COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 45824 cases, 1336 deaths, 3771 active, 40717 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » September 8th, 2021, 8:01 pm

So they really had to make an article out of suspected corona mortality that was soaring since the beginning of the corona vaccination?

https://translate.google.com/translate? ... r-impfung/

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 45824 cases, 1336 deaths, 3771 active, 40717 recovered in T&T

Postby st7 » September 8th, 2021, 8:39 pm

are you searching the internet for legit news websites orrr

Postby aaron17 » September 8th, 2021, 9:07 pm

I jus criticizing stuff

Postby K74T » September 8th, 2021, 9:21 pm

You's one ah dem who believe it had chirren in a container in de port ah few years back ent?

Postby redmanjp » September 8th, 2021, 9:27 pm

for the umpteenth time, u cannot get 'corona' from the vaccine!

the reason we are having more deaths are because we are having more cases! prior to march we were only getting like 5 measly cases per day- allyuh doh remember dat? how much were we getting in april into may? it reached as high as 700+ on some days!

why more cases? there is community spread of the Gamma or Brazil variant which is a lot more contagious then the original strain. each person spreads the infection to more people than the old strain would have done.

these stupid antivax articles always trying to point to the vaccines but conveniently leave out the obvious facts that we have a lot more infection which will result in more hospitalization and death.

Prior to delta the US went from 4000 deaths per day to well under 1000, despite millions being vaccinated daily. if the vaccines were causing deaths would the death increase not decrease?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 8th, 2021, 10:40 pm

redmanjp wrote:for the umpteenth time, u cannot get 'corona' from the vaccine!

the reason we are having more deaths are because we are having more cases! prior to march we were only getting like 5 measly cases per day- allyuh doh remember dat? how much were we getting in april into may? it reached as high as 700+ on some days!

why more cases? there is community spread of the Gamma or Brazil variant which is a lot more contagious then the original strain. each person spreads the infection to more people than the old strain would have done.

these stupid antivax articles always trying to point to the vaccines but conveniently leave out the obvious facts that we have a lot more infection which will result in more hospitalization and death.

Prior to delta the US went from 4000 deaths per day to well under 1000, despite millions being vaccinated daily. if the vaccines were causing deaths would the death increase not decrease?

I don't think people think the vaccine causes covid ...

People don't trust their government/authority and they find it highly suspicious that as soon as we started getting vaccines cases and "deaths" went through the roof ... Then as soon as vaccines arrive for kids ... All of a sudden they start panicking people with news of hospitalized kids.

Then around the same time just as our government was becoming more authoritative with vaccines, the IMF bless we up with 644 larges ones from the special drawing rights program which is more or less a welfare system.

if it looks clear/yellow and its warm yuh cah get vex with a man for being suspicious, it might be apple juice or it could just be piss.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » September 9th, 2021, 5:35 am

Delta variant patient spent five days in circulation before being detected

One of the two people who was recently diagnosed with the Delta variant of COVID-19 after travelling into T&T, possibly spent five days in public circulation before showing symptoms and testing positive with the virus.

This was confirmed by Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram at yesterday’s COVID-19 media conference.

Having arrived in the country fully vaccinated and with a negative PCR test 72 hours before travelling, Parasram said the passenger was allowed to go home and only got tested when he developed symptoms five days later. The passenger eventually went to a health centre to get tested.

Parasram said he and his family were then quarantined pending the results. He said at least three close family members were also placed in quarantine and that they will all be discharged when two negative tests are received.

The ministry has not shed any light on whether the traveller spent time in public places and to what extent he could have triggered community spread of the Delta variant.

It is also unclear whether that patient—having tested negative before travelling—came into the country with the Delta virus or whether he contracted it while here from someone else.

The second passenger, who was also fully vaccinated and had a negative PCR test, came in to work on an offshore rig.

“One of them came in through the oil and gas stream, which is a little different. So they have some additional quarantine when you come into the country. Some of them work offshore so they would have been doing some routine testing and picked up that particular case,” Parasram said of that patient.

“The person had no symptoms at the time so the person was picked up in that regard and then sent to us for sequencing because of the recent travel, tested and we got the results a few weeks later. We would have been able to quarantine all the contacts of that individual, although they would have been in quarantine they would have still had contacts within that site, so it’s about seven or eight persons, so those persons would have been quarantined—all tested negative and discharged,” he said.

Despite this, the CMO said he still does not see any need for a change in the entry process.

