COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

boxy

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 49 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby boxy » March 22nd, 2020, 9:27 am

symptoms appear between 2-15 days after exposure. Your argument is devoid of sense as he could have interacted with someone (young person) with mild sypmtoms in the airport who passing it off as the common cold which basically is why they trying to stop young people from socializing outside and for some reason they dont give a f**k

I still cant believe within this critical period people invoking politics.
UNC & PNM alike were attending all the sold out fetes and was wining to the ground on Carnival Mon-Tues in full masquerade
So far the proof is in the pudding people who are positive had recent travel history. I would stand corrected if a case was found earlier who didn't travel.
Also notice how responsible people like Fuad Khan and other Dr's within the UNC are treating this maybe that should be a sign of how they choose to not undermine their medical colleagues

Gladiator wrote:The man went Grenada boy... And the time he spent there was less time than the incubation period of Covid19. He came back sick on Tuesday and had to go hospital 6am on Thursday. He was critical...

So there is a 90% chance that he left trinidad with it.

Grenada had and still has no cases...

Put allyuh balisier in the cupboard for the next couple week and take out allyuh critical thinking hats duss it out and try to wear it. You can't trust the Government, they will play politics at every opportunity and this could cost lives.
j.o.e wrote:
hydroep wrote:Possible "Carnival Infection"...:|

COVID patient's daughter urges self-quarantines
Rhondor Dowlat-Rostant

With tears rolling down her cheeks, the daughter of one of the patients diagnosed with the COVID-19 virus and warded in a critical condition at the Couva Hospital fell to her knees on the shoulder of the highway and prayed for her father to pull through on Saturday.

The woman, who did not give her name or that of her father, who is 66 years, said he was one of the first five of confirmed cases. She said her father was still in a critical condition but “with small improvements.”

The woman said she strongly believed her father contracted the virus either while at the Piarco International Airport or in Trinidad but not while he was on vacation abroad.

“Where he went, the people were in quarantine and none of them have any signs of the flu, cold of any sort. Their quarantine actually ended yesterday (Friday), when he was proven positive, they have been in quarantine and they are now in the clear. It shows that he got it either from the airport here or within Trinidad.”

The woman, who came in from Canada, said she travelled into Trinidad when she heard her father was ill. However, she said she will have to leave Trinidad sad, as she is flying out today (Sunday), before the total shutdown of all international flights, because she has to return to her children in Canada.

“My father would have wanted me to go back to my children,” she said.

Asked if all the persons who were in contact with her father were in quarantine, the woman said yes.

“Other family members who were in contact are self-quarantined since the last day he spent with them. So far they are fine. Everybody who was in contact with him, we know they’re quarantined because the ministry has been contacting them,” she said.

“We are in prayer and standing together. I don’t live here, I live abroad. I came when I heard he was ill not knowing he was positive.

“I did not go to my home so I have not seen my mother and brother yet. It is a trying time all around for us. We are just keeping each other strong and keeping hopeful that one day this will soon pass.”

Asked if she was satisfied with how the authorities are dealing with the COVID-19 situation and her father’s care, she replied: “I am not satisfied but I know it’s a tedious situation. But we cannot criticise anybody because that is not my expertise. They are doing what they can do now."

“In my opinion, it should’ve been done before Carnival. Carnival could have waited. The day my father tested positive was just 16 days after Carnival ended. That doesn’t mean he got it when he went abroad. Abroad is out of the picture. Where he went has zero cases to this date. I even spoke to people from that country and there are still no cases there.”

She added, “We know for sure still that the medical fraternity is doing everything that they can to help and we are very pleased with the response we are getting from the doctors and also everyone else in the ministry has been calling my other family who is in quarantine because of contact with my dad. Daily contact, so our system is working for us and we just have to not lose hope and stick together.”

The woman sent out a message to the people of T&T, saying, “Let’s all behave as though we all have it.

“If we behave that way and have that mindset, we will keep to ourselves and eradicate this terror that is causing so much despair. It is not only causing illness, I heard of a story where a lady and her mother in quarantine, apart from each other and because it has been over a week, the old lady has dementia and she forgot her daughter. Apart from illnesses, it’s causing other forms of despair in everyone,” the woman said.

