Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 18th, 2024, 8:58 am

Anybody ever had success pressurewashing crabs (blue or mangrove) instead of scrubbing them?

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2024, 8:59 am

yuh ever see how jamaicans eat crab ?
straight in the pot
no cleaning no head removal
no nothing
everything in the pot incl the head poo

Postby maj. tom » May 18th, 2024, 9:11 am

Green crab tomalley is the best part of the flavour!

Postby *KRONIK* » May 18th, 2024, 10:39 am

pugboy wrote:yuh ever see how jamaicans eat crab ?
straight in the pot
no cleaning no head removal
no nothing
everything in the pot incl the head poo
Boi
Watch nah

Not me and that jamaican crab ting nah
Apart from the plain duttyness....

There was an incident with davidsbeenhere with a jamaican crab vendor who $hit in the crab stall and them have no toilets or running water there....

But we aint here to discuss jamaican boil crab

Postby alfa » May 18th, 2024, 11:00 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Anybody ever had success pressurewashing crabs (blue or mangrove) instead of scrubbing them?

I'm guessing the pressure might blow them away. After I pop the head I usually burn off the hairs on a ring stove and then dump in a bucket to clean. Easier to dispatch if you put them in the freezer for an hour or so and then remove the head

Postby *KRONIK* » May 18th, 2024, 12:18 pm

alfa wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Anybody ever had success pressurewashing crabs (blue or mangrove) instead of scrubbing them?

I'm guessing the pressure might blow them away. After I pop the head I usually burn off the hairs on a ring stove and then dump in a bucket to clean. Easier to dispatch if you put them in the freezer for an hour or so and then remove the head
Yea
I usually freeze them 1st before starting cleaning
But some family ask for curry crabs and i realize i go hadda cook about 30 crab
So i looking for a less labour intensive way to clean, if not menu go hadda change

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2024, 1:31 pm

try the singapore chilli crab recipe
they will like it
at least do a few crabs so
and if they are pepper mouths, it taste real good cooked with plenty pepper

Postby *KRONIK* » May 18th, 2024, 3:00 pm

pugboy wrote:try the singapore chilli crab recipe
they will like it
at least do a few crabs so
and if they are pepper mouths, it taste real good cooked with plenty pepper
Lol

I tried that one already
Honestly i prefer that over curry

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 20th, 2024, 11:34 am

Anybody knows where I could get potato starch? Used to get at Family Mart in ptown but they don't have, last time I really bought was before COVID so

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2024, 11:42 am

wing sing charlotte st
or the place in south by dim sum king

viedcht wrote:Anybody knows where I could get potato starch? Used to get at Family Mart in ptown but they don't have, last time I really bought was before COVID so

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » October 20th, 2024, 11:47 am

Sincere's in Sando

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 20th, 2024, 12:45 pm

Thanks fellas

Tim, will try Sinceres for sure

pugs that rell far to trek, next time I up town side will stop and check but by southland Chinese grocery will pass

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2024, 1:52 pm

it’s the fortune grocery next to dim sum king

viedcht wrote:Thanks fellas

Tim, will try Sinceres for sure

pugs that rell far to trek, next time I up town side will stop and check but by southland Chinese grocery will pass

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 29th, 2024, 4:59 pm

Just putting it out here that g.and.m veggie burgers fail mih. Ah say "is de season for it" so I go do a lil fast too nah... Normally I will just get some cheap vasha cardboard and throw some seasoning, maybe a lil cheese, veg whatever... This time I try GM but they disappoint mih man. Ting crumbling in the pan

best veggie burger was the morning star.

Postby gastly369 » October 29th, 2024, 5:13 pm

The black bean burger(comes in a zip seal bag forget brand) be bussin I could take that over a beef chicken any day

Postby pugboy » October 29th, 2024, 5:18 pm

the veggie burger burger king uses is pretty good
not sure if it is beyond meat or impossible burger

Postby Dizzy28 » October 29th, 2024, 6:24 pm

pugboy wrote:the veggie burger burger king uses is pretty good
Burger king has two vege burgers - the impossible whopper (which is grilled on the same grill as the beef stuff) and a vege burger.

The impossible whopper is the impossible burger

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 29th, 2024, 7:01 pm

So when 12 AM hit Friday who heading to KFC ?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 30th, 2024, 1:24 pm

I stop buy kfc a good few months (honestly want to say 2yrs but memory foggish) if I feel I just make my own, just a lil tip for the fry chicken folks, I cut my drumsticks down to bone on thicker side when seasoning. Cooks a lot quicker, KFC tan brown colour.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 30th, 2024, 1:32 pm

gastly369 wrote:The black bean burger(comes in a zip seal bag forget brand) be bussin I could take that over a beef chicken any day
Where you get? Pricesmart, Massy, another grocery? Most likely out of stock but will check out still.

I try all how to make veggie burger from black beans, mushrooms tofu hybrid mix thing channa and yet it always falling apart when cooking

Postby Dizzy28 » October 30th, 2024, 3:16 pm

viedcht wrote:
gastly369 wrote:The black bean burger(comes in a zip seal bag forget brand) be bussin I could take that over a beef chicken any day
Where you get? Pricesmart, Massy, another grocery? Most likely out of stock but will check out still.

