Official BlackBerry Thread

stikid09

Re: RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby stikid09 » July 2nd, 2012, 3:17 pm

tr1ad wrote:i've tried hybrid before on the 9000 and the 9800 they did make a difference with OS6, i tried 2 different hybrids with OS7, but the difference wasn't noticeable...
currently with the release of 7.1.0.523 i'm considering attempting my own hybrid build
but with this os release for the 9900 with it comes device analyzer, battery monitor and even resource monitor... so even if say foursquare is a resouce hog, it will shut it down automatically

sounds great
well i have os6 with os7 bits

never had a full os7 device.

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2012, 3:21 pm

simple thing like fb calendar sync is a resource hog

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 2nd, 2012, 3:30 pm

tr1ad wrote:i have been a RIM user for over 6 years, never had a problem
cept for the storm but that phone was a mistake

i also have a 9900, it doesn't last a full 24hrs, example today, i started work at 6am, i'm now at 50% battery life remaining, spent most of the day on my phone, not the office phone and bbm
i dont have foursquare running all the time, i dont have or care to have apps that suck my battery
the most used app that drains my battery is BBM i guess
it that what you mean by an unstable OS?
if it's battery life, the simple backlight setting has a different result if turned to a short time
also remember a full touchscreen such as the torch will take a lot of battery life

Ahh that's it right there.

YOU use a Blackberry for how it was meant to be used. And you have no issues.

But the rest want to have the same functionality of BBM/email et al AND play games, surf the web better and run all sorts of apps. The latest offerings from RIM have failed in this regard because as people start to add more 'junk' to their phones, they can't hold up.

They are business phones but BBM, being a main selling point, has attracted regular consumers and plainly, a Blackberry is not for them.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 2nd, 2012, 3:34 pm

tr1ad wrote:simple thing like fb calendar sync is a resource hog

And with Android 4.1 "Jellybean" and iOS 6 "Sundance", social networking is even tighter integrated and optimized to not be 'resource hogs'. i.e. being able to tweet or facebook, reply to email from anywhere, and have multiple apps running, or surfing the web on a large screen with mp3/4 playing in the back.

That's what consumers want. Pro-sumers/Enterprise people like you have basic, specific needs without all those 'kids stuff'.

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2012, 3:37 pm

exactly, i use it for what it was designed for

the only real social or should i say leisure function is i now use my 9900 as my mp3 player, when in the car or jogging

if i want to browse on the go, or play games / movies i use my iPad

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 2nd, 2012, 3:41 pm

And let's say RIM goes down. What will be your next move?
You stuff sync'd and ready to move over to another phone? Windows 8, Android, iOS?

Postby RASC » July 2nd, 2012, 4:27 pm

Funny but sad all at the same time :lol:

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2012, 4:39 pm

if they do flop and i'm left without support i'll consider the iPhone again, granted my 2G still taking blows, the android is nice, but not so durable
if the casio G'zone commander was gsm i'd give that a go

casper

Postby casper » July 2nd, 2012, 5:02 pm

Strauss wrote:They are business phones but BBM, being a main selling point, has attracted regular consumers and plainly, a Blackberry is not for them.

^^^so true

RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 2nd, 2012, 5:47 pm

RASC wrote:

Funny but sad all at the same time :lol:

LOL

achillies

Postby achillies » July 2nd, 2012, 7:04 pm

tr1ad wrote:complaints? fella i am not RIM mgmt

my phone never freezes, battery drain is definitely not a problem for me
emails with ease from 4 email accounts, pdf, excel, docs open fine for me, conference calling is such an easy thing with the phone, hell even in may i used my NFC capability to make purchases in stores in the us

what is so unstable with the OS?

Sooo, this can't be done on iOS, Android or WP7/8

What I find strange is that as a hardcore Blackberry user, you didn't mention Blackberry's biggest strengths, hardware keyboards and bbm

Stability, lets not forget where "pull your battery" form of troubleshooting came from

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2012, 7:10 pm

achillies wrote:
tr1ad wrote:complaints? fella i am not RIM mgmt

my phone never freezes, battery drain is definitely not a problem for me
emails with ease from 4 email accounts, pdf, excel, docs open fine for me, conference calling is such an easy thing with the phone, hell even in may i used my NFC capability to make purchases in stores in the us

what is so unstable with the OS?

