.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby rfari » December 23rd, 2014, 7:58 am

Hey uml

Postby zoom rader » December 23rd, 2014, 7:59 am

^^^ The difference is that PP invites everyone of all parties.
PNM Only invite their ppl

Postby j.o.e » December 23rd, 2014, 9:35 am

nope the difference is that each PNM constituency is free to hold their Christmas Party whether in or out of power...Kamla is the giver of gifts all thru the country in the capacity of PM...and dunno where the gifts/money come from, in fact she insists its not Gov't money but dunno the source...if yall can't see the difference well....small ting

Postby UML » December 23rd, 2014, 10:33 am

in or out of government still does not determine the source of the funds....hence the reason the PNM did not address and will not support campaign financing legislation!!!

Postby j.o.e » December 23rd, 2014, 11:07 am

UML wrote:in or out of government still does not determine the source of the funds....hence the reason the PNM did not address and will not support campaign financing legislation!!!

If someone asked the source of funds for the PNM constituency events and didn't get an answer its one thing.....the question has been asked of KPB with no acceptable response

Postby UML » December 24th, 2014, 8:18 am

j.o.e wrote:
UML wrote:in or out of government still does not determine the source of the funds....hence the reason the PNM did not address and will not support campaign financing legislation!!!

If someone asked the source of funds for the PNM constituency events and didn't get an answer its one thing.....the question has been asked of KPB with no acceptable response

PM’s toy donors named

Kalifa Clyne

Published:
Friday, December 19, 2014

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar yesterday revealed she had no idea from where thousands of gifts donated to children through her toy distribution drive came. Persad-Bissessar has spent much of the last few weeks going to different constituencies to give toys to children. She also hosted several toy and hamper distribution functions at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s. The toy drive will continue today and tomorrow as she heads to constituencies in south Trinidad.

Persad-Bissessar spoke to the media yesterday after a distribution of cheques to churches. The toy drive has received criticism from Opposition MPs as well as political activists after Persad-Bissessar revealed that toys were purchased by corporate sponsors.
In an interview after the distribution Persad-Bissessar said she did not know who the corporate sponsors were.

“I do not know who they are. There is a committee. That is their job. It is given to me to give away,” Persad-Bissessar said. She said she was not involved directly or indirectly with the sourcing of the gifts and toys for the children. Persad-Bissessar said all questions about the toy drive should be directed to the chairman of the committee Peter Kanhai.

“This is the fifth year we have done this. I tell you I have not given contracts to anyone. I have not attempted to receive anything from anyone. “These (gifts) were sourced by the committee. I have not been directly involved in any of it but I am directly involved as the patron. I am the conduit. they source it and give it to us. We organise the venues and give it to the children,” Persad-Bissessar said.

Asked whether the committee had gone to specific organisations and requested gifts, Persad-Bissessar again referred questions to Kanhai.

Kanhai responds
Kanhai, in a telephone interview last night, said as far as he was aware, no Government contractors had been sourced to sponsor the toy drive. “We look for sponsors who have an interest in children,” Kanhai said. Kanhai said the drive, which began in 2010 following the People’s Partnership being elected in Government, had grown significantly over the years. “The first year we had the drive, in 2010, we (the committee) approached sponsors but for the following years a lot of them came to us.”

Kanhai, who is vice president of the Tunapuna Chamber of Industry and Commerce, said during the first year he had sourced sponsorship from some of his colleagues. Kanhai said sponsors such as Kiss Baking, Holiday Foods, Universal Foods, Bermudez and Coca Cola often provided items free of charge or gave significant discounts of up to 60 per cent.

Asked whether there was a criteria which sponsors had to meet, Kanhai said sponsors had to be legitimate businesses and must want to be a part of the initiative.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12- ... nors-named

I guess we have to change the "M" in PNM from Mismanagement to Misinformation

Propaganda Nepotism Mismanagement/Misinformation

Postby Dizzy28 » December 24th, 2014, 8:33 am

^ You highlighted food and beverages companies and they said they provided items free of charge or gave discounts. I am pretty sure that pertains to the products they sell and not the toys e.g. Kiss Cakes, Cookies and soft drinks which would have been given out at the Xmas parties.
So the question still remains ...where did the toys come from??

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » December 24th, 2014, 8:45 am

Wais d issue?

Steupes

Postby j.o.e » December 24th, 2014, 9:42 am

Kanhai, in a telephone interview last night, said as far as he was aware, no Government contractors had been sourced to sponsor the toy drive. “We look for sponsors who have an interest in children,” Kanhai said. Kanhai said the drive, which began in 2010 following the People’s Partnership being elected in Government, had grown significantly over the years. “The first year we had the drive, in 2010, we (the committee) approached sponsors but for the following years a lot of them came to us.

Kanhai, who is vice president of the Tunapuna Chamber of Industry and Commerce, said during the first year he had sourced sponsorship from some of his colleagues. Kanhai said sponsors such as Kiss Baking, Holiday Foods, Universal Foods, Bermudez and Coca Cola often provided items free of charge or gave significant discounts of up to 60 per cent.

Snacks, cake and soft drink free of charge or at discount.......toys? And when discounts are given who's actually paying since the PM said it wasn't state money

Postby Dizzy28 » December 24th, 2014, 10:45 am

They not addressing the toy issue because it is well know ("alleged" to be politically correct) that a certain contractor highly favoured under this administration is importing toys as well as food stuff items.

