T&T Budget 2020 is on October 5th

Re: T&T Budget 2020 is on October 5th

Postby Ben_spanna » September 29th, 2020, 11:20 am

Toyo1777 wrote:Cant cut ps salary if they owing them for 7 years

Irony in that is a majority of the PS owing us so many months that they did not work , showed up extremely late to work, took 2-3 hour lunch breaks, stopped working at 1, and overall were just simply inefficient and lazy as their usual selves...

But thank you local neighborhood swimmer hero for protecting them... :roll:

Toyo1777

Postby Toyo1777 » September 29th, 2020, 11:24 am

I agree ps needs to be more productive however the organization structure of the ps is what causes inefficiencies plus lack of resources

Toyo1777

Postby Toyo1777 » September 29th, 2020, 11:26 am

State enterprise waste billions more taxpayers money than ps

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 29th, 2020, 12:29 pm

Some predictions based on pure speculation, obviously

MVT to raise
Vice tax - cigs and alcohol to raie
Gambling taxes to raise and hopefully they enforce it
Possibly a diesel increase
Possibly reduction of waivers on hybrids
possible increase to certain govt services, passport, license renewal etc

abducted

Postby abducted » September 29th, 2020, 12:37 pm

DEVALUATION!

Postby pete » September 29th, 2020, 3:17 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Some predictions based on pure speculation, obviously

MVT to raise
Vice tax - cigs and alcohol to raie
Gambling taxes to raise and hopefully they enforce it
Possibly a diesel increase
Possibly reduction of waivers on hybrids
possible increase to certain govt services, passport, license renewal etc

MVT to raise - probably
Cigs and alcohol - also probable, should add on a duty %age for alcohol in addition to the cost per liter.
Gambling taxes - hard to properly regulate/enforce but sure
Diesel increase - maybe all fuels, not sure if would mean amending laws regarding selling fuel for profit though
Reduction of waiver on hybrids - Not likely as it's aligned to a commitment to reduce GHG emissions so I doubt they'll touch that
Gov't services - One thing they could do is raise the inspection fee. if 5-800k vehicles are currently on the road $1000 every two years would mean up to half a billion in extra revenue
I also think they may do a tiered tax system. Possibly even increase the 72k tax free allowance to maybe 84k but then tax income over a certain amount higher. Say 25% for income from 72 (or 84) to 200k. 30% for income from 200-400, 35% for all income over 400.

Postby bluefete » September 29th, 2020, 3:56 pm

abducted wrote:DEVALUATION!

NOT HAPPENING! At least not for this budget.

But it has me thinking that the gov't has to find a way to staunch the outflow of US$ by the poor man.

So maybe, he might raise the online tax a lot higher.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 29th, 2020, 5:01 pm

bluefete wrote:

But it has me thinking that the gov't has to find a way to staunch the outflow of US$ by the poor man.

Yup heard that it's going to 20% and will be implemented immediately, so Black Friday will be a bust.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 29th, 2020, 5:31 pm

Postby 88sins » September 29th, 2020, 5:47 pm

bluefete wrote:

If these pigbullers was ever serious about stemming the outflow of USD first place to start would be with all these international conglomerates that see here as a cash cow.
The amount of USD that leaves here by way of fast food franchises alone it not funny.

Postby redmanjp » September 29th, 2020, 6:13 pm

bluefete wrote:

i hear that talk too but 20% :shock: is now he go get riot

Postby aaron17 » September 29th, 2020, 6:49 pm

Slice bread 17.50

Postby MaxPower » September 29th, 2020, 8:16 pm

So no tax payers money will be wasted on Carnival 2021.

Love it.

Really dont know why they had to wait for a Pandemic to do this.

Trinis do not deserve Carnival and their behavior in this pandemic is exactly the reason why.

We must come to an understanding that a wine and grine is not always the priority.

Get productive T&T.