I try all how to make veggie burger from black beans, mushrooms tofu hybrid mix thing channa and yet it always falling apart when cooking

Massy had up to last weekend. Souly brand.
Can't say I am a fan. Boca remains my fav of what is available and within a reasonable price. My Mil came back from Mia last week and bought a Boca which is different from the ones in Massy and tastes much better.

There is a Buldak vege dumpling in groceries made with Tofu and veges that's actually pretty good IMO

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 31st, 2024, 1:15 pm

Thanks I don't really eat much vege burgers and I avoid them chinee veggie this and veggie that. Smallie is vegetarian so I just fall een, but for a while I keep trying to get a good recipe for veggie burgers... I never tell she this but I experiment and failed, and I end up adding some chicken and beef mince mix to the same batch, and miracles happen instantly. Happened to learn that even regular minced chicken can't make a patty that holds, no matter how much bacon you add... I guess any other (b)ovine could work if you don't eat beef

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 31st, 2024, 4:50 pm

pugboy wrote:the veggie burger burger king uses is pretty good
Burger king has two vege burgers - the impossible whopper (which is grilled on the same grill as the beef stuff) and a vege burger.

The impossible whopper is the impossible burger

Made sloppy joes with black-eyed peas before and it was delicious. No crap filler, just beans, veges and seasonings. A little work I coulda form them into patties, freeze and grill but nobody had time for that.

Had to soak, pressure cook, then mash and season it like you would with meat or soya.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 31st, 2024, 4:53 pm

viedcht wrote:Just putting it out here that g.and.m veggie burgers fail mih. Ah say "is de season for it" so I go do a lil fast too nah... Normally I will just get some cheap vasha cardboard and throw some seasoning, maybe a lil cheese, veg whatever... This time I try GM but they disappoint mih man. Ting crumbling in the pan

Instant oats or some mash potato powder will work as vegan binder - just need to play with ratios

Postby gastly369 » November 1st, 2024, 6:47 am

viedcht wrote:

Massy had up to last weekend. Souly brand.
Can't say I am a fan. Boca remains my fav of what is available and within a reasonable price. My Mil came back from Mia last week and bought a Boca which is different from the ones in Massy and tastes much better.

There is a Buldak vege dumpling in groceries made with Tofu and veges that's actually pretty good IMO
Ah yes that's the brand.... Needs to be cooked well.or would taste sorta chalky mushy... First times made didn't like it

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 2nd, 2024, 12:51 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
viedcht wrote:Just putting it out here that g.and.m veggie burgers fail mih. Ah say "is de season for it" so I go do a lil fast too nah... Normally I will just get some cheap vasha cardboard and throw some seasoning, maybe a lil cheese, veg whatever... This time I try GM but they disappoint mih man. Ting crumbling in the pan

Instant oats or some mash potato powder will work as vegan binder - just need to play with ratios
I used to end up grating carrots and potato raw on the thin stringy grate by hand to get some kinda binding structure but will try this. Will make it a bit more starchy than I want but not a big deal, could omit the bun.

Postby paid_influencer » November 2nd, 2024, 4:19 pm

veggie burger post:

vasha have three veggie burger varieties:

precooked (mostly grains, no soya)
chili (as above but spicy)
uncooked (more soya based)

vasha pre-cooked is the gold standard of veggie burger imo. plenty dhal, no soy, low in calorie, consistent, cheap, easy to cook and prepare. I usually air fry it crispy from straight out of the freezer. if feeling fancy pan fry in some butter with bbq sauce.

Boca is my second option. They have several varieties too, all soy based

Classic Vegan
All-American <-- best taste
Chick'n
Spicy Chick'n <-- also like this one, it breaded/spiced like a kfc zinger

all the other brand nowadays kinda fail imo. Worst is Debbies - that thing fall apart one time. Natural delights I used to eat long time but now i seeing a setta food coloring and artificial flavoring. I doh like them again. Morning Star has some nice spicy breakfast patties but the price on them thing hot. Long time they had a nice black bean one too. Beyond Burger released a set of coconut fat last time I tried it.

I actually buy a lot of veggie burgers because the the convenience of prep and nutritional profile (does eat the patty alone with salad, doctor say no bread or rum again).

home made -
my wife makes an excellent one with smashed black-eyes peas, lentils and local green seasonings. But only have time for that during the holidays. If was me I would put egg too but i donno why ppl think egg is not vegetarian google ai says it is vegetarian

in terms of buy veggie burger -

royal castle medicore and unhealthy but there year round.

I actually like popeyes red bean sandwich a lot, but it expensive and also unhealthy (bread soak in butter, fries, swee drink etc). but it does lash imo best buy veggie burger

Postby paid_influencer » November 2nd, 2024, 5:54 pm

anybody try out the premium meat by massy?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 2nd, 2024, 6:31 pm

Nothing premium about massy steaks

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 2nd, 2024, 7:22 pm

paid_influencer wrote:anybody try out the premium meat by massy?

Yea, bought the pork and chicken.
Marginally more expensive than similar cuts in other supermarkets, and it’s fresh not frozen. You can also check the pack date and sell by date and choose the fresher cuts.

I won’t do it for a big cook like Sunday lunch but more a midweek small meal for wife and kid. Literally just take out package, quick rinse, season and cook.

They had excellent value for fresh wings recently. Got 6 decent sized whole wings (flat and drumlet) for $26. Chucked that in the air fryer with some of my spice blend and it was a Friday evening fix for Mrs and I.