Stock 1 Team DK + Maxxsonics + 2 DC Audio 10" = 148.2db

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » April 10th, 2010, 9:51 am

^^^^well the man accustomed doing SQ installs, where for every piece of copper you see you lose points so it carries over i guess.

that massive thing is a 10000rms Hifonics XXV-Maxximus. I remember yuh was telling me you run alot of power, but Jeff 10000rms is just plain ridiculous.

Does this setup play music at all?

jeff

Postby jeff » April 10th, 2010, 10:24 am

3stagevtec wrote:Just saw this.. 1st i have to say that is the neatest / cleanest SPL install i have ever seen!

and WFT is that massive thing on the left! :shock:

wayss dats a competitor install!??? :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby 3stagevtec » April 10th, 2010, 10:37 am

carfreak1024 wrote:^^^^well the man accustomed doing SQ installs, where for every piece of copper you see you lose points so it carries over i guess.

that massive thing is a 10000rms Hifonics XXV-Maxximus. I remember yuh was telling me you run alot of power, but Jeff 10000rms is just plain ridiculous.

Does this setup play music at all?

all those 0's looking really sick... from what i was told, the system can play music.. :shock: 2 10" gallery anyone?

jeff wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:Just saw this.. 1st i have to say that is the neatest / cleanest SPL install i have ever seen!

and WFT is that massive thing on the left! :shock:

wayss dats a competitor install!??? :shock: :shock: :shock:

i'm sorry for who ever has to compete against that guy... :shock:

southside connections

Postby southside connections » April 10th, 2010, 10:56 am

wow, powa like fuss time weee

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » April 10th, 2010, 10:58 am

yeah boi, yuh could have box rise all the way to 8 ohms and still hit a decent score with that beast, and be rell efficient too.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 10th, 2010, 11:12 am

ah man have 4k more power than me so jes now he might cut my tail too .... :oops:

jeff

Postby jeff » April 10th, 2010, 2:26 pm

ok ppl the reason this amp is being used is because i read somewhere on the forum that heavier amps mean more power :mrgreen:

this amp is not setup for burping, it is more being used as a daily driver and when burping the impedance of the subs show over 5 point something ohms.

due to the power supply requirements of this amp also, in stock class where only 1 additional battery is used the amp cannot be pushed hard as low voltage would certainly lead to disaster.

last year we tried to push the amp and burnt some fuses we had put in for saftey

u should see the rest of the wiring, heat shrink and techflex ftw, installation integrity is not only for sq competition, i have never damaged a speaker or an amp in my life and do not intend to.

Postby SR » April 10th, 2010, 3:46 pm

Kasey wrote:"The vehicle’s OEM factory style alternator can be upgraded from its original OEM factory output only"
So I quoted this out of the manual with rules for the Stock category. What does this mean exactly?

factory alternator can be internally modded for increase in output power

replacing the the alternator with an aftermarket unit will get you bumped out of stock class as the alternator is not factory oem

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » April 11th, 2010, 9:32 am

(...Rovin...) wrote::shock:

ah man have 4k more power than me so jes now he might cut my tail too .... :oops:

jus 4k over you..thats 8500 rms more than i'm using :o

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 11th, 2010, 1:58 pm

Jeff now pass in front my house banging out "anotherone bites the dust" from queen.

Epic!!! :lol:

jeff

Postby jeff » April 11th, 2010, 4:41 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Jeff now pass in front my house banging out "anotherone bites the dust" from queen.

Epic!!! :lol:

lol @ the people comparing the amp listed rating, why not compare how much power is being set up to use?

If i burp @ 5.2 ohms at 13 volt with 1 battery in a stock car at 36hz will i make the amp rating?

it is no wonder how ppl damage amps with low voltage etc

i would actually like 3 stage to take it today, i would like to try these subs in an spl box :)

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » April 11th, 2010, 7:05 pm

yeah boi, but a quick question for you guys, about what jeff just said about low voltage blowing amps.

Could low voltage cause fuses to blow, one time i was playing my music dropping "a friend" home and as i pull up to she house, one sub cut out. I play cool and i stop about 10 houses down and start to check thing. The amp was not coming on, and i checked the fuses in my distro block, nothing blown. So i say oh sh1t, I mash up my amp, and start to cuss. I drove home and for the next 3 weeks with just one sub. Then one day i saw a pair of 40 amp fuses just lying around and thought, what if it was the amp fuses that blow. And sure enough it was, the plastic cases on the fuses were melted and the fuses themselves blown. I was never been able to diagnose that issue, but whatever, i fixed that problem and the amps were fine, but curiosity always made me wonder what happened there. I mean i do not have no extreme kinda battery system in my car, but i have 1/0 from front to back, BIG 3, a 13 plate in the front, and a kinetik hc1800 in the trunk.

