with the water taxi service said work was being done on an electronic ticketing system. Until that system is functioning, then different types of parking passes will be issued. However, the official could not say when the system would be in place.
In 2012, then transport minister Devant Maharaj said the heavily subsidised fare was one of the reasons why the service was under review and the planned expansion service to Point Fortin shelved.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Wat ... 59171.html
sMASH wrote:This is the same arguement to use against the rail, but in the billions.
The only real difference is that u don't have the chance of sinking with the rail.
Nobody saying that the rapid rail wouldn't work. What we are saying is that at THIS time it is too much of an expense to undertake. Is like deciding u csn buy a car and not travel anymore, but u want to pay down on bmw and make payments till thy kingdom come, instead of just buying a tiida.
At this point in time, remove fuel subsidy, put more cng busses.
More recently, 16 years ago, in 1996, a study by international consultants, Cansult, justified the need for a rapid rail system. Specialist consultants from India came to the same conclusion some years later.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-09- ... way-system
PB also reported in their Diagnostic Report of the CNTS reported that two studies were conducted for the East West Corridor by Cansult, one in 1997 and the other in 2005. Both studies recommended upgrading the Bus Priority Route to provide a higher level of public transport services. PB claimed that the ‘2005 East-West Corridor study pointed out that rapid transit was needed in the corridor in the future.’
“Here is what the Cansult 2005 report actually stated: “Long term East-West Corridor improvements (2010 – 2015 and beyond) and/or government initiatives which should be further investigated include (but are not limited to) the following: (a) Preferred Options: (i) high order transit systems such as dedicated bus rapid transit or light rail transit system; (ii) increased support for bussing / maxi taxis; (iii) introduction of High Occupancy Vehicle lanes on other roads in the East/West Corridor, UBH Corridor or greater Port-of-Spain to induce higher modal splits; (iv) transit-friendly land use polices; (v) network wide travel demand policies (TDM); (vi) land use diversion strategy away from Port-of-Spain. (b) Other Options: (i) addition of another East-West Corridor road facility.’
in studying traffic along our main east-west and north-south corridors, Cansult found that the number of people travelling along the East-West Corridor alone was 21,000 per hour in each direction and predicted an increase to 28,000 by 2015. However, an update by Cansult found that the traffic had increased to 30,000 people per hour by 2007. In other words, the traffic on our main roads had increased at many times the rate predicted earlier
I have often repeated that World Bank Technical Paper No 52 – Urban Transit System (1986) states (p.3-5) that ‘transit systems using standard-size buses, each with a capacity of about 80 passengers, are able to carry up to 10,000 passengers per hour per lane (emphasis mine) in mixed traffic.
Systems using larger buses with a capacity of 120 or more, operating in the same conditions, can carry up to 15,000 passengers per hour (per lane) … (and) maximum bus transit performance is provided by exclusive busways in which buses are physically separated from other traffic by medians and barriers, with grade separation or priority at intersection … (with) volumes in excess of 30,000 passengers per hour per lane.’ Can anybody confirm that that is not applicable here?
For those of you calling for buses, trust me, if you don't take buses now, don't think you will take it when there is a BRT.
RASC wrote:Anyway...meanwhile... Ethiopia seems to be enjoying their new light rail system.
While we in Trinidad clamouring for more busses ---the more I see sub-saharan Africa adopting technology (mobile banking industry for example) the sadder I become, as we're being left behind.
Redman wrote:So people will change their behavior for s RR but not a BRT....Yes. It has been proven around the world that LRTs attracts more rideship than BRTs
None of us will use anything that is unreliable and poorly managed.Agreed
Keep the subsidy and have a RR that is run the way our public transport is run now ....you will get the same results...I am not saying that, I am saying get rid of the subsidy and have a LRT that serves 80% of the population.
Properly implemented the BRT AND say the WT(just as a label) could take 10% off the roads..but we guessing at the impact cuz we have no data. Well we have the properly implemented Deluxe Coach that runs on the hour from Sando and Grande, comfortable, only $12 and ppl still dont see it as an alternative. We have the properly implemented, world class, best customer service from a public institution Water Taxi and it is highly economically inefficient, not to mention it only can serve Sando and environs.
The studies you referenced partially clearly suggested that multiple modes is THE answer......and the PROPERLY MANAGED RR should be the assessed AFTER we have properly studied the impact of properly managed alternatives. Sure, I welcome the study on the alternatives. But we have experience with the alternatives and I am sure when they were implemented with the constraints that still exist, they had all hopes that they would be properly run.
RASC wrote:Anyway...meanwhile... Ethiopia seems to be enjoying their new light rail system.
While we in Trinidad clamouring for more busses ---the more I see sub-saharan Africa adopting technology (mobile banking industry for example) the sadder I become, as we're being left behind.