Sooo, this can't be done on iOS, Android or WP7/8

What I find strange is that as a hardcore Blackberry user, you didn't mention Blackberry's biggest strengths, hardware keyboards and bbm

Stability, lets not forget where "pull your battery" form of troubleshooting came from

you mean that isn't understood? well minus the touchscreen models that is re keyboard
bbm it's a decent messaging device, i more use it for friends and family that are overseas, but that's a more social capability imho

the pull battery, was for more the older models with slower processor/ ram

Postby ismithx » July 2nd, 2012, 8:16 pm

well I am using the Pearl 8220 flip, yes, the model that is notorious for failed bluetooth and a vaporous battery life. I have data COMPLETELY turned off, backlight on 10%, and wifi always off unless i using it. and it slow like hell.... i modded the os a while ago to remove the bluetooth module but then again a lot of stuff cannot work without it.....

my other friends with BBs... sigh... well my real good padna is a BB hater like me, and now he have two of them (both gifted to him). and he hates them. the batteries run out way too quickly. People be complaining about they now buy a BB and have to take it back for repairs, need to restart the phone, all kind of thing....

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2012, 8:52 pm

so let's see
you using a older phone with what OS4? that was gifted to you because you don't want to buy one

your friend have a gifted one, and find is crap

here's what go buy an iPhone or Android, cus clearly the free thing ain't working out for you both

moan and groan all you want, but if you not part of the solution.........

Postby foss » July 2nd, 2012, 9:02 pm

Wall Street research firm issues buy recommendation on RIM, expects a takeover

Posted: 3 hours ago, by Alan F.

Wall Street research firm issues buy recommendation on RIM, expects a takeover
Despite the recent announcement of a $518 million loss in its latest quarter and a delay in bringing BlackBerry 10 smartphones to the market, Hudson Square Research issued a buy recommendation on shares of RIM. The reason for the buy rating has nothing to do with a turnaround at the Canadian handset manufacturer according to Hudson Square's tech analyst Daniel Ernst. Instead, Ernst expects RIM to sell off one of its divisions which could lead to a pop in the stock. The analyst told CNBC on Monday that with an enterprise value for RIM at $1.6 billion, there are plenty of opportunities to unlock this value.

Ernst says that RIM still has a global network with a book value of $2 billion and has 78 million subscribers. He believes that there are enough players who could easily pay $1.6 billion for mobile market share. Among the names he listed were Microsoft and Google. Still, the analyst was wary about his call which he realizes goes against the majority of the Street. He admitted that he could be wrong with the buy recommendation, saying that in the past he has been both right and wrong on the stock.

He also wonders whether or not RIM's board realizes the dire straits that the company is in. Discussing HP and Nokia, he says assets can always get cheaper and that RIM's board needs to make a deal now. RIM's shares rose a dime on Monday to $7.49, well off the 52 week high of $33.54. The all-time high is above $140.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Wall-Str ... er_id31831

Postby ismithx » July 2nd, 2012, 9:12 pm

tr1ad wrote:so let's see
you using a older phone with what OS4? that was gifted to you because you don't want to buy one

your friend have a gifted one, and find is crap

here's what go buy an iPhone or Android, cus clearly the free thing ain't working out for you both

moan and groan all you want, but if you not part of the solution.........

he has a torch and a bold 9000, i tort them was supposed to be good? anyways, i saving $$$ for an upgrade, and i mean it an old phone and everything, but the build quality on BB's is astoundingly low, way lower compared to other phones

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2012, 9:21 pm

a bold 9000? thats a bit old, as i said before if you get a full day on a full touch like the torch you lucky
thats why theres the nice little thing called OS updates, which improve continuously on certain .cod and .alx, sometimes the .sfi files of the RIM OS
build quality low in what way? what are you using as a benchmark for these opinions?
anyhow better jump off the RIM train if your experiences seem more biased towards other devices that you not willing to admit

hell, you could call me a fanboy, because the device never failed me, said it before many times, tried other devices and eventually continued with RIM, as it's what works for me

again, most of the new model releases i have owned as they were released, and never a problem for me

Postby pete » July 2nd, 2012, 9:55 pm

I have an 8310 that's about 3 or 4 years old. Has taken many, many falls. Ball fell out and mash up, put in a new one but the spring for it to click doesn't work.

Still, battery life is like 2-3 days between charges (no data but bluetooth is on and it has no wifi). Feature I most like is the keyboard locks when you put it in the pouch.

RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 2nd, 2012, 10:44 pm

Entered bb world with a used pearl 8100. Bought it to see what all the fuss was about. Hooked on bbm instantly but browser was crap compared to Safari on 2nd gen iPod touch. Bb hour glass frustration in spite of upgrading OS led me to look for faster bb hardware.

Obtained practically new flip pearl. Faster but hourglass still remained in spite of updated OS. Hated having to do battery pulls to stop hourglassing sessions.

