Trinidad and Tobago V8 projects

nigie

Postby nigie » May 6th, 2010, 11:17 pm

Aye the more u look at it ....the more u like....

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » May 6th, 2010, 11:56 pm

nigie wrote:Aye ..this is the TTV8CC thread..club members average age bout 50....yes we crave attention....what do u expect.......its called middle age crisis....

and the prize winner is from south..so i guess he is chugging along the southern roadways..
50 yuh say? Daddy older than that man :lol: The Vauxhall is probably the nicest car in his collection... I'm not a big fan of the Galaxi, but it's still a cool car under the over done vinyl & bling. I guess to each is own :?

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2010, 12:06 am

nigie wrote:Aye the more u look at it ....the more u like....

keep telling yourself bub, and maybe you'll believe it
I swear you people living in a sterilite container :? :roll:

d spike

Postby d spike » May 7th, 2010, 6:29 am

Alright, so Papi has more legs in different camps than he has legs, so? Ricery splash with decals and rims, Latino 'low rider' looks (LOVED the steering wheel) and Hot Rod decals n' guts... So pops did it with one car instead of three different ones... The guy obviously is quite proud of his ride (or his stones of brass to drive it) ...give him dat, nah.

You have to admit that the finish of the car is well done... and it certainly has character... (I didn't see the engine bay, so I can't speak on that)

(Oh gorm, MG, stop picking at man car, nah... some ah we have real cocoa in de sun (what with hand-rollered chinese lacquer paint jobs, etc...) :lol:

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » May 7th, 2010, 8:28 am

d spike lol..........
to each his own. maybe the guy has a young son who advised the graphics and he just couldn't tell him otherwise, dunno. if not for the graphics and hood scoop it would be ten times better.
nigie, when exactly is the next one? there are many 'works in progress' projects that can make it to the show once given enough notice :wink:

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » May 7th, 2010, 8:42 am

That car is from Barataria right?
Without the rediculous stickers and hood scoop I think it will look damn good.....

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2010, 9:40 am

Keyser Soze wrote:That car is from Barataria right?
Without the rediculous stickers and hood scoop I think it will look damn good.....

agreed
the car has great character as is...........don;t know why trinis always feel the need to make nice cars into christmas trees.............

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » May 7th, 2010, 9:51 am

The paint was done well & the car was heading in the right direction.. I bought the Mr Gasket scoop without first seeing the car. Unfortunately the scoop is to small, it needed the race scoop which is a bit bigger. It really wouldn't take much to have this car looking normal. Remove the vinyl & replace the wheels with something more era specific. I think those Cragar wheels from that sweet black Kingswood Pickup would look good on this car. A modern wheel would look good, but not an all out chrome, truck style wheel. To each is own I guess :?

nigie

Postby nigie » May 7th, 2010, 10:15 am

Since the show ended i have been asking for feedback..So it will go into the planning for the next event..and allyuh just evaluating cars....I ask MG man and everybody to be super critical of the show...so we did almost everything right?....anyhow...big chief no date carded as yet for the next show..we did a north.1st show and a south..2nd show so i would hope a west or a east is next..or Tobago....yes there were many projects that did not make the show some i even highlighted in this thread..so next show will even be bigger..and Brighter.....(((((echo))))))..and we are giving away a V8 powered car ..groundwork started on that.....and People that galaxie is a very popular car and a big attention grabber......hats off to the owner...and as rotaryboyz said to each his own.

Aye.....and our carshow did not "have a set ah ricer racers"

DEFINITION..... taken from urban dictionary

Rice Racer - Any import car (often bought for you on your 18th birthday by your mother) thats only mods are visual and/or audio. Typically, the owner spends most of their money on a paint job, some fancy stickers, a spoiler that doubles as a picnic table, and a sound system that when turned up all the way, could explode a human head (to bad they dont turn it up full blast eh?). The only mildly beneficial mod that is invested in these neon nightmares is the coffee can exhaust that adds an extra 5hp (making a grand total of 60hp. WOOHOO!). Then it is taken to the local drag strip, and dumped at the starting line by any random muscle car.

OUR CAR SHOW PARTICIPANTS

Last edited by nigie on May 7th, 2010, 10:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

SPEC S

Postby SPEC S » May 7th, 2010, 10:25 am

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2010, 10:32 am

The show had great atmosphere
Nice wide, open layout
I felt though that if allowed, more use could be made of the infield. The Fords VWs and Minis were strung out so far from everything else, and those were some great cars.
The loud music was a bit overdone for a show of this nature, IMO, both from the DJ and some of the cars. These are shows where patrons and owners want to talk, ask questions and share ideas.
The judging was IMO iffy. Crowd response is not the right format for a car show such as this. For example, many people had no clue what the red Consul Capri was when it was announced as a contender
If you want to judge antiques / classics, you need to establish written criteria and categories ahead of time and get them circulated among the community so builders, judges and patrons know what judges are looking for.

