Petrotrin refinery shut down

Re: Petrotrin refinery shut down

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 23rd, 2019, 5:12 pm

So, logic time....clearly after Roget's last hurahh we know how much he likes shitlickers and we know who the OWTU supports...Roget said to kamla that they will pay the political price for preventing them from going back to work...SO

the people that close down Petrotrin and send home thousands should just continue to operate as normal??? Last time I checked OWTU was employed under the UNC and unemployed under the PNM but the UNC will pay the price??? Well doh fck me up

Postby The_Honourable » October 23rd, 2019, 10:03 pm

But wait shakes... there's more...

Original tweet in spanish: https://twitter.com/fnjpetrolera/status ... 5567133697

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 23rd, 2019, 10:04 pm

Redman wrote:
Redman wrote:Pots and Kettles and things of a darkened hue.

Ollour remember when NAR/PP/UNC sold Petrotrin?
Nah, me neither :roll:
EVERY SINGLE major asset that this country has ever had, from PT, to ISCOTT, to TRINGEN, TTMC etc. were sold by the PNM. Mind you, prior to said sales, they made sure to royally fack it up, and run it into the ground through their cronies, and poor appointments, which continue to this day with the appointment of JUHN Scarfy lawyer as head honcho at PT. So please take your ridiculous equivocation argument, find the closest roadway on which people have sex, and proceed to travel in an upward direction.

So you agree with that Wayne Sturge post ??
Damn right!

Let PNM continue to support this Mugabe without question, Trinidad heading to become the Zimbabwe of the Caribbean

Postby sMASH » October 23rd, 2019, 10:20 pm

what is the venezuelan word for 'patriotic'?

Postby De Dragon » October 23rd, 2019, 10:22 pm

Redman wrote:
Redman wrote:Pots and Kettles and things of a darkened hue.

Ollour remember when NAR/PP/UNC sold Petrotrin?
Nah, me neither :roll:
EVERY SINGLE major asset that this country has ever had, from PT, to ISCOTT, to TRINGEN, TTMC etc. were sold by the PNM. Mind you, prior to said sales, they made sure to royally fack it up, and run it into the ground through their cronies, and poor appointments, which continue to this day with the appointment of JUHN Scarfy lawyer as head honcho at PT. So please take your ridiculous equivocation argument, find the closest roadway on which people have sex, and proceed to travel in an upward direction.

So you agree with that Wayne Sturge post ??

Wayne Sturge is a blowhard and buffoon, and I have no doubt there is a UNC hand in this looking to create some mayhem for the GORTT before the elections, much as they may protest to the contrary. However, he does raise some valid points. Also it is curious to note Roget's very uneven response to the actions of the PNM and UNC. The PNM abruptly shut PT down since last year, sent everyone home, contrary to the advice it was given by the million dollar consultants it engaged :? Roget apparently went by WELDFAB, had all of his orifices welded shut. Why?
UNC raised questions about the sale of PT and all of a sudden we hear about ultimatums, "return to the streets" and that the injunction, if granted will hurt ex PT workers, and the fenceline communities :? Imagine this traitorous leech, awash with blood money from the PNM from last GE, saying their actions after the closure of PT were "prayer and candlelight vigil outside of the PM's Office" "street meetings at Cedros and Marabella on Sept. 3rd and5th, and a 7 day rest and reflection, and demonstration outside the PM's Office from Sept 26-28 :lol:
This is the response of a man who is clearly so far up JUHN Scarfy's arse, that he could see out of his mouth.
So yes, I support that aspect of Sturge's post, in that we need to see EXACTLY how the decision was arrived at.

Postby Redman » October 24th, 2019, 6:03 am

So my point is simply that while he calling out who is quiet now, he is silent on the things that happened when his people were involved.Therefore guilty of the same things he accusing everyone else of.
His self righteous indignation is a joke
He is a political animal.

Let's see where the injunction goes

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 24th, 2019, 6:44 am

OWTU ha no moarneyyyy but they bidding
OWTU support shitlickers for closing down Petrotin but questioning Kamla cuz she wants to know to whom is the refinery really being sold to

waw

Postby aaron17 » October 24th, 2019, 10:17 am

Despite all the layoffs and stuff... unemployment rate is still low ...minister Jennifer Baptiste Primus said.
Express 24th oct

Postby The_Honourable » October 24th, 2019, 11:36 am

With OWTU's venom towards the UNC, they are in defence mode circulating a list... as people are asking why they didn't have all this venom towards the PNM before the refinery close down.

