Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Dohplaydat

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby Dohplaydat » August 16th, 2021, 12:29 pm

hover11 and elec2020,

Is this where allyuh does get your information?

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2021, 12:44 pm

how come they didn’t invite inshan and pea

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 16th, 2021, 12:48 pm

I have an unethical proposal. How about this; the State Health Facilities, specifically Covid-ready facilities follow a new mandate, that admissions are screened, and vaccinated patients receive priority. Of course void gumbumpers will slide around in their effluents-themed argument about "oh if you take jab and still get Covid well kyakyakyak it eh help yuh", but we already know the vaccine 'may or may not be as effective' in individual cases. Will unvaccinated people feel discriminated against? Or will they be mature about it and reiterate "I decided against vaccinating because blahblahblah so I have no objections to dat fellah dey getting the oxygen instead of me because he get the Sinopharm and I choose to pray and chew noni leaf" or whatever?

(I took the vaccine because of my job, and decided to chance any benefit of a vaccine over no additional protection besides my natural immunity.)

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 16th, 2021, 1:01 pm

viedcht wrote:I have an unethical proposal. How about this; the State Health Facilities, specifically Covid-ready facilities follow a new mandate, that admissions are screened, and vaccinated patients receive priority. Of course void gumbumpers will slide around in their effluents-themed argument about "oh if you take jab and still get Covid well kyakyakyak it eh help yuh", but we already know the vaccine 'may or may not be as effective' in individual cases. Will unvaccinated people feel discriminated against? Or will they be mature about it and reiterate "I decided against vaccinating because blahblahblah so I have no objections to dat fellah dey getting the oxygen instead of me because he get the Sinopharm and I choose to pray and chew noni leaf" or whatever?

(I took the vaccine because of my job, and decided to chance any benefit of a vaccine over no additional protection besides my natural immunity.)

What natural immunity?

Postby timelapse » August 16th, 2021, 1:11 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
viedcht wrote:I have an unethical proposal. How about this; the State Health Facilities, specifically Covid-ready facilities follow a new mandate, that admissions are screened, and vaccinated patients receive priority. Of course void gumbumpers will slide around in their effluents-themed argument about "oh if you take jab and still get Covid well kyakyakyak it eh help yuh", but we already know the vaccine 'may or may not be as effective' in individual cases. Will unvaccinated people feel discriminated against? Or will they be mature about it and reiterate "I decided against vaccinating because blahblahblah so I have no objections to dat fellah dey getting the oxygen instead of me because he get the Sinopharm and I choose to pray and chew noni leaf" or whatever?

What natural immunity?

He isn't taking supplements for his immune system.

Postby gastly369 » August 16th, 2021, 1:17 pm

mragoobir wrote:So when allyuh gone start to carry allyuh cheren to get Jab??
If allyuh have any
I hope some in this thread don't ever reproduce

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 16th, 2021, 1:19 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

What natural immunity?
Here in the Matrix I make my own

Postby Ben_spanna » August 16th, 2021, 3:28 pm

its simple - if you or your child ae unvaccinated then stay home... dont go and mix with anyone! you will be safer that way....

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 16th, 2021, 3:31 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:hover11 and elec2020,

Besides the religion part, facts being presented.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 16th, 2021, 4:22 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:hover11 and elec2020,

Besides the religion part, facts being presented.

Sit down, I think you need to redefine what you think are facts.

Postby st7 » August 16th, 2021, 5:16 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:I understand you trying to be technical but one man,Saik, created it and allowed no patent he shared it with the world....not different companies doing their own thing and creating their own vaccines like what happening now
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Polio was a pandemic.....no need to put global and pandemic in the same sentence. A pandemic is a global endemic . If people wish to take it is their choice just state the facts...polio was a pandemic however there was only one vaccine . You not making any sense
st7 wrote:it's impressive how people are experts without having medical degrees but because they google something to fit their narrative and validation for insecurities.

very impressive. especially when you have to question why there are multiple brands of a vaccine for a global pandemic.

:deadhorse:
There was more than one polio vaccine. There still is. The vaccine itself is licensed by multiple manufacturers worldwide unless the patent has expired in that region.

--------

IPV was developed in 1953 by Jonas Salk (Salk, 1953; Salk et al., 1953); OPV was developed by Koprowski and colleagues (1952), who were the first to use it, and Albert Sabin (1956). An enhanced-potency IPV was developed in the late 1970s and is used today. Currently, IPV and the Sabin strains of OPV are available for use in the United States; however, OPV is the vaccine recommended for general use and is the most prevalent (American Academy of Pediatrics, Committee on Infectious Diseases, 1991).

https://www.nap.edu/read/2138/chapter/8#188
You actually don't understand.

probably the most accurate and repeated sentence ever used on hover11

adnj, i admire your persistence and patience for getting people to understand anything even when they are not cognitive enough. i'm sure you have reached a lot of people, but seems that there are those who will remain ever so ignorant about a lot of things.

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 16th, 2021, 6:58 pm

The virus has a 98% survival rate

And of the 2% that died, 40% of them could have saved themselves with a healthier lifestyle.