If you guys need help with classes and criteria, I am available.

In terms of my personal experience, I spoke to Tardieu on Friday before the show, and we agreed on the following:
I would PAY $300 for my own tent, which I would share with the red Viva
On sunday when I arrived however:
I was told I had to share a tent with the Anglia
I reminded the organizer that him and I agreed that I was sharing a tent with the Viva
He told me the tents are free and I have no say
I reminded him that I was PAYING for a tent
Response was I had to share a tent with whoever he told me to, and that the show was following a theme, and the Viva could not park next to me...
oh and the tent cost was $400
Needless to say, I was not amused
At one point I was told in no uncertain terms, 'this is OUR show, OUR SHOW, and you people have to follow our rules'
Well fine, but not after we had an agreement.
I eventually bullied my way into having the Viva in my tent
What I did not appreciate was having to chase Mr Tardieu like a beggar looking to steal something................

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2010, 10:35 am

oh yeah, when I asked Mr tardieu if I could show my car, he made it clear that he wanted nothing newer than 1986 and I had to verify the age of my car before it would be considered...his sentiment was that he wants people to understand what old school is, and that things like Cefiros are not old school................but again, it's THEIR show so we take what we get........

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2010, 10:48 am

and nige, you guys keep touting projects but nothing I've seen is up to the game yet................
again, take a look at the Anglia................a careful look................any fool can pretty up a car. But a quality execution is severely lacking

MG Man wrote:Image

any particular reason the body all shiny and the engine bay lookin like it need Jesus???

and this one is LOCAL
13B in an Anglia

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » May 7th, 2010, 10:57 am

^ this is wat i was saying to some of the owners down at the show. u want a "show car" well put all the effort into it and do it right, dont have the outside looking pretty and when u open the bonnet and doors its like :sick:

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » May 7th, 2010, 11:00 am

MG Man wrote:oh yeah, when I asked Mr tardieu if I could show my car, he made it clear that he wanted nothing newer than 1986 and I had to verify the age of my car before it would be considered...his sentiment was that he wants people to understand what old school is, and that things like Cefiros are not old school................but again, it's THEIR show so we take what we get........

btw i was told this same thing when my dad had asked about bringing his cressida. cliff said he didnt want anything newer than 1985 (he did say afterwards that he will make the exception for me). but yet there were newer cars .... the rx7, s2000 etc etc etc :lol:

nigie

Postby nigie » May 7th, 2010, 11:02 am

Geez ..u now talking.....most of the issues you had we already noted...and will be addressed..as we intend to maintain our annual shows..and have them at a particular standard...the mandate being each show being better than the last....The show was marketed as "old school"....cars preceeding 1985....and we sought to maintain this theme...Indeed we had some issues... most of which..had to be addressed by the PRO Tardieu.. so he was up and down like a mad man....anyway i note your concerns and these concerns will not go unattended..as i said planning has already begin for the next show so surely your evaluation will help the TTV8CC to improve on what we offer.

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2010, 11:08 am

cheers
you should try to get as much feedback form random patrons as well, after all it's THEY who make a show a success, not US

nigie

Postby nigie » May 7th, 2010, 11:11 am

Mg man thats why u bring your car to a show ..u pretty it up..and the standard is set in the show..a judge evaluates out of what is shown..whats deserving of a prize and that rotary in the minor didnt make the show..and it was in our mini show as "underconstruction". The shows we hope will aid in bettering the standard. Most of the car owners already thinking of ways to improve on their cars...

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2010, 11:34 am

nigie wrote:Mg man thats why u bring your car to a show ..u pretty it up..and the standard is set in the show..a judge evaluates out of what is shown..whats deserving of a prize and that rotary in the minor didnt make the show..and it was in our mini show as "underconstruction". The shows we hope will aid in bettering the standard. Most of the car owners already thinking of ways to improve on their cars...

on the first count, no
how is the judge evaluating? what are the criteria? How are you to decide what's best out of what shows up without criteria? What you will end up being a subjective debate

on the second point,
It's not rocket science
The biggest mental barrier IMO on the local scene is the 'is mine so is bess' mentality but I've said enough on that elsewhere

d spike

Postby d spike » May 7th, 2010, 12:18 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:^ this is wat i was saying to some of the owners down at the show. u want a "show car" well put all the effort into it and do it right, dont have the outside looking pretty and when u open the bonnet and doors its like :sick:

:( :( :( :cry: :cry: :cry:

d spike

Postby d spike » May 7th, 2010, 12:42 pm

I think if a theme is being used (which makes sense, if your focus is on educating the public) then this theme should be explained/defined - less confusion in the minds of both owners and spectators. The Minis, the Ford gang, the Toyota Corollas and the VWs were obviously grouped, as were the ancient mobiles (I personally think these should have been more highlighted by placement - as in by the gate) and the Mustang breed. The others seemed haphazardly placed (obviously, I couldn't understand the theme that was used).

