Re: Express article: The education of children of African origin

Postby goalpost » June 5th, 2021, 10:36 am

Thread just turn to mud slinging.

Clean up required.

litos

Postby litos » June 5th, 2021, 10:48 am

Theodore has his views and no doubt Wraith he has substantial evidence to support his cliam. interesting to know my dearest audience is that statistics and authoritative evidence can be maligned for whatever purpose. not to sidetrack...but christianity was the basic of mass persecution disempowerment of many and the enslavement of races.

the principle does not validate the application.

Theodore...poor fellow...schooled but not educated.

i read through Wraith...as an educator myself it astonishes me that this devolves into race...its not race...but culture as a variable of social stratification...but education has become the new variable of social class structures and while thuggery may be seen with race specific strata...illiteracy isnt. illiteracy exists across the board...it manifests in behaviour like i see here in many comments. that being said i am loath to judge...lest i too be judged. people will hold their anachronistic and biased views regardless...and again like an ironic red herring argument...education is the only avenue available to break the bondage of illiteracy and stupidity and race and gimme gimme,,,,u have i take because...and because...and because.

Postby zoom rader » June 5th, 2021, 10:58 am

goalpost wrote:Thread just turn to mud slinging.

Clean up required.
What mud slinging?

These racist Habit7 and Redman need to be exposed.

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2021, 11:00 am

^agreed

you need to look beyond theodore
he can’t help himself, he doing the best he can unfortunately

the other day there was a big social media furore when somebody referred to some folks as “them uneducated ppl”

education or lack of it or lack of human ability because of it is well entrenched as a social divider now.

it’s not sat or any presbyterian fault that they pushed education hard in their schools for decades, likewise the catholic schools.

blaming the 20% allotment is making poor excuses now

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 5th, 2021, 11:06 am

litos wrote:Theodore has his views and no doubt Wraith he has substantial evidence to support his cliam. interesting to know my dearest audience is that statistics and authoritative evidence can be maligned for whatever purpose. not to sidetrack...but christianity was the basic of mass persecution disempowerment of many and the enslavement of races.

i read through Wraith...as an educator myself it astonishes me that this devolves into race...its not race...but culture as a variable of social stratification...but education has become the new variable of social class structures and while thuggery may be seen with race specific strata...illiteracy isnt. illiteracy exists across the board...it manifests in behaviour like i see here in many comments. that being said i am loath to judge...lest i too be judged. people will hold their anachronistic and biased views regardless...and again like an ironic red herring argument...education is the only avenue available to break the bondage of illiteracy and stupidity and race and gimme gimme,,,,u have i take because...and because...and because.

Theodore had evidence to back up the claim that the education system is racist against Africans and rigged to favour Indians?

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2021, 11:09 am

no and he claimed the 20% picks were racist picks

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 5th, 2021, 11:09 am

pugboy wrote:^agreed

you need to look beyond theodore
he can’t help himself, he doing the best he can unfortunately

the other day there was a big social media furore when somebody referred to some folks as “them uneducated ppl”

education or lack of it or lack of human ability because of it is well entrenched as a social divider now.

it’s not sat or any presbyterian fault that they pushed education hard in their schools for decades, likewise the catholic schools.

blaming the 20% allotment is making poor excuses now

If the "them uneducated ppl" was referring to Africans, they should hold Theodore responsible as that's what his article was basically saying but falsely blaming racism.

If it wasn't an issue to them when Theodore said it why is it an issue when someone repeats it?
Last edited by Wraith King on June 5th, 2021, 11:14 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2021, 11:10 am

the sad part is they blame the sea/secondary school part

but why not start the blame at primary school instead of using a yardstick at 11yrs old

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 5th, 2021, 11:13 am

pugboy wrote:no and he claimed the 20% picks were racist picks

Was there anyone from the African community that condemned Theodore's statements?

Devourment

Postby Devourment » June 5th, 2021, 11:16 am

litos wrote:Theodore has his views and no doubt Wraith he has substantial evidence to support his cliam. interesting to know my dearest audience is that statistics and authoritative evidence can be maligned for whatever purpose. not to sidetrack...but christianity was the basic of mass persecution disempowerment of many and the enslavement of races.

