Build Project: Suzie!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Build Project: Suzie!!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 2nd, 2012, 12:10 pm

my wagon took me a few days , a few hrs work per day for about 3-4 days - its not a joy to do so i prefer to work a few hrs each day & so on til its done

good car audio sound deadening mats are pricey , works out around $35-40\sq ft ...

neckto

Postby neckto » November 3rd, 2012, 3:42 am

UPDATE:

painted the inside today

finish didn't come out as smooth tho, bad time to try using a different spray gun, had to swithc bk to the old one for the last coat......

cabin electrical reinstalled and rear harness reconnected

[img]http://forums.trinituner.com/upload/data/18/20121103033743-IMG01759-20121102-1716.jpg

cabin mount bolts caps also replaced

tomorrow (well later this morning....) will lay on the pearl and clear coat

Cooper

Postby Cooper » November 3rd, 2012, 9:57 pm

Looking good dude :!:

neckto

Postby neckto » November 3rd, 2012, 10:51 pm

Cooper wrote:Looking good dude :!:

hey, thanks. the pearl came out nice too.....check the next update

neckto

Postby neckto » November 3rd, 2012, 11:00 pm

Update

pearl and clear coat installed!!

started scrapping out the dashboard one time. lots of gunk in there...

blower real stink too

got the ring terminals and some other connectors too, to continue the electrical work

and the seals for the AC system so reassembly can begin

and some clips

n the fuse (100A) and holder

Postby Morpheus » November 3rd, 2012, 11:05 pm

Paint looking good man. Great work on the pics and updates!

neckto

Postby neckto » November 3rd, 2012, 11:40 pm

Morpheus wrote:Paint looking good man. Great work on the pics and updates!

hey ty........yea, trying to update often so tuners will see the work flow and all processes going on

neckto

Postby neckto » November 4th, 2012, 10:24 am

can anybody find the thread from the tuner who has the specialty chrome aerosol paint?

(not the duplicator, i already contacted him)

Postby Ted_v2 » November 4th, 2012, 6:08 pm

dual star

neckto

Postby neckto » November 5th, 2012, 12:18 am

sound boy 64 wrote:dual star

thanks alot man

neckto

Postby neckto » November 5th, 2012, 1:39 am

Update:

spent the whole day, literally scrubbing too many parts from the interiour, upholstry and dashboard with soap and a toothbrush to get them clean for painting

first set to that was cleaned

uncleaned heap

finally finished

also cleaned the dashboard and painted the inner metal frame which started to look a bit rusty

Right

Centre

left

blower "AFTER" pic

also cleaned the dashboard and painted the inner metal frame which started to look a bit rusty

Right

Centre

left

blower "AFTER" pic

neckto

Postby neckto » November 6th, 2012, 6:55 am

update

power washed the seats and inside fenders etc

after what seems like forever of cleaning each piece of upholstery and dashboard with soap and a toothbrush and sanding and repairing (sticking with crazy glue and filling holes) we them wiped them clean with degreaser, applied an adhering agent and painted. pops could open up to the idea of going with some different colours choices so we went with a dark grey and black scheme - i may still drop in a few blue highlights after tho. spayed on they grey last night, have to do the black today. had some real probs with that paint (first time using it. i think i messed up some parts. will be able to inspect better when i get home from work later and take better pics too

jpec

Postby jpec » November 6th, 2012, 9:36 am

love a dark interior! you keeping the seat that colour or re-upholstering it?

neckto

Postby neckto » November 6th, 2012, 10:08 am

jpec wrote:love a dark interior! you keeping the seat that colour or re-upholstering it?

seats to be reupholstered. i might just give the back seat a light coat to help it out till i ready to reupholster, which will be after i move it to make room in the back for music and accessories. i haven't decided if to use those R-34 seats i got for the front as yet either. so when i decide and make the brackets to fit whatever seat going in the front then i will deal with seat upholstery.

neckto

Postby neckto » November 6th, 2012, 10:02 pm

Update:

nothing much to report today, just finished painting the rest of interior parts which were to go in black, only prob is the grey seems a bit too dark so i dunno if the black would show with enough contrast. if not then we'll go with a tipple black interior with some accents here and there

gundelero

Postby gundelero » November 7th, 2012, 7:47 am

looking good man....