“If we look at that cohort, two persons positive out of 14,222, it means that 99.986 per cent of them did not develop COVID upon entry into the country, at least that we are not aware. It is an extremely small percentage of people to change the policy for,” he said in giving the figures for the amount of people who had arrived since the borders reopened on July 17.

He said any additional layer of quarantine for fully vaccinated travellers would be unfair to the 99 per cent of travellers who don’t test positive after entry.

He credited the large success of the existing entry protocol to the provision of a mandatory negative PCR test taken within 72 hours of arrival which is sufficient.

“We have seen a substantial decrease in the number of positives we’re picking up (after entry) once we had that policy (negative PCR test) introduced a few months ago. Prior to that, we would have almost as much as 10 per cent of people coming in via repatriation being picked up. With that in place...unvaccinated (travellers) or not, it has gone down to about one per cent or thereabout,” he said.

He reiterated that people entering the country should be extra vigilant over the following two weeks upon arrival and get tested as soon as any symptoms develop. He said these travellers should also try to keep people they are in contact with to a minimum to reduce the risk of any onward transmission.

While the CMO referred to these two cases, Trinidad and Tobago has so far registered six Delta cases, all of whom travelled into this country.

Public health policy specialist Dr Mandreker Bahall also agreed with the Chief Medical Officer’s assertion that there was no need to adjust the entry protocols.

“I think the border policy is quite acceptable in light of our resource constraint and in light of when you’re fully vaccinated, the chance of spreading the disease is much less,” he said.

He said it would be infeasible to mandate the fully vaccinated travellers also quarantine upon entry.

https://guardian.co.tt/news/delta-varia ... 47dd37ad65

Postby hover11 » September 9th, 2021, 5:59 am

Which means it not as dangerous as you think or ppl would have been dropping like flies since the majority of Trinidad is still unvaxxed...more research will tell you PCR test is NOT for covid and you could find whatever you looking for in one.... PCR is not approved to test covid....doh fight me on that fight the inventor.... That is all....
shaneelal wrote:Delta variant patient spent five days in circulation before being detected

One of the two people who was recently diagnosed with the Delta variant of COVID-19 after travelling into T&T, possibly spent five days in public circulation before showing symptoms and testing positive with the virus.

This was confirmed by Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram at yesterday’s COVID-19 media conference.

Having arrived in the country fully vaccinated and with a negative PCR test 72 hours before travelling, Parasram said the passenger was allowed to go home and only got tested when he developed symptoms five days later. The passenger eventually went to a health centre to get tested.

Parasram said he and his family were then quarantined pending the results. He said at least three close family members were also placed in quarantine and that they will all be discharged when two negative tests are received.

The ministry has not shed any light on whether the traveller spent time in public places and to what extent he could have triggered community spread of the Delta variant.

It is also unclear whether that patient—having tested negative before travelling—came into the country with the Delta virus or whether he contracted it while here from someone else.

The second passenger, who was also fully vaccinated and had a negative PCR test, came in to work on an offshore rig.

“One of them came in through the oil and gas stream, which is a little different. So they have some additional quarantine when you come into the country. Some of them work offshore so they would have been doing some routine testing and picked up that particular case,” Parasram said of that patient.

“The person had no symptoms at the time so the person was picked up in that regard and then sent to us for sequencing because of the recent travel, tested and we got the results a few weeks later. We would have been able to quarantine all the contacts of that individual, although they would have been in quarantine they would have still had contacts within that site, so it’s about seven or eight persons, so those persons would have been quarantined—all tested negative and discharged,” he said.

Despite this, the CMO said he still does not see any need for a change in the entry process.

“If we look at that cohort, two persons positive out of 14,222, it means that 99.986 per cent of them did not develop COVID upon entry into the country, at least that we are not aware. It is an extremely small percentage of people to change the policy for,” he said in giving the figures for the amount of people who had arrived since the borders reopened on July 17.

He said any additional layer of quarantine for fully vaccinated travellers would be unfair to the 99 per cent of travellers who don’t test positive after entry.

He credited the large success of the existing entry protocol to the provision of a mandatory negative PCR test taken within 72 hours of arrival which is sufficient.

“We have seen a substantial decrease in the number of positives we’re picking up (after entry) once we had that policy (negative PCR test) introduced a few months ago. Prior to that, we would have almost as much as 10 per cent of people coming in via repatriation being picked up. With that in place...unvaccinated (travellers) or not, it has gone down to about one per cent or thereabout,” he said.