Bought 9700 and fell in love. Phone got better with os6 upgrade. Began hourglassing for some reason after a few months with just bbm and browser use. Given away and 9810 purchased. Again satisfied with purchase but it has its shortcomings compared to my iPhone 4 released a ear before it. Touchscreen not easy to type with. Browser slower than safari in older iPhone. Battery life went down compared to 9700 so was more in line with iPhone 4 battery life but then that's a lost advantage when advantages are few. 9810 now slower. Sticks for a few seconds with no hourglassing on lock and unlock. Cursor moves for itself in bbm and this is annoying. Battery pulls still required. Not cool for a device that came out in 2011.

Generally I think the os7 devices were a step on the right direction but also a stop gap til OS got an overhaul in bbx then bb10. Oh and bb bridge is a joke but that's another story.

There is no point to my cool story bro. If you read all that then :lol:

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2012, 10:48 pm

i started off with a trackwheel device, a 7100t i believe it was, slow as hell,
RIM needs to develop an OS with less resources to run, maybe a complete revamp of the OS

napster16

Postby napster16 » July 2nd, 2012, 10:53 pm

tr1ad wrote:i started off with a trackwheel device, a 7100t i believe it was, slow as hell,
RIM needs to develop an OS with less resources to run, maybe a complete revamp of the OS

I started with a 7290 :/

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 3rd, 2012, 7:56 am

tr1ad wrote:i started off with a trackwheel device, a 7100t i believe it was, slow as hell,

7100g for me.

And I just hated every keypad phone like that after. Full keypad or pseudo keypad.. I really hated it. It felt so much like a PC. That's why I stood with Sony Ericsson for so long - IMO the best line of phones ever for multimedia and connectivity.

achillies

Postby achillies » July 3rd, 2012, 11:37 am

Strauss wrote: They need to stay and do well in the consumer market to survive. Enterprise alone will kill them. And even in enterprise, people are switching to iPhones. Windows 8 is also the sleeping giant. Microsoft already have a solid enterprise backbone.

Strauss wrote:They are business phones but BBM, being a main selling point, has attracted regular consumers and plainly, a Blackberry is not for them.

Who is them and which one is it, you just as confused as the people who running RIM

In one post you say they have to do well in the Consumer Market, then later, Blackberry is not for "them"

Afterwards you would tell the pizza people to cut your pizza into 4 slices, because you cannot eat 8

SMH

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 3rd, 2012, 12:16 pm

achillies wrote:
Strauss wrote: They need to stay and do well in the consumer market to survive. Enterprise alone will kill them. And even in enterprise, people are switching to iPhones. Windows 8 is also the sleeping giant. Microsoft already have a solid enterprise backbone.

Who is them and which one is it, you just as confused as the people who running RIM

In one post you say they have to do well in the Consumer Market, then later, Blackberry is not for "them"

Afterwards you would tell the pizza people to cut your pizza into 4 slices, because you cannot eat 8

SMH

I'll play along just for you. Because you are special.

1. They were business phones and built around enterprise
2. Free BBM attracted regular consumers; RIM expanded business that depended on these markets
3. They got competition from Apple and Google and lost consumer market share
4. They need to now compete head-on in consumer market which built their success
5. But they don't have devices that can compete on a consumer level feature set
6. RIM can no longer sustain a thriving business in enterprise alone

Get it?

achillies

Postby achillies » July 3rd, 2012, 8:22 pm

Strauss wrote:I'll play along just for you. Because you are special.

1. They were business phones and built around enterprise
2. Free BBM attracted regular consumers; RIM expanded business that depended on these markets
4. They need to now compete head-on in consumer market which built their success

Get it?

RIM didn't expand business in any consumer market, they were left behind because the Enterprise user and the "Regular" consumer became one and the same, and most of them needed more than what RIM could offer with their OS.

Don't be confused with RIM and it's marketshare in Third World countries because RIM's failings are not there, there fail is in the US/European markets, and in the these markets, consumers get more bang by having a device that can properly function in the Enterprise atmosphere and with that same device, they are fully functional in the Social/non-Enterprise atmosphere, in terms of social interaction, in those markets, bbm is not important, because of unlimited text, High Speed mobile data (third party communication apps) being easily accessible and WiFi is also easily accessible, Trinidad (third world country) is now approaching that phase (not there yet), but even though Blackberrries are in a majority here, it doesn't really change the price of Bodi or help with the failing situation of RIM. RIM didn't cater for these situations. The sad thing is, most Blackberry users are as stubborn to change as RIM themselves, which is not surprising and also their biggest downfall