“Now is a time for us to come together as a people. Forget race, politics, everything and join together to help mankind and the world. Positive energy can do anything in whatever form or fashion we live in.”

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/covid-patients-daughter-urges-selfquarantines-6.2.1084146.237722aaae

Or not. He would’ve come through an international airport to get to Piarco, all airports are teeming with Covid. She can’t be certain

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 22nd, 2020, 9:29 am

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 50 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 22nd, 2020, 9:38 am

From the ground talk, it suggests that case number 50 is not an imported case

VII

Postby VII » March 22nd, 2020, 10:01 am

Yeah both sides of a story,what about the truth then? Ramesh and his clients were on sheit....legal thuggery at its finest.. but this disease is an equalizer doh worry..

What spacing dey talking about? They came in the same flight and buses ffs...should they sue for the bus and plane ride too?

Why the f@ck they dont sue the cruise, free health care and a frigging isolated resort and that's the best they can come up with ? And you buying that sheit ?

Stop repeating BS...you're a fanboy ah wah? They should be grateful ..

Legal.papers and the idiots didn't even know their health status,is the same authorities they depending on to cure them now..freaking idiots..

hydroep wrote:There's something to be said about getting both sides of a story...:|

Ramesh: 68 not kept apart in Balandra quarantine facility
Jensen La Vende

THE 68 people who were in quarantine as a precaution against covid19 at a Balandra facility felt so unsafe that social distancing was not being practised that they hired senior counsel Ramesh Maharaj to ask Government to adhere to its own guidelines.

Forty of them have since tested positive for the virus.

On Saturday, Maharaj confirmed he wrote two letters to Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi and the Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh on the issue. He added that on Friday he also wrote to the Prime Minister.

According to Maharaj, the letters to the ministers were not pre-action protocols and did not request that those in quarantine be released.

“My clients were abiding by the quarantine rules. They wanted to be tested. They also wanted to address the accommodation which they felt was not in keeping with the social distancing. They (the Government) did not provide for social distancing and my clients had issues with them not having cleaning agents and sanitizers.”

He said the second letter was sent after his clients said they were tested but social distancing was still not being enforced as the accommodation was not sufficient to keep people apart.

After his second letter was not acknowledged by noon Friday, he wrote to Dr Rowley and copied the two letters.

“I think it is my duty to the public to put into the public domain the context of the letters so as to not misconstrue its intention” Maharaj said.

The 68 were passengers on a cruise ship off Guadeloupe and were flown home on Tuesday and taken to the Seventh-Day Adventist Church camp in Balandra. They were tested on Thursday and on Friday night the results showed 40 had tested positive.

On Saturday morning, Deyalsingh said the 40 were taken to the Couva Hospital as a precaution as those who tested positive were all part of the "at-risk community."

He added the hospital is equipped with enough intensive care unit beds and equipment to treat severe cases.

When contacted on Saturday, Al-Rawi said he found Maharaj's letters were pre-mature. He confirmed the letters did not ask for that those in quarantine be released but asked that they be tested. He said some of them, by the time the letters were sent, showed no symptoms of the virus. He said Maharaj could have called the ministers rather than issue the letters.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/21/ramesh-68-not-kept-apart-in-balandra-quarantine-facility/

Postby paid_influencer » March 22nd, 2020, 10:09 am

boxy wrote:So far the proof is in the pudding people who are positive had recent travel history. I would stand corrected if a case was found earlier who didn't travel.

The previous criteria for testing involved having a travel history. If you were only testing people with travel history, then of course you will only have confirmed cases with travel history.

The new criteria from yesterday allows testing without travel history. If these cases come back positive, then we will know if there is community spread and can trace back contacts to see how long ago it was spreading.

VII

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 50 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby VII » March 22nd, 2020, 10:13 am

All these fools defending vulture ramesh,what about the bus ride and the plane ride? How daft you must be..how proud you must be of,the same man who help SIS to get away with hundreds of millions, blocked the seizure of equipment etc...but that's all fair game for some ,catch me if you can ent...

Why don't the idiots sue the cruise and the agents? The fools sick and studying legal thuggery..