Postby paid_influencer » September 29th, 2020, 9:12 pm

bluefete wrote:

the poor man have no US$ to outflow. the next in line is the petit bourgeois. The folks that boast about buying everything online.

the mechanism already in place. Local credit cards have all transitioned to a separate USD side with a monthly quota. Once you hit the quota, that's it - transactions declined. No more US$ spending for the month. Buy local.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 29th, 2020, 10:31 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
bluefete wrote:

the poor man have no US$ to outflow. the next in line is the petit bourgeois. The folks that boast about buying everything online.

the mechanism already in place. Local credit cards have all transitioned to a separate USD side with a monthly quota. Once you hit the quota, that's it - transactions declined. No more US$ spending for the month. Buy local.

While I support buying local there are still many things one cannot get that are manufactured locally and rather than support a local reseller and settle for what they have I like the alternate of getting exactly what I want online.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 30th, 2020, 4:01 am

this remind me of when NAR implement VAT an other measures and fork up Trinidad and Tobago. when importation of apple and grapes was not allowed. when d jamat get fed up and stage the coup. with all this covid stress, and now budget stress does that mean something like the 1990 coup might follow when the pot boil over ?
if in the budget he take away people ability to shop online, they foreign products, they spending power, they wuk, cut salaries, privatize wasa and TTEC and cut staff, covid restrictions done forcing people to stay home, force some to take no pay leave for months, parents have the stress of online school, bar close, river and beach closed so no avenue to relax, should we be concerned?
Remember in 1990 they say bas, manning an who every know about eh coup was conveniently out of the country, budget day is monday in a pressure cooker environment and GG buss out, watch and see if any other senior politician or person of power bussin out this week.

Postby j.o.e » September 30th, 2020, 6:40 am

screwbash wrote:this remind me of when NAR implement VAT an other measures and fork up Trinidad and Tobago. when importation of apple and grapes was not allowed. when d jamat get fed up and stage the coup. with all this covid stress, and now budget stress does that mean something like the 1990 coup might follow when the pot boil over ?
if in the budget he take away people ability to shop online, they foreign products, they spending power, they wuk, cut salaries, privatize wasa and TTEC and cut staff, covid restrictions done forcing people to stay home, force some to take no pay leave for months, parents have the stress of online school, bar close, river and beach closed so no avenue to relax, should we be concerned?
Remember in 1990 they say bas, manning an who every know about eh coup was conveniently out of the country, budget day is monday in a pressure cooker environment and GG buss out, watch and see if any other senior politician or person of power bussin out this week.

Cool story bro

Postby De Dragon » September 30th, 2020, 7:11 am

j.o.e wrote:
screwbash wrote:this remind me of when NAR implement VAT an other measures and fork up Trinidad and Tobago. when importation of apple and grapes was not allowed. when d jamat get fed up and stage the coup. with all this covid stress, and now budget stress does that mean something like the 1990 coup might follow when the pot boil over ?

Cool story bro

NAR remains probably the only GORTT to ever have the stones to do what was necessary in an economic downturn. Foolish, entitled people couldn't see that what was done was necessary for our economic well being and staged a coup that achieved nothing of significance towards alleviating that concern, but actually made it much worse.

Postby 88sins » September 30th, 2020, 7:28 am

MaxPower wrote:So no tax payers money will be wasted on Carnival 2021.

Love it.

Trinis do not deserve Carnival and their behavior in this pandemic is exactly the reason why.

We must come to an understanding that a wine and grine is not always the priority.

Get productive T&T.

With no carnival 2K21 & this pandemic, that means no tourist dollars coming in (the little that used to com in sure looking attractive now that it's no longer available) , & with oil & gas prices currently still in the toilet with no signs of improvement.
Now, considering that 99% of what we consume on this island is imported from other nations, (from clothing & fabric to medications to food to fuel) and that we have to pay for said imports with foreign exchange, and our current reserve of forex dwindling away daily by eay of repatriation of funds to foreign corporations, local businesses and both legal& illegal residents, answer this.