And the more that iOS,WP8 and Android release updated and improved versions of their OS, with RIM not doing anything, they would continue to fall and I have to wonder, when they do release something "new" in the first quarter of 2013 :roll:, would the OS be new for 2013 or would it be new if it was released in 2012

Postby tr1ad » July 3rd, 2012, 8:32 pm

actually their fall is in the US mostly

Postby ismithx » July 3rd, 2012, 8:44 pm

Strauss wrote:1. They were business phones and built around enterprise
yeah true
agreed, but still you does hadda pay for BB services, so bbm not really free
they are the only pre-iPhone OS that is still surviving
poor build quality, the rush to push out many phones
indeed yes, are there even any dual-core BB's?
exactly. only so much business they can get in that area, they need to capture the younger more casual people

Get it?

So what i believe is that the iPhone introduced a new service driven (iTunes), app driven paradigm. they had the first popular official app store if you really look at it. It also helped that it was locked in to this one store thus ensuring its success. The iPhone also introduced a paradigm where the smartphone is no longer really comparable to the desktop OS in terms of you know just DL'ing apps from random places, previous OS'es felt like yunno, WinXP or something (i.e how WinMo 6.5 and Symbian s603rd felt). It was smooth and very polished, minimalistic but powerful. Then all the old popular OSes started to die. Nokia stumbled all over themselves with symbian and gave up, palm os became webOS and eventually failed, WinMo became Windows Phone and is currently not doing so well. Not that these are bad platforms, but they just don't bring a certain something. Android suceeded because it did many things right, the open-ness of it, the rich hardware offerings in the first android phones, and the ease of development. All the other new platforms are basically stumbling for lack of popularity. Windows Phone may survive, but only because it is microsoft and they supposed to know their stuff (and android is a google product, google issa boss because the pwn any market they enter).

BB os is the ONLY one that survived from before the iPhone and hasn't really died because of how service driven it is. Business email services, BBM, which really picked up here like about 3 or 4 years ago with some of the digicel campus plans and the bmobile social plans. It is a bit popular around the world because of BBM. trust me, if not for BBM and BB email, they woulda died a long time ago because they have not innovated or changed much, many glitches exist in their phones and OSes, and their batteries... are ridiculous. how could you have a phone that is based around heavy network data use and not put a serious battery in it? eventually BB is going to fail, if they don't pick up themselves. It is only because they have a proprietary and secure network that business loves them.

anyways, this was long cool story my brethen i hope you enjoyed, and yes i know my stuff i have been following tech news for the past few years.

firstchoicett

RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby firstchoicett » July 3rd, 2012, 9:06 pm

^ nice

pseudorandom

Postby pseudorandom » July 3rd, 2012, 10:31 pm

Ever since my company forced me to start using Blackberry for work 4 years ago, I always hated Blackberry. I had my personal dumb phone with much better features and I had to be walking around with 2 phones - one to check company email and make free calls (paid by the company) and the other for everything else. Last year I got my personal Galaxy S2 that made my Blackberry look like a piece of sheit. I swapped the Blackberry SIM into it and was able to set up company email without BES. I can finally walk around with only one phone. Earlier this year, my company stopped issuing Blackberry devices to new phone requests and started giving medium end Android phones.

I am no way surprised RIM is failing. Their phones were always crap. A "smart" phone is not fully smart if all you can do with it is email and BBM. The camera on my 5 year old dumb phone still gives better looking pictures than the latest Blackberry. Good riddens to Blackberry!

achillies

Postby achillies » July 4th, 2012, 2:23 am

pseudorandom wrote:Ever since my company forced me to start using Blackberry for work 4 years ago, I always hated Blackberry. I had my personal dumb phone with much better features and I had to be walking around with 2 phones - one to check company email and make free calls (paid by the company) and the other for everything else. Last year I got my personal Galaxy S2 that made my Blackberry look like a piece of sheit. I swapped the Blackberry SIM into it and was able to set up company email without BES. I can finally walk around with only one phone. Earlier this year, my company stopped issuing Blackberry devices to new phone requests and started giving medium end Android phones.

I am no way surprised RIM is failing. Their phones were always crap. A "smart" phone is not fully smart if all you can do with it is email and BBM. The camera on my 5 year old dumb phone still gives better looking pictures than the latest Blackberry. Good riddens to Blackberry!

Whoa bro, such harshness. Lol

But that's it there basically, the other mobile OSes can do it, plus more, people want chat, read and send emails, a camera, a camcorder, photo editor, twitter, Facebook, google+, Internet browser media player, video player, youtube viewer, a phone, etc, etc and they want it in one device, I'm not saying its right, but it's reality. Not all may want this, but many want most.