*** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Who do you believe will win General Elections 2025?

Poll ended at April 28th, 2025, 9:17 pm

People's National Movement (PNM)
48%
United National Congress (UNC) + Coalition of Interests (PEP, COP, OWTU, LOVE)
44%
Patriotic Front (PF)
4%
Tie/Deadlock
4%

Total votes: 48

Redress10

Re: *** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Postby Redress10 » April 7th, 2025, 3:19 pm

hover11 wrote:
mero wrote:So Farley get catch bad talking Allan Warner and Tobagonians in a meeting with KPB.

Will this affect anything at the polls?

Duke say he wasn't there and it eh have nun to do with he.

Farley say is AI
It was already public knowledge Farley hates pnm, logically he was giving his seats to the UNC. AI or not.

Farley done in Tobago

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 7th, 2025, 3:31 pm

Anybody know where the poll for this thread went?

Postby bluefete » April 7th, 2025, 4:08 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Anybody know where the poll for this thread went?

Somebody did not like how the voting was going! :D :D :D

Postby bluefete » April 7th, 2025, 4:08 pm

Redress10 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
mero wrote:So Farley get catch bad talking Allan Warner and Tobagonians in a meeting with KPB.

Farley say is AI
It was already public knowledge Farley hates pnm, logically he was giving his seats to the UNC. AI or not.

Farley done in Tobago

You wish! LOL. Keep trying though.

Postby j.o.e » April 7th, 2025, 4:18 pm

hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
mero wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Farley say is AI

The actual people living and voting in Tobago know this?

Why don't UNC just contest seats in Tobago if everyone know the seats will be given away to the UNC?

Why is Farley saying is AI if everybody know the scene?

Give hoovs sometime to gather his thoughts. He and Kamla hinged the entire victory plan on this
Focus on me and kamla while Tobago should be your focus. KAMALA in America thought she was gonna win by a landslide

My focus ? I not a politician ….. after May 28th I still have my bills to pay and goals to achieve.

Postby bluefete » April 7th, 2025, 4:29 pm

Look t'ing:

David Lee and Leong Poi CLEARED OF ALL CHARGES!

United National Congress (UNC) Deputy Political Leader and candidate for Caroni Central, David Lee, has been cleared of fraud charges related to tax exemptions on his vehicle as a Parliamentarian.

Acting Chief Magistrate Christine Charles dismissed the charges of conspiracy to defraud and misbehaviour in public office after upholding a no-case submission presented by Lee’s legal team, led by Wayne Sturge and Mario Merritt of Regius Chambers.

Magistrate Charles ruled that the prosecution presented insufficient evidence to sustain the charges or proceed to trial.

She also acquitted businessman Hugh Leong Poi of Sport Outlet Limited, who faced a joint charge with Lee for conspiracy to defraud.

In September 2022, authorities accused the pair of conspiring to defraud the State of $1.4 million in tax revenue related to the importation of a Mercedes Benz G63 AMG, valued at over $2 million.

The charges involved $293,094.02 in Value Added Tax (VAT), $298,650 in motor vehicle tax, and $824,548.62 in customs duty.

Prosecutors alleged that Lee falsely claimed ownership of the vehicle to benefit from tax exemptions granted to MPs.

The alleged offences occurred between 24 March and 8 June 2019.
Authorities released Lee on $1 million bail following the charges, which he denied from the outset.

In a statement shortly after his arrest, Lee described the case as a “political witch-hunt and distraction” orchestrated by the People’s National Movement (PNM) Government.

He maintained that he owned the vehicle and had declared it in his annual submissions to the Integrity Commission.

“Put simply, I have been charged for a vehicle that I am the legal owner of, but this is an issue I am confident, given the proof, will be vindicated in our nation’s court,” he said.

Alexia Romero and Randall Raphael also represented Lee.
https://www.cnc3.co.tt/david-lee-cleared-of-charges/

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2025, 4:34 pm

so stuey need to retract his allegations

Postby bluefete » April 7th, 2025, 4:56 pm

pugboy wrote:so stuey need to retract his allegations

Deosaran Bisnath
Breaking news Trinidad

·
COURT CLEARS LEE, LEONG POI

...Political Cloud Over Young Clan As Elections Battle For Chinese Votes Swings In Favour Of UNC Following Fabricated Failed Fraud Case

.....It is anticipated the Lee and Leong Poi will sue the State for malicious prosecution.