What yall think cause the fuses to blow?

jeff

Postby jeff » April 11th, 2010, 10:31 pm

carfreak1024 wrote:yeah boi, but a quick question for you guys, about what jeff just said about low voltage blowing amps.

Could low voltage cause fuses to blow, one time i was playing my music dropping "a friend" home and as i pull up to she house, one sub cut out. I play cool and i stop about 10 houses down and start to check thing. The amp was not coming on, and i checked the fuses in my distro block, nothing blown. So i say oh sh1t, I mash up my amp, and start to cuss. I drove home and for the next 3 weeks with just one sub. Then one day i saw a pair of 40 amp fuses just lying around and thought, what if it was the amp fuses that blow. And sure enough it was, the plastic cases on the fuses were melted and the fuses themselves blown. I was never been able to diagnose that issue, but whatever, i fixed that problem and the amps were fine, but curiosity always made me wonder what happened there. I mean i do not have no extreme kinda battery system in my car, but i have 1/0 from front to back, BIG 3, a 13 plate in the front, and a kinetik hc1800 in the trunk.

What yall think cause the fuses to blow?

in your case this is probably install issue,the current draw from your amps is not enough to do this

jeff

Postby jeff » April 11th, 2010, 10:32 pm

big up team 2lo2 flo, for beating my score!!! :mrgreen:
Last edited by jeff on April 11th, 2010, 10:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » April 11th, 2010, 10:48 pm

so you retired now or....?

sorry I couldnt be there to see this in person.

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » April 11th, 2010, 10:49 pm

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 11th, 2010, 11:06 pm

150+?

Carfreak whatever- only way I figured out to blow the onboard fuses were to cross the negitive and positive wires. So quite possibly like jeff said it could have been an install issue.

jeff

Postby jeff » April 11th, 2010, 11:14 pm

yup team2lo2flo made a 150.2

i made a 148.1

i take my lix

this thread is far from ended, i will brace my box etc now :)

Postby nervewrecker » April 11th, 2010, 11:18 pm

& it continues.....

I have to be there next event to witness the next round. :oops:

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 11th, 2010, 11:27 pm

GOD DAMN!!

Congrates to runal and team 2lo 2flo!! Let them sq men know they can't come spl and try to beat spl men. NAAA!! :mrgreen:

Ok back to my courner now.

audioangel

Postby audioangel » April 11th, 2010, 11:43 pm

yep congrats to them, very impressive :mrgreen:

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » April 11th, 2010, 11:45 pm

yeah it could definitely be an install issue, that install was crazy, wires everywhere just out of immediate site.

I guess its just an example of the shoe maker not having any shoes. I always do some rell nice installs for everyone else and my car always ends up being a rush job.

Hope i do it good this time.

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » April 12th, 2010, 12:17 am

Congrats!!

Well done guys...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 12th, 2010, 1:14 am

when i see 150.2 i was like :shock: :shock: :shock: bwda boi ! .... congrats on d score runal (3stage' bro) ... :P

Postby 3stagevtec » April 12th, 2010, 8:31 am

jeff wrote:yup team2lo2flo made a 150.2

i made a 148.1

i take my lix

this thread is far from ended, i will brace my box etc now :)

need to correct this..

I am a member of team 2lo2flo, not my bro.. and NO ONE from the team, including me helped him with the design of his enclosure..

No one but my bro deserves credit for that score.. :!:

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » April 12th, 2010, 9:03 am

great work everyone !!

Glad to see competition heating up !

casper

Postby casper » April 12th, 2010, 9:12 am

congrats on a damn good score man.....alyuh shud get some kinda sponsorship from audiopipe for all that friggin madness alyuh doin with them subs :shock:

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 12th, 2010, 9:42 am

SR wrote:
Kasey wrote:"The vehicle’s OEM factory style alternator can be upgraded from its original OEM factory output only"
So I quoted this out of the manual with rules for the Stock category. What does this mean exactly?

factory alternator can be internally modded for increase in output power

replacing the the alternator with an aftermarket unit will get you bumped out of stock class as the alternator is not factory oem

Wait, the second line to that rule states "larger alternators in physical size and or shape are not allowed" which suggests to me that I CAN change out my alt to an aftermarket piece once in keeping within the physical restraints.

But if that's my understanding of the rule then the question arises how can a judge tell what my stock alt looked like?

Also if we go by your understanding of the rule ie internals modded does that mean "rewinding" an alt or something so? I.e unreliable means of upgrade?

Just saying.

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » April 12th, 2010, 9:46 am

You can upgrade your alternator to an "aftermarket" one, once its of a similar size/style as the Oem one.

Postby SR » April 12th, 2010, 9:48 am

this usually means another alternator from another vehicle that will fit

eg the usualy swap out to a higher output nissan alternator from say 60-70 amp to 110