Imagine thaaaaaaaaaaaat

Postby hover11 » August 16th, 2021, 7:07 pm

Just take a vaccine and continue with unhealthy lifestyle....imagine men getting bribed to take a vaccine against a virus that puts unhealthy ppl at most risk of death and the bribe is pizza vouchers and doubles lol
ruffneck_12 wrote:The virus has a 98% survival rate

And of the 2% that died, 40% of them could have saved themselves with a healthier lifestyle.

Imagine thaaaaaaaaaaaat

Postby adnj » August 16th, 2021, 7:22 pm

Imagine thaaaaaaaaaaaat
By your math there is a 98.8% survival rate for the healthiest who were tested with COVID.

Assuming that the virus will be detected in 20% of the population, a 1.2% mortality rate, and a population of 7.9 billion; you can expect 18,960,000 perfectly healthy people to die as a consequence of COVID-19.

Cancer is a leading cause of death worldwide, accounting for nearly 10 million deaths in 2020.

https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/cancer

680,000 [480,000–1.0 million] people died from AIDS-related illnesses in 2020.

https://www.unaids.org/en/resources/fact-sheet

Postby timelapse » August 16th, 2021, 7:52 pm

hover11 wrote:Just take a vaccine and continue with unhealthy lifestyle....imagine men getting bribed to take a vaccine against a virus that puts unhealthy ppl at most risk of death and the bribe is pizza vouchers and doubles lol

Imagine thaaaaaaaaaaaat
Same men don't need to be bribed to be drinking a set of alcohol and eating the same things on a normal basis.Is a vaccine, not a lifestyle change.I cannot understand how you can confuse the two

Postby hover11 » August 16th, 2021, 7:55 pm

Idk you would think a virus like that which affects ppl with commorbities mostly would encourage ppl to change their lifestyle but to each his own
timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:Just take a vaccine and continue with unhealthy lifestyle....imagine men getting bribed to take a vaccine against a virus that puts unhealthy ppl at most risk of death and the bribe is pizza vouchers and doubles lol

Imagine thaaaaaaaaaaaat
Same men don't need to be bribed to be drinking a set of alcohol and eating the same things on a normal basis.Is a vaccine, not a lifestyle change.I cannot understand how you can confuse the two
Last edited by hover11 on August 16th, 2021, 7:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby aaron17 » August 16th, 2021, 7:59 pm

Bros,.. its too late now ...jus like climate change ..
We fail to realize those worldwide disaster events happening all over. We just brushed it off. Its too late to turn back now and fix things.

I sure covid created and adapted well off climate change.

Postby timelapse » August 16th, 2021, 8:06 pm

It looks like the crazies come out this hour

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 16th, 2021, 9:27 pm

what I realise, is people not really against vaccines in general.

It's the systems behind it. Very totalitarian.

Imagine someone bribing you to drink a glass of water even though you were already going to drink it, would you be weary?

Its just a harmless glass of water, here's a coupon to drink the water.
Your body needs water, just drink the water bro. Dehydration kills 100% of people who have it.
If you don't drink the water, you can't eat lunch here. Drink the water bro :)

Postby De Dragon » August 16th, 2021, 9:37 pm

hover11 wrote:I don't take medication that I don't need to unless it's vitamins period. So that should answer your question on horny goat weed. Simply relying on an emergency use authorization vaccine and hoping it eliminates the threat that's a personal choice and of course people would have their doubts, no I'm not saying that people should have waited 10 years to make a vaccine for covid given the circumstances but a year hasn't even passed yet on studies for adults and they already approving for children well ok then....Also quick question how many tentenus or MMR vaccines were there , today we roughly have 10 covid vaccines all purporting to do the same thing lol
timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:You comparing approved vaccines that went through clinical research for over a decade to 6 months emergency use authorization vaccines....WOW
hover11 wrote:Yea man sure...nice copy and paste....So safe that the companies that produce the vax aren't held liable for damages...
De Dragon wrote:Inactivated vaccines (such as Sinopharm BBIBP) use the same technology and reagents as other widely distributed vaccines. There is little reason to question the vaccine's safety. In fact, inactivated virus vaccines are used for newborns at birth for control of hepatitis.

Why would any rational person question the safety of only one vaccine and not all vaccines?

If the reason is EUA vs. full approval (broken record), that has been said before many, many times.
Buh how dem anti vaxxers like hover and dem go get attention?

You seek a guarantee that isn't there wrt all thing vaccine related.
Were/are drug companies liable for vaccine side effects for smallpox, polio, diptheria? Lemme guess, "dem ting arong long time?" :roll:
You just proved de dragon's point.
The clinical approval took place over a period of time,which we had decades to do.
Covid is the new kid on the block.Should we have waited however long it takes for approval,which requires that it be tested?
When and on whom would this testing had to have been taken?The people that not taking the vaccine.

Advice bro, when in doubt, use logic and the common sense that you say you using.
You still using horny goat weed?