....The failed charges against Dr Lee and Leong Poi, who hails from a hugely successful hard working business family, are likely to dampen the political aspirations of the Young clan, who is accused of exploiting connections with the PNM government to fatten their pockets.

Stuart Young is an attorney at law who has benefitted extensively from state briefs provided under PNM administrations.

Young's sibling, Angus, has benefitted in no less a manner having sold billions of dollars in financial instruments to the Rowley-led PNM regime.

Their father, retired banker Richard Young, was appointed as head of the Trinidad and Tobago International Financial Centre Company Limited, which is a dubious state owned entity into which hundreds of millions of dollars have been pumped, with precious little to show by way of accomplishments - except a clique of PNM appointed people occupying cushy offices and drawing fat salaries and perks."

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2025, 5:07 pm

i always wonder exactly what the ifc does

Postby Dave » April 7th, 2025, 5:21 pm

Gary is walking Mt Lambert.... doesn't seem to have alot of ppl walking with him.

Postby The_Honourable » April 7th, 2025, 5:50 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Anybody know where the poll for this thread went?

April voters won, election call too fast for it to stay up

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2025, 5:54 pm

Saw this sharing on socials

Dr. Devant Maharaj:

For decades, I, Devant Maharaj, have stood as a relentless in the pursuit of justice, equality, and accountability in Trinidad and Tobago. My journey began in the crucible of socio-political-religious activism, rooted in my Indo-Trinidadian heritage and fueled by an unyielding commitment to challenge the entrenched power of the PNM government between 1995 and 2010. As an executive member of the Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha (SDMS) since 1996—the largest Hindu organization in our nation—I fought tirelessly to amplify the voice of the Hindu community and protect our cultural identity against systemic neglect. My role as President of the Global Organization of People of Indian Origin (GOPIO) Trinidad from 2002 further sharpened my resolve, turning GOPIO into a household name that confronted discrimination head-on. We launched the GOPIO National Awards in 2004 to protest the biased Trinity Cross, forcing the State to rethink its exclusionary honors system.

But my most potent weapon against the State was pioneering the use of the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). From 1995 to 2010, alongside Anand Ramlogan, we wielded the FOIA like a sword, piercing through the State veil of secrecy. When Patrick Manning vetoed my rightful promotion to Deputy Director of the National Lotteries Control Board in 2002. I used the FOIA to demand transparency from the Statutory Authorities Service Commission. Case after case, from discrimination lawsuits to constitutional challenges, I battered the State’s arrogance in the courts, proving that no government is above the law. Publicly, I rallied the disenfranchised, exposing the Government’s failures—whether it was their neglect of Indo-Trinidadians, revealing the secret scholarships, or their refusal to address kidnapping crises that targeted our community.

In 2010, my fight took a new form when I joined the UNC-led People’s Partnership government as a Chairman of PTSC, then as Senator and Minister. From June 27, 2011, as Minister of Transport, I pushed to improve and modernize service and infrastructure. Reassigned to Minister of Food Production on June 22, 2012, I delivered tangible results: reducing food inflation to single digits, slashing the food import bill, and launching initiatives that empowered local farmers. My tenure until 2015 was a testament to what principled governance could achieve, even within a UNC-led coalition tested by its own contradictions.

My political journey has always been about principles, not power—a truth underscored by my earlier choices when the UNC’s leadership under Basdeo Panday drifted from its constitutional obligations. In response, I joined TEAM Unity, led by then-Attorney General Ramesh L. Maharaj, and later the Congress of the People, under Winston Dookeran, seeking platforms that aligned with my core values of justice and accountability. These moves were not about ambition, but about holding firm to the belief that political parties must serve the people, not the egos of their leaders. That same conviction drives me today, as I confront the UNC’s current decay.

When the UNC lost power in 2015, I became a relentless voice of the Opposition until 2020. On social media and beyond, I called out the Government’s excesses—challenging their Property Tax overreach, questioning Judicial and Legal Service Commission appointments, and even releasing the Prime Minister Rowley and ministers’ phone numbers to hold them accountable. No one in Trinidad and Tobago paid Property Tax for 10 years due to my singular legal action. The State branded me seditious, unpatriotic, treasonous—labels I wore as badges of honor for speaking truth to power. But as the years wore on, a bitter truth emerged: the UNC, my political home, was rotting from within.