How do you propose this country's economy not crash & burn (putting us in a position similar to or worse than venezuela) when said forex runs out due to the steady influx of undocumented illegal aliens entering the country and increasing the rate of consumption of our limited forex reserves while we are earning practically zero foreign exchange? What do you think is going to happen when the forex runs out? Venes need to eat, need meds, clothes, fuel to move around, just like every trini, but they also need forex to send back home by boat to pay for their relatives to also enter this country illegally. So when the shortages begin, are you and them and every other trini ready to deal with that?
Also, keep in mind, that T&T accepting foriegn aid to help mitigate the expense of allowing this illegal exodus from vene to trini isn't without it's dangers and liabilities.

you can stick your had in the sand as you usually do if you want.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 30th, 2020, 7:36 am

Our government needs to support local manufacturers alot more, we need to promote our small businesses, not to mention its now too late to start back up our agriculture sector for exporting...........

Postby teems1 » September 30th, 2020, 8:24 am

Anything you want to manufacture can be done cheaper and better in China.

We have to go towards a service based economy.

Companies in the US, Canada and UK should be look towards Trinidad to outsource instead of India.
Ben_spanna wrote:Our government needs to support local manufacturers alot more, we need to promote our small businesses, not to mention its now too late to start back up our agriculture sector for exporting...........

Postby eliteauto » September 30th, 2020, 8:26 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Our government needs to support local manufacturers alot more, we need to promote our small businesses, not to mention its now too late to start back up our agriculture sector for exporting...........

Support local manufacturers how? You would remember how vibrant our manufacturing sector was in the 1980's into the early 90's, what changed? Was it the Gov't who shifted to the import-repackage-sell model? Other than policy direction the manufacturing sector needs to support itself and become innovative just like other places in the world, the days of the tenderpreneurship model are over for many.

Postby 88sins » September 30th, 2020, 8:50 am

understand this eh
supporting local manufacturers at this point is an nice idea, but the problem remains that the vast bulk of what we produce requires imported raw materials, and when forex get's scarce it doesn't take long for local manufacturers to face material supply problems that effectively shuts down production, with exporters of locally manufactured products following suit in short order. Don't get me wrong, we need to develop our manufacturing & export sector as a means of earning forex. But just as importantly, we need to drastically reduce our imports if we plan to survive the fallout of this pandemic and collapsed oil & gas prices, and at this point our biggest import costs are food, fuel, drugs, electronics and raw materials. If we can resolve at least two-three of those issues, (specifically food fuel & raw materials), we would stand a fighting chance of seeing improvement in our economic position within 12-24 months.

What's needed to start is a serious push to boost local agriculture productivity to the extent we become self sufficient in at the very least feeding ourselves, with the possibility of the export of some of said production up the islands & to nearby nations, & this is in addition to encouraging the nation to buy local products as much as possible, starting with food. Throughout history it's been proven, that a nation that can feed itself without the need to outsource a food supply can easily become self sufficient in many other aspects of it's existence. T&T is no exception to this.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 30th, 2020, 9:07 am

eliteauto wrote:

Support local manufacturers how? You would remember how vibrant our manufacturing sector was in the 1980's into the early 90's, what changed? Was it the Gov't who shifted to the import-repackage-sell model? Other than policy direction the manufacturing sector needs to support itself and become innovative just like other places in the world, the days of the tenderpreneurship model are over for many.

WTO happened.
No longer could we have very high duties to outright bans on imports with the local manufacturers having a hegemony on the market. Victor Mouttett started and grew Swiss on the back of Government's import substitution policy.

Postby MaxPower » September 30th, 2020, 9:12 am

MaxPower wrote:So no tax payers money will be wasted on Carnival 2021.

Love it.

Get productive T&T.

With no carnival 2K21 & this pandemic, that means no tourist dollars coming in (the little that used to com in sure looking attractive now that it's no longer available) , & with oil & gas prices currently still in the toilet with no signs of improvement.
Now, considering that 99% of what we consume on this island is imported from other nations, (from clothing & fabric to medications to food to fuel) and that we have to pay for said imports with foreign exchange, and our current reserve of forex dwindling away daily by eay of repatriation of funds to foreign corporations, local businesses and both legal& illegal residents, answer this.