He reiterated that people entering the country should be extra vigilant over the following two weeks upon arrival and get tested as soon as any symptoms develop. He said these travellers should also try to keep people they are in contact with to a minimum to reduce the risk of any onward transmission.

While the CMO referred to these two cases, Trinidad and Tobago has so far registered six Delta cases, all of whom travelled into this country.

Public health policy specialist Dr Mandreker Bahall also agreed with the Chief Medical Officer’s assertion that there was no need to adjust the entry protocols.

“I think the border policy is quite acceptable in light of our resource constraint and in light of when you’re fully vaccinated, the chance of spreading the disease is much less,” he said.

He said it would be infeasible to mandate the fully vaccinated travellers also quarantine upon entry.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 9th, 2021, 6:13 am

hover11 wrote:Which means it not as dangerous as you think or ppl would have been dropping like flies since the majority of Trinidad is still unvaxxed...more research will tell you PCR test is NOT for covid and you could find whatever you looking for in one.... PCR is not approved to test covid....doh fight me on that fight the inventor.... That is all....
shaneelal wrote:Delta variant patient spent five days in circulation before being detected

What???????
Smh amazing intelligence and interpretation of information there pal

Postby hover11 » September 9th, 2021, 6:20 am

Then educate me sir since your knowledge in this is superior.....just laying out the facts
jhonnieblue wrote:
hover11 wrote:Which means it not as dangerous as you think or ppl would have been dropping like flies since the majority of Trinidad is still unvaxxed...more research will tell you PCR test is NOT for covid and you could find whatever you looking for in one.... PCR is not approved to test covid....doh fight me on that fight the inventor.... That is all....

What???????

Postby De Dragon » September 9th, 2021, 6:33 am

drchaos wrote:

People don't trust their government/authority and they find it highly suspicious that as soon as we started getting vaccines cases and "deaths" went through the roof ... Then as soon as vaccines arrive for kids ... All of a sudden they start panicking people with news of hospitalized kids.

Then around the same time just as our government was becoming more authoritative with vaccines, the IMF bless we up with 644 larges ones from the special drawing rights program which is more or less a welfare system.

if it looks clear/yellow and its warm yuh cah get vex with a man for being suspicious, it might be apple juice or it could just be piss.

Well seeing as we love to follow the US, their kids infection rates also went up

Postby De Dragon » September 9th, 2021, 6:35 am

drchaos wrote:

Infection rates also went up in the US post Delta, and we love to follow them.

Postby adnj » September 9th, 2021, 7:50 am

hover11 wrote:Then educate me sir since your knowledge in this is superior.....just laying out the facts
jhonnieblue wrote:

What???????

hover11 wrote:more research will tell you PCR test is NOT for covid

hover11 wrote:PCR is not approved to test covid

hover11 wrote:just laying out the facts

What is a COVID-19 PCR test?
The polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test for COVID-19 is a molecular test that analyzes your upper respiratory specimen, looking for genetic material (ribonucleic acid or RNA) of SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19. Scientists use the PCR technology to amplify small amounts of RNA from specimens into deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA), which is replicated until SARS-CoV-2 is detectable if present. The PCR test has been the gold standard test for diagnosing COVID-19 since authorized for use in February 2020. It’s accurate and reliable.

PCR means polymerase chain reaction. It’s a test to detect genetic material from a specific organism, such as a virus. The test detects the presence of a virus if you have the virus at the time of the test. The test could also detect fragments of the virus even after you are no longer infected.

https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/d ... cr-testing

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » September 9th, 2021, 10:43 am

Well isn't this just great news..
Screenshot_20210909-091122_Drive.jpg

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 9th, 2021, 11:16 am

wtf wrote:Well isn't this just great news..
Screenshot_20210909-091122_Drive.jpg

The funny thing is that the border policies are meant to stop this exact thing from happening. But parassram asking vaccinated people to quarantine when they come home. Vaccinated people have no mandate to quarantine. They are free to do as this wish from the time they land in piarco. This is just like when
parassram said he was seeing a spike but he still allowed 50000 people to travel between Trinidad and tobago and we have had over 1300 deaths since.

Postby MaxPower » September 9th, 2021, 11:31 am

5 days this Trini was in circulation?

Well the same damn way the jackass got infected, the same way he can endanger the lives of others.