I can attest to this.

I used to teach at 2 different primary schools for over 5 years, one rural one urban. Both had roughly an equal split of indo to black children. The difference in successful outcomes comes down to their homelife or parents.

Children whose parents had decent jobs or went UWI, or appeared like responsible adults had far far better SEA results.

What I did observe, however, was that black parents put less pressure on academics than Indian parents. Not sure why, but it was noted amongst many of our staff members as well. Indian parents who were poor were still far more likely to put emphasis on their child's education versus poorer black parents as well.

This also reflected itself in class where you'd see indo kids crying about bad marks, whereas black kids not caring. This says a lot about the expectations at home for them.

My 3 years at the rural primary school where a standard 5 class was around 15 students, saw only 4 children (all indian) making their first choice. The best second choice school in the area (a 7 year government high school) which many aspired to go, had a similar intake with indian kids outnumbering black kids 3 or 4 to 1. Whereas the government composite (literally a stones throw away) had the opposite ratio. This is an area that is considered marginal but slightly more afro-dominated.

It's not the school that makes the student, it's the culture or attitude they adopt from their upbringing. No amount of zoning and placing these kids in prestige schools can fix that.

Postby De Dragon » June 5th, 2021, 11:17 am

Really? Where?
Also no other religion had/encouraged slavery? Even today? Emancipation wasn't the end of slavery forever. :roll:

litos

Postby litos » June 5th, 2021, 11:18 am

https://developingeconomics.files.wordp ... theory.pdf

read Lloyd Best's socio-political socio-economic evaluation of dependency and the issue of application of affirmative action and positive discrimination.

its farcical until we as a post colonial society learn that we are underdogs and need to congeal in order to succeed. the distrust and mistrust of the colonial era must be overcome especially through education.

consider this....education is the only practical mechanism through which real cultural change can be wrought. its the only way that we can change the way of thinking of our people.

this infighting and crabs in a barrel mentality keep us here in servitude and obeisance to the mighty metropolitan economic machine. we are a self fulfilling prophecy in their eyes and they no doubt are rejoice because of the imperialism they have injected so masterfully. we love to divide...but ALWAYS fail to see the divisor.

we are the masters of our destiny....Wraith Zoom Porn Redman Habit Honourable Dragon sMASh et al

litos

Postby litos » June 5th, 2021, 11:21 am

Dragon.

peace be unto you.

illiteracy will never end.

you have proven this today.

carry on smartly.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » June 5th, 2021, 11:21 am

Wraith King wrote:

Was there anyone from the African community that condemned Theodore's statements?

My grandfather was on the presbyterian church board and he often told me the 20% was chosen like this:

That 20% was made of these 3 categories

1. Poor presbyterian students who belong to the church but didn't make the grade - code for who sucked up or the church elders or volunteered the most at church
2. Special presbyterian picks - code for rich members of the church
3. Persons outside the church of differing background to help ensure some diversity in the school - code for outside persons (who might happen to be black or white) with money

Postby De Dragon » June 5th, 2021, 11:22 am

Wraith King wrote:

Tuntsy did Well, kinda), if Tuntsy is indeed Afro, or maybe he's a tortured, trolling Indo, but his reasons weren't to condemn racism, it was to try to show other 2NRers as racist ironically by also appearing to be racist himself :roll:

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 5th, 2021, 11:25 am

Devourment wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

My grandfather was on the presbyterian church board and he often told me the 20% was chosen like this:

That 20% was made of these 3 categories

1. Poor presbyterian students who belong to the church but didn't make the grade - code for who sucked up or the church elders or volunteered the most at church
2. Special presbyterian picks - code for rich members of the church
3. Persons outside the church of differing background to help ensure some diversity in the school - code for outside persons (who might happen to be black or white) with money

Did you read the article?

Postby alfa » June 5th, 2021, 12:17 pm

Devourment wrote:

I can attest to this.

I used to teach at 2 different primary schools for over 5 years, one rural one urban. Both had roughly an equal split of indo to black children. The difference in successful outcomes comes down to their homelife or parents.

Children whose parents had decent jobs or went UWI, or appeared like responsible adults had far far better SEA results.