How or why does one go from building roads, waste water plants, markets and servicing plants in Pt Lisas to importing toys and food stuff??

In Trinidad nothing is ever coincidental just merely convenient!!

Postby UML » December 24th, 2014, 10:53 am

Why cant these food companies not supply toys?

Do you give thanks by giving to charity or give hampers and toys for Christmas to the less fortunate for Christmas?

I do. With my little salary I made food hampers to share.

So, if it really was a contractor, is it wrong and why cant they give charity to the community or nation?

Didnt the PNM copycat it and not declare the donator as well?

#hypocrites # doublestandards

Postby Dizzy28 » December 24th, 2014, 10:56 am

UML wrote:Do you give thanks by giving to charity or give hampers and toys for Christmas to the less fortunate for Christmas?

So, if it really was a contractor, is it wrong and why cant they give charity to the community or nation?

I am not in receipt of billions of dollars worth of Government contracts some given under dubious circumstances. I am also not a known financier of a political party giving millions in "donations". You are not either.

What is normal or right for me and you changes when you linked to political parties.
Campaign Finance reform is merely the tip of legislation needed to clean up Trinidad politics.

Postby j.o.e » December 24th, 2014, 11:19 am

When the PM decides to emblazon her face on the hampers its not 'just charity'...UML its time you realise when questions are being asked because some of us already know the answer. Charity is good deeds done for no financial payment or otherwise...this my friend is not charity. If it were charity she wouldn't bob and weave all over the place when asked a simple question.
Santa PM has been doing this for weeks now..and at every stop there have been thousands of children.
These events are publicised before and when the throngs come out the PM has limitless access to toys regardless of how many turn up, people are not asking because they don't like Christmas, children or charity. They are asking questions because this shameless campaigning is being funded by persons in the shadows...with the PM taking front and centre at every event.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 24th, 2014, 11:24 am

Ultimately it is being funded by you and me and every other Tax payer j.o.e.
When contracts are doled out to undeserving individuals and firms who then either don't deliver or deliver but neither within time nor budget we the tax payers fund the inefficiencies.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 24th, 2014, 11:40 am

Sometimes I think these things are just pandering to the masses.

Postby rfari » December 24th, 2014, 5:37 pm

UML wrote:Why cant these food companies not supply toys?

Do you give thanks by giving to charity or give hampers and toys for Christmas to the less fortunate for Christmas?

Didnt the PNM copycat it and not declare the donator as well?

#hypocrites # doublestandards

Uml,
One question.
For the tnt citizen that is undecided wrt ge2015 (about 26% of the population according to SBS), do you believe that he/she is satisfied with the justifications given by govt ministers to allegations of corruption etc? Honest answer

Postby UML » December 24th, 2014, 10:55 pm

Yes

How do u answer allegations?

If their is evidence give it to the authorities let them be charged!!

No evidence no charges just Propaganda!!!

Unlike the evidence gather dust at the PNM DPP office

Postby rfari » December 24th, 2014, 11:06 pm

UML wrote:Yes

How do u answer allegations?

If their is evidence give it to the authorities let them be charged!!

No evidence no charges just Propaganda!!!

Unlike the evidence gather dust at the PNM DPP office

Good good...
So the 'on the fence' voter should be comfortable with the PM's explanation pertaining to the christmas toy drive funds?

Postby De Dragon » December 24th, 2014, 11:16 pm

No politician in T&T can be trusted to speak the truth and not toe the party line. Imagine Vasant Bharath justifying those billboards by saying they cost "only" 50-60 K! :shock: What is sad is that you have two patently corrupt, untrustworthy parties and the voters' dilemma is which to choose.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 25th, 2014, 12:10 am

Merry Christmas

Postby equipped2ripp » December 25th, 2014, 12:59 am

last Christmas for Kamla as PM :lol: :lol:

Postby 1UZFE » December 25th, 2014, 7:02 am

^^ so u sayin she goin n die awah???

Postby zoom rader » December 25th, 2014, 7:06 am

Happy Christmas and a merry PP new year

Postby Morpheus » December 25th, 2014, 9:27 am

^^Piss Poor? :geek:

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » December 25th, 2014, 2:30 pm

All these hateful hardback men trying to bring down one woman

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » December 25th, 2014, 3:22 pm

lol...for real

Postby UML » December 25th, 2014, 3:50 pm

mrtrini45 wrote:All these hateful hardback men trying to bring down one woman

Incomplete list. They forgot Reginald Dumas, Dr Winford James, Ken Gordon, Father Harvey, Archbishop Harris, etc.

Postby j.o.e » December 25th, 2014, 4:24 pm

Men playing the gender card yes..... don't oppose the sweet delicate, female PM...she never hurt nobody all she ever do was cut ribbon, give children gifts and give cheques and hampers....lol. Kamla intention is to try and stay 'clean' and look the other way while her Ministers wreak havoc....when they get too dirty she will replace them for the next election.

Postby desifemlove » December 26th, 2014, 12:07 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:last Christmas for Kamla as PM :lol: :lol:

hmm....i does tink we seeing santa kamla all de way til 2020....

Postby desifemlove » December 26th, 2014, 12:38 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:Wais d issue?

Steupes

how can Kamla not know? ent she PM, and supposed to know all ting like dat?