How do you propose this country's economy not crash & burn (putting us in a position similar to or worse than venezuela) when said forex runs out due to the steady influx of undocumented illegal aliens entering the country and increasing the rate of consumption of our limited forex reserves while we are earning practically zero foreign exchange? What do you think is going to happen when the forex runs out? Venes need to eat, need meds, clothes, fuel to move around, just like every trini, but they also need forex to send back home by boat to pay for their relatives to also enter this country illegally. So when the shortages begin, are you and them and every other trini ready to deal with that?
Also, keep in mind, that T&T accepting foriegn aid to help mitigate the expense of allowing this illegal exodus from vene to trini isn't without it's dangers and liabilities.

you can stick your had in the sand as you usually do if you want.

Hello Reek,

Carnival is not everything as you Trinis choose to think it to be.

Start thinking outside the box, get out of the tunnel vision.

We have to start thinking about new ways to generate revenue effectively.

You Trinis feel NO Carnival is the end of the economy and more so, the end of the world.

Your Trini mentality is pretty much complacent and negatively oriented but expected.

And stop studying the Venezuelans Reek, if you have a problem with them, then gather your little group of Trinis who claim to be affected by choice and do something.

Now Reek dont get me wrong, your comments are duly noted you have great points as usual, but, they are pretty much the sameeee song being sang. Nothing new, nothing recent, nothing moving forward. Talk to me about solutions doll, not complaints.

And yes, Venes need to eat, need meds, clothes and fuel and they work damn hard for it.

T&T must get more productive and STOP depending on others and fishing for excuses NOT to work.

Postby pete » September 30th, 2020, 9:13 am

Before 2015 the UNC was expanding the NAMDECO warehouses to provide extra refrigeration space for farmers. This was stopped and left stagnant for 5 years with farmers continuing to get periods of glut and then scarcity resulting in a huge problem in the agricultural sector. One hope I have is that they will restart the construction or completion of those facilities which should help the farmers out.

Postby MaxPower » September 30th, 2020, 9:14 am

understand this eh
supporting local manufacturers at this point is an nice idea, but the problem remains that the vast bulk of what we produce requires imported raw materials, and when forex get's scarce it doesn't take long for local manufacturers to face material supply problems that effectively shuts down production, with exporters of locally manufactured products following suit in short order. Don't get me wrong, we need to develop our manufacturing & export sector as a means of earning forex. But just as importantly, we need to drastically reduce our imports if we plan to survive the fallout of this pandemic and collapsed oil & gas prices, and at this point our biggest import costs are food, fuel, drugs, electronics and raw materials. If we can resolve at least two-three of those issues, (specifically food fuel & raw materials), we would stand a fighting chance of seeing improvement in our economic position within 12-24 months.

What's needed to start is a serious push to boost local agriculture productivity to the extent we become self sufficient in at the very least feeding ourselves, with the possibility of the export of some of said production up the islands & to nearby nations, & this is in addition to encouraging the nation to buy local products as much as possible, starting with food. Throughout history it's been proven, that a nation that can feed itself without the need to outsource a food supply can easily become self sufficient in many other aspects of it's existence. T&T is no exception to this.

Reek,

A much better response my good man.

Love the thinking.

Postby De Dragon » September 30th, 2020, 10:22 pm

pete wrote:Before 2015 the UNC was expanding the NAMDECO warehouses to provide extra refrigeration space for farmers. This was stopped and left stagnant for 5 years with farmers continuing to get periods of glut and then scarcity resulting in a huge problem in the agricultural sector. One hope I have is that they will restart the construction or completion of those facilities which should help the farmers out.

The first will ensure that the second doesn't happen. :roll:

abducted

Postby abducted » September 30th, 2020, 10:33 pm

eliteauto wrote:

WTO happened.
No longer could we have very high duties to outright bans on imports with the local manufacturers having a hegemony on the market. Victor Mouttett started and grew Swiss on the back of Government's import substitution policy.

Hegemony is the order of the day, the populace supports it too

Postby matr1x » October 1st, 2020, 4:55 am

The 1% will pay the property tax, because they will be raising their prices 300% and ppl will still buy.

Landlords just need to raise their rent.

Pnm ppl like to see the country suffering