What I did observe, however, was that black parents put less pressure on academics than Indian parents. Not sure why, but it was noted amongst many of our staff members as well. Indian parents who were poor were still far more likely to put emphasis on their child's education versus poorer black parents as well.

This also reflected itself in class where you'd see indo kids crying about bad marks, whereas black kids not caring. This says a lot about the expectations at home for them.

My 3 years at the rural primary school where a standard 5 class was around 15 students, saw only 4 children (all indian) making their first choice. The best second choice school in the area (a 7 year government high school) which many aspired to go, had a similar intake with indian kids outnumbering black kids 3 or 4 to 1. Whereas the government composite (literally a stones throw away) had the opposite ratio. This is an area that is considered marginal but slightly more afro-dominated.

It's not the school that makes the student, it's the culture or attitude they adopt from their upbringing. No amount of zoning and placing these kids in prestige schools can fix that.

Totally agree. After natural ability the next determining factor of a child's academic success is the parental upbringing and culture towards education. Race is not a factor. People really believe that a black doctor or lawyer will not care if their child ends up in whatever is the modern day equivalent to the junior sec? Educated parents are usually better off financially and would thus value education more and place the emphasis on their children's education thereby helping them to succeed academically. That's why a lot of educated and rich folks have kids in prestige schools. I'm not denying some may have gotten in through via a 'facilitation fee' but the majority earned their spot as proven by their cxc and cape grades in the end. So Lewis is on crap
The reason I believe black parents care less about children's education could be that for generations they were the sole proprietor of the public service and were virtually assured a public service wuk by having some family inside. Indians on the other hand drilled into their kids that they will never get into the public service with their last names and then only way to survive was too become a doctor or lawyer

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2021, 12:17 pm

the reality is even if there was no 20% hand pick
would it really make a diff against the other 80% who qualified academically ?

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 5th, 2021, 12:23 pm

alfa wrote:
Devourment wrote:

I can attest to this.

Totally agree. After natural ability the next determining factor of a child's academic success is the parental upbringing and culture towards education. Race is not a factor. People really believe that a black doctor or lawyer will not care if their child ends up in whatever is the modern day equivalent to the junior sec? Educated parents are usually better off financially and would thus value education more and place the emphasis on their children's education thereby helping them to succeed academically. That's why a lot of educated and rich folks have kids in prestige schools. I'm not denying some may have gotten in through via a 'facilitation fee' but the majority earned their spot as proven by their cxc and cape grades in the end. So Lewis is on crap
The reason I believe black parents care less about children's education could be that for generations they were the sole proprietor of the public service and were virtually assured a public service wuk by having some family inside. Indians on the other hand drilled into their kids that they will never get into the public service with their last names and then only way to survive was too become a doctor or lawyer

I agree with what both of you said.

The issue is that instead of taking responsibility of the situation and finding solutions, they claim racism and don't remedy the issue. If any non African says anything about crime and education they are called racist.

Postby Redman » June 5th, 2021, 1:19 pm

pugboy wrote:the reality is even if there was no 20% hand pick

While the principal has absolute discretion there is a minimum requirement for access to the 20%.

One ex prestige principal states that the days of failing CE for your first choice are no more.

The downside of not picking a child with the right parents is also less relevant.
It is more competitive for what is 20 places each year.

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2021, 2:10 pm

in catholic "prestige " schools in POS a lot of the vetting has to pass through the mgmt committees
alumni etc

in fact the alumni associations carry a lot of weight now vs the old school prinicipal and their historical contacts
simply because of fundraising responsibility held by the old students

a lot of the 20% is made up of children of parents who went to the school prior.
that 20% racist pick is so bogus

theodore talking from far abroad and have no idea but just preaching what his audience wants to hear like most of these commentators

Redman wrote:

While the principal has absolute discretion there is a minimum requirement for access to the 20%.

One ex prestige principal states that the days of failing CE for your first choice are no more.

The downside of not picking a child with the right parents is also less relevant.

Postby MaxPower » June 5th, 2021, 2:20 pm

Fact:

Rich, educated people, black or white do NOT want their children associating with no ghetto people and their children.

