redmanjp wrote:again no indication of vax status-and if we assume unvaxxed and in state quarantine why the need for contact tracing? unless he was vaxxed and out and about?
paid_influencer wrote:redmanjp wrote:again no indication of vax status-and if we assume unvaxxed and in state quarantine why the need for contact tracing? unless he was vaxxed and out and about?
there's probably hundreds more like him out and about that they didn't catch. We have to assume Delta is already seeded to the population and is competing with Gamma right now.
yea it's all screwed up right now.
redmanjp wrote:paid_influencer wrote:redmanjp wrote:again no indication of vax status-and if we assume unvaxxed and in state quarantine why the need for contact tracing? unless he was vaxxed and out and about?
there's probably hundreds more like him out and about that they didn't catch. We have to assume Delta is already seeded to the population and is competing with Gamma right now.
yea it's all screwed up right now.
so its either he was out and about and those are the contacts or in state quarantine and the contacts are the other passengers on the plane
hover11 wrote:29.6% fully vaccinatedSuperiorMan wrote:Anyone know what percentage of the population of Trinidad got vaccinated?
adnj wrote:COVID-19 surges in unvaccinated communities are sending more kids to the hospital
At least 452 children in the United States have died of COVID-19 since the pandemic began, a tiny fraction of the nearly 650,000 deaths nationwide. That lopsided tally has led many to downplay the pandemic’s toll on kids.
But two new studies issued Friday by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention make clear that children have hardly received a free pass. And especially since the arrival of COVID-19 vaccines and the Delta variant, kids’ prospects rest largely on the decisions made by the adults who surround them.
When adults and eligible adolescents get vaccinated in large numbers, younger children are at greatly reduced risk of becoming seriously ill with COVID-19, the new reports show. Conversely, when few are willing to get the jab, the pediatric wings of hospitals will fill — as they did in COVID-19 hot spots across the country in mid-August.
https://www.latimes.com/science/story/2 ... ?_amp=true
You have just criticized an opinion by making a counterpoint with nothing more than an opinion.drchaos wrote:adnj wrote:COVID-19 surges in unvaccinated communities are sending more kids to the hospital
At least 452 children in the United States have died of COVID-19 since the pandemic began, a tiny fraction of the nearly 650,000 deaths nationwide. That lopsided tally has led many to downplay the pandemic’s toll on kids.
But two new studies issued Friday by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention make clear that children have hardly received a free pass. And especially since the arrival of COVID-19 vaccines and the Delta variant, kids’ prospects rest largely on the decisions made by the adults who surround them.
When adults and eligible adolescents get vaccinated in large numbers, younger children are at greatly reduced risk of becoming seriously ill with COVID-19, the new reports show. Conversely, when few are willing to get the jab, the pediatric wings of hospitals will fill — as they did in COVID-19 hot spots across the country in mid-August.
How many of the 452 kids that died had serious comorbidities and how man did not have any comorbidities?
The article claims two new studies but these studies have serious limitations that even the authors list. Example from one of the quoted studies.
"The findings in this report are subject to at least five limitations. First, children and adolescents meeting COVID-NET criteria with a positive SARS-CoV-2 test result might have been hospitalized primarily for reasons other than COVID-19 (2), resulting in potential overestimations of hospitalization rates. Second, COVID-19–associated hospitalizations might have been missed because of testing practices and test availability. Third, the number of hospitalized children with severe outcomes was small during June 20–July 31, 2021, limiting comparisons between periods before and during Delta variant predominance. Fourth, the number of fully vaccinated hospitalized adolescents remained low at the time of reporting, and hospitalization rates stratified by vaccination status are subject to error if misclassification of vaccination status occurred. Finally, the COVID-NET catchment areas include approximately 10% of the U.S. population; thus, findings might not be nationally generalizable."
Opinion piece from a journalist quoting a study that admits its has serious limitations?
This leads to more questions than answers.
Wut?timelapse wrote:Epsom salt tea is better than any vaccine.But you have to drink it for at least three days
adnj wrote:You have just criticized an opinion by making a counterpoint with nothing more than an opinion.drchaos wrote:adnj wrote:COVID-19 surges in unvaccinated communities are sending more kids to the hospital
How many of the 452 kids that died had serious comorbidities and how man did not have any comorbidities?
The article claims two new studies but these studies have serious limitations that even the authors list. Example from one of the quoted studies.
"The findings in this report are subject to at least five limitations. First, children and adolescents meeting COVID-NET criteria with a positive SARS-CoV-2 test result might have been hospitalized primarily for reasons other than COVID-19 (2), resulting in potential overestimations of hospitalization rates. Second, COVID-19–associated hospitalizations might have been missed because of testing practices and test availability. Third, the number of hospitalized children with severe outcomes was small during June 20–July 31, 2021, limiting comparisons between periods before and during Delta variant predominance. Fourth, the number of fully vaccinated hospitalized adolescents remained low at the time of reporting, and hospitalization rates stratified by vaccination status are subject to error if misclassification of vaccination status occurred. Finally, the COVID-NET catchment areas include approximately 10% of the U.S. population; thus, findings might not be nationally generalizable."
Opinion piece from a journalist quoting a study that admits its has serious limitations?