I am certain he/she was not even following the protocols properly.

SMH.

Postby timelapse » September 9th, 2021, 11:48 am

You know Trinis, fus thing they want when they come back is KFC and all kinda folly.I tell pops he has quarantine whether he likes it or not.He supposed to be coming in by month end.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 9th, 2021, 12:28 pm

Allyuh hear the story about the national hockey players that were denied entry into T&t because the results of their pcr test was in Spanish.?

That's the most ridiculous thing to happen in this whole covid situation. And people really think parassram and the pnm know what they doing and making sensible decisions.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » September 9th, 2021, 12:54 pm

MaxPower wrote:5 days this Trini was in circulation?

Well the same damn way the jackass got infected, the same way he can endanger the lives of others.

SMH.

Delta was coming in regardless, it's time we learned to live with Covid because it's not going away.

This is why vaccination is of the the utmost importance. Imagine you are fully vaccinated, negative PCR and you blokes want people to quarantine?

CAL can't survive that, other airlines will stop flying to Trinidad as well.

Postby adnj » September 9th, 2021, 1:24 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Allyuh hear the story about the national hockey players that were denied entry into T&t because the results of their pcr test was in Spanish.?

That's the most ridiculous thing to happen in this whole covid situation. And people really think parassram and the pnm know what they doing and making sensible decisions.

Passengers whose documents are in a language other than English should check with their airline or aircraft operator before travel.

Does a negative test result or documentation of recovery need to be in English?

United States: Airlines and other aircraft operators must be able to confirm the test result and review other required information, and should determine when translation is necessary for these purposes. Passengers whose documents are in a language other than English should check with their airline or aircraft operator before travel.

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nc ... elers.html

Portugal: Testing results are preferably presented in English or in the languages required by the countries and please be aware that fully handwritten Covid-19 tests are not accepted, but prepopulated certificates, with some handwritten information, are valid.

https://www.flytap.com/en-cz/travel-restrictions

Government of Canada: To be considered fully vaccinated, travellers must have received the full series of a COVID-19 vaccine — or combination of vaccines — accepted by the Government of Canada, at least 14 days prior to entering Canada. Currently, those vaccines are manufactured by Pfizer, Moderna, AstraZeneca/COVISHIELD, and Janssen (Johnson & Johnson). Travellers must provide proof of vaccination in English or French (or a certified translation).

https://www.canadainternational.gc.ca/f ... x?lang=eng

Germany:
Requirements for tests and proof of vaccination or recovery
Detailed information on the requirements for tests and proof of immunity is available on the website of the Federal Ministry of Health.

In principle, the following forms of proof are accepted:

Proof of a negative test result:
A negative test result obtained using nucleic acid amplification technology (e.g. PCR, PoC- PCR) in German, English, French, Italian or Spanish. The test must have been carried out no more than 72 hours prior to entry (time of swabbing).

https://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/en/einr ... Aufenthalt

Brazil: Clarifications from the Brazilian government regarding the required COVID-19 test:

The COVID-19 test must be a document from a laboratory test (RT-PCR) for screening for infection by SARS-CoV-2, with a negative/non-reactive result, performed within 72 hours prior to the moment of boarding;
The document must be presented in Portuguese, Spanish or English;
The test must be carried out in a laboratory recognized by the health authority of the country of departure.

https://br.usembassy.gov/health-alert-u ... to-brazil/
Last edited by adnj on September 9th, 2021, 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wing

Postby wing » September 9th, 2021, 1:26 pm

adnj wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:Allyuh hear the story about the national hockey players that were denied entry into T&t because the results of their pcr test was in Spanish.?

Passengers whose documents are in a language other than English should check with their airline or aircraft operator before travel.

Does a negative test result or documentation of recovery need to be in English?

Airlines and other aircraft operators must be able to confirm the test result and review other required information, and should determine when translation is necessary for these purposes. Passengers whose documents are in a language other than English should check with their airline or aircraft operator before travel.