Postby zoom rader » October 24th, 2019, 1:13 pm

The_Honourable wrote:With OWTU's venom towards the UNC, they are in defence mode circulating a list... as people are asking why they didn't have all this venom towards the PNM before the refinery close down.

Did i not explain that trade unions are nothing more but extensions of the PNM

All unions in TT are PNM unions.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 24th, 2019, 1:49 pm

The_Honourable wrote:With OWTU's venom towards the UNC, they are in defence mode circulating a list... as people are asking why they didn't have all this venom towards the PNM before the refinery close down.

Hey, where did you get this information and/or, who compiled it? I would like to get in touch with whoever did this.

Postby eliteauto » October 24th, 2019, 2:37 pm

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/unc ... M.facebook

The United National Congress has withdrawn an application for an injunction of the sale of the Petrotrin refinery.

Former UNC senator Wayne Sturge was seeking an injunction compelling Finance Ministere Colm Imbert to call a meeting of the Joint Select Committee (JSC) of Parliament on Energy.

The injunction sought to block the sale of the refinery as there was no JSC to scrutinise the deal.

However, Imbert's attorney Martin Daly informed the court that the meeting of JSC on Energy will be held next Wednesday.

More on this later.

Postby Redman » October 24th, 2019, 2:39 pm

Steups

Postby The_Honourable » October 24th, 2019, 4:34 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Hey, where did you get this information and/or, who compiled it? I would like to get in touch with whoever did this.

Source: https://www.facebook.com/OilfieldsWorke ... 3315853656

But more than likely is the OWTU Education & Research Officer, Ozzi Warwick. Cool chap, should bring him in your program.

Postby De Dragon » October 24th, 2019, 9:48 pm

Redman wrote:So my point is simply that while he calling out who is quiet now, he is silent on the things that happened when his people were involved.Therefore guilty of the same things he accusing everyone else of.

Are you for real? What was he supposed to do, make noise because the refinery wasn't closed down by the PP in their term in office? :roll: PT was closed by the PNM :? , and he apparently, wants to know what was the process followed. I suspect his motivations may be other than the "concerned citizen" though, but once again your thought process and comment baffle me.

Postby sMASH » October 25th, 2019, 6:26 am

union was part of the decision to close it. so all the bruhaha and marching for the shut down was just for show. and it explains why it was half assed.

it was a giant plot

Postby Redman » October 25th, 2019, 7:07 am

Redman wrote:So my point is simply that while he calling out who is quiet now, he is silent on the things that happened when his people were involved.Therefore guilty of the same things he accusing everyone else of.

Are you for real? What was he supposed to do, make noise because the refinery wasn't closed down by the PP in their term in office? :roll: PT was closed by the PNM :? , and he apparently, wants to know what was the process followed. I suspect his motivations may be other than the "concerned citizen" though, but once again your thought process and comment baffle me.

As I have posted I have no issue with the injunction-they right-the JSCC should have been part of the process.

But the self righteous bleating about all these things ring hollow based on his past.
I mean he with RAMDEEN-the invoicer of the dead.
That post by Sturge is chit

Postby zoom rader » October 25th, 2019, 7:10 am

Redman wrote:

As I have posted I have no issue with the injunction-they right-the JSCC should have been part of the process.

But the self righteous bleating about all these things ring hollow based on his past.
I mean he with RAMDEEN-the invoicer of the dead.
That post by Sturge is chit

Redman, How high up are you in the PNM?

What position you hold ?

Postby Redman » October 25th, 2019, 7:44 am

Whatever position that you both feel comfortable with as a Couple.
steups

Postby De Dragon » October 25th, 2019, 7:59 am

Redman wrote:Whatever position that you both feel comfortable with as a Couple.
steups

You're a dotish arse simple and plain. You accuse Sturge of being hypocritical in not asking for the same transparency when PP was in office, but dotishly seem not to recognize, or want to, even after it was pointed out to you (yet another instance) that the circumstances could not have possibly been any different. When reminded of this, you proceed to further "arsify" yourself by getting you bingo bags in a twist.
Last edited by De Dragon on October 27th, 2019, 11:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » October 25th, 2019, 8:53 am

steups
How much PNM pays you for the garbage and lies you put here daily?

Can't you get a real job?

Even Eleit laughs at you and he's more PNM than you in a few words

Postby The_Honourable » October 25th, 2019, 10:35 am

GOVT BACKS DOWN

Sturge withdraws injunction, refinery deal goes to JSC

FORMER United National Congress (UNC) senator Wayne Sturge has withdrawn his injunction application which sought to temporarily block the pending sale of the Pointe-a-Pierre refinery – now called Guaracara Refining Co Ltd – and which drew the ire of the Oilfield Workers Trade Union (OWTU) the preferred bidder for the state asset.

