Powell will drive for Ford M-Sport at Rally Spain 2012

mck_motorsport

Re: Powell will drive for Ford M-Sport at Rally Spain 2012

Postby mck_motorsport » November 10th, 2012, 12:49 am

Wet, dry,fog or no fog..it don't matter ppl de man would get treat like a tropical lollipop any day against those guys...
LICKS GRAN MURRRR!!!!
Oh by the way you guys see the Jamaican flag on the scoop of the car showing where his true roots from.....just though I'd point that out....

Even more so what we can ALL (trini,bajan and jam) learn from this. no one from the Caribbean can go up against the worlds best and come close to them just like that....I mean come on penti never even win rally barbados.....

My last words for now.....I hope day 2 the weather is a lot better so penti can have a more enjoyable experience in the rally...."if in doubt, flat out" Colin McRae

Postby wagonrunner » November 10th, 2012, 1:17 am

sio wrote:Could we please keep on the topic, which is a caribbean team in WRC.
So can we back the team as one Caribbean.
no. buy a pack of flying fish in the grocery, empty it into the sea, so some could feel happy. and try again.

Postby tr1ad » November 10th, 2012, 1:30 am

countdown is on to day 2

Postby tr1ad » November 10th, 2012, 2:32 am

Some clouds, roads wet, no rain expected...…but
6 stages, all asphalt, 161.30km, Ostberg out of Service and on way to SS7 starts in 30 mins

RallyFreak555

Postby RallyFreak555 » November 10th, 2012, 6:39 am

It's OFFICIAL, John Powell has retired in Spain with an inner ear infection and after struggling with balance! :'(

Postby MG Man » November 10th, 2012, 7:11 am

to all the negative nannies in this thread, I suspect trinidad's soca warriors deserved no place in the FIFA world cup either, because they are a sub-level barrel of bottom feeders...........what about our boy who won gold with a sub-standard javelin throw? He should give back his gold too because his throw was the shortest to win gold in how long? The rest of his team mates should have just stayed home too, rather than embarrass themselves, much the way the Jamaican bobsled team did, right?

Heck, the FIA should have banned MInardi from F1 for being the shittiest team ever to embarass itself in the sport................

The guys who gave Powell a drive in their fancy Ford should all be sacked for making such a poor decision as putting him behind the wheel.............

Well done guys, you fellas really opened our blind trini eyes to how John has embarrassed us....he should be stripped of his citizenship and left to drift in the atlantic in an inner tube..........

Postby tr1ad » November 10th, 2012, 8:14 am

RallyFreak555 wrote:It's OFFICIAL, John Powell has retired in Spain with an inner ear infection and after struggling with balance! :'(

official after what stage?

because powell did a time of 14:19.1 on stage 9
the leader of stage 9 is loeb with a time of 9:19.1

stage 9 finished 5 minutes ago

Postby tr1ad » November 10th, 2012, 8:19 am

to the jamrock counterparts

please don't be jealous that jp chose t&t flag to fly, hell this is where he chooses to live after how long??

at least he presented the m sport manager with an autographed usain bolt ja t shirt

jp represents the caribbean this weekend,
stop the nonesense guys....... we all love the same sport

Postby tr1ad » November 10th, 2012, 8:22 am

John is 53rd overall with a time of 3:08:42.5
The overall leader is loeb with a time of 2:29:17.2

Postby tr1ad » November 10th, 2012, 8:25 am

i gather they ASSUMED he retired after this article
http://www.wrc.com/news/powell-fears-sp ... ?fid=17883

but that interview was after SS7, yet he completed SS9

John is trying to complete today's stage, regardless of ENT Infection

turbo tercel

Postby turbo tercel » November 10th, 2012, 8:28 am

i'm confused. Is he still in because he is not in the split time records. but he is in the stage times. Official wrc site says he is 65 after SS9....??????

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 10th, 2012, 9:07 am

I'm at Rally HQ and even though John ran SS9 the car is now back at the Service Park and is retired for the day. They will not run for the rest of the day. I haven't spoken to John since they came back in after SS9 but I'm heading down to the service park now, if he is still there I will get some details and post here.

We just added a few photos from Thursday at the Shakedown in Salou, Ceremonial start in Barcelona and info on the homepage www.trinituner.com

will update soon!

link

Postby link » November 10th, 2012, 9:13 am

can 'someone' designate dUANE/rcadiz 'official' reporters ??
schups man....dis startin to look like a ttasa fitedong thread now...... :lol:
instead of shouting 'all hail to our T&T CARIBBEAN WRC REP'..........wha' happenin'? :roll:

Postby tr1ad » November 10th, 2012, 9:39 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I'm at Rally HQ and even though John ran SS9 the car is now back at the Service Park and is retired for the day. They will not run for the rest of the day. I haven't spoken to John since they came back in after SS9 but I'm heading down to the service park now, if he is still there I will get some details and post here.

We just added a few photos from Thursday at the Shakedown in Salou, Ceremonial start in Barcelona and info on the homepage http://www.trinituner.com

will update soon!

so there was halfway truth in rally freak statement, just not the correct time

turbo tercel

Postby turbo tercel » November 10th, 2012, 10:01 am

now john has a stage time for SS10! wtf

mck_motorsport

Postby mck_motorsport » November 10th, 2012, 10:20 am

MG Man wrote:to all the negative nannies in this thread, I suspect trinidad's soca warriors deserved no place in the FIFA world cup either, because they are a sub-level barrel of bottom feeders...........what about our boy who won gold with a sub-standard javelin throw? He should give back his gold too because his throw was the shortest to win gold in how long? The rest of his team mates should have just stayed home too, rather than embarrass themselves, much the way the Jamaican bobsled team did, right?