Safety and location trumps everything.

Ask yourselves….if the best teachers in the country are stationed in schools in hot spot areas with ghetto children….you really feel the privileged will still send their kids there?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 5th, 2021, 2:34 pm

MaxPower wrote:Fact:

Rich, educated people, black or white do NOT want their children associating with no ghetto people and their children.

Safety and location trumps everything.

Ask yourselves….if the best teachers in the country are stationed in schools in hot spot areas with ghetto children….you really feel the privileged will still send their kids there?

Class tends to stay within class.

I wonder how our Venezuelan students will fare in the next few years.

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2021, 2:35 pm

some will fall off the edge simply because of family circumstances

many will excel because their families want to ensure their life improves

Postby Redman » June 5th, 2021, 2:42 pm

Yes it is as you say.
The principal goes into a room by himself to make the choice, but there is an application process....and a minimum grade requirement..posted as 80%.
Religion, history of school affiliation etc.

It was the same for prestige primary school in South as well.

The article is a hack job.

pugboy wrote:in catholic "prestige " schools in POS a lot of the vetting has to pass through the mgmt committees
alumni etc

in fact the alumni associations carry a lot of weight now vs the old school prinicipal and their historical contacts
simply because of fundraising responsibility held by the old students

a lot of the 20% is made up of children of parents who went to the school prior.
that 20% racist pick is so bogus

theodore talking from far abroad and have no idea but just preaching what his audience wants to hear like most of these commentators

Redman wrote:

litos

Postby litos » June 5th, 2021, 3:38 pm

My dearest audience still missing the salient points.

Theodore is pushing his agenda...maybe he is an apologist or an antagonist maybe in the stature of a SatM.

but the underlying issue never constituted race.

as Impartially as i may resonate here it is a matter of upbringing drive and culture.

No child, regardless of colour is impeded by ability...to cliam ability as a variable is to say that some races are inherently handicapped. I DO NOT BELIEVE THIS TO BE SO.

the emphasis upon educational pursuit is the variable...and this is the culture to which is alluded. my dearest audience...see beyond race...race talk is self defeating in a plural society. social and occupational advancement is no means a given to any racial persuasion...it is an attitude a will a drive and a quest.

we are the masters of our own destiny and playing the race card only shows your lack of logical interventional capability and the willingness to blame others for your lack of progress.

why on tuner does everything have to devolve into race or some inane comical discussion? can we not as a people remain ardently intellectual to an intellectual topic?

Postby timelapse » June 5th, 2021, 3:49 pm

Next up for Theodore....
Gang laws were designed to punish Afros .Change the laws to make gang activity legal to less impede the progress of young black males.
This isn't about race or politics.Is about the entitlement that these woke people have.

Postby Habit7 » June 5th, 2021, 3:57 pm

litos wrote:why on tuner does everything have to devolve into race or some inane comical discussion? can we not as a people remain ardently intellectual to an intellectual topic?

When you are a racist and you attempt to condemn another racist intellectually. Very soon your own racist ideology will poor out. And when you start receiving the same condemnation you were trying to give Theodore, you lash out in nastiness.

Welcome to Trinituner.

litos

Postby litos » June 5th, 2021, 4:08 pm

Habit...

thank u for pointing that out.

you have also emphasized your own illiteracy.

peace be onto you.

be well and prosper in your ignorance.

stupidity is not inherent it is leaned. u my dear Habit hold a Phd.

trying to educate some will ever remain a task of sisyphus.

Postby De Dragon » June 5th, 2021, 4:27 pm

litos wrote:Dragon.

peace be unto you.

illiteracy will never end.

you have proven this today.

carry on smartly.

why on tuner does everything have to devolve into race or some inane comical discussion? can we not as a people remain ardently intellectual to an intellectual topic?

Oh so your call for intellectual discussion meant intellectual discussion that didn't disagree with your views, or present other points? Are you saying that Christians alone enslaved people? That is the question I was asking, yet this is your reply?
"Educator" seems to be self appointed as no well meaning educator I know would belittle differing viewpoints. I bid you a good day, for to engage you further would be futile, as you have revealed your condescending arrogant attitude and mannerisms from early in the discussion.