Had the injunction been granted, it would have potentially stalled the sale for months until the attorney's constitutional claim was determined by the courts.

Sturge's decision to withdraw his application came after attorneys for Minister of Finance Colm Imbert indicated that the Joint Select Committee (JSC) on Energy would convene next Wednesday.

Sturge was also seeking an injunction to compel the minister, who is also the chairman of the committee, to hold a meeting.

Sturge complained that the committee did not meet for almost 20 months and had as “the singular subject of consideration” when it last met on February 21, 2018, the restructuring of Petrotrin.

When the injunction applications came up for hearing before Justice Ronnie Boodoosingh in the Port of Spain High Court yesterday, Martin Daly, SC, who leads a team of attorneys for the finance minister, told the judge the committee would meet next Wednesday.

Sturge’s attorney, Gerald Ramdeen, said the decision to convene the committee meant that the injunctions would be unnecessary since his client’s applications intended to ask the court for directions or the purpose of upholding the Constitution and rule of law and holding the Government, the Executive and the Cabinet accountable to the Parliament for decisions made with respect to the sale of the refinery.

However, he said the former senator still wanted to pursue the question of whether Imbert, as chairman of the committee, acted unlawfully by not convening a meeting for some 20 months.

Boodoosingh adjourned the matter to November 12 so that parties could decide on how they planned to proceed with the case since Daly suggested that the court could consider as a preliminary issue, whether it had jurisdiction to pronounce of Parliamentary procedures.

The Parliament’s lead counsel, Deborah Peake, agreed with the court hearing the preliminary issue. She also said her client was expecting a ruling on the same issue which might assist.

On November 1, a judge is expected to rule on Oropouche East MP Dr Roodal Moonial’s challenge of the composition of the Privileges Committee of Parliament which investigated a contempt allegation against him.

Peake submitted that in Sturge’s case, her client was willing to produce evidence that there were other avenues available to the former senator to get accountability in Parliament.

On September 20, Imbert announced the sale of the former Petrotrin refinery operations to Patriotic Energies and Technologies Co Ltd, which is wholly owned by the OWTU.

The minister said from the results for the request for proposals for the sale of the refinery, Patriotic was the only bidder that offered an upfront consideration of US$700 million.

Sturge, in his constitutional motion, filed by attorneys Gerald Ramdeen, Umesh Maharaj and Dayadai Harripaul, sought declarations that the failure by the JSC chairman to hold a meeting of the committee for the last 19 months was unlawful.

According to his claim, the attorney said he considered it his responsibility to uphold the law and do all he could to prevent the undermining of the rule of law in the public interest.

“Before the Joint Select Committee of Parliament was given an opportunity to complete its task, the Board of directors of Petrotrin, who were before the committee at the time, took a decision to close the refinery operations of Petrotrin.

“This was a decision that was subsequently accepted by the Cabinet and the Government. This decision had the effect of placing on the breadline in excess of 5,000 workers directly and in excess of 4,000 indirectly.

According to Sturge, the decisions of the Government and the Cabinet were taken “in an atmosphere of secrecy and mystery” and the decision to not convene a meeting of the JSC on Energy for the past 20 months, was “deliberate and intentional” on Imbert’s part, especially since as Finance Minister he would have been “intimately involved” in the decisions taken on the refinery.

“The decision was designed to ensure that the committee would be unable to discharge its functions during this most critical time in the history of the energy sector of our country when irreversible decisions were being made by the government with respect to the patrimony of our country,” he said.

“Had the Joint Select Committee on Energy been allowed to discharge its constitutional function the decisions of the chairman and the Cabinet to which he belongs would have been the subject of examination by the committee.

“The population is forced to accept the information that the Government, the Cabinet, and the Executive have placed in the public domain justifying these decisions,” Sturge said.

“While there has been no shortage of public statements by the minister, the said minister by his inactions has deprived the Parliament of the ability to scrutinise those statements and hold the government, the Executive and the Cabinet accountable for the decisions that have been taken,” he added.

Patriotic Energies and Technologies, led by Senior Counsel Douglas Mendes, did not make submissions since the injunction applications were withdrawn.

After Sturge’s application had been filed, the OWTU’s lead Ancel Roget said if the injunction was successful it would have affected workers and fenceline communities from benefitting from an initial injection of $2.5 billion to restart the refinery. He promised that the union would expose the plot” by the Opposition UNC for wanting to stop the proposed sale.