From 2020 to 2025, I watched the UNC choke on its own constitution, stomp out dissent, and crown blind loyalty over brains. Internal elections? A grotesque farce. Leadership? A cult groveling at Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s feet, purging the intellectuals and those who have independent thought like Ganga Singh, Ramona Ramdial, Vasant Bharath, Anita Haynes, Rai Ragbir, Rushton Paray, Dinesh Rambally, Larry Lalla and many others. Once a party of progress, it now reeks of arrogance, nepotism, and stagnation—a mirror of politics' worst sins, only uglier for its sanctimonious mask. The UNC’s democratic soul is dead, drowned in a swamp of petty loyalism and power lust. I can’t stomach the stench of a party that preaches accountability while gagging its own—Kamla’s throne is a mausoleum of broken promises.

The recent UNC candidate selection process has once again unfurled its tattered banner of mediocrity, mirroring the lackluster spectacles of 2020 and 2015. This roster bristles with spineless, groveling loyalists—political puppets so devoid of backbone they’d collapse under the weight of their own sycophantic drool, incapable of mustering even a whisper of defiance against their towering, iron-fisted leader. Coupled with this is a coalition stitched together not by visionary ideals or razor-sharp principles, but by a seething, venomous loathing for the PNM—a vitriolic unity marinated in spiteful disdain for the nation’s storied past. Yet, as Trinidad and Tobago’s tumultuous history has gleefully demonstrated time and again, this brittle alliance of hate-fueled opportunists is destined to fracture, crumbling into a chaotic heap of backstabbing and betrayal before the ballot ink even dries.

So here I stand in 2025, at a crossroads carved by disgust. Patrick Manning—my old foe—whispers from the grave: country over party. Dr. Keith Rowley, the outgoing PM, bellows the same, and I listened. Today, as a Member of the UNC I’m supporting Stuart Young, supporting the PNM for the 2025 General Election—not because they’re saints, but because the UNC is a rotting corpse unfit to lead. The PNM has grit, a spine to govern, while the UNC wallows in its filth, a hollow shell clutching power for power’s sake.

The UNC I joined is not the same UNC today, and the PNM I fought against is not the same PNM today.

I know what they will say—that after decades of fighting the PNM, my support for them now is a betrayal, an act of opportunism. To those who hurl such accusations, I ask: What is the greater betrayal?

Is it standing with a flawed government that at least demonstrates the capacity to govern, or remaining shackled to a UNC that has abandoned its principles, silenced its best minds, and become a parody of democracy? I did not leave the UNC—the UNC left us. It left the competent UNC Members I fought with, the activists I stood beside, and the ordinary citizens who believed it was a vehicle for change. When a party expels its own for daring to think, when it rewards sycophants over statesmen, when it betrays its own constitution, then loyalty to that party is not principle—it is delusion.

Yes, I spent years battling the PNM—and I make no apologies for those fight However, the UNC is not an intrinsic part of your very essence, despite Rudy Indarsingh’s misguided and fervent proclamations. If the UNC has become incapable of serving the people, then my duty is not to a party logo, but to the country itself. The PNM is far from perfect, but at this moment, it is the only force standing between Trinidad and Tobago and the UNC’s descent into outright cronyism and incompetence.

To those who call me an opportunist, I say: Read Theodore Roosevelt’s words and reflect: "It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles... The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood... who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly."

For 30 years, I have been in that arena—fighting, stumbling, but always striving for what is right. Where were you when the UNC purged its own? Where was your outrage when Kamla’s inner circle turned dissent into heresy? If I wanted opportunism, I would have stayed silent, clung to power, and played the UNC’s game of blind loyalty. Instead, I choose the harder path—one that will bring scorn, but one that puts country first. I have not done as much as some, but I have done more than most who will criticize me.

And to those who whisper about "Indians pulling down Indians," who cling to the crab-in-a-barrel mentality that says we must stay trapped in a sinking UNC simply because it’s "ours"—I say this: Progress demands courage, not tribalism. A crab that escapes the barrel isn’t a traitor—it’s a survivor. The real betrayal isn’t leaving a broken party; it’s helping to suffocate the future of an entire community just to preserve the status quo.

