Greendot Digital TV & Internet Service Thread

Re: WTK: Who have Greendot Digital TV Service

Postby M_2NR » November 15th, 2010, 12:08 am

xtech wrote:what u guys think about China State TV and Deutsche Welle maybe some BBC

DW and most certainly BBC pops will be happy like papi.

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » November 15th, 2010, 12:27 pm

Has anyone managed to get a universal remote programmed to work the Coship box? I haven't tried it, but there may be a way to teach your universal remote the functions, but you would have to do it button-by-button I suppose?

Also, regarding the digital audio output - has anyone tried this on their receiver to see if the audio feed is in fact digital?

Also - for those who have the black receiver box - it comes with a component video output. Has anyone tried this, and how does it look? I have it connected to a Viewsonic 22" LCD TV using the supplied component cable and the quality is not great. I will try to see if I can upload some shots of it. I also have a silver box connected to a Sony Trinitron 36" (CRT - don't laugh) using composite video, and it looks far better that the LCD TV on component video.

xconvic

Postby xconvic » November 23rd, 2010, 9:48 am

Does the epg guide show on anyone's box these days because of late mine is non functional.

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » November 23rd, 2010, 11:13 am

^^I've go the silver and black boxes. QUITE Frequently, on the silver box the EPG comes up but there is no listing for many of the channels. On the black box - the EPG comes up (and you can toggle two different views) but if you scroll through the channels - the channels change as you scroll through - which is annoying. I don't know if there is a setting to modify that.

kuchurV2

Postby kuchurV2 » December 8th, 2010, 9:10 pm

The Telecom Authority of Trinidad & Tobago (TATT) has recently issued instructions to all Cable TV operators within Trinidad & Tobago to cease the broadcast of the movie channels Starz and Showtime. Green Dot Limited (GDL) has strongly opposed this for a number of reasons, the most prevalent being:

1. Both Starz and Showtime have not given rights for broadcast within the Caribbean – most likely due to the fact that they consider the region too small and insignificant.

2. The majority of other Caribbean territories and their Citizens currently do and will continue to enjoy these premium movie channels and as such this instruction is being enforced for Trinidad & Tobago only.

3. There are alternate solutions to resolving the situation but in our opinion all these have not been explored prior to the instruction being issued.

The instruction from TATT states that all cable TV operators must terminate the broadcast of both channels by December 31st 2010. As much as we disagree, GDL is left with no choice but to comply with this and hence will cease to broadcast both channels on this date.

GDL continues to challenge this decision with TATT and also the Minister of Public Administration, however as of this date the challenges have been futile. In the interest of the Citizens of T&T, we encourage you to direct all concerns on this subject to the Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago and also the Ministry responsible for this sector:

Mr. Cris Seecheran
Executive Director
Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago
#5, Eighth Avenue Extension, off Twelfth Street
Barataria
Tel : 675 8288, 221-8288 Senator the Honourable R. Nan Ramgoolam
Minister, Ministry of Public Administration
Level 5-7 National Library Building
Corner Hart and Abercromby Streets
Port of Spain
Tel : 623 6724

We apologize for the disruption to your viewing, however, GDL are actively looking to finalize contracts and negotiations with other content providers and will be adding further channels in due course. We are also in the midst of negotiations with HBO that provide Premium movie content however these channels will incur a separate charge. GDL will update in due course.

kuchurV2

Postby kuchurV2 » December 8th, 2010, 9:11 pm

Stueps

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 8th, 2010, 9:15 pm

d fcuk

like Flow went crying to TATT or what? steups :S

Postby M_2NR » December 8th, 2010, 9:16 pm

kuchurV2 wrote:Stueps

my sentiments... but w/e those movie channels does show sh!t anyway... and all those packages too...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 8th, 2010, 9:19 pm

ah hope we get hbo/cinemax instead and not d latin sheit either

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » December 8th, 2010, 9:21 pm

kuchurV2 wrote:The Telecom Authority of Trinidad & Tobago (TATT) has recently issued instructions to all Cable TV operators within Trinidad & Tobago to cease the broadcast of the movie channels Starz and Showtime. Green Dot Limited (GDL) has strongly opposed this for a number of reasons, the most prevalent being:

1. Both Starz and Showtime have not given rights for broadcast within the Caribbean – most likely due to the fact that they consider the region too small and insignificant.