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » November 7th, 2012, 8:43 am

what adhesion promoter and interior paint did you use ?
I'm thinking to go all black on my grey interior but i'm a little bit chicken
you're starting to give me the confidence to go for it

neckto

Postby neckto » November 7th, 2012, 8:21 pm

TRENDSETA wrote:what adhesion promoter and interior paint did you use ?
I'm thinking to go all black on my grey interior but i'm a little bit chicken
you're starting to give me the confidence to go for it

go for it dude. mine didnt come out all that "bess" one time but it looks plenty better than the old cheap grey look. and i know now exactly what NOT to do next time so i could always touch bk up the spots i not satisfied with.

the key to this is the prep work, don't loose patience (like i did in the end) and go with a rough grit sandpaper. take your time with the painting too, very light coats, again requires a lot of patience for the amount of pieces and curves.

check below for the products i found at the village paint shop and home improvement stores.....if i could have used the duplicator line of products i would've tho.

neckto

Postby neckto » November 7th, 2012, 8:22 pm

gundelero wrote:looking good man....

thanks man

neckto

Postby neckto » November 7th, 2012, 8:33 pm

Update:

well finally finished with all the upholstery painting and can do something fun like mounting back up the dashboard and interior

now you can see the difference (tho subtle) between the semi gloss grey and black AND the matte black i used on the open pocket on the left.

instrument panel put bk in until i can get some blue or white replacement bulbs

Suzie coming bk to life!!

jpec

Postby jpec » November 7th, 2012, 9:16 pm

:D :D looks good!

neckto

Postby neckto » November 7th, 2012, 10:11 pm

jpec wrote::D :D looks good!

yes n plenty better then the old color scheme.....hate that cheap looking grey

Postby Morpheus » November 7th, 2012, 11:32 pm

Wow. Dash look like it now come out bubble wrap!

neckto

Postby neckto » November 8th, 2012, 7:18 am

Morpheus wrote:Wow. Dash look like it now come out bubble wrap!

the real test will be in a few months after it take weather and cleaning and see if the pant stays on properly or doesn't crack/fade/peel............stay tuned!

neckto

Postby neckto » November 8th, 2012, 9:02 pm

update:

did'nt do much this evening, place was too wet n cold. just lined up the back seat to take some measurements and make sure it can bolt down properly since it wasnt secured when i got the van

there is this little bracket like thingy on the back seat top left hook, any ideas what it is for?
i took it off in the interim as it was bent and causing problems to get the seat in the hooks

you can call it gay if you want lol, but this butterfly is really pretty!!

also started running some audio wiring

neckto

Postby neckto » November 10th, 2012, 7:00 am

update:
last night
removed the audio wiring after test running them for placement, started putting on the heat proof material, not sticking the whole thing, just in key areas to ensure good snug fit

hope to complete most of this this evening so i can start working on the front seats brackets fabrication

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 10th, 2012, 3:20 pm

nice man

soap , water & toothbrush u say - u like to ketch ass oar ... :lol:

next time get a gallon of purple blaster for $55 & save ur self from all that hard work & u will see how easy all d dirt & muck comes off ... :wink:

Postby nervewrecker » November 10th, 2012, 5:47 pm

WOW! You have come a long way man!

Looking real good.

neckto

Postby neckto » November 11th, 2012, 2:31 am

(...Rovin...) wrote:nice man

soap , water & toothbrush u say - u like to ketch ass oar ... :lol:

next time get a gallon of purple blaster for $55 & save ur self from all that hard work & u will see how easy all d dirt & muck comes off ... :wink:

n i have blaster yuh know :x wheyy...............

neckto

Postby neckto » November 11th, 2012, 2:32 am

nervewrecker wrote:WOW! You have come a long way man!

Looking real good.

Thanks........i just finished running the audio wiring too

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”