$5000.00 Fine for non-inspected cars !

Humes

Re: $5000.00 Fine for non-inspected cars !

Postby Humes » March 2nd, 2012, 7:19 pm

What are the documents I need to have to show police if they stop me? Aaron 2nr was saying something about documents earlier in the thread.

Postby r3iXmann » March 2nd, 2012, 7:29 pm

the inspection certificate ^

Postby eliteauto » March 2nd, 2012, 7:39 pm

does anyone know of someone actually being ticketed or fined for this, not Ah Hear!! but factually and can show said ticket/summons?

Computerman

Postby Computerman » March 2nd, 2012, 8:10 pm

Terran wrote:The engine change was handled by the previous owner. As I said, it is noted on the certified copy he gave me BEFORE we effected the transfer. On the copy provided by LO, there is no such engine change.

Six years later, I don't think I can convince them that my copy is genuine and that theirs is wrong - which it is.
Noted on the CC? I've done two engine changes in the past 10 years on one car. The receipt was always attached to the CC by LO, never 'noted'. Up to this day if I pay for a CC (done three times in the past three years) for that car there are no changes from the original.
If you had the actual receipt you would be ok. If not, you better make haste.

Terran

Postby Terran » March 2nd, 2012, 8:23 pm

Yes, noted on the CC. The old engine number was scratched out and the new engine number written over it. A copy of the receipt is appended, with the same engine number and the vehicle registration number written on it. That's the copy that the owner gave me.

LO's copy of the document does not have the new engine number anywhere on it, just where I became the new owner of the car. Strange.

Humes

Postby Humes » March 2nd, 2012, 8:44 pm

r3iXmann wrote:the inspection certificate ^

I'd have an inspection certificate for a three-year-old car? Just asking.

All I have is my certified copy. It gives the year of manufacture as 2008.

Postby wagonrunner » March 3rd, 2012, 2:09 am

Terran wrote:LO's copy of the document does not have the new engine number
anywhere on it, just where I became the new owner of the car. Strange.

nope. just local public servant ineptitude (sorry / you're welcome to those who feel ahow about it).
do you have / know the of the engine change?
better yet, is your CC dated, or know the date of that transaction for it?

Terran

Postby Terran » March 3rd, 2012, 2:56 am

The previous owner gave me a photocopy of the certificate with copies of the engine change and updated certified copy receipts appended to it. On this photocopy, the old engine number is scratched out, and the new engine number written in. The dates and transaction particulars on the receipts are clear. That was October 2005. I bought the car from him in January 2006. This document was given to me BEFORE the transfer was effected.

On LO's copy of the certificate, there is no change of engine noted anywhere - just a new line bearing my name (which is important) as the current owner of the vehicle.

Even if their records were outdated at the time of the transfer, didn't they notice that the engine number at the time of transfer did not match what was on paper??

I have to go back on Monday to rectify this, but I doubt I can convince them to fix it more than they will instruct me to line up and do a change of engine - which was clearly done by the previous owner back in October 2005.

Postby wagonrunner » March 3rd, 2012, 2:17 pm

Terran wrote:I have to go back on Monday to rectify this, but I doubt I can convince them to fix it more than they will instruct me to line up and do a change of engine - which was clearly done by the previous owner back in October 2005.

Entries are supposed to be recorded in a log book of sorts, before the amended CC should have been issued. Because you have a "scratch and change", and not a CC with only the new #, chances are it was never logged, so I also think you'd have to do it over.

Had your CC had the new # only, and they issued a CC with the old one. Then the log would have shown it was changed. You can still ask.

achillies

Postby achillies » March 3rd, 2012, 2:40 pm

crazybalhead wrote:But yunno, most cars on the road do NOT have stickers. And the police (I passed close to at least five in the last two days) don't seem too concerned. It needs to be done, but since the act was proclaimed, how do they expect people to get this done in a short time? The infrastructure just not there!

What area are you from, I collected my CC from Licensing office and within 30 minutes, my car was inspected and the sticker placed on my windscreen

Did mine at the place opposite health net on the EMR, third avenue barataria.

Postby SR » March 3rd, 2012, 5:18 pm

did my vehicles by Kamus in san juan today have to go back monday to collect the certificates ...........
also no stickers n stock but noticed a guy came in and i guess his car was inspected previouly as they just went in and applied the sticker on the windscreen

there was no delay maybe a 10 min wait at most

went to another locations J's across the highway and the guys says he has 8 vehicles ahead of me and he takes about 1/2 hr per vehicle and they closing at 12
this was at 9am....... so i asked if i wait will it be done today cuz by my calclations he has another 4hrs at least till he gets to mines

still waiting on an answer

Terran

Postby Terran » March 3rd, 2012, 5:57 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Entries are supposed to be recorded in a log book of sorts, before the amended CC should have been issued. Because you have a "scratch and change", and not a CC with only the new #, chances are it was never logged, so I also think you'd have to do it over.