2. The majority of other Caribbean territories and their Citizens currently do and will continue to enjoy these premium movie channels and as such this instruction is being enforced for Trinidad & Tobago only.

3. There are alternate solutions to resolving the situation but in our opinion all these have not been explored prior to the instruction being issued.

The instruction from TATT states that all cable TV operators must terminate the broadcast of both channels by December 31st 2010. As much as we disagree, GDL is left with no choice but to comply with this and hence will cease to broadcast both channels on this date.

GDL continues to challenge this decision with TATT and also the Minister of Public Administration, however as of this date the challenges have been futile. In the interest of the Citizens of T&T, we encourage you to direct all concerns on this subject to the Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago and also the Ministry responsible for this sector:

Mr. Cris Seecheran
Executive Director
Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago
#5, Eighth Avenue Extension, off Twelfth Street
Barataria
Tel : 675 8288, 221-8288 Senator the Honourable R. Nan Ramgoolam
Minister, Ministry of Public Administration
Level 5-7 National Library Building
Corner Hart and Abercromby Streets
Port of Spain
Tel : 623 6724

We apologize for the disruption to your viewing, however, GDL are actively looking to finalize contracts and negotiations with other content providers and will be adding further channels in due course. We are also in the midst of negotiations with HBO that provide Premium movie content however these channels will incur a separate charge. GDL will update in due course.

This was my main reason for considering GDTV , guess I'll be waiting for Blink Entertainment.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 8th, 2010, 9:39 pm

therefore flow digital will have to drop these channels tooo........

why ppl does make other ppl like so uncomfortable.....

What chris seecharan getting outta doing ppl this???

steups.......

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 8th, 2010, 10:58 pm

Nigson wrote:therefore flow digital will have to drop these channels tooo........

since when flow have starz and showtime?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 9th, 2010, 6:22 am

Doesnt' flow digital offer starz and showtime aslo........That information was posted right in this thread by a tuner.... ......

Postby Damien » December 9th, 2010, 6:52 am

Anyone getting bad service in the central area ? Constant horizontal waves on the screen

Postby cinco » December 9th, 2010, 6:57 am

fack i guess i hadda give up greendot now
central has no problems damien except sometimes the box has to be unplugged to reset

Postby Damien » December 9th, 2010, 7:52 am

Will try dat, it have some birds nesting on the dish so I don't know if this causing it as well

Postby cinco » December 9th, 2010, 7:54 am

could be
the microwave is near my dish so when you turn on the microwave the tv gets scrambled :lol:

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » December 9th, 2010, 1:21 pm

DAMMMITT!!!!!! F*&^KK!!!!!

Starz and Showtime gives you more RECENT movie options other than TNT. Those two channels gave the edge for GDTV on the other options out there. That was the main reason (and price) why I gave up Flow! I even sacrificed Speed channel too (which was mostly US based motorsports anyhow).

If there is nothing that can be done about it, and there are no comparable substitute options at this time, shouldn't we be entitled to a discount in this case? But then again - getting a discount or rebate has as much chance of happening as a snowball surviving in hell I suppose.

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » December 9th, 2010, 2:21 pm

you all get a dish...?
they not using the chicken wire anymore?

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » December 9th, 2010, 4:06 pm

well from the day they take off starz and showtime from Greendot which was one of the main reasons for chosing them I will be returning their service and requesting a refund for the remaining months as I paid for the year in advance package which was a pretty good deal.
Let's see how this goes....Fack tv/cable yes I fed up of all dey crap

Postby pete » December 9th, 2010, 4:17 pm

I wonder what will be the fate of Mayaro Cable etc.

xconvic

Postby xconvic » December 9th, 2010, 10:20 pm

Oh sheit,this is rel flecking mess.Wta wrong with TATT,I feel they get pay off from GD competitors to do this. Starz is one of the channels that premiere movies sometimes 6 months after it has been released in cinema and thats what I like about Starz. Hopefully GD can acquire cinemax.