Meanwhile, Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar questioned the proposed sale to Patriotic Energies and promised to reopen the refinery.

Senior Counsel Fyard Hosein and Amrita Ramsook are representing the Attorney General, while Jason Mootoo also appears for the Finance Minister while Ravi Heffes-Doon appears with Peake for the Parliament.

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2019/10/25/govt-backs-down/

Postby toyolink » October 25th, 2019, 10:37 am

Still I don't know what are the things which have to be executed for this transaction to result in the refinery being revived.
The way things are can only be described as 'hoping for the best but harbor real concerns'.
I wonder how many former petrotrin employees have expectations of re-employment?

Postby Redman » October 25th, 2019, 10:45 am

steups
How much PNM pays you for the garbage and lies you put here daily?

Can't you get a real job?

Even Eleit laughs at you and he's more PNM than you in a few words

Not enough....you post your dotishness for free?
What lies though?

Postby Slartibartfast » October 25th, 2019, 12:55 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Hey, where did you get this information and/or, who compiled it? I would like to get in touch with whoever did this.

Source: https://www.facebook.com/OilfieldsWorke ... 3315853656

But more than likely is the OWTU Education & Research Officer, Ozzi Warwick. Cool chap, should bring him in your program.
Thanks! Definitely going to try to get in touch with him now.

wing

Postby wing » October 25th, 2019, 1:26 pm

toyolink wrote:Still I don't know what are the things which have to be executed for this transaction to result in the refinery being revived.
The way things are can only be described as 'hoping for the best but harbor real concerns'.
I wonder how many former petrotrin employees have expectations of re-employment?
All, all, all.

airuma

Postby airuma » November 4th, 2019, 10:02 am

@ Redman, you’re talking like this is more than an election bribe to the union!

Postby De Dragon » November 4th, 2019, 5:28 pm

airuma wrote:@ Redman, you’re talking like this is more than an election bribe to the union!

Red Plastic Bag's view is that once the PNM is involved, there is no way that it can be corrupt, as JUHN Scarfy and Co. are pure as the driven snow.

Postby Redman » November 4th, 2019, 6:06 pm

Midol Dumass Midol

Postby hydroep » November 7th, 2019, 6:49 am

Police clear Rowley
No link between PM and account
Ria Chaitram

THE TTPS has found no link between Prime Minister Dr Rowley and a foreign bank account, first revealed by Oropouche East MP Dr Roodal Moonilal during debate in Parliamemt last year.

Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith revealed the findings of a police investigation during the weekly police press briefing yesterday at police administration building in Port of Spain.

“The initial preliminary findings have stated that in regard to the allegations made by the MP (Dr Moonilal) on the honourable PM revealed no nexus between the subject and the account number identified in that case summary,” Griffith said.

During the 2018 budget debate, Moonilal claimed to have documents including an e-mail, as he sought to link the PM to corrupt dealings via banking transactions done in Florida that involved A&V Drilling company. Rowley referred the matter to the police for investigation.

Head of the Financial Investigation Branch Ag Supt Wendell Lucas, who was also present at the press briefing, said the matter has not been closed and these findings came out of a preliminary investigation. “We are continuing to work with the FIU (Financial Intelligence Unit) and our foreign counterparts in order to bring closure to this matter,” Lucas said.

Contacted for comment, Moonilal noted that while the statement by Griffith was the result of a preliminary investigation, he remains in awe at the police’s findings since he was never interviewed by the investigator.

“I am at a loss to know how they arrived at a preliminary finding if they didn’t speak with me, collect any documents or ask for any documents,” Moonilal said.

He denied allegations that he was unwilling to co-operate with police and believes a sinister motive was behind the police’s findings.

“Until yesterday (Tuesday) I was never contacted or written to, to assist with this matter. I am shocked to find out that someone said they tried to contact me and could not. I am a public figure and easy to find.

“Now that I have been contacted, arrangements have been made with the investigating units to meet early next week,” Moonilal said.

He also alleged that a member of the Fraud Squad has been passing on information to the office of the Attorney General, which he said, has no remit over such matters.

Moonilal said the issue raised against the PM centred on a wire transfer and not him (Rowley) having foreign bank accounts. “At no time was Dr Rowley accused of having foreign bank accounts. The matter was concerning one specific wire transfer,” Moonilal said. The police’s attempt to bring closure to this matter is welcomed, he said. Attempts to reach Rowley for a comment proved futile.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/11/07/police-clear-rowley/