The real opportunists are those who stay in the UNC not out of conviction, but out of fear—or worse, the hope of scraps from Kamla’s table. I refuse to be among them. History will judge who truly sold out—those who clung to a dying party, or those who dared to demand better.

The arena awaits. Will you rise—or will you keep pulling each other down? Or will you support Kamla over Stuart and, like many Americans, regret Kamala Harris lost to Donald Trump.

To my UNC comrades: wake up! Your precious party isn’t the hope we bled for—it’s a shambling zombie, feasting on cronyism. “Kamla’s Cult Crushes Democracy!”—let that headline sear your eyes. Join me, not for PNM love, but for Trinidad and Tobago’s survival. In 2025, I choose guts over garbage, progress over paralysis. Will you cling to the UNC’s carcass, or rise with me?

--
Dr. Devant Maharaj, PhD, MBA

Postby paid_influencer » April 7th, 2025, 6:19 pm

^ keep in mind he safe and secure living away.

is not he and he children and parents that getting robbed, raped, assaulted, murdered
not his job at risk, not his pension getting cut

very easy for him to fly in, vote pnm and fly out.
what harder is to actually live under pnm
Last edited by paid_influencer on April 7th, 2025, 6:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby The_Honourable » April 7th, 2025, 6:21 pm

j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
mero wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Farley say is AI

Why don't UNC just contest seats in Tobago if everyone know the seats will be given away to the UNC?

Give hoovs sometime to gather his thoughts. He and Kamla hinged the entire victory plan on this
Focus on me and kamla while Tobago should be your focus. KAMALA in America thought she was gonna win by a landslide

My focus ? I not a politician ….. after May 28th I still have my bills to pay and goals to achieve.

Like it or not, it is a good strategy.

If Kamla needs the TPP or maybe PDP to carry her to 21, Farley or Duke will have leverage to seek tobago's interests. Similar to Robinson's NAR joining with Panday's UNC in 1995 to form the government.

UNC is wise not to run in Tobago to further split votes. Besides PNM, TPP and PDP, Tobago have to deal with the IDA and PF who quite frankly not going to make a dent. PDP can be a spoiler because they could split votes among the non-pnm voters putting TPP at a disadvantage and giving PNM the edge.

Zoom... how pnm looking in tobago so far?

Postby hover11 » April 7th, 2025, 7:39 pm

STUART YOUNG OUTLINES CRIME-FIGHTING PLANS IF VOTED INTO GOVERNMENT

PRIME Minister Stuart Young has said an incoming PNM government on April 29 will "immediately change the law for the appointment of a commissioner of police (CoP)" as part of a series of measures to deal with crime.

He made the disclosure at a PNM meeting at Exodus Pan Theatre in Tunapuna on April 5.

Young told PNM supporters, "One of the difficulties we face is not having strategic and stable leadership (in the police service) and that is the first thing that we will do as a government."

He said the appointment of a national security adviser in the Office of the Prime Minister, an elite tactical unit in the police, legislation to protect undercover police officers, a dedicated multi-agency task force and expanding the cybercrime task force were part of the measures the new administration will implement.

Young said all of these initiatives will be outlined in the PNM's election manifesto. The UNC has challenged the PNM on its failure to curtail violent crime as part of its campaign.

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/04/05/young- ... a-meeting/

Postby Dave » April 7th, 2025, 8:01 pm

Things that couldn't have been done for the last ten years?

Postby hover11 » April 7th, 2025, 8:10 pm

Dave wrote:Things that couldn't have been done for the last ten years?
Will magically become reality if given 5 years

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 7th, 2025, 8:14 pm

Postby bluefete » April 7th, 2025, 9:43 pm

Devant Maharaj was not the man who said they should kill all the Muslims when he was in government or just before and the matter ended up in court? 2004-2006.

"All Muslims were terrorists" and "All Muslims in Pakistan and other countries should be executed even if it meant wiping out whole nations and the rest of them should then move to Saudi Arabia."

Is Devesh Maharaj - UNC Tunapuna - his brother?