:rofl: :rofl:

Postby adnj » August 16th, 2021, 9:43 pm

aaron17 wrote:Bros,.. its too late now ...jus like climate change ..
We fail to realize those worldwide disaster events happening all over. We just brushed it off. Its too late to turn back now and fix things.

A theory studied since the time of Darwin.

Climate change and the emergence of new pathogens

Zoonotic spillover is the multilevel process by which pathogens (e.g., SARS-CoV-2, Ebola virus, human immunodeficiency virus and avian influenza viruses) manage to overcome a series of natural barriers and infect other animal species. The zoonotic spillover theory, taking into account the complexities of eco-epidemiological processes, specifies the types of barriers that have to be overcome in each situation. Understanding which of these barriers can be affected by climate—either suppressed or enhanced, thereby facilitating spillover or buffering spillover, respectively—will be crucial for anticipating how climate change will affect these cross-species pathogen transmissions.

On the direct side, climate can facilitate a pathogen’s survival, development and dissemination and thus ease spillover. However, it is unlikely that in this context climate will have a critical role in massively promoting the appearance of new spillover events. On the indirect side, instead, the effects of climate are much wider and far more complex. Climate change, superimposed onto a dramatic anthropogenic alteration of ecosystems, is leading to a gradual substitution of species, shrinking of ecosystems and decrease in species diversity. These trend-like changes can clearly lead to spillovers in different ways and to closer and more-general encounters between wildlife and humans. However, climate extremes, acting on a much shorter timescale, can also directly or indirectly affect the frequency and intensity of forest fires, droughts, floods, famines and migrations, equally acting as point stressors and exerting intense zoonotic pressure.

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41591-021-01303-y

Postby De Dragon » August 16th, 2021, 9:48 pm

^^^ Fitting since many of these guys are eminently qualified for Darwin awards

Postby gastly369 » August 16th, 2021, 10:31 pm

Nice short doc

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 17th, 2021, 5:26 am

i am sure if they give a voucher to go get a bucket of KFC, ROYAL CASTLE, CHURCHES or that sort of gimmick they might be more successful in wooing the population.
i just surprise it dont have a guardian life agent outside them vax centers hustling for customers that feel they might die after taking the vax. you know them guardian life people does be every dam way you turn and on you like tick.

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2021, 5:55 am

stupid people abound everywhere
costs of the unvaxxed eventually gonna affect a lot of things like insurance costs in those countries without free public healthcare

Postby adnj » August 17th, 2021, 6:05 am

pugboy wrote:stupid people abound everywhere
costs of the unvaxxed eventually gonna affect a lot of things like insurance costs in those countries without free public healthcare
It's may be already happening in the USA where most Healthcare is paid for by the employer.

Unvaccinated workers could end up paying $50 more for health insurance — per paycheck

Workers who have yet to be vaccinated against COVID-19 could soon be paying as much as $50 more per paycheck for health insurance as companies across the U.S. try to protect their employees — and themselves — from outbreaks of the disease.

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/covid-vacc ... -premiums/

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2021, 6:07 am

I find $50 small given the costs of ICU.

Would have though more like $100+

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2021, 6:09 am

wonder if moh has worked out costs of covid care/patient with the existing data which should be fairly easy since our covid care is totally separate system.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 17th, 2021, 6:22 am

Despite a high number of covid cases Iceland hasn't recorded a single covid death since May.

To put in perspective Iceland is having the equivalent of us having 500 cases a day for the past 2 weeks, and not a single person has died.

Think about that, when we were having 500 cases a day 10-15 people were dying daily.

https://www.businessinsider.com/iceland ... ?r=US&IR=T

Postby timelapse » August 17th, 2021, 7:00 am

adnj wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Bros,.. its too late now ...jus like climate change ..

A theory studied since the time of Darwin.

Climate change and the emergence of new pathogens

Zoonotic spillover is the multilevel process by which pathogens (e.g., SARS-CoV-2, Ebola virus, human immunodeficiency virus and avian influenza viruses) manage to overcome a series of natural barriers and infect other animal species. The zoonotic spillover theory, taking into account the complexities of eco-epidemiological processes, specifies the types of barriers that have to be overcome in each situation. Understanding which of these barriers can be affected by climate—either suppressed or enhanced, thereby facilitating spillover or buffering spillover, respectively—will be crucial for anticipating how climate change will affect these cross-species pathogen transmissions.

On the direct side, climate can facilitate a pathogen’s survival, development and dissemination and thus ease spillover. However, it is unlikely that in this context climate will have a critical role in massively promoting the appearance of new spillover events. On the indirect side, instead, the effects of climate are much wider and far more complex. Climate change, superimposed onto a dramatic anthropogenic alteration of ecosystems, is leading to a gradual substitution of species, shrinking of ecosystems and decrease in species diversity. These trend-like changes can clearly lead to spillovers in different ways and to closer and more-general encounters between wildlife and humans. However, climate extremes, acting on a much shorter timescale, can also directly or indirectly affect the frequency and intensity of forest fires, droughts, floods, famines and migrations, equally acting as point stressors and exerting intense zoonotic pressure.

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41591-021-01303-y
All well and good,but have you manned up as yet and gotten your vaccine?