Ramesh is an idiot for taking that case in the middle of the unknown,no respect for health authorities and the situation in general...sue man just sue,buh suddenly is about survival..I hope he went by them,I really do..they feel they invincible with they court papers..
Last edited by VII on March 22nd, 2020, 10:20 am, edited 2 times in total.

killercow

Postby killercow » March 22nd, 2020, 10:15 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:From the ground talk, it suggests that case no50 is not an imported case
LoopTT reported that MOH said that all 50 cases are imported.

http://www.looptt.com/content/ministry-confirms-50-positive-coronavirus-cases-tt

Postby eliteauto » March 22nd, 2020, 10:17 am

it must be nice to have such a level of comfort that you can continue to play politics in the face of a global crisis

VII

Postby VII » March 22nd, 2020, 10:21 am

Ground talk like children in shipping containers on the port,and dr Eric William's belly swell and buss from decomposition,we know ground talk well..
Last edited by VII on March 22nd, 2020, 10:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

VII

Postby VII » March 22nd, 2020, 10:25 am

eliteauto wrote:it must be nice to have such a level of comfort that you can continue to play politics in the face of a global crisis

And a whole other level of comfort and stupidity hoping for the worst so we could say "told you so "and contributing nothing while authorities are clearly doing a great job..

This country full of jokers and entitled babblers who deserve the worst.
Last edited by VII on March 22nd, 2020, 10:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » March 22nd, 2020, 10:26 am

Dont most people pay for medical insurance when they taking cruise and flights? How come that eh activate for those people who were trapped abroad?

Postby MaxPower » March 22nd, 2020, 10:33 am

Someone publish on social media the names of these jackasses that went on the cruise please.

Make them out.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 22nd, 2020, 10:36 am

Imported case they say
90509583_3220704681292651_8970989613829062656_o.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 22nd, 2020, 10:48 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Dont most people pay for medical insurance when they taking cruise and flights? How come that eh activate for those people who were trapped abroad?

Most people especially trinis...dont pay medical insurance for cruises

wing

Postby wing » March 22nd, 2020, 10:49 am

VII wrote:
eliteauto wrote:it must be nice to have such a level of comfort that you can continue to play politics in the face of a global crisis

And a whole other level of comfort and stupidity hoping for the worst so we could say "told you so "and contributing nothing while authorities are clearly doing a great job..

This country full of jokers and entitled babblers who deserve the worst.
X1000000

A set of clucking hens with nothing of substance to contribute.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 22nd, 2020, 10:53 am

Have a couple of nurses on my end who are stating that a nurse may have been infected while tending to patients...its not panic...its reality

Postby paid_influencer » March 22nd, 2020, 11:01 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Have a couple of nurses on my end who are stating that a nurse may have been infected while tending to patients...its not panic...its reality

that is impossible. nurses in Couva COVID19 Hospital are at no risk for contracting the virus. that is fake news and stop spreading it. the panic is worse than the virus.

:drinking:

Postby paid_influencer » March 22nd, 2020, 11:05 am

kubler-ross stages of grief.

Denial
Anger
Bargaining
Depression
Acceptance

Plenty people stuck on Denial or Anger right now. I personally in bargaining. ready to give up some freedoms and comforts right about now.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 22nd, 2020, 11:09 am

Among other highlights, what this emergency, and possibly this thread, is showcasing is our ability to not move forward with a common purpose.

Yes, the decision to continue with Carnival was a stupid one. Yes, the 66 year old man may have not contracted the virus through his travels but rather here in Trinidad. Yes, people are defending or condemning Ramesh. Yes, politicians are using this as an opportunity to play politics. But the underlying factor is that many of these reactions and discussions are based in what's happened in the past. And to combat this we need to put aside our Trini wit for everything thats happened in the past and use the intelligence that we have to determine how to change the future.

In the last week trinis have shown their gross underbelly. People hoard, people ignore the rules imposed by those in authority, people continue as if it's another regular day, people justify their negative actions and worse yet, blame others.

This is not about politics. This is not about self. This is about our ability to come together and unite to make an impact. There will be always differences in opinions, but the common purpose is that we should practice social distancing, avoid unnecessary movements, only go out when necessary and practice a life where we stay home and isolate ourselves. We cannot rely on the government and the doctors to do everything for us. We have to take some personal responsibility and help them to help the nation.