Had your CC had the new # only, and they issued a CC with the old one. Then the log would have shown it was changed. You can still ask.

I'll ask, but time is not on my side to get into a debate with these people.

Once again, can anyone outline the steps to doing an engine change at LO?

Postby wagonrunner » March 3rd, 2012, 7:31 pm

car, with new engine.
receipt for same. (you can even make a receipt from yourself to yourself for $1). seriously.
go to inspection pit, They'll give you a form to complete.
they'll check current number against receipt, and sign form.
go to cashier with form. pay i think was $40, receive chit. (not an updated CC)

you now have proof of engine change.
That's acceptable for inspection. Inspection peeps would staple chit to current CC.

Terran

Postby Terran » March 3rd, 2012, 8:00 pm

Thanks! That sounds easier than debating the old CC vs the new CC.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » March 4th, 2012, 9:49 am

Is this not the LAW.?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 5th, 2012, 4:15 pm

did mine sat. took 2 hrs due to everybody including me rushing to get it done. went diego martin

Terran

Postby Terran » March 5th, 2012, 4:36 pm

wagonrunner wrote:car, with new engine.
receipt for same. (you can even make a receipt from yourself to yourself for $1). seriously.

That's acceptable for inspection. Inspection peeps would staple chit to current CC.

Breds, this was NOT as simple as it sounded.

I got to Licensing Office at 8:06am and joined the line - which moved along fairly quick. Upon approaching the inspector, I was asked for my form and he got vex when I told him I was expecting him to provide it. He then hardly gave me a chance to explain myself, and dismissed me by saying that I needed an affidavit. He didn't even offer to tell me where and who would do this for me readily, but an officer standing nearby recommended K. Mohammed - the snackett/bar across the road from Licensing Office.

Mr Mohammed had 2 other customers before me, and still took 2 hours to produce a typed page indicating that my engine change was not done by me, but MAYBE by the previous owner. Amidst doing this, he had to attend to his business, customers and staff, answer the phone, eat and taste the food that he sells. He asked me on numerous occasions to bare with him another "2 minutes" while he tasted the yams because they were too hard, or while he signed documents for other customers who came AFTER me. It was painful, and absolutely frustrating waiting for this document, which was not even GLANCED by the officer on duty when I returned to have the engine change effected. He did NOT even observe the number of the engine in my car. He just told me to close the bonnet, move my car to the car park and pay the fee ($35).

I was eventually out of there by 11:45 - just to acquire a slip of paper that proves I paid for an engine change - and I have to guard it with my life. Another officer said to give it "2 weeks" before the new engine number can be effected on my certified copy.

For anyone wishing to do an engine change in the future, I would recommend that you get the form yourself (it's yellow) beforehand, and fill it out. Write down your new engine number in the "Change" field, sign and date the document. Carry an original invoice from the establishment where you bought the engine - they may not accept anything else unless you accompany this document by an affidavit. This is what I was told by another officer. If you bought the engine from a friend or an individual, you will be asked to swear by affidavit.

In my case, I had no original documents as the previous owner supplied me with copies before we effected the transfer. Even then, the inspecting officer should have noted that the number of the engine in the car vs the certified copy ought to match. The previous owner HAD effected all of this before, but Licensing Office did not update their records - leaving me in this situation. After today's experience when the officer signed my form without verifying the engine number, it is easy to see why they are constantly in a mess. I just have to be thankful that the certified copy I got last Friday has my name on it as the current owner because anything else would have implied that my vehicle is not legally mine, and that I evaded paying the transfer tax by not formalizing the transfer of ownership.

Postby r3iXmann » March 5th, 2012, 4:42 pm

Terran wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:car, with new engine.

Breds, this was NOT as simple as it sounded.

I got to Licensing Office at 8:06am and joined the line - which moved along fairly quick. Upon approaching the inspector, I was asked for my form and he got vex when I told him I was expecting him to provide it. He then hardly gave me a chance to explain myself, and dismissed me by saying that I needed an affidavit. He didn't even offer to tell me where and who would do this for me readily, but an officer standing nearby recommended K. Mohammed - the snackett/bar across the road from Licensing Office.

Mr Mohammed had 2 other customers before me, and still took 2 hours to produce a typed page indicating that my engine change was not done by me, but MAYBE by the previous owner. Amidst doing this, he had to attend to his business, customers and staff, answer the phone, eat and taste the food that he sells. He asked me on numerous occasions to bare with him another "2 minutes" while he tasted the yams because they were too hard, or while he signed documents for other customers who came AFTER me. It was painful, and absolutely frustrating waiting for this document, which was not even GLANCED by the officer on duty when I returned to have the engine change effected. He did NOT even observe the number of the engine in my car. He just told me to close the bonnet, move my car to the car park and pay the fee ($35).

