The Official Car Care Thread

greenlime100

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby greenlime100 » March 14th, 2013, 11:53 pm

So they said...lol...good stuff 8-)

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » March 15th, 2013, 12:20 pm

Ques for u guys, my headlights on my hilux are a little yellow and faded, what can I used to bring it back as best as possible?

Thanks
Rgrds
Bolo23

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » March 15th, 2013, 12:29 pm

had 10minutes to wash meh car...
used

.....then.....

with

For a 10-15minutes total wash and wax..i was impressed. :)

aidan

Postby aidan » March 15th, 2013, 1:02 pm

bolo23 wrote:Ques for u guys, my headlights on my hilux are a little yellow and faded, what can I used to bring it back as best as possible?

Thanks
Rgrds
Bolo23

Personally this is my cheap and effective method that works all the time;

- Use some painters tape and tear up a garbage bag to use as a cover for your bumper/fender/paintwork

-Use some ultra fine sandpaper (600 grit) and a hose and wet sand the headlight,not too hard, and evenly across the surface, make sure and get the corners. Use plenty water.

- Buff with 3m compound (most paint shops and auto parts stores have it. It does be sold in a chubby bottle)

- Mothers plastic polish or Meguiars Plast X

- Meguiars headlight protectant. (Reapply one a month)

You can get all the products for under $200, and have enough to do multiple vehicles.

Did this to a Frontier last august and it still looks like brand new.

KURMAman,
That wax and dry is work real good. Nice shine afterwards, water does sheet nicely and does smell bess.
Last edited by aidan on March 15th, 2013, 4:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » March 15th, 2013, 2:52 pm

thanks alot bro i appreciate it, i in pos though, where can i get all that stuff from?

chucky

Postby chucky » March 15th, 2013, 5:25 pm

You can find the Megs items at NuKar in West Mall

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » March 15th, 2013, 6:26 pm

can i hand buff with the 3m compound ? or does it have to be machine

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 15th, 2013, 6:33 pm

I used a similar method to restore my headlights, instead of the 3M compound I used Megs Scratch remover 2.0 and then Megs compound. Worked like a charm. The scratch remover 2.0 is a more abrasive than the Megs compound.
Never had any experience with 3M products so I cant compare

aidan

Postby aidan » March 15th, 2013, 11:37 pm

bolo23 wrote:can i hand buff with the 3m compound ? or does it have to be machine

Hand buff would work, jus need to use the force lol.

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » March 16th, 2013, 2:15 am

Lol thanks aidan will try it and see

Postby pioneer » March 16th, 2013, 10:30 am

Why not just buy the 3m headlight restoration kit from Raptor and use your power drill?

He has them in stock - 680-3752

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » March 16th, 2013, 1:59 pm

Where can I get one of these in the West?

Postby Ted_v2 » March 16th, 2013, 3:06 pm

how much for a microfiber cloth?

Postby equipped2ripp » March 16th, 2013, 3:34 pm

I'm sure you can get the Wash Mitt in Nu-Kar in West Mall.

You can get the packs of MF towels in PriceSmart, 24 in a pack.

Postby pioneer » March 16th, 2013, 3:50 pm

Have ah place by me selling one of dem pricesmark cloth for $30 lol

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 16th, 2013, 4:00 pm

Well you living in stush area

Postby pioneer » March 16th, 2013, 5:57 pm

I searched everywhere locally and didn't find a decent washmitt...ended up ordering 3 on autogeek

neexis

Postby neexis » March 16th, 2013, 7:00 pm

^^carplus has a setta those.
unless you looking for a specific material

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » March 16th, 2013, 11:51 pm

Is this for washing ur car or waxing and polishing ?

Postby DVSTT » March 17th, 2013, 12:56 am

bolo23 wrote:Is this for washing ur car or waxing and polishing ?

The wash mitt is for washing the car. You can use normal mircofibre cloths for waxing and polishing, or you could use a machine.

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » March 17th, 2013, 11:35 am

Ohhh ok cool thanks pal

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » March 17th, 2013, 2:08 pm

L&D has dem for $25..i use 2..one for wash....the turtle wax spray and dry is used on wet vehicles, so i have another mitten to wipe the wax off

Postby r3iXmann » March 17th, 2013, 3:03 pm

Ordered a bissell spot clean pro. Should get it this week. :mrgreen:

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 17th, 2013, 5:53 pm

Those of you with hilux and vehicles with chrome accessories, how do you get rid of small scratches similar to swirl marks on the chrome? Particularly speaking about a few scratches on my Hilux mirror.

Also anyone knows if I can get the Megs DA polisher locally ? or just buy it online ?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 17th, 2013, 5:55 pm

or if you can recommend a better polisher thats welcomed.

Postby DVSTT » March 17th, 2013, 5:58 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Those of you with hilux and vehicles with chrome accessories, how do you get rid of small scratches similar to swirl marks on the chrome? Particularly speaking about a few scratches on my Hilux mirror.

Also anyone knows if I can get the Megs DA polisher locally ? or just buy it online ?

Wait for sale and buy online. I think autogeek has good prices but there are cheaper brands that work just as well. Karim might be able to recommend some.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 17th, 2013, 7:23 pm

Karim might have a polisher or two for sale.... PM him

Postby pioneer » March 17th, 2013, 7:30 pm

The Megs DA polisher is available locally from Lubetech far as I know

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 17th, 2013, 7:34 pm

cool thanks fallaz..

aidan

Postby aidan » March 18th, 2013, 12:51 am

r3iXmann wrote:Ordered a bissell spot clean pro. Should get it this week. :mrgreen:

Nicee!! Was contemplating buying one. Post some shots when you get it nah pleeeze :D :D