When studies are written, transparency dictates that assumptions and limitations be listed for further dialog. That's the process.drchaos wrote:adnj wrote:You have just criticized an opinion by making a counterpoint with nothing more than an opinion.drchaos wrote:adnj wrote:COVID-19 surges in unvaccinated communities are sending more kids to the hospital
It is a fact that the authors of the study stated that their study had major limitations.
hover11 wrote:Most classrooms are in air conditioned settings unlike open air so that is even more risks and you hoping that the children practice the 3Ws the entire time they must not slip and wear their masks on their chins or eyes like their adult counterpartsMmoney607 wrote:hover11 wrote:Gadsby-Dolly: Teachers not required to declare vaccination status
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/gadsbyd ... c8343088e6
So potentially unvaccinated teachers likely to be placed with our vaccinated kids when you keeping them away from unvaccinated classmates?
That sound like Rowley and them fraid the industrial court. How unvaccinated teachers could go into school and teach little children for 8 hours a day but a man frying chicken need to be vaccinated to go to work.
They want to kill people chirren!!!!
If Ivermectin good, then Epsom salt much better.aaron17 wrote:Wut?timelapse wrote:Epsom salt tea is better than any vaccine.But you have to drink it for at least three days
hover11 wrote:How how my PM didn't say.....
Only the vaccinated will be allowed in churches , trying to understand the rationale
redmanjp wrote:hover11 wrote:How how my PM didn't say.....
Only the vaccinated will be allowed in churches , trying to understand the rationale
churches are not included in safe zones. neither are any retail businesses or restaurant take away service or even personal services (barbers, etc.)
one thing most of the 'safe zone' businesses have in common is eating & drinking which makes it impractical for masks to be worn:
in house dining at restaurants
bars
cinemas
gyms are perhaps included as it may be difficult to wear a mask when u are breathing hard when exercising, also that fast respiration rate lends itself to a lot of viral particles being exhaled.
so the only way to open these places without causing massive amounts of cases is to limit it to vaxxed only. masks can be worn in churches like the other non safe zone businesses.
You cannot definitively make that statement.Mmoney607 wrote:I have a statistic, 100% of people who died from COVID-19 between January 2020 and February 2021 were unvaccinated. #getvaccinated #vaccinessavelives
j.o.e wrote:redmanjp wrote:hover11 wrote:How how my PM didn't say.....
churches are not included in safe zones. neither are any retail businesses or restaurant take away service or even personal services (barbers, etc.)
one thing most of the 'safe zone' businesses have in common is eating & drinking which makes it impractical for masks to be worn:
bars
cinemas
gyms are perhaps included as it may be difficult to wear a mask when u are breathing hard when exercising, also that fast respiration rate lends itself to a lot of viral particles being exhaled.
so the only way to open these places without causing massive amounts of cases is to limit it to vaxxed only. masks can be worn in churches like the other non safe zone businesses.
Stop talking sense in here nah. You eh realize here is just for goal post movers and sheit talkers ? I just come in here to marvel at what mostly free education gave us
redmanjp wrote:hover11 wrote:How how my PM didn't say.....
bars
cinemas
redmanjp wrote:Dr Hinds: Vaxxed passengers are advised to limit their interactions with ppl in the first 2 weeks and monitor for symptoms.
that's not enough imo. they should be given an home quarantine order.
hover11 wrote:How to limit interactions when movies, casino, bars and gyms open only open for vaccinated soon. So if I only come to Trinidad for two weeks I must be home for my whole stay....make it make senseredmanjp wrote:Dr Hinds: Vaxxed passengers are advised to limit their interactions with ppl in the first 2 weeks and monitor for symptoms.
that's not enough imo. they should be given a home quarantine order.
redmanjp wrote:hover11 wrote:How to limit interactions when movies, casino, bars and gyms open only open for vaccinated soon. So if I only come to Trinidad for two weeks I must be home for my whole stay....make it make senseredmanjp wrote:Dr Hinds: Vaxxed passengers are advised to limit their interactions with ppl in the first 2 weeks and monitor for symptoms.
well thats better than starting a chain of infection and infecting the whole population with the extremely infectious delta and having to go right back into lockdown- yuh eh think?
hover11 wrote:I find it unfair unvaccinated have to endure mandatory quarantine yet is a free for all with vaccinated and leaving it to their discretion...thats what I thinkredmanjp wrote:hover11 wrote:How to limit interactions when movies, casino, bars and gyms open only open for vaccinated soon. So if I only come to Trinidad for two weeks I must be home for my whole stay....make it make senseredmanjp wrote:Dr Hinds: Vaxxed passengers are advised to limit their interactions with ppl in the first 2 weeks and monitor for symptoms.
well thats better than starting a chain of infection and infecting the whole population with the extremely infectious delta and having to go right back into lockdown- yuh eh think?
j.o.e wrote:hover11 wrote:I find it unfair unvaccinated have to endure mandatory quarantine yet is a free for all with vaccinated and leaving it to their discretion...thats what I thinkredmanjp wrote:hover11 wrote:How to limit interactions when movies, casino, bars and gyms open only open for vaccinated soon. So if I only come to Trinidad for two weeks I must be home for my whole stay....make it make senseredmanjp wrote:Dr Hinds: Vaxxed passengers are advised to limit their interactions with ppl in the first 2 weeks and monitor for symptoms.
Again you ignore the science, while vaccinated and unvaccinated can both get the virus they are not the same risk in terms of severity, level of spread and length of time being contagious. There is a risk but it is less. Life is getting back to normal with the help of vaccines.
An unvaccinated is at higher risk for getting sick, being contagious, hospitalization and death. Therefore policy will treat them differently.
Is it that you guys want the status quo to remain indefinitely?