I was eventually out of there by 11:45 - just to acquire a slip of paper that proves I paid for an engine change - and I have to guard it with my life. Another officer said to give it "2 weeks" before the new engine number can be effected on my certified copy.

For anyone wishing to do an engine change in the future, I would recommend that you get the form yourself (it's yellow) beforehand, and fill it out. Write down your new engine number in the "Change" field, sign and date the document. Carry an original invoice from the establishment where you bought the engine - they may not accept anything else unless you accompany this document by an affidavit. This is what I was told by another officer. If you bought the engine from a friend or an individual, you will be asked to swear by affidavit.

In my case, I had no original documents as the previous owner supplied me with copies before we effected the transfer. Even then, the inspecting officer should have noted that the number of the engine in the car vs the certified copy ought to match. The previous owner HAD effected all of this before, but Licensing Office did not update their records - leaving me in this situation. After today's experience when the officer signed my form without verifying the engine number, it is easy to see why they are constantly in a mess. I just have to be thankful that the certified copy I got last Friday has my name on it as the current owner because anything else would have implied that my vehicle is not legally mine, and that I evaded paying the transfer tax by not formalizing the transfer of ownership.

d phoq :shock:

i didnt do all that

the officer didnt even watch my receipt or check the engine..he asked me to call out the number for him

the longest part of the process was him telling me off that 'sumitomo tyres is d bess tyres' and 'dat integra shouldnt idle so high' :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » March 5th, 2012, 4:43 pm

Done on Saturday as well. A few people was there with completely bald tyres, leaks, broken engine mounts, etc. Took a long time because of this. But got through. I think the guy breathed a sigh of relief when he saw my car yes.

Terran

Postby Terran » March 5th, 2012, 4:46 pm

r3iXmann wrote:d phoq :shock:

i didnt do all that

the officer didnt even watch my receipt or check the engine..he asked me to call out the number for him

the longest part of the process was him telling me off that 'sumitomo tyres is d bess tyres' and 'dat integra shouldnt idle so high' :lol:

Well I think that's the first time I've laughed for the day - especially since that ordeal this morning.

Postby wagonrunner » March 5th, 2012, 5:31 pm

terran boy. as much as it was from memory. that was my experience a year or two ago.
and yes i did have a receipt from myself to myself for a $1.

Terran

Postby Terran » March 5th, 2012, 5:37 pm

Not saying what you outlined was wrong. It was completely correct. I just met the WRONG people.

Postby rfari » March 5th, 2012, 6:33 pm

inspection for T vehicles is done on the same day? i have to do a transfer for another vehicle and hoping that i can drive to POS with that one and start the inspection process for the T vehicle. would this be possible?

geodude

Postby geodude » March 5th, 2012, 7:10 pm

damn it now i need to get both vehicles transferred,
and do an engine change, and colour change,

and that not counting going for underwash and engine wash, and replacing tires on both cars, one of the
the indicator lens on one of the cars is broken but the bulb woking, u think i go get ah bligh??

For the engine change does the receipt for the bought engine need to be dated within a specific time frame, for instance when transferring a vehicle the receipts for sale must be less than 1 month old it think, does the same apply for engines.

RGF Asset Management

Postby RGF Asset Management » March 6th, 2012, 9:30 am

Heads up everyone,

my wife told me that there were number of police and licensing officers on the EMR in the vicinity frank's tyre shop in El Dorado.

She said that she did not notice if they had pulled anyone aside at the time because it was in the midst of rush hour traffic. She isnt sure what they were out looking for but i am guessing that this is the start of many more such exercises to enforce this inspection thing.

Word to the wise, sort out all yuh sort outs. It has begun.

Postby crazybalhead » March 6th, 2012, 9:36 am

Postby Hook » March 6th, 2012, 9:45 am

RGF Asset Management wrote:Heads up everyone,

my wife told me that there were number of police and licensing officers on the EMR in the vicinity frank's tyre shop in El Dorado.

She said that she did not notice if they had pulled anyone aside at the time because it was in the midst of rush hour traffic. She isnt sure what they were out looking for but i am guessing that this is the start of many more such exercises to enforce this inspection thing.

Word to the wise, sort out all yuh sort outs. It has begun.

They were handing out tickets to idiots who can't understand that the No Entry sign on Goya Rd. prohibits access to the EMR between the hours of 6am-9am and 3pm-6pm.

The exercise had nothing to do with vehicle inspection.

Hopefully they'll be there this afternoon as well.

RGF Asset Management

Postby RGF Asset Management » March 6th, 2012, 9:50 am

oops, my bad.

But why would there have been licensing officers present if it was just a matter of ticketing ppl for goin the wrong way?

seems odd.

Postby Hook » March 6th, 2012, 9:55 am

I didn't see Lic. Officers, two TTPS constables and three Traffic Wardens...two women police were on Caura Rd. a constable and a corporal

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 6th, 2012, 9:56 am

^ icing on the cake.
Share ticket for traffic offences, then take some moar for MV infractions.