Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby innovative audio » April 15th, 2012, 10:23 am

thinking about this line up for my home theatre

lemme know what are your views

Denon AVR-1912 receiver

Energy 5.1 take classic home theatre system
http://www.amazon.com/Energy-Classic-Th ... 764&sr=8-1

OR

PIONEER SP-BS21LR for both front and surround, SP-C21 for centre and SW-8 subwoofer
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/ ... r+Speakers

tried to get the package deal on the pioneer but apparantly its no longer available so i have to buy them separate.

lemme know what u guys think of these. i cud do with a 2 cents

Shannon

Postby Shannon » April 17th, 2012, 10:37 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 17th, 2012, 1:12 pm

^ has an Apple feel to it!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 26th, 2012, 8:02 pm

are there any local companies that sell high def projectors? looking for one that can project images in the 100 inches range...

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 26th, 2012, 8:10 pm

^ebay/amazon for it.

Nearly all can project around 100-120inches,what you wanna look at is what resolution is it doing it at,your safe @ 1920X1080 ala 1080p.Check the ones from Optoma,their HD20 is a pretty good bargin,still have a HD65 going strong 3 years now.

also a good place to start is :

http://www.projectorreviews.com/

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 26th, 2012, 9:14 pm

yeah normally i would buy something like that online, but it's for work. would need to be purchased thru govt invoice.

need to get quotes for equipment, set up etc.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » April 26th, 2012, 9:32 pm

^ check your PM

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 26th, 2012, 11:28 pm

^got it, thanks

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » April 27th, 2012, 2:05 am

Anybody have any LG LW6500 series tv? For months I searching for the 'recommended' picture quality settings and can't find it on any site. The most I found was for the previous series (LW5600) but it won't work on this one because some of the options are different. :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2012, 10:18 am

^ calibration depends on the lighting in your room plus other factors. Copying someone else's "recommended" settings may get you close to a good picture but it wont be perfect for you. Not to mention each person has their personal preference with how much red/blue/green, saturation, brightness etc.

A fairly cheap way to get a good enough picture and a proper starting point is to use a calibration disc such as Spears & Munsil. Or you can get a recent THX disc such as Star Wars on bluray that will have a calibration setup where it guides you through a series of screens letting you adjust the image until its better calibrated to improve your picture quality.

that way the settings will be suited to the environment your TV is in.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » May 3rd, 2012, 7:34 am

Logitech Surround Sound Speaker System Z906

$2500.00 - Retail

$2300.00 - Wholesale

Postby nervewrecker » May 4th, 2012, 11:01 pm

besides those 50v PS from parts express what else down here I might be able to use?

I am thinking something that can power up the 600watt and 4*100watt.

any opinions?

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 4th, 2012, 11:18 pm

I always wanted a few to make small powered monitors

but as for the power supply, I was thinking of modding a computer PSU or winding my own transformer lol

but check if Electronics stores here have 50volt or 25V transformers first before you bun down yuh house ... rectification and capacitors shudnt be a problem

Postby nervewrecker » May 4th, 2012, 11:22 pm

is there anything that can be used to strap a set of those 12V PS in series to build up the voltage?

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 5th, 2012, 1:26 am

naw mayne

series involves connecting the positive of one, to the negative of another

and what I realize is computer PSU's negative connected to the earth
so the negative terminals are the same

so in essence you will be short circuiting it lol

---------
but to step the voltage up you hadda do some epic hacking, you can get up to 50.8V
http://uzzors2k.4hv.org/index.php?page=atxbenchsupply

Postby pioneer » May 6th, 2012, 1:36 pm

Anyone know if rhino cable can be used opposed to using speaker wire?

Need to do a pretty long run

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » May 6th, 2012, 1:44 pm

^how long is long? you can pick up a 100ft monster cable 14g pretty cheap on ebay.

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 6th, 2012, 2:12 pm

Yep, rhino will work

Electrons don't discriminate, once it has a good path it will flow
just ensure to use a larger gauge than you would normally use for shorter runs, and account for power losses

Postby pioneer » May 6th, 2012, 2:31 pm

Yeh it's about 50ft x 2

Would usually use 16 awg...so opting for 12

Postby pioneer » May 6th, 2012, 4:38 pm

Feel i gonna order a roll of this 12/4 speaker wire...it gonna be runnin out of wall though...

Advent

Postby Advent » May 13th, 2012, 5:02 pm

where can i get home theater speaker mounts ? pm me please :)

Postby pioneer » May 13th, 2012, 6:55 pm

Advent wrote:where can i get home theater speaker mounts ? pm me please :)

I have a pair like this except in white...never used it

gimme ah bill

Postby pioneer » May 22nd, 2012, 6:59 pm

pioneer wrote:Anyone want a PPA OLS lighting kit?...i bought it but i don't need it anymore really...

It's the multicolor, I also bout 2 extra pairs of multicolor add on's

$450

$500 for both pairs (4)

Take everything for $850 :shock:

anyone?

Postby Sky » May 23rd, 2012, 9:58 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:I always wanted a few to make small powered monitors

but as for the power supply, I was thinking of modding a computer PSU or winding my own transformer lol

but check if Electronics stores here have 50volt or 25V transformers first before you bun down yuh house ... rectification and capacitors shudnt be a problem

Montrose Electronics has a lot of transformer setups.
12V, 24V, 48V, 50V.
Bare transormer, Transformer on a board with a rectifier and capacitor, some even with switches. Just for that application.

Was just contemplating making my own monitors with some boxes I already have.
But these boards look like they don't have pots and there's no headphone output.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » June 1st, 2012, 8:14 pm

FINALLY ordered my RC52 Center Channel,had my PSB Image B6'ers in biwire mode on double duty as center channel.I really should have bought that when monsteraudio was still in business,they was giving me it for $1900.i already getting raped for the price online and gonna have to lube up some more cause this thing weighs around 22lbs :(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 1st, 2012, 11:32 pm

^ sweet! - let us know how it performs!

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » June 6th, 2012, 9:19 pm

^picked it up this morning,thankfully they didnt charge me as much as i was anticipating,which is good. Hooked her up and all i can say is wow! having a matching front soundstage really does make a difference,i ran Audyssey and still had to up the gain in the center channel by like 1.5DB,looked at The Fifth Element on Bluray(2nd version),imaging is on que,not overpowered by the L or R fronts,clear voice as expected from klipsch sound.I'll be hanging on to this setup for quite sometime.I'll upgrade the surrounds later down the line,for now these Quintet II will have to do.In the mean time gonna save for a projector upgrade from this HD65 to something that is 1080p and higher contrast ratio and Elite Screen upgrade as well.

*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 7th, 2012, 10:49 am

Would love to hear it

Been contemplating changing the front stage from Klipsch Quintet SL to Reference

Postby X_Factor » June 8th, 2012, 9:19 pm

ru$$ell.......whats the actual weight on one of them?