Postby The_Honourable » April 7th, 2025, 9:53 pm

Fighting kamla from canada? oh devant... what a sourpuss

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 7th, 2025, 10:01 pm

New leader, new ideas?

Postby hover11 » April 8th, 2025, 6:21 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

New leader, new ideas?
He is the protege of the same man that put the country under hardship for the last nine years....all I see is Rowley 2.0

Postby Dave » April 8th, 2025, 6:23 am

Fyi Stuart was being groomed from day one.
The idea wasn't lingering somewhere all these years or was he speaking and no one was listening?

Postby hover11 » April 8th, 2025, 6:31 am

Dave wrote:Fyi Stuart was being groomed from day one.
The idea wasn't lingering somewhere all these years or was he speaking and no one was listening?
Dave you are businessman if you give a man a wuk or an employee a deadline to achieve certain targets and the employee fails to meets those targets on the project , what the appraisal gonna be like....are we rewarding the employee with a renewal of a contract for another Five years?

Postby Dave » April 8th, 2025, 6:41 am

Lol I never said I was endorsing his appt nor plan or defending it.
I agree with you but accountability lacks all around. Pick your colour.....I'm sure they are all guilty.

Postby hover11 » April 8th, 2025, 6:44 am

Dave wrote:Lol I never said I was endorsing his appt nor plan or defending it.
I agree with you but accountability lacks all around. Pick your colour.....I'm sure they are all guilty.
Lol true lesser of both of evils

Postby paid_influencer » April 8th, 2025, 7:08 am

seeing the ebc/pnm trying to play smart with international observers again. Stuwatee announced it but EBC knows nothing about it 3 weeks before elections. They trying to do the same "it too late for observers" trick they did in 2020. Hope kamla and her lawyers nail their balls this time. nail their balls and get those observers. no reasonable person should be opposed to observers

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 8th, 2025, 7:13 am

bluefete wrote:Devant Maharaj was not the man who said they should kill all the Muslims when he was in government or just before and the matter ended up in court? 2004-2006.

"All Muslims were terrorists" and "All Muslims in Pakistan and other countries should be executed even if it meant wiping out whole nations and the rest of them should then move to Saudi Arabia."

devant is sat maraj grand son i think. so then SDMS gone back pnm? EVEN AFTER pnm RUN HE GRANDPAPPY SAT. Devant is a nemakaram.

Faris AL wARI Grandfather PUNDIT sukeran is a founding member of the PNM and after rowlee take away he attorney general and vice prime minister portfolio and send he to wuk cepep he aint run to open a party and bad talk rowlee like devant and lalla and the rest of lil girls. them have no balls and grit they like some pot hounds so running to who feed them.

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2025, 7:52 am

The_Honourable wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
mero wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Farley say is AI

Like it or not, it is a good strategy.

If Kamla needs the TPP or maybe PDP to carry her to 21, Farley or Duke will have leverage to seek tobago's interests. Similar to Robinson's NAR joining with Panday's UNC in 1995 to form the government.

UNC is wise not to run in Tobago to further split votes. Besides PNM, TPP and PDP, Tobago have to deal with the IDA and PF who quite frankly not going to make a dent. PDP can be a spoiler because they could split votes among the non-pnm voters putting TPP at a disadvantage and giving PNM the edge.

Zoom... how pnm looking in tobago so far?
Bago not voting PNM. They not happy

Postby Gladiator » April 8th, 2025, 7:53 am

daring dragoon wrote:
bluefete wrote:Devant Maharaj was not the man who said they should kill all the Muslims when he was in government or just before and the matter ended up in court? 2004-2006.

devant is sat maraj grand son i think. so then SDMS gone back pnm? EVEN AFTER pnm RUN HE GRANDPAPPY SAT. Devant is a nemakaram.

Faris AL wARI Grandfather PUNDIT sukeran is a founding member of the PNM and after rowlee take away he attorney general and vice prime minister portfolio and send he to wuk cepep he aint run to open a party and bad talk rowlee like devant and lalla and the rest of lil girls. them have no balls and grit they like some pot hounds so running to who feed them.

No he isn't Sat Maharaj's grandson. He is actually a Guyanese who fuses to help his own sister worse yet a stranger.
Last edited by Gladiator on April 8th, 2025, 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.