And unless we cross this monumental hurdle, the numbers will just stack up and only when it hits one of us, then we'll realise that we should have done exactly as told.

Again, use your common sense and spread a similar message to all because we are intelligent people, but just need to apply this intelligence to the current situation and not make a joke, criticism or condemnation for everything that people are trying to do or that people have done.

Postby MaxPower » March 22nd, 2020, 11:19 am

Hello carluva,

A very positive message.

Unfortunately, the majority of Trinidadians are not on the same page and they are not changing....just as you and the Govt of T&T are seeing for yourselves.

Covid19 loves the Trinidadian mentality.

Postby aaron17 » March 22nd, 2020, 11:23 am

We need to be on the same page to fight this thing.Together as one.

devrat

Postby devrat » March 22nd, 2020, 11:26 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Dont most people pay for medical insurance when they taking cruise and flights? How come that eh activate for those people who were trapped abroad?
Force Majeure

Postby nemisis » March 22nd, 2020, 11:41 am

The forget the past and together as one rhetoric is spewed by those ignorant of what has happened in the past that caused this together as one thing to fail. Trinidad is made up for two factions crab in barrel and once burned never twice...

Postby rspann » March 22nd, 2020, 11:51 am

Whoever feel RLM doesn't know the facts and to him is not just ah food , doesn't know RLM

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 22nd, 2020, 11:59 am

Trinidad also has the mentality of do onto others BEFORE they do onto you.

It really sad how you can't get rubbing alcohol anymore in this country and none of the businesses care to make it anymore, we rather drink rum with all the alcohol.

VII

Postby VII » March 22nd, 2020, 12:01 pm

rspann wrote:Whoever feel RLM doesn't know the facts and to him is not just ah food , doesn't know RLM

Sure,but it makes it all the worse...

I wonder if he went up their and met them under lawyer/ client rights and the 'protection' of statutes and clauses?

Hope he did..
Last edited by VII on March 22nd, 2020, 12:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MaxPower » March 22nd, 2020, 12:03 pm

aaron17 wrote:We need to be on the same page to fight this thing.Together as one.

Hello Aaron,

How can we achieve this?

carluva

Postby carluva » March 22nd, 2020, 12:18 pm

Precisely the lack of intelligence I am speaking of.

I am sure I am older than you friend and by extension, have seen alot of the past that has shaped this country. I am not ignorant of what has happened, rather I choose not to let that cloud the decisions I make now, in this present situation, under the present circumstances. However, now is not the time to bring up the past and let that direct our future course. When we come out of this, we can choose to do so if we wish. I am therefore challenging us to do the right thing, stay home, practice the directives of the WHO, our government, the CMO, our ministers etc. Forget the conjecture and listen to the facts of the matter which right now is what we need to do.

Crab in barrel mentality or otherwise has no place right now unless we choose to somehow make it relevant to the situation and allow that to influence our actions. And if someone chooses to do so, it suggests that he/she has some semblance of intelligence in which case they could be convinced to do what we need to do now.

Do not assume that I am ignorant, and if you do, so be it. I couldn't care less. However, if you are doing what you supposed to be doing now, then I am content and can move on to try to sway someone else to do the same.
nemisis wrote:The forget the past and together as one rhetoric is spewed by those ignorant of what has happened in the past that caused this together as one thing to fail. Trinidad is made up for two factions crab in barrel and once burned never twice...

killercow

Postby killercow » March 22nd, 2020, 12:21 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Have a couple of nurses on my end who are stating that a nurse may have been infected while tending to patients...its not panic...its reality
Whether true or not, according to certain ministers we have nothing to worry about. All cases are in isolation and government has already stated that provisions were either being made or made already to accommodate nurses & doctors who attend to quarantined patients. If any medical staff unfortunately becomes infected we 'safe' and they 'safe' too.

Postby aaron17 » March 22nd, 2020, 12:30 pm

aaron17 wrote:We need to be on the same page to fight this thing.Together as one.

Hello Aaron,

How can we achieve this?
I feel is ah SOE day...to be on the same page.