Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby Rovin » June 10th, 2023, 2:23 pm

i say was me alone late to d air fryer club, got mine 3wks ago

iirc bella is d brand good size think its either a 6 or 8 quart, normal price us80 got it on sale for us30

i used it about 6-7 times so far mostly for chicken,chips & "grill" chicken breast, works very good, i need to try some different stuff in it ...

Postby Dave » June 10th, 2023, 2:33 pm

With all the meats and starches, air fried veges are quite good.
Sprouts are very nice when air fried.

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2023, 2:45 pm

the trick is cook high heat and fast
not long to dry out

Postby paid_influencer » June 10th, 2023, 3:32 pm

air fryer good for crisping taco shells

Postby maj. tom » June 20th, 2023, 4:10 pm

There used to be a sweet+sour sauce in the grocery, a small wide bottom glass bottle with a cyan and white label with Chinese writing, the sauce was not red like the traditional color.... more like slight orange-clear color and it had a few pickled slices of carrot in it. I was looking for it recently and couldn't find it. I don't know what brand and can't find any images on Google.

It's been years and years since I thought about that flavour, it was better than the regular ketchup type ones. Maybe I'm remembering this wrong because it's for nostalgia. Anyone knows what I'm referring to, where to get it these days? Maybe they repackaged it and I just don't know the brand.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 17th, 2023, 5:12 pm

I did the magnet test on the old huge pots and they are all aluminum. My life is a lie and imma go lie down

Postby *KRONIK* » July 17th, 2023, 5:25 pm

What i could do with some goat/sheep liver kidney, heart that does taste good?

Note: i dont like the taste of liver, i eat chiiken liver like once for the year, just to not be "that guy"

Postby Dave » July 17th, 2023, 5:39 pm

Sounds like some dry curry cutters you have there. Should pair well with intoxicating beverages.

Postby pugboy » July 17th, 2023, 5:42 pm

plenty geera and pepper
how does heart taste ?
i would gather it is chewy

Postby maj. tom » July 17th, 2023, 5:52 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I did the magnet test on the old huge pots and they are all aluminum. My life is a lie and imma go lie down

:lol: :lol: Boil green fig in dem for the oxide layer.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 17th, 2023, 6:18 pm

Dave wrote:Sounds like some dry curry cutters you have there. Should pair well with intoxicating beverages.
Well i was trying to think out of the box

I always ate chicken liver fried, but recently discovered its 100x better BBQ'd

And i tried beef liver curry multiple times and couldnt eat more than 1 piece

Postby *KRONIK* » July 17th, 2023, 6:21 pm

pugboy wrote:plenty geera and pepper
how does heart taste ?
Maybe

Not sure how the heart tastes as i never had it either

But its probably one of those things that either need plenty cooking/braising or a quick sear to be soft

Postby pugboy » July 17th, 2023, 7:00 pm

heart is commonly cooked kebab style
small cubes so easier to chew and quick high heat

*KRONIK* wrote:
how does heart taste ?
Maybe

But its probably one of those things that either need plenty cooking/braising or a quick sear to be soft

Postby *KRONIK* » July 17th, 2023, 7:03 pm

pugboy wrote:heart is commonly cooked kebab style

*KRONIK* wrote:
how does heart taste ?
Maybe

Well boi, i go hadda try something yes

Postby pugboy » July 17th, 2023, 7:15 pm

google, endless

*KRONIK* wrote:

how does heart taste ?
Maybe

Postby *KRONIK* » July 17th, 2023, 7:18 pm

pugboy wrote:google, endless

*KRONIK* wrote:

how does heart taste ?
Maybe

I doh trust google
I trust trinis who try the ting already
Lol

Postby Rovin » July 17th, 2023, 7:21 pm

see what recipes local ppl put on YT

ise not an organ eating person ...

Postby maj. tom » July 17th, 2023, 7:39 pm

Sheep and goat liver will taste very gamey and blechy on its own.

Try a marinade with things that will cut that gamey taste like mustard, red wine, bit ah cumin and crushed garlic and some regular Trini green seasoning mix. Lil touch of soy sauce, tablespoon of white vinegar and few drops of bitters. Slice up the meat in little kebab bite sized pieces and marinade overnight.

Separately, put a few tablespoons of pineapple juice to tenderize the heart because that will be stiff. I think the liver will get too mushy if you do that.

Then BBQ small kebab pieces over hot coals after overnight marinade? I think that is the best method rather than oven. Nice and crispy rather than soggy in its own juices. Squeeze some lime when it done to cut any lingering freshness. Try it nah. Serve with thin sliced raw red onions and rough chopped parsley. In my head this visualizing like some really exotic mediterranean dish.

Postby alfa » July 17th, 2023, 7:59 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
how does heart taste ?
Maybe

I like a goat organs mix, curried together with the regular meat. Heart, liver,lungs and kidneys :P

Postby maj. tom » September 2nd, 2023, 9:01 pm

I saw this in Indian and French cooking as well. To brown the pelau, just stir fry the onions first until they properly caramelize. Instead of using brown sugar and adding all that extra sugar to your food for no reason. Because onions contain enough sugar by itself and they're sweet when browned. I will try this method when next I making pelau and see how it is. This recipe from Kenya.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 2nd, 2023, 9:07 pm

Be careful putting onion in food, it spoils the food over a short period of time. Cook and eat within a day or two.

Postby maj. tom » September 2nd, 2023, 9:18 pm

yeah that's probably the most common cooking myth since the time before refrigeration.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 2nd, 2023, 10:23 pm

Can't be a myth when I've experienced it myself many times.

Postby K74T » September 22nd, 2023, 12:32 pm

Cookbooks allyuh, cookbooks.

FB_IMG_1695400252356.jpg

Postby Chimera » September 22nd, 2023, 12:42 pm

daz jason peru gyul place ent

candice mohan

Postby Rovin » September 22nd, 2023, 12:47 pm

hmmm cud imagine d fb comments on this ...

Postby Dizzy28 » September 22nd, 2023, 12:53 pm

K74T wrote:Cookbooks allyuh, cookbooks.

FB_IMG_1695400252356.jpg

Lol!!

Postby pugboy » September 22nd, 2023, 1:30 pm

lawd, she under pressure too
celebrity hair stylist

they wicked to name the cookbook yes

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 22nd, 2023, 5:34 pm

Social media portrays one picture, but the reality is often different. I wonder what happened for homegirl to lose her business

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 23rd, 2023, 11:46 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Social media portrays one picture, but the reality is often different. I wonder what happened for homegirl to lose her business

Sounds like she defaulted on her loans