Postby M_2NR » December 9th, 2010, 10:22 pm

Damien wrote:Will try dat, it have some birds nesting on the dish so I don't know if this causing it as well

*awaits xtech*
posting.php?mode=quote&f=4&p=4971495

pete wrote:I wonder what will be the fate of Mayaro Cable etc.

x2.. but wait... DEM LEGAL!!??

xtech

Postby xtech » December 9th, 2010, 10:53 pm

M_2NR wrote:
Damien wrote:Will try dat, it have some birds nesting on the dish so I don't know if this causing it as well

*awaits xtech*
posting.php?mode=quote&f=4&p=4971495

pete wrote:I wonder what will be the fate of Mayaro Cable etc.

x2.. but wait... DEM LEGAL!!??

u mean Rio Claro cableman......................... very illegal

Greendot buys internet from TSTT.........

now
If Flow hate GDTV
If Direct TV hate GDTV

who will GDTV buy TV from

now
if RIO cable goes bye bye well......................................................no more GDTV
money back guaranty

dats if blink wants to sell TV to kill flow an DirectTV market penatration using GDTV digital TV techno on Bmobile towers bringing GDTV/Blink TV to everyone

Postby M_2NR » December 9th, 2010, 11:16 pm

na i mean about d bird nest on d man tv grill. :rofl: but point taken.

also that signature not legal eh :|

xconvic

Postby xconvic » December 9th, 2010, 11:18 pm

Thats the point for instance if you is Greendot and I'm TSTT,even thought you paying me to use my services,if I can get you to close down then that means less competition.More customers for me and in the long run generate more revenue.

xtech

Postby xtech » December 9th, 2010, 11:21 pm

M_2NR wrote:na i mean about d bird nest on d man tv grill. :rofl: but point taken.

oh the man box bad..........bird on grill is harmless.........microwave dont affect it either is digital tv is either it on or off

but wat wrong with my sig............is used stuff that i have home to get rid off
my baby can read an not interested in the dvds anymore

Postby M_2NR » December 9th, 2010, 11:26 pm

ohhh :P wasnt looking so nuh. I know by now you'd know the rules anyway.

and thanks for the explanation wrt to the grille

Postby cinco » December 10th, 2010, 7:37 am

xtech wrote:
M_2NR wrote:na i mean about d bird nest on d man tv grill. :rofl: but point taken.

oh the man box bad..........bird on grill is harmless.........microwave dont affect it either is digital tv is either it on or off

but wat wrong with my sig............is used stuff that i have home to get rid off
my baby can read an not interested in the dvds anymore

well then come let me show you

xtech

Postby xtech » December 10th, 2010, 8:04 am

well my microwave is under my antenna. an the frequency range is not right for interference........ your signal strength must be very low or maybe the microwave interference might be leaking back into the power lines

Effects of poor reception
Changes in signal reception from factors such as degrading antenna connections or changing weather conditions may gradually reduce the quality of analog TV. The nature of digital TV results in a perfectly-decodable video initially, until the receiving equipment starts picking up interference that overpowers the desired signal or if the signal is too weak to decode. Some equipment will show a garbled picture with significant damage, while other devices may go directly from perfectly-decodable video to no video at all or lock up. This phenomenon is known as the digital cliff effect.
For remote locations, distant channels that, as analog signals, were previously usable in a snowy and degraded state may, as digital signals, be perfectly decodable or may become completely unavailable. In areas where transmitting antennas are located on mountains, viewers who are too close to the transmitter may find reception difficult or impossible because the strongest part of the broadcast signal passes above them. The use of higher frequencies will add to these problems, especially in cases where a clear line-of-sight from the receiving antenna to the transmitter is not available.
Multi-path interference is a much more significant problem for DTV than for analog TV and affects reception, particularly when using simple antennas such as rabbit ears. This is perceived as ghosting with analog broadcasts, but this same problem manifests itself in a different way with DTV. Multi-path can be worse for DTV under high signal conditions. If the problem is severe enough, multi-path can be perceived by the viewer as a spotty loss of audio or picture freezing and pixelation.
Dynamic multipath interference, in which the delay and magnitude of reflections are rapidly changing, is particularly problematic for digital reception. While this just produces moving and changing ghost images for analog TV, it can render a digital signal impossible to decode. The 8VSB-based standards in use in North American ATSC broadcasts are particularly vulnerable to problems from dynamic multipath; this has the potential to severely limit mobile or portable use of digital television receivers.