Another theme that could have been used was the age of the car... but I think 'make' makes more sense.

I agree that the noise was a bit too much. At some point, I heard 70's era music being played at a decent volume - very nice touch!

There was a grasshoppery, riced out, green thing with its doors ajar parked by the gate - why was that there?

To me, it seemed that the show was what it was advertised to be... an 'old school' car show... and I enjoyed it. The prizes took me by surprise (not that my car was capable of winning anything there other than a three-legged race) and it did seem like an afterthought - hence the way the judging was done. Of course, if this is going to be a part of the shows hosted by the V8 boys, then certainly it will serve to ensure a high quality of exhibited cars.
:D

moti

Postby moti » May 7th, 2010, 1:37 pm

yup, show was great.

however

is a ole skool car show but there is a rx7 3rd gen with a V8; so i'm
thinking because the TTV8CC hosting this show then i can bring a B15 with a V8 and enter the show?

and yes music was to loud and no you cant just put speakers in one location and expect everyone to hear what the announcer is saying.

and i really wanted to hear all the V8 cars start up and rev at the same time eh

and oh gorm i will say it again more burn outs please, so yuh have a V8 car and
what, yuh cyar buy tires? :lol: (nobody say to do the burn out on yuh mickey thompsons eh)

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2010, 1:37 pm

d spike wrote:
There was a grasshoppery, riced out, green thing with its doors ajar parked by the gate - why was that there?

your penchant for colourful metaphors knows no bounds, My Lord :lol:

nigie

Postby nigie » May 7th, 2010, 2:04 pm

I dont know why that green car was there...these things were noted in our last TTV8CC meeting....classifying the cars was a problem especially when u have stuff like a 3rd gen with a v8 insatlled..we just put TTV8CC members cars on the grassed area..with the rotarys we had a special throphy for best rotary car and one for best rotary engine..so if u have a top notch rotary in a morris minor well u inside...we had asked participants to submit info on their cars beforehand with the intent to indicate the specs..this felll down....by next show we will clearly identify car classes. Aye the DJ played only old school music..plus the performers sang old school songs..theme...Burns outs were done till darkness untill they closed off the burnout area...mg man when i say judge or judging i dont mean a specific person the crowd did some judging that day...whether we should have peoples choice etc is something we need 2 discuss..

WIKI DEFINATION.......

Muscle car is a term used to refer to a variety of high performance automobiles. At its most widely accepted the term refers to American 2-door rear wheel drive mid-size cars of the late 1960s and early 1970s equipped with large, powerful V8s and sold at an affordable price for street use and drag racing, formally and informally.

MUSCLE!!!!!!!

TRINI MUSCLE??????
Last edited by nigie on May 7th, 2010, 3:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2010, 2:30 pm

nigie wrote:..mg man when i say judge or judging i dont mean a specific person the crowd did some judging that day...whether we should have peoples choice etc is something we need 2 discuss..

again without structure or criteria, it's all arbitrary
I was there when the crowd did the judging
and like I said before, 90% of them had no clue which cars the MC was referring to............but as you said to me on sunday, is allyuh show...I cud only give my (not always humble) opinion :wink:

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » May 7th, 2010, 3:04 pm

d spike wrote:
Midnight_Demon wrote:^ this is wat i was saying to some of the owners down at the show. u want a "show car" well put all the effort into it and do it right, dont have the outside looking pretty and when u open the bonnet and doors its like :sick:

:( :( :( :cry: :cry: :cry:

doh play yuh feeling sad dey yunno!
you and i know damn well that ur engine bay matches the outward appearance of your car perfectly. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » May 7th, 2010, 3:29 pm

read the sign, watch the car ...

nigie

Postby nigie » May 7th, 2010, 3:34 pm

well opinions, thoughts concerning the show is what i need... so all opinions welcomed...and mg wasnt me who told u that ...midnite the antiques was where the sign was facing

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2010, 3:46 pm

I honestly don't think MD had an issue with the Boxter or the Z3
but when you tell a man his mint 1986 Cressida is too new to be allowed for the show because it is strictly old school, then I can see his issue.....there are too many inconsistencies in what was told to people and what was actually allowed

nigie

Postby nigie » May 7th, 2010, 3:51 pm

well we have not fully done our post mortem as yet..but as i said concerns are noted...