Heck, the FIA should have banned MInardi from F1 for being the shittiest team ever to embarass itself in the sport................

The guys who gave Powell a drive in their fancy Ford should all be sacked for making such a poor decision as putting him behind the wheel.............

Well done guys, you fellas really opened our blind trini eyes to how John has embarrassed us....he should be stripped of his citizenship and left to drift in the atlantic in an inner tube..........

Your football team qualified and earned their spot in the World Cup and did pretty damn well against the top teams they played....as for your gold medalist he did a fantastic job bring you guys home a gold...but to have to pay £75,000-£150,000 to drive a wrc rally when endurance and fitness is 50% of the game well that is just a waste of money......John should of went and done a clubman level rally in the uk or Ireland with guys that are on the same level or even BRC.......just being real about it.....when all rally drivers in the Caribbean get up on a morning and go to work wrc men getting up to go and do a 200km test train etc.....so don't feel bad for the hand penti got, it would happen to anybody in the Caribbean (roger mayers,micey,panton,skeete,Armstrong) mind you other than skeete I do think the younger guys would do a bit better.....

it sucks the way it went down wish penti did not get sick and finished but either way, he would of got his ass handed to him.......

Jam town next!!!

mck_motorsport

Postby mck_motorsport » November 10th, 2012, 10:39 am

tr1ad wrote:to the jamrock counterparts

please don't be jealous that jp chose t&t flag to fly, hell this is where he chooses to live after how long??

at least he presented the m sport manager with an autographed usain bolt ja t shirt

Blahhahahahahahaha......jealous u say....I just think it is to funny how you guys call him your own when de man born and raised in jam start his rally career in jam...end up in trini so what.....

link

Postby link » November 10th, 2012, 10:42 am

where was mck_motorsport before now.....pg1, pg2, etc....??
now that u c odds stacked up against comparative success, yr crying down a great effort......
***seesh***

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 10th, 2012, 10:55 am

mck_motorsport wrote:Blahhahahahahahaha......jealous u say....I just think it is to funny how you guys call him your own when de man born and raised in jam start his rally career in jam...end up in trini so what.....
this is not about what country he was born in. This is a Caribbean Effort. There are Jamaicans, Trinis, Bajans all up here in Spain each cheering on with their respective flags for the rally and no one here is talking crap about which island John is from. John chose to fly the T&T flag -that was his choice. We all should respect that.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 10th, 2012, 10:57 am

mck_motorsport

Postby mck_motorsport » November 10th, 2012, 11:09 am

Not crying down nothing...glad he went and gave it a go....just being real about it.....

Postby tr1ad » November 10th, 2012, 11:19 am

mck_motorsport wrote:
tr1ad wrote:to the jamrock counterparts

Blahhahahahahahaha......jealous u say....I just think it is to funny how you guys call him your own when de man born and raised in jam start his rally career in jam...end up in trini so what.....

again
no one calling him a trinidadian
he chooses to fly that flag, it's a great thing for craibbean motorsport, podium finish, retire, whatever

just to get an invitation is the thing, to be among the top class

that the real deal

mck_motorsport

Postby mck_motorsport » November 10th, 2012, 11:24 am

£75,000-£100,000 invitation...

Postby tr1ad » November 10th, 2012, 11:25 am

mck_motorsport wrote:£75,000-£100,000 invitation...

i'm waiting on your point

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 10th, 2012, 11:31 am

^ you get invited to a wedding and suit comes in the envelope?
anyway please stop this useless banter. It is getting repetitive.

on a lighter note: At the service park today and this is what the wifi looks like.

Postby tr1ad » November 10th, 2012, 11:34 am

well upload some pikcha na

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 10th, 2012, 11:37 am

link

Postby link » November 10th, 2012, 1:20 pm

mck_motorsport wrote:Not crying down nothing...glad he went and gave it a go.........

fixed :idea:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 10th, 2012, 4:57 pm

Powell and Fennell have decided to retire for the rest of the rally for John to recover from an inner ear infection.

John Powell (Rally 2) said:

“I guess I should have had my lucky egg with me like the guys from Cool Runnings!

“After speaking with M-Sport’s physio, it seems I have an ear infection that I could have had for some time – but that only became an issue on the longer stages where your body is put under more stress.

“We’ll run some tests when I get home, but this is by no means my last showing in the WRC and I hope to be back next year. This is what movies are made of – you get knocked back, but you come back stronger which is what we intend to do.

“Despite being unable to compete as I would have liked, this has been a fantastic experience and I have met so many nice people. Everyone has been so welcoming: the teams, the drivers, Malcolm [Wilson], everybody. M-Sport is like a family and I am honoured that they have welcomed me and my family into their own.

“As I said, we have been made to feel so welcome by everyone in the championship and we will try to come back and make the Caribbean proud next year.”

The team may also not enter the Colombia round of the NACAM Rally series next weekend though everything was already booked and set to go.

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » November 10th, 2012, 7:33 pm

i love how everybody has an opinion about what they think john should have done, would have done, and feels that they have the right to talk a set of nonsense. For once i agree with link....cough cough....this thread has turned into a war of haters.......jamaican, trinidad, barbados. shame on all of you critics....

the man has come here with no expectations and has attempted something epic.. invitation, rental, older, not as fit, who cares man. You all get on as if its your money being spent. The fact is we have Caribbean representation in WRC Spain, as far as i am concerned there's nothing negative about it so stop the banter....

some men on this thread are an embarrassment to everything we trying to do over here. John has a completely unavoidable and unfortunate medical situation and we all trying to support him through what must be a nightmare, and instead there's a bunch of fools who apparently think that they have a right to talk.

there's no shame in what has happened, and we all have to support what he has tried to do, good or bad result. end of story.