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nc ... elers.html

Portugal: Testing results are preferably presented in English or in the languages required by the countries and please be aware that fully handwritten Covid-19 tests are not accepted, but prepopulated certificates, with some handwritten information, are valid.

https://www.flytap.com/en-cz/travel-restrictions

Government of Canada: To be considered fully vaccinated, travellers must have received the full series of a COVID-19 vaccine — or combination of vaccines — accepted by the Government of Canada, at least 14 days prior to entering Canada. Currently, those vaccines are manufactured by Pfizer, Moderna, AstraZeneca/COVISHIELD, and Janssen (Johnson & Johnson). Travellers must provide proof of vaccination in English or French (or a certified translation).

https://www.canadainternational.gc.ca/f ... x?lang=eng

Gemany:
Requirements for tests and proof of vaccination or recovery
Detailed information on the requirements for tests and proof of immunity is available on the website of the Federal Ministry of Health.

In principle, the following forms of proof are accepted:

Proof of a negative test result:
A negative test result obtained using nucleic acid amplification technology (e.g. PCR, PoC- PCR) in German, English, French, Italian or Spanish. The test must have been carried out no more than 72 hours prior to entry (time of swabbing).

https://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/en/einr ... Aufenthalt

Brazil: Clarifications from the Brazilian government regarding the required COVID-19 test:

The COVID-19 test must be a document from a laboratory test (RT-PCR) for screening for infection by SARS-CoV-2, with a negative/non-reactive result, performed within 72 hours prior to the moment of boarding;
The document must be presented in Portuguese, Spanish or English;
The test must be carried out in a laboratory recognized by the health authority of the country of departure.

https://br.usembassy.gov/health-alert-u ... to-brazil/
Thanks for simplifying for the simpleton. They see politics and race in every single thing.
Nomoney000

Postby redmanjp » September 9th, 2021, 1:48 pm

Devourment wrote:

SMH.

Delta was coming in regardless, it's time we learned to live with Covid because it's not going away.

This is why vaccination is of the the utmost importance. Imagine you are fully vaccinated, negative PCR and you blokes want people to quarantine?

they shouldn't need to quarantine in a state-supervised facility- but why not issue a self quarantine at home? how is that going to affect CAL?

Postby hover11 » September 9th, 2021, 2:09 pm

Waiting patiently for a variant to bypass vaccination immunity then I will hear the ppl who love to say learn to live with virus
Devourment wrote:

SMH.

Postby st7 » September 9th, 2021, 2:16 pm

i bet you dont even know how dangerous a variant like that can be. go consult google for a 2nd opinion so you can keep shifting goalposts : )

excuses, no solutions. u does wok in govt i feel

Postby hover11 » September 9th, 2021, 2:21 pm

No sheit Sherlock That's what a public servant does he works for the government . Anyway I was quoting the ppl that love to say live with the virus, a virus that is constantly proving everyone wrong when you think it's doing one thing , it does another , so again keep predicting
st7 wrote:i bet you dont even know how dangerous a variant like that can be. go consult google for a 2nd opinion so you can keep shifting goalposts : )

excuses, no solutions. u does wok in govt i feel

Postby st7 » September 9th, 2021, 2:28 pm

what are you referring to? we still all have to wear masks and observe safety regulations when we live with the virus. umpteen times it has been mentioned that it will never go away but hopefully vaccines will be able to bring it down to flu level.

you choose to be ignorant because you are overcompensating for something -- this is not normal human behaviour. i suggest you seek professional help because the way you are acting is not healthy, for anyone and yourself. you might be toxic to those around you with your lack of compassion and refusal to understand simple things. there's nothing shameful in seeking help.

Postby hover11 » September 9th, 2021, 2:31 pm

Thank you Dr.Phil for that prognosis....more importantly awaiting response variantthat bypasses vaccines MU is already resistant ...give it time
st7 wrote:what are you referring to? we still all have to wear masks and observe safety regulations when we live with the virus. umpteen times it has been mentioned that it will never go away but hopefully vaccines will be able to bring it down to flu level.

you choose to be ignorant because you are overcompensating for something -- this is not normal human behaviour. i suggest you seek professional help because the way you are acting is not healthy, for anyone and yourself. you might be toxic to those around you with your lack of compassion and refusal to understand simple things. there's nothing shameful in seeking help.

Postby st7 » September 9th, 2021, 2:33 pm

sorry, when i see a person with a bone sticking out from their leg, i need a doctor to come tell me that the bone is broken.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Postby adnj » September 9th, 2021, 2:41 pm

hover11 wrote:Thank you Dr.Phil for that prognosis....more importantly awaiting response variantthat bypasses vaccines MU is already resistant ...give it time

Postby timelapse » September 9th, 2021, 3:02 pm

^A 'straight' jacket won't do a thing